which stream are you taking?....if the uk partner stream, you will need BOTH....
if the local stream, you can get away with just the muet...
International Medical University, IMU @ Bukit Jalil, Seremban, & Johor
Jan 7 2013, 10:47 PM
12,290 posts Joined: Aug 2006 |
which stream are you taking?....if the uk partner stream, you will need BOTH....
if the local stream, you can get away with just the muet... |
Jan 7 2013, 11:51 PM
QUOTE(AP.L @ Jan 7 2013, 11:45 PM) local. if local, you will still need muet....it's a mqa requirement, otherwise you cannot graduate....the joke is, it's a requirement to have sat for it.....there is no 'pass' band....band 1 also okay..... alright, actually i just realised that i have to go with ielts. because the registration date for muet in april had been closed -.- |
Jan 8 2013, 12:35 AM
Jan 8 2013, 01:12 PM
imu has always maintained that there is no difference between the pms and local programme...the students are all mixed up during phase 1 anyway...
however, it is a fact that the cut off are higher for pms compared to the local programme...the local licence has been increased to 150 per batch, or 300 a year, so they have to fill the vacancies..... there is no information on what the results of exams are like, and how the 2 cohort compare to each other, but anecdotal experience suggest more failures from the pms cohort....why that is so, and whether there is different assessment standards for the 2 is unknown.....but certainly, the pms generally set a high requirement for their selection.... since 2010, the minimum cut off is no more bbc, but bbb, based on the directive from mmc.... the pms-undergraduate programme remains very popular for obvious reasons, and places are always fully subscribed and restricted, in fact less than the past, due to several pms backing out from the arrangement....that is compensated for by increase in the pms-graduate entry stream....but that is quite unpopular.....never seems to fill up all vacancies... |
Jan 9 2013, 10:49 AM
QUOTE(Stamp @ Jan 9 2013, 09:10 AM) Not meaning to scare you, my niece's friend (they are JPA scholars) was deemed "not qualified" for pms by IMU, based on the interview which was conducted prior to A Level exam. He went on to scored straight As in A Levels, appealed to IMU to qualify him for pms but was turned down (the boy cheekily post his A Level results and the 2nd rejection letter from IMU for the pms program on his FB for all his friends to see. the selection of medical students into uk med schools has NOT depended on a levels results for a long time already....there are tens of thousands of students with 3a, they need to find other means of selection....offers are made long before students even sit for the a2...Fortunately JPA allowed him to maintain his scholarship but he had to do his medical course at IMU for the full 5 years. And he excelled in the pre-clinical phase (probably to show to IMU that he's a truly doctor material Well, moral of the story is, you'd better do well in the interview. Getting straight As in ALevels does not guarantee a place in pms. Good luck! for oxbridge, all courses, they also have NOT depended on a levels results for several decades.....selection is done on the basis of specific entrance exams (course dependant) and interviews.....they assume all potential students will have 3as....otherwise they will not be applying..... it is quite easy to get 3as so that means little nowadays.... This post has been edited by limeuu: Jan 9 2013, 10:55 AM |
Jan 9 2013, 10:51 AM
Jan 9 2013, 10:04 PM
people have to understand a bit how this works in bolehland (or some call bodohland)....
