The Official iPhone X Discussion Thread | V5, Say hello to the future
attw
Jul 15 2018, 03:54 PM
QUOTE(soitsuagain @ Jul 15 2018, 11:02 AM) E-sim is a GSMA standard and not some proprietary standard. Back then everyone was complaining about microsim and nanosim cause it is hard to switch to other phones because other manufacturers were lagging behind on the compliance std. And then everyone thought was an Apple standard. Anyway e-sim is meant to complement IoT where it is easier to connect across multiple devices then by just using a normal SIM card. It is also tons better than a dual sim whereby it is limited to two due to the physical space they need whereby for the esim it can encompass as many accounts as it can as the chip improves. Yeah, but knowing how behind our telcos are I think it'll be some time before we see it here
attw
Jul 15 2018, 05:49 PM
QUOTE(soitsuagain @ Jul 15 2018, 05:32 PM) Maxis already have it. Imagine what other telcos do if the new iPhone comes with esim  Yeah, it'll be fun to watch, haha...
attw
Jul 17 2018, 10:41 AM
QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Jul 16 2018, 06:16 PM) They cant implement when the telcos are not ready. Simple as that. Anyway, I think this is a good idea, but would be far inconvinient for those who frequently switch their sim cards and travel overseas a lot. Well, maxis is ready https://www.maxis.com.my/en/personal/plans/...plans/esim.html
attw
Jul 18 2018, 09:42 AM
QUOTE(desreg2913 @ Jul 18 2018, 09:20 AM) dunno how secure is this eSim technology. as our phone number link with a lot of our stuff especially for banking OTP. what if someone can easily hack and copy ur eSim to their own device? if yes then its really scary... That’s a risk even on normal sims, hahaha...
attw
Jul 18 2018, 12:56 PM
QUOTE(Joey-kun @ Jul 18 2018, 10:48 AM) oh yeah, need suggestions for cheaper fast charger...the 3.1A one i currently have takes about 4 hours for a full charge... aukey one quite exp... Use an iPad 12W adapter, you should get a full charge in a little over 2 hours.
attw
Jul 19 2018, 08:32 AM
QUOTE(Porie @ Jul 18 2018, 09:59 AM) Anyone have any experience repairing a cracked iphone X screen? How much does it cost? My friend say its almost 1.2k  Machines charges RM1499 https://www.machines.com.my/pages/service
attw
Jul 20 2018, 08:35 AM
QUOTE(yupio @ Jul 19 2018, 05:38 PM) Anyone here still use Assistive Touch even with iPhone X? Last time, reason for using Assistive Touch is to prolong the lifetime of the Home button which would spoil over time. Now iPhone X does not have a home button, wonder if Assistive Touch is still very much in use or otherwise. Never used Assistive Touch since I started using iPhones - iPhone 4
attw
Jul 21 2018, 09:02 AM
QUOTE(RDoe @ Jul 20 2018, 06:07 PM) Almost the reasons I use the Assistive Touch button for, and also to get back to the home page. Are these easily accessed without the AT button, otherwise? I think one of the main reasons for using the AT button previously was the concern the home button might wear out since we use it very often to go back to the home page. Now that the X comes without a home button and going back to the home page is as easy as a simple gesture, that concern has been eliminated. However, there are still some useful and quick shortcuts accessible with AT as above. Maybe Apple needs to add more gestures for the X
attw
Jul 22 2018, 12:02 PM
QUOTE(westlife @ Jul 21 2018, 07:14 PM) who is looking forward to the new iPhone X plus version in coming September? The iPhone X bezelless design is good and good for one handed usage for its size but somehow still find the screen size a bit too small. Me. Since passing my iPhone X to my wife and taking over her 8 Plus, I’ve not been the same I even had a short flirtatious stint since with an iPhone X lookalike (P20 Pro) but I miss the X still, hahaha...
