Mavik
post Jan 28 2022, 03:47 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(diaboli @ Jan 28 2022, 11:39 AM)
How to ask for counter offer?
Be frank with your current line manager and then ask if there is a possibility of a counter. Of course if it doesn't go well, meaning the company doesn't offer that, ask your line manager frankly about promotion and what are the chances. Otherwise it would be another year wasted, and a lost opportunity for you. Remember, the company doesn't really owe you anything; you owe yourself to finding your own self worth.
Mavik
post Jan 29 2022, 01:49 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(diaboli @ Jan 29 2022, 12:54 PM)
From your last sentence, does it mean that if the company is bad but the manager is good, then it should be fine?
I do believe that even the manager is good and company is bad, eventually nothing much the manager can do. For example like increment or bonus, if the higher ups say no, then the manager cant do anything neither.
Increment and bonus are completely different things to look at compared vs work style and culture of the company. Some people tend to want a greater emphasis on the work style and culture of the company whilst others purely for money. As you can see that the Dembeee who asked was about not wanting to move to the new company because of bad reviews online even though he/she is getting a sizeable increase in pay. This of course leads me to assume that culture and work is a lot more important vs work.

I would second Kelangketerusa in that not all reviews tend to show the "real" work culture and besides just asking the interviewer as well, find out others who work at the company (see if you have friends or acquaintances) or message some folks via LinkedIn to learn more about it as well.
Mavik
post Jan 31 2022, 09:56 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(Dembeee @ Jan 31 2022, 05:11 PM)
hehe i never said about bad reviews. Just the risk of moving into an unknown environment  icon_rolleyes.gif
Another thing.. My current co.. I felt too comfortable here.. not a good sign rite? hahaha
Current co : Good working environment, good team, good team lead. Only the salary lah.. some other company offering higher. Thats all  smile.gif
I agree on this part. A good manager is really important in building your career... Working with people with lots of experience + able guide you from zero to who you are right now is really something that I am grateful for.
Certain forumer, I can tell, we are from the same company, but he is talking bad about the co.. I guess he's not lucky enough to be assigned to a good team  icon_rolleyes.gif
I have seen where people have taken the challenge to improve their situation even though they have been put in the "wrong" team. They take the opportunity to turn things around and eventually turn the team around. These are the folks whom I have seen been rapidly promoted and now at the C-level.
Mavik
post Feb 7 2022, 10:21 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(MKCL @ Feb 7 2022, 11:22 AM)
i wonder how many people actually managed to achieve 10k by 30

I am 26 this Oct and my basic + fix + mandatory 13 month salary only averaged out at 4.8k gross monthly.

even with including 2 months annual performance bonus, it still average out at 5.6k gross monthly. A far cry from 10k, hell, its still a far cry from my goal of 8k by 30. Considering 5% annual increment, and 10 - 15% increment on promotion
As one who managed to achieve it by being in one company, it all depends on your own initiative. No one will help you chart your path or tell you what to do. You need to know what you want to do, then work it out with your company how you want to achieve it. If you want to aim for a higher salary by being promoted, then its not about being good at your current job. You need to prove that you can already perform at the next level. Document all of your achievements, all of your discussions and target with your line manager/supervisor. Make sure that you yourself chart out a career path you want to achieve and then find validation whether that is achievable internally whether again it is with your supervisor/line manager/HR. If all things seem unlikely, then start building up your personal portfolio of achievements and find out what roles you want to apply for outside. Don't use whatever you have now at your current workplace in terms of achievement because all that shows is that you are just performing at your current level. If the role you want out there is a management role, then start finding as many opportunities to show that your initiative and effort in trying to build your skills in that area. For example, if you dont have a chance to say lead a team at your current role, find out initiatives within your company where you can be the lead (e.g. such as leading a team building event or leading a new initiative).

If you just think of a 5% annual increment, you will wait forever before you reach a RM10k salary.
Mavik
post Feb 14 2022, 09:35 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(tehoice @ Feb 14 2022, 05:49 PM)
probably by 32 you will hit, no worries.

now, move on to your next target 15k by 35 and 20k by 40!

