Let's Talk Salary v8, Sharing Thread

Belphegor
post May 15 2019, 06:33 PM

Dreamer
5,806 posts

My previous job from Q4 2016 to Q1 2019
Job Title : Event & Marketing
Job Desciption : Mostly office bound work. Design, seek approval, deal with multiple department like legal, finance, etc.
Years spent in company : 1 Year+
Industry : Retail
Tenure : Permanent
Employment Level : Executive
Experience before joining : 3 years
Highest paper qualification/ education background : degree in Psychology / Mass Comm
salary : Close to RM4000 with 1 month bonus
Now

Job Title : Event and Meetings
Job Desciption : Mostly office bound work. If there are events then might need to go out of office. Local or overseas
Years spent in company : Just started
Industry : MLM Company
Experience before joining : 5 years
Highest paper qualification/ education background : degree in Psychology / Mass Comm
salary : Close to RM5000

2 years to jump almost RM1000. Inflation pun sudah ketchup. sweat.gif But thank God this company review quite good, bonus and performance also kasi every year, just the matter of less or more only. Heard from my department they travel quite frequent during hectic month. Quite good for me since I like to travel as well. My boss now in US now, sibeh syok! brows.gif

Belphegor
post Jun 6 2019, 11:10 PM

Dreamer
5,806 posts

QUOTE(Murasaki322 @ Jun 6 2019, 05:16 PM)
Based on many forumers' tales,
Is it true that salary won't grow fast without jumping ship?
Well that's not based on forumer's tale, but rather is what we witness and experiencing all these while. Our salary can never keep up with inflation and every year is getting harder and tougher to live with your stagnant or minimal increment salary.

I do not think you will get more than 10% increment in your annual increment unless a promotion, but you could request a minimal of 15% increment when you hop to another company.

For my case, I had 3% increment for 2017 and 2018, is not even 10% in total. Plus politics and unhealthy segregation of work task in MNC, I decided to move on to another industry instead.
Belphegor
post Jun 9 2019, 04:52 PM

Dreamer
5,806 posts

QUOTE(FG123 @ Jun 8 2019, 10:43 PM)
Job Title : jack in all trades. Job scope really wide.
Years spent in company : 2
Employment Level : no level. Boss and staff only.
Experience before joining (years) :0
Highest paper qualification/ education background : degree
Salary:2.5k.
Maybe depend on location. Salary really low.

Average Working Hours Per Week (incl lunch hours): 50
Find something you do best and jump. Don't waste time in this company. 30 year old and time is catching up.
Belphegor
post Jun 13 2019, 08:29 AM

Dreamer
5,806 posts

QUOTE(ferros @ Jun 12 2019, 09:37 AM)
Am i the only one that feel demotivated after go through this thread?? Comparing what i get now with what people earning out there. cry.gif
You can feel demotivated and let yourself be or extremely motivated to push yourself further. The choice is yours. laugh.gif
Belphegor
post Jun 13 2019, 02:53 PM

Dreamer
5,806 posts

QUOTE(Frosty_Mintz @ Jun 13 2019, 02:31 PM)
Guys..just want to know your opinion on this.

I just jump from my previous company,
After a few months my ex-boss contact me and ask whether i'm interested to join back the old company.

Any advice on the increment that i should request?
First, please check;

1) What's the reason of your ex-boss asking if you want to join back old company. Check with colleagues if the replacement not up to standard or what.
2) JD of the position. anything increase/decrease?
3) Salary range that is being offered on the table. I believe this you have bargain power since your boss know your working style and they came back to old staff, means they are not capable of finding new replacement to do your work.

Belphegor
post Jun 13 2019, 04:03 PM

Dreamer
5,806 posts

QUOTE(Frosty_Mintz @ Jun 13 2019, 02:58 PM)
1. They are unable to find suitable candidate after months of trying.
2. The JD should be the same i guess.
3. This is the dilemma, they are asking my expected increment. Since i just left, how much is too much? Does 30-40 seems reasonable?
how many months exactly? I'd say for at least 30% increment. No harm trying. Get; go back do what u do previously. Don't get: just say thank you and move on.

EDIT: 30% of current, not previous salary + 30%.

This post has been edited by Belphegor: Jun 13 2019, 04:03 PM
Belphegor
post Jul 1 2019, 08:49 AM

Dreamer
5,806 posts

QUOTE(kawa_e @ Jun 29 2019, 01:08 AM)
I have been avoiding this thread for many years. I posted twice and I am ashamed to say that my salary is still stagnant. I am very ashamed of myself and the salary I made. I need some input so i could get out of this salary bracket.

