Let's Talk Salary v8, Sharing Thread

FutureBuilder
post Aug 29 2019, 12:51 PM

120 posts

QUOTE(jitshiong @ Aug 29 2019, 09:18 AM)
It depends, if your skill-sets are a necessity and the increment justify it, they will still pay. In the end, it boils down to supply and demand. Do u need them more or do they need u more? If they need u badly, congratulation, the figure is for you to decide. If they cannot meet, walk away.
Haha, agree. If they need urgent vacancy especially new/critical projects, mostly would get upper management to approve the budget for the position due to urgency.
FutureBuilder
post Sep 15 2019, 12:45 PM

120 posts

QUOTE(wawasan2200 @ Sep 15 2019, 11:15 AM)
Field : account
Position : acc exe
Company : manufacturing company
Years in company : 2 years (1st year myr3k,2nd year 3.1k)
Experience Before joining : 1 year (first job myr 2.5k after 1 year no increment then jump to current job)

Basic salary : MYR4k (currently suddenly get increased til 4k, not sure what is happening... wonder due to high turnover this year.... 5 staffs with aggregated exp of 25years leave together after got thier annual bonus)
Allowance : NIL
Overtime : NIL
Graduated with Degree in accountung
Work : 5 days a week, 8 hours per day
Maybe another jump you can get 5k above. If u got professional certificate like ACCA can get greater package coming with experiences
FutureBuilder
post Sep 15 2019, 03:16 PM

120 posts

QUOTE(wawasan2200 @ Sep 15 2019, 02:15 PM)
Tq for reply. how much if I get acca? just attempt my last paper in sep.
if pass then i need my manager to sign off my 3 yrs PER then i will be an accoutant.

how much usually an accountant earns?whats the range from dying indusrty to growthing industry?

my HOD with CIMA aged 40++  get above 10k while
my manager with ACCA aged 40++ get just around 10k but i saw post here accaountant all earning big money....

What type of "experience" is needed in most companies and how to develop such exp?

Based on my observation, my boss daily task are as belows:-
Meeting with management. providing analytical skill + problem solving skill + give appropriate advises to mgmt. Any idea on how to i learn or "steal" skills from her?

Shall i jump to other industry to diversify my exp or stick to current industry and snowballing my exp in current industry?
I'm not from accounting background thus not able to give you the salary range of accountants. Maybe you can research on jobstreet, payscale etc. Some of my friends from accountant change to auditor and seems get better salary package. Maybe accounting jobs are competitive compare to other fields.
FutureBuilder
post Oct 25 2019, 01:27 PM

120 posts

QUOTE(rebecca_choo @ Oct 25 2019, 09:47 AM)
Job Title : System Admin
Job Desciption : Managing windows servers + projects
Years spent in company : 2 years+
Company : IT
Industry : IT
Tenure :
Employment Level : Senior / Team Lead
Experience before joining (years) : 9 years
Highest paper qualification/ education background : Bachelors in IT
Average Working Hours Per Week (incl lunch hours): 42.5

Monetary Payout
Basic Salary + Fixed Allowance : RM9400 + (RM300 allowance)
Contractual Bonus (months): -
Performance, Variable Bonus & Commissions (months) : 1.5 mths

Benefits (where relevant) :
Health Benefits : Medical card for spouse and kid, yearly RM900 medical checkup
Transport Benefits : Free parking
Mobile / Internet / Gadget Benefits : For standby, latest iPhone with dedicated line
Flexi Working Hours : Yes, can WFH 2 times per week
Other Benefits : Annualy flexi benefits of RM3000 which can be used on computer accessories, mobile phones etc.

Am I doing okay?
Salary seem matched with range for your position but you have good benefits package. laugh.gif

FutureBuilder
post Oct 31 2019, 01:30 PM

120 posts

QUOTE(CareerSifu @ Oct 31 2019, 12:40 PM)
2 things that will mainly determine the offer that Technip makes:

1. Your last drawn salary (assuming you sent your payslips in)
2. Internal benchmarks / HR ranges as well as what the existing team is paid to ensure equity

But here's a strategy for you: don't take the first offer. When HR or the hiring team calls you to deliver the offer, decide if you will be negotiating via email or the phone or F2F (whatever works best for your confidence, there is no perfect method of communication).