All these entrance processes like interviews, exams like isat, minimum pre-u results etc are based on the system of selection in well managed countries, where the number of qualified applicants far outnumber the places available....thus the need to screen them to select the best.... msia wants to show it is also a 'well managed' country, so the mmc have decreed that minimum pre-u and interviews are needed.... however, the real situation in msia is somewhat different.... unlike the other countries, the number of places outnumber the number of suitable qualified applicants.....why so few applicants?.....because it cost a small fortune.....and the vast majority of qualified students CANNOT afford it....(look at msia's economic figures....less than 10% of the population earn above rm10k/mth.....families not earning that can forget ipts med schools)....ie only a small portion of the entire student population are potential applicants.....the VERY rich.....and those with public taxpayer's money (ie scholarships)..... in this situation, the unis will have to comply with whatever rules, and conduct interviews, conduct tests (eg isat), but when selecting, will ignore all these, as complying with mmc minimum qualification (that one they cannot escape) means often less qualified applicants than places available....even monash sunway ignores the isat test results..... in this madness, only one programme seems to have risen about the mess.....and that is the imu-pms programme....where they are now in the happy situation of having MORE qualified applicants than places, and hence can apply interviews in the selection process....and apply more stringent criteria.... and this is also a recent phenomena....as recent as 4 years ago, they were still taking in bbc students and the interview serves ONLY to confirm the student CAN pay the fees......and their local programme is still firmly under water in this madness.... and thus....the SHOCK....that 3a students can actually fail the interview.... This post has been edited by limeuu: Jan 9 2013, 11:48 PM |
Jan 9 2013, 10:09 PM
oh, and someone reading the above may then realised something....and asks 'what happens to the 90% who cannot afford?'....
well, the really good one, and the lucky earth princes will get scholarships...others get into ipta....if you are lucky, matrik will help enormously.... and the rest don't dream, suppress their 'passions' and go do other courses.... |
Jan 14 2013, 06:08 PM
QUOTE(rossmike @ Jan 14 2013, 04:26 PM) Hi im an Australian student but I have a NZ citizenship, could I still get a PMS placement in an Aus Uni? australian and nz citizens and pr can enroll in imu but CANNOT be matched to oz/nz pms....because that would be considered a backdoor entry....Also would a 93 ATAR meet the cut-off this year? I'm applying for the August intake. minimum atar for the pms stream is 95.... |
Jan 14 2013, 06:16 PM
QUOTE(rossmike @ Jan 14 2013, 06:15 PM) Omg are you serious? They didn't even mention anything like this on their website! And to think I just wasted $330 on the IELTS exam for nothing... it's was there in the website....they have removed the condition.... it is part of the partnership agreement, that the respective citizens and pr of the partner countries cannot be matched to their own country.... it is best you call them directly, to clarify this.... in fact, they have removed a few information.....and added some wrong information... in particular, for international students.....they CANNOT do housemanship in msia.... This post has been edited by limeuu: Jan 14 2013, 06:42 PM |
Jan 14 2013, 11:30 PM
QUOTE(swayforlife @ Jan 14 2013, 10:53 PM) http://www.imu.edu.my/imu/index.php/progra...ical-school-pms ah.....there it is....they hide it well..... Go to the end of the page, click "matching process......" |
Jan 21 2013, 12:33 PM
QUOTE(Scikey @ Jan 19 2013, 07:54 PM) Hi, 1. the spore a levels is treated the same as ill other a levels, although it is well known the grading system is sticter in the spore a levels......I am an applicant from singapore interested in attending imu pms programme. I have some queries with regard to their admission process. Firstly, is there an exact cut off for the pms with singapore a level results? Will they look into your co curriculars together with your grades to decide on an offer for you? Secondly, how is the interview like? Is it more for formality, or they really want to sieve out people. Thirdly, are there many Singaporeans studying there? Lastly, I've read about the unpredictable matching system in imu. If I were to put all the choices as UK would I have a chance of getting a school not on my list of choices? I'm predicted AABB for my a levels. Can you apply with predicted grades? Thank you for the help, really appreciate it 2. co-cur plays almost zero part in the selection.... 3. the interview, at least in the past, was mainly to determine if you have enough money to pay for the course.....i doubt if it is different now.... 4. every batch, there will be a few 'sporeans'...not that many....and some of them are actually msians living in spore..... 5. in the matching, you list ALL the med schools in you order of preferences....and yes, theoritically, you can be matched to one low down in your choices.... 6.yes, you can apply based on forecast results... |
Jan 21 2013, 12:36 PM
QUOTE(irisss @ Jan 21 2013, 08:33 AM) Normally,you have to had least have a master of medicine in china(2 yrs), this is like the residency training In western countries.many ppl in china has doctor of medicine (degree you obtained after master of medicine3 yrs) |
Mar 15 2013, 11:07 PM
imu does not have their own foundation programme....they take in students mainly from a levels, oz year 12, stpm, matrik, ib and some recognised foundations like mufy....