I have been working for 7 years starting as a normal Admin to E-commerce Sales cum Admin for the last 5 years. I dont consider myself knowledge in every aspect of what an E-Commerce employee should have. My skillset is more of mixed here and there. I Worked in a medium sized Chinaman company (previous) and startup company (current) so we need to do a lot of things including Cleaning every week like mop the floor, clean the toilet, etc 😫

I am so lost and demotivated. I live in Ipoh with my family. It is not that I dont want to work in KL/SG, it is just that my parents are in their early 70 now and I am not young anymore. It is not an excuse but my heart is not there. I was once away from home for a week in KL and my father was in hospital. I was so worried that I kept calling my mum to check on him.

I am looking forward to attend workshops and trainings to upgrade myself but I dont know where to start 😔

Thnx for reading my long rant. My english is weak, pardon if it feels funny to you.

Job Title : Digital Marketing Sales Exec (Title only, more towards normal Admin + Sales + Customer Service)
Years spent in company : 1.5ys
Industry : Travel (E-Commerce)
Employment Level : Exec (no level, all executives)
Experience before joining (years) : 5 years +
Highest paper qualification/ education background : Deg
Working Hours Per Day (incl lunch hours): Mon - Fri : 9.30-6.30pm ; Sat : 9.30 - 1.30pm

Monetary Payout
Basic Salary : RM2.2k
Allowance : RM100
Commission : Average per month (RM100-RM300), up to RM1000 during school holidays (Nov & Dec) in Malaysia

Benefit :
Company Phones to manage customer calls from day-night
OT claim
Mileage claim
Expenses claim (only for outstation like GRAB, Tol, etc)
Meal allowance (only for outstation. RM10 half day, RM20 full day)
Sick Leave
Maternity Leave
Public Holidays (Gazette)
You've got to go elsewhere to do something more specific like digital marketing or focus solely on sales. Don't mix and match until like this. No point and is killing your career path as no clear indication of your direction.

Single or planning to get married soon? hmm.gif
Belphegor
post Jul 2 2019, 12:36 AM

Dreamer
5,806 posts

QUOTE(kawa_e @ Jul 1 2019, 11:52 PM)
My position is more on sales cum e-commerce. Digital Marketing is just a title given by my company which has no function. We have a very good commission scheme if we could hit the target. I am not sure whether I should focus solely on sales job or office job (eg Digital Marketing/E-Commerce) without commission.

Thnx for your time 🙏
That's why. You can't decide which you should focus. I'd choose digital marketing as my skillset if I were you as we are now marching towards digital era. If you equipped with sufficient digital marketing skillset, I believe you can earn more than what you are getting right now.

Belphegor
post Jul 4 2019, 09:30 AM

Dreamer
5,806 posts

QUOTE(7-eleven @ Jul 3 2019, 10:57 PM)
Salam!

Job Title: Production chemistry chemist
Job Description: R&D Laboratory or Field Support
Years spent in company: Less than a year
Company: MNC
Industry: O&G - Chemical
Tenure: Permanent
Employment Level: Specialist
Experience before joining: Freshie.  2 internships before that.
Highest paper qualification/ education background: MSc. & BEng.
Average Working Hours Per Week (incl lunch hours): 40 hours+

Monetary Payout
Basic Salary + Fixed Allowance: 3.5K+ (extra allowances as long as not working in office)
Performance, Variable Bonus & Commissions (months): <3 months.

Benefits (where relevant) :
Health Benefits: Annual Group Insurance, free health checkups and dentals at panel clinics
Transport Benefits: Fully claimable if outstation/overseas
Food/Entertainment: Fully claimable if outstation/overseas
Mobile / Internet / Gadget Benefits : Laptop provided
Flexi Working Hours: Kind of, sometimes sited.
Other Benefits: Travelling often, higher employer's EPF contribution, standard annual leave, replacement leave, OT claim, compassionate leave and etc.
Reading threads here really motivated me to work harder. Aim to fully equip and look for promotion or better opportunity in 2 years time.