Ask for the full set of details: additional EPF contributions? your outpatient coverage and hospitalisation? does it extend to family/dependents? what fringe benefits exist, eg. optical/dental/gym memberships/educational stipends/etc.? what the annual increment rate is, what the average bonus payout has been in the past 2 years? what your target payout will be? What kind of travel do you get to do or WFH? What about annual leave policy?

Casually mention you are also at offer stage with another company but are more keen on Technip due to market presence/dominance, exposure, learning opportunity, the manager himself, whatever. Hence the importance of understanding all monetary and non-monetary benefits of the offer as well as the job opportunity itself. That way it is easier to make comparisons. Also helps A LOT if you actually have a competing offer, but it doesnt even always have to be that. Alternatives may be in the form of starting your own business, or staying on at your current company.

Now of course if it's a massive jump and you're happy by all means go ahead and take it.

It is a technical role in a sector known for volatility though, so you really should try to price the risk in.

All sorts of ways to negotiate for more.

- Is the timing right - eg. are you due for a promotion soon at your current company? or is performance bonus paid out next quarter that you will lose out on? Ask for that to be priced in.

- Have a competing offer? Ask them to make it sweeter. HR says they can only pay X due to internal benchmarks blah, fine - can they do a sign-on bonus, or an increment upon confirmation, or a guaranteed bonus after 12 months? Doing lots of coursera classes and want to be reimbursed? Ask if they could.

Remember that asking for an extra RM 5,000 - 10,000 per year isn't going to change an employer's mind about you. The fully loaded cost of hiring you (salary, epf, insurance, administration costs, your desk, laptop, office resources - more snacks or beer?) is in fact more than double the actual salary they are paying you.

But the extra cash in pocket you get could mean so many things if you believe in the magic of compounded interest (everything good in life comes from compounded interest).
Very useful. Thanks for sharing. notworthy.gif
FutureBuilder
post Nov 5 2019, 01:02 PM

120 posts

QUOTE(deyamato @ Nov 4 2019, 08:50 PM)
Job Title : IT Helpdesk Executive
Job Desciption : Helpdesk
Years spent in company : 4.5 years
Industry : Manufacturing & Trading
Tenure : Permanent
Employment Level : Executive
Experience before joining (years) : 9 years
Highest paper qualification/ education background : Diploma in Comp Tech(just a Certificate) and self-taught.
Average Working Hours : 8 hours/day

Monetary Payout
Basic Salary + Allowance :From RM1900(year 2015) to RM2400(current) and this year no increment due to company tight financial.
Contractual Bonus (months) : 1 month (but this year all employee get half month)

Benefits (where relevant) : Medical Claim(only panel)
Transport Benefits : None

1 man show handling 80+/- total whole end users, Main office 50 +/- end users, and Outstation Local factory 30+/- end users sometimes remote access from main office, + 2 database servers.

Travel allowance to factory(nilai) RM50 per trip included toll.

I've completed 2 projects as a project coordinator for (ERP)SAPb1 and Autocount Software can i update this to my resume and ask for RM3.5k-RM4k(or more?) in the future jump to other company?

I have no idea what is the market price for people to hire me now.
Still not late to move as you're underpaid and your commitment would be increase throughout the years. Imagine you going to build your own family, raise your kids, current salary definitely not enough in KL. It's time to start your job searching. All the best to you. smile.gif
FutureBuilder
post Dec 17 2019, 12:13 AM

120 posts

QUOTE(Acheron @ Dec 16 2019, 06:30 PM)
Opinion

Is this salary 8.5k for 31 years old with 7 years experiences, up to standard or im in a wrong salary level. Huhu
Around market range for senior position perhaps 🤔

This post has been edited by FutureBuilder: Dec 17 2019, 12:14 AM
FutureBuilder
post Jan 23 2020, 01:01 PM