but they have outsourced their foundation to kbu.... for the pms programme, they don't really need to take from foundation programmes, they have more than enough qualified applicants from the mainstream pre-u........ there are very few pms places in australia....but may not be popular nowadays, as there is already insufficient internship places in oz, and international students will likely have to look elsewhere for jobs.... |
Mar 26 2013, 10:57 PM
'major intake' for what?....
and if you can't even find simple information like this with access to the internet.... p/s i just realised the question is meant to look for tenants, not studies..... This post has been edited by limeuu: Mar 26 2013, 11:28 PM |
Apr 29 2013, 08:47 PM
they will offer places based on the merits of your pre-u results and interview, but you will need to accept the offer within usually a week or two, and acceptance of offer is by paying up the 1st semester's fees....
Few people will willingly pay rm40k if they have no money to continue the course. Some however did, and when the expected funding they thought they may be able to receive did not come, they have to drop out..... |
Apr 30 2013, 10:59 AM
that is tacit acknowledgement, albeit clothed in very diplomatic language, that chiropractice is NOT science or evidence based, and hence not compatible with their new research orientated direction and programmes.....hence they are letting the programme go....
Aug 24 2013, 03:36 PM
i have always wondered why phase 1 is 2 1/2 years, and why there is a need for a whole year (2 sems) of 'foundation'.....
i realised in the early days, imc, and later imu, took in a lot of mediocre students, and they needed to 'foundation' them up to speed with the rest.....hence the heavy emphasis on 'foundation'.... they get better students now, and the need for this foundation has diminished....therefore it make sense to compress it down to 1 sem, and use the extra time for something else....i have also wondered why the clinical phase is only 2 1/2 years, less than the usual 3 years...now that sem 5 is 'clinical', the full local programme is back to the usual 2+3 format..... they could of course compress the phase down to 2 years....but phase 1 is an important cash cow for them, they earn the most from this, than any other programme or phase 2....so that sem5 fees is important..... in the past there was differential fees charged for phase 1 and 2, like most uk unis....but 3 years ago, they decided to stop this, with the effect that phase 1 saw an increase in fees of 5k and phase 2 a decrease of also 5k.....of course through inflation (something doctors apparently are not allowed to address with their fees), it's back to the 40k/sem.... as for postgraduate options, in view of the closing doors in the usual places msian used to go, imu sent out a survey recently to the students asking if there is interest in usmle.....i don't know the outcome, but if there is enough interest, they will probably run a usmle prep programme like some med schools do routinely.....for a fee no doubt..... in case anyone is wondering why there is no control in the education fees, and no control in private hospital charges, do some research on who owns most of the private hospitals, and imu.... |
Sep 23 2013, 11:36 AM
QUOTE(Gorila_ @ Sep 23 2013, 10:48 AM) One lecturer once told us you only spend 5% of your time studying for exam, the rest you should be doing reports, summaries, and seeing patients. Of course. You are training to be a doctor, NOT to just pass exams. I hope....QUOTE(Gorila_ @ Sep 23 2013, 10:48 AM) 2.5 years in BJ is waste of time, I think my juniors will benefit more with the pseudo-3 years clinical curriculum. BJ did not prepare us for clinical years, prepare for the cultural shock in S'ban. the pre-clinical period is important, as you learn basic medical sciences, the basis for your clinical practices later. So no, it is NOT a waste of time. It is NOT meant to prepare you for the 'cultural shock' when you enter the clinical years, but to prepare you with a firm foundation in knowledge that helps you understand clinical practices. Most people who matched to clinical schools elsewhere are quite happy that Phase 1 prepared them well for the clinics....By the way, any juniors wants 7th edition Marieb? Would be happy to let it go for free. This post has been edited by limeuu: Sep 23 2013, 11:37 AM |
Sep 23 2013, 12:32 PM
If you think imu over-teach, wait till you see the syllabus of traditional non-intergrated medical schools....
| Change to: | 0.0570sec
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 04:04 PM |