Possible to get >60% jump if join competitor or client? :😁
Spend more than a year in company and learn what you can from them only think about leaving them. Don't jump ship so fast cause is not nice to your profile as well. Focus on your skillset since you are still young. By the time you are 28-30 your chance will come and money will come to you as well.
Belphegor
post Jul 16 2019, 09:17 AM

Dreamer
5,806 posts

QUOTE(Lazyguy1337 @ Jul 15 2019, 07:06 PM)
My first time posting here

Job Title : Sales & Marketing Executive
Job Desciption : Full sales process, outbound marketing and project management for IT solutions (Supply Chain, ERP, CRM)
Years spent in company : 8 months
Industry : IT Solutions/ Services (SME)
Experience before joining (years) : 1
Highest paper qualification/ education background : Degree (B.A. Comms)
Average Working Hours Per Day (incl lunch hours): 9 hours, Monday to Friday

Monetary Payout
Basic Salary + Fixed Allowance : RM 2,500
Contractual Bonus (months): Na
Performance, Variable Bonus & Commissions (months) : Sales commision per month (up to RM 1000), Company not doing well not sure if getting bonus year end.

Health Benefits : Medical claims
Transport Benefits : Mileage after 20km, toll and parking for sales trips.
Mobile / Internet / Gadget Benefits : no
Flexi Working Hours : 8.30 - 5.30pm unless go out for meeting.
Other Benefits :

I plan to jump end of the year as my performance not that great in sales (not really a sales guy, took the job to learn) product also very competitive in the market. Looking for more digital marketing related jobs with at least RM 3k (for 2 year exp and degree ?)
You can try but you will be given as freshie salary since you have no experience in digital marketing. But digital marketing is the new direction for many years to come, so no worries on future opportunity on this profession.

QUOTE(adamfoo90 @ Jul 16 2019, 01:38 AM)
My first time posting here as well

Job Title : Service Engineer (Technical)
Job Desciption : Perform onsite repair duties on HP brand printers mostly.
Years spent in company : 4 months currently but overall 3 years + working with HP
Industry : IT Solutions/ Services
Employment Level : Technician
Experience before joining (years) : 8
Highest paper qualification/ education background : SPM
Average Working Hours Per Day (incl lunch hours): 9 hours, Monday to Friday

Monetary Payout
Basic Salary + Fixed Allowance : RM 3,300
Contractual Bonus (months): Na
Performance, Variable Bonus & Commissions (months) :
There's only case attendance allowance which if you attended more than 50 cases. Each cases are to be counted as RM 10 per case (Start counting from 51st case)

Health Benefits : Medical claims
Transport Benefits : N/A, All depending on my given allowance.
Mobile / Internet / Gadget Benefits : Phone bill covered
Flexi Working Hours : 10am - 5pm if case gets too complicated
Other Benefits :

I thought of jumping because the company haven't gave me my appointment letter, considering me as a ghost employee but salary still pays up to date.
Even my confirmation is still under evaluation. But given by allowance is not enough to cover for my car maintenance + fuel + toll + parking.
I wanted to discuss with my employer about this but then I'm unable to since I'm not given a clear instruction if I'm a confirmed staff or not.
Check letter offer, how many month probation and all. Or you were contract staff prior to your appointment? hmm.gif
Belphegor
post Jul 16 2019, 09:51 AM

Dreamer
5,806 posts

QUOTE(Lazyguy1337 @ Jul 16 2019, 09:46 AM)
I have about 1 year experience in marketing communications from my previous job includes digital marketing, social media management all that and current job also selling product related to digital marketing. Does that count as experience to ask for higher? DM is the future as many people already going freelance for design/ SEO/ Fb ads etc..
oh then is alright, but you need to stay in the industry to keep yourself updated to the latest technology of digital marketing. Can give it a try to apply and see if you get/any company willing to take you in and train you extensively.
Belphegor
post Aug 30 2019, 11:27 AM

Dreamer
5,806 posts

QUOTE(fylon @ Aug 30 2019, 10:12 AM)
Hey pal! Instead of giving the dollar to dollar compares, I got another offer again.

Company originated in SG but they wanted to hire an infra engineer for their branch in Taiwan, and they are offering me quite an attractive package. Work location is at Taipei, with accommodation provided and monthly travel (Go back Msia) allowance. Probation is 3-6months depends on work performance, and 1 month pro-rated bonus upon confirmation. Pay wise will be in NTD but rate is convert from SGD.