I also missed my first milestone by some 2 years, but manage to hit 2nd milestone, thereabouts.
Try not to limit yourself to a mindset of RM20k by 40. I had that once and it limited a lot of what I did and mindset. It is very possible to hit more than 20k even when you are 35.
Mavik
post Feb 16 2022, 07:42 AM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(diaboli @ Feb 16 2022, 02:32 AM)
Do company would want to employ those people without any experience in management?
It would depend on how you sell yourself on both your resume and during the interview.
What is the definition of management? Is it managing people? Is it managing a project? Is it managing a product? Is it managing a campaign?
It all also depends on which company you are looking at and what field you are in.
I don't think there is a single answer which is able to answer your question without diving deeper.
Mavik
post Mar 11 2022, 10:43 AM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(godzillapunks @ Mar 8 2022, 05:42 PM)
What is the average salary for Malaysians at 30, 35 and 40 years old nowadays?
According to https://www.averagesalarysurvey.com/malaysia

Age 31-35 - RM124,279/annum
Age 36-40 - RM161,940/annum
Age 41-45 - RM205,459/annum
Mavik
post Mar 29 2022, 03:35 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(DAPMPBAMCAuto @ Mar 29 2022, 11:48 AM)
Hi all... Wanna seek feedback whether I'm underpaid or undervalued by the managers & higher up.
Been thinking long if should jump or not.

Current department have high growth potential, just seems like they don't really value fresh talent with without many years of experience stacked up. Prefer to keep increase the department size by hiring mid level hire.

Job Title : Perfrmance Mngmt/Reporting & Analytics
Job Description : digital asset/products/channels daily, weekly, mthly MIS/reporting; web trffic analytics, inter-department project management, project/initiatives ROI projections & monitoring, acquisition prformnce
Years spent in company : 2 years
(1 year SLIM/GEES/Protégé program, then 8 mth contract due to hiring freeze during Covid lockdown, then convert to permanent for 6 mth now)
Company : Bank
Industry : Financial
Tenure : Permanent
Employment Level : Entry-level/Junior
Experience before joining (years) : 0
Highest paper qualification/ education background : Bachelor Degree (one of STEM, highly technical)
Average Working Hours Per Week (incl lunch hours): 45 (but almost every day overtime till night)

Monetary Payout
Basic Salary + Fixed Allowance : RM2.9k
Contractual Bonus (months): NA
Performance, Variable Bonus & Commissions (months) : standard 3 months

Benefits (where relevant) :
Typical bank benefits

*Wrong spelling & short form are intentional to minimise search engine tracking
Since I'm from a technical & math background, i did outperform  other colleagues in term of analytical skills (got several feedback from other colleagues & stakeholder),
guiding others (more senior than me) on how to use some of the Business Intelligence tools, what kind of insights should be given etc.
Heck, i even did several reporting process/task automation to expedite others BAU working time.

Disappointed to hear they didn't count the experience & contribution during i'm in the contract position. Had i known earlier, I would've jump elsewhere to make my working time counted.
Is this standard evaluation practiced at others comp, to not count contract position experience?
You need to polish up your resume, I would also try not to mention SLIM/Protege because I know a lot of companies tend to have a certain bias to candidates in that program. Also instead of focusing on what you did, mention what you accomplished during that period, what was the outcome and what value you brought. All the best in your job search
Mavik
post Apr 13 2022, 08:01 AM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(DAPMPBAMCAuto @ Apr 13 2022, 07:15 AM)
Hi guys,

For banking industry, what is the pros n cons of being in a Business Unit vs Support Unit/Business Enabler (Technology, Data infra, or HR?

In term of compensation, career progression (faster or took longer time to move up), and working culture & environment.

Am just planning for the long term. Appreciate any feedback 😊.
Sorry mate, this is the wrong section for this. Do open a similar thread in the main section in Jobs and Career. This thread is for salary specifically.
Mavik
post Apr 13 2022, 08:02 AM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(Darkcloudz @ Apr 12 2022, 02:24 PM)
Hi guys, im 34 this year and my title is senior role.

But i felt it's very hard for me to move to next level. (looking for director or AVP on next jump)

Did u guys face the same dilemma?
Wrong place for this question, do open a similar thread in the main section.

0.1689sec    1.37    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 06:50 AM