120 posts

QUOTE(Eisenmeteor @ Jan 23 2020, 09:45 AM)
Bank middle office. 5.8k. Im in early 30’s . Good enough?
Base salary wise seem low. How about the bonuses?
Maybe the annual package with the bonuses are good since working in banking industry.
FutureBuilder
post Feb 3 2020, 01:41 PM

120 posts

QUOTE(johndoe999 @ Feb 3 2020, 01:09 PM)
Mostly through luck and hard work I guess. Internal promotions and jumped around here and there. I feel I’m still behind my dad who became a COO of a large financial services group at my age. Also a good friend of mine is a Big 4 partner and earns at least rm70k a month 😩
Your achievement are very good compare to majority of the salaryman here. Don't over compare with others brows.gif
FutureBuilder
post Feb 21 2020, 01:28 PM

120 posts

QUOTE(piggy2008 @ Feb 21 2020, 12:01 PM)
1. The working environment in this Company is great, compared to my ex-Company.
2. My employers are kind and I can see that they appreciate my talents, they just don't have the resources to remunerate me for it.
3. They promised me a promotion.
4. I figure that if I look for new jobs now, without any management experience (on paper), what position would they offer me? So I think the promotion may help build up my resume.
5. I've acquired hard earned skills and knowledge that may not be useful in commercial firms or larger firms. I don't want them to go to waste, although they're sunk cost..but I've worked really hard for them, thinking that it will eventually pay off.
Maybe you can try to interview and get some idea on how is the market of your position now. Most of the time, the paycheck in new job are more attractive than current company promotion and you may explore to new things and strengthen your skill sets. There's chances 'promise' turned into disappointment unless it stated in black and white. nod.gif
FutureBuilder
post Mar 3 2020, 11:53 PM

120 posts

QUOTE(Moshpit94 @ Mar 3 2020, 11:21 PM)
I think it's hard for me to go that amount salary because of GLCs because I think I do have unnecessary skillset thanks to freelance ie. Nodejs, aws, native/hybrid apps. Hmm but so sad lah, i think im gonna jump again next year... but will go to private sector. But what do you think about associate level?

Edit: thank u for your response sir
Associate can be junior. Once you had experience and exceed your future employer expectation, you will promote to system analyst or senior system analyst in future. 😁
FutureBuilder
post May 10 2020, 01:53 PM

120 posts

QUOTE(dash0928 @ May 9 2020, 08:57 PM)
Job Title : Assistant Brand Manager
Job Desciption : Marketing
Years spent in company : 2.5 yrs
Company : MNC
Industry : FMCG
Tenure :
Employment Level : Assistant Manager
Experience before joining (years) : 6 mths
Highest paper qualification/ education background : Bachelor Degree - Mass Comm
Average Working Hours Per Week (incl lunch hours): 45 - 55 hrs (quite frequent OT)

Monetary Payout
Basic Salary + Fixed Allowance : RM 4800
Contractual Bonus (months): 0 mths
Performance, Variable Bonus & Commissions (months) : 2-3 mths

Benefits (where relevant) :
Health Benefits : Medical, Dental
Transport Benefits : RM 200
Mobile / Internet / Gadget Benefits : N.A
Flexi Working Hours : N.A
Other Benefits : EPF from Employer 16%, 18 days AL

Is this considered market rate for this job level?
For assistance manager should be around 5k to middle 7k average from payscale. But undeniable, your total remuneration including performance bonuses, leave entitlements as well as the employer epf rate are good. laugh.gif
FutureBuilder
post Dec 31 2021, 04:44 PM

120 posts

QUOTE(NoComment222 @ Dec 31 2021, 12:40 PM)
Hi sifus, anyone knows what's the average % increment jump (from one company to another) and % internal promotion?
IMHO, jump ship usually around 20-30% while internal promotion 10-15% from what I know in IT industry , another aspect would be through your negotiation skills. Good luck 😁

0.1552sec    0.36    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 04:46 PM