Very attractive package to me, but what I'm worried is culture shock.
Check the package. From what I know labor law in Taiwan is not the same as Malaysia. My Taiwanese friend who is a manager in Taiwan only gets about 7-8 AL annually, I believe this is not something we Malaysian can take. laugh.gif

Ask and see the contract is based from which country punya labor law. If Taiwan, they are entitled to offer you the range of AL I mentioned earlier.
Belphegor
post Sep 5 2019, 11:37 AM

Dreamer
5,806 posts

You are not suppose to convert the currencies until you get to save those money and bring it back to Malaysia.
Belphegor
post Sep 27 2019, 09:12 AM

Dreamer
5,806 posts

QUOTE(supermac @ Sep 26 2019, 11:51 AM)
Guys , I’m kinda lost , seeking for some advice . After reading those post from you guys , it’s really nice to have salary that good .

So I’m now age 35 , with diploma in civil engineering ,  first job is construction field , 3-4 years , salary joining 1500, leaving 2500.

2nd job work as properly agent for 1 and half year . 0 basic . Quit as I can’t even have enough money to put food on my table .

3rd job , Went to bali indon , help to repair his villa hotel ,  Uncle’s company , salary rm3500 . Work for 2 years . Project completed , no longer needed me . So have to quit .

4th job , start my own renovation business , renovating houses and condos , able to get 3 works , profit per project 25k / 4 months = 6k , last job kena con by owner , rugi 7k . Then can’t get project for few months . 

5th job , Went to China Guangzhou to do some small business with friend , income 2-3k per month . But the business went bad .

Now looking for a job , what job should I be looking . I’ve had no savings and in credit card debt due to paying for my mum cancer treatment , and she passed away .

Not much friends so trying my luck to ask for pros over Here , I don’t mind working any field or how many hours , possible to have a job around 5-6k ? So at least I can pay for my house Loan and slowly settle my debt

Sorry to hear your loss of your mother. Since you have some skillset, why not offer people with your service? I believe that can have very little output to generate high input.

QUOTE(static_365 @ Sep 26 2019, 12:10 PM)
Anyone have experience already resigned from X company but still receive salary from X company?
Save those money up. Don't use it until at least 3-6 months. Then at least you have valid reasons not to return to them as they did not chase for it for more than 6 months.
Belphegor
post Oct 10 2019, 09:29 AM

Dreamer
5,806 posts

QUOTE(budang @ Oct 9 2019, 01:18 PM)
I bought my first house when my salary 3.8k. Second house when salary 4.6k.

Low end homes though, 280k 850sqft apartment & 300k 430sqft soho.

5.2K you can easily afford a 400k 3 rooms condo.
Doesn't matter if is low end or high end, still good enough to control your own budget and buy two houses. Kudos to you! flex.gif
Belphegor
post Jan 7 2020, 10:31 PM

Dreamer
5,806 posts

QUOTE(sienz131415 @ Jan 3 2020, 03:18 AM)
Job Title : Project Engineer
Job description : Check drawing, material calculate& purchasing, fabrication checking, installation supervising and coordinate with supplier&contractor to make sure project complete on time.
Years spent in company : 10 months
Industry : Painting system Industry
Experience before joining (years) : 0 years
Highest paper qualification/ education background : Degree in Mechanical Engineering
Average Working Hours : 60-70hr/week

Monetary Payout
Salary before Tax: RM 2800 + Fix OT RM 300
Last Bonus received: 1Month
Benefits:
RM 1k Medical Panel
Mileage claim when traveling to site
Outstation allowance: RM50
Oversea allowance: RM130
Public Holiday allowance: RM180

Been working here for 10months, regularly work on sat, sun and public holiday, I am exhausted with lifestyle like this, and doesnt feel like I get compensate enough. What do you guys think? Need some advice.
Tahan until you have 1 year experience then move on. You already in the company for 10 months. Don't waste it, just tahan abit more.
Belphegor
post Feb 11 2020, 09:02 AM

Dreamer
5,806 posts

QUOTE(richard1226 @ Feb 11 2020, 12:30 AM)
That's also what I'm questioning myself as well. They told us not to worry too much as they have some savings left behind for it but I know for certain it won't be enough. I'm guessing somewhere around 5k a month or something idk?

Anyway I'll see what comes around by the time I'm fully one year in and if there happens to be any changes to my salary. Else I may have to start looking elsewhere.
TBH, 5k a month is not enough also once you are going in a relationship/starting a family. sweat.gif

0.0243sec    0.56    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 05:08 PM