attw
Jul 23 2018, 08:34 AM
QUOTE(westlife @ Jul 22 2018, 12:15 PM) iphone 8 plus is also a great phone. haha. at least to me, the LCD display on iPhone 8 Plus is actually not too far off to the OLED on iPhone X. actually i dun mind the screen is LCD, if it is the same design as iPhone X. so the upcoming LCD bezelless iPhone will be interesting also.  It is. Since passing my iPhone X to my wife and taking over the 8 Plus, I've tried a Galaxy S9+ and a Huawei P20 Pro - I thought if they were good enough then I could sell of the 8 Plus and wait for the next iPhone but instead I ended up selling the Android ones instead and going back to the 8 Plus, even though I'm probably sick of the design having used the 6 Plus, 6S Plus and 7 Plus  Ya, I don't really care if the screen on the next iPhone is LCD or OLED. I just want a bigger battery!
attw
Jul 23 2018, 12:54 PM
QUOTE(westlife @ Jul 23 2018, 08:50 AM) Once u are into Apple ecosystem, u will not want to go out of it. I have no complaint about the battery, in fact iPhone X battery is good quite good. For 8+, it should be even better. Yeah, I mean it gets me through the day, but sometimes if I use a little more (especially on WhatsApp) it tends to drain a lot faster.
attw
Jul 24 2018, 06:51 AM
QUOTE(persona93 @ Jul 23 2018, 04:33 PM) me, using friend's 5S now often times lag huhu QUOTE(desreg2913 @ Jul 23 2018, 05:18 PM) my 5s that passed to my mum still working fine. how u define lag??? play game? A little out of topic but my mum is using the 5S too, and launching apps is a bit painful due to the lag. Am hoping iOS 12 helps  In the meantime - here's some good news for iPhone X owners: - http://fortune.com/2018/07/23/apple-iphone-x-value/
attw
Jul 26 2018, 04:11 PM
QUOTE(persona93 @ Jul 26 2018, 11:15 AM) feel like X is the new gen of phones created by Apple should one bite the bullet and get one now or just wait for the next one releasing in Sept / Oct Wait, I think. Even if you decide to get the older one after the new one is announced, there will be a reduction in the price.
attw
Jul 27 2018, 08:05 AM
QUOTE(desreg2913 @ Jul 26 2018, 10:01 PM) LOL seems like every year ppl ask the same question. just depends on ur need, need to use it? buy now, anyhow ur ip x can simply last u for 3 years. Haha, yeah. Cut, Copy and Paste every year  Anyways, a friend's iPhone 6 Plus still going strong after 4 years so I would say the X can definitely last longer than 3 years!
attw
Jul 28 2018, 10:12 PM
QUOTE(westlife @ Jul 28 2018, 01:05 PM) I am sure iPhone 6 or 6+ will be the models of phone that ppl have kept it for the longest duration before changing phone. Not too shabby for a phone with just 1GB RAM, huh ?
attw
Jul 30 2018, 06:53 AM
QUOTE(Anonymous34 @ Jul 29 2018, 02:30 PM) Hi Space Gray owners, I would like to ask the condition of your SS after months of usage. I just got mine last month, its been in a hard case for a while and two fine scratches developed due to like dust rubbing against it i think. Anyhow I changed to TPU gel case, after 3 weeks, there are like the coating peeling off leaving like small dots on my phone, as of now there are like 3 dots already. I have another 2 months to go until I can upgrade, any suggestion? Inspected my wife's Space Grey unit last night, and the stainless steel sides still look pristine. Using Otterbox Statement case since Day 1. Dots and micro scratches are normal, I guess, but the coating peeling off seems serious. You have a photo of it?
attw
Jul 31 2018, 06:59 AM
QUOTE(Anonymous34 @ Jul 30 2018, 01:39 PM) Thats nice, i should have started with a soft case Maybe not peeling off, but like it triggers my mild OCD. The rest of the phone is pristine but theres dots and micro scratches. Luckily I use case ahahhaa. Somehow the glass is damn bad huh, my father’s 8 Plus also has scratches all over the glass. But im focusing on the stainless steel, have a few dots and micro scratches I think dots and micro scratches are hard to avoid on stainless steel  QUOTE(shockk @ Jul 30 2018, 02:57 PM) Micro-scratches on the frame of the iPhone X are caused normally by cases which are loosely-fitted to the phone itself. So far have been using original authentic UAG cases (UAG Monarch which I bought for RM229) and they have not scratched my iPhone X at all. Currently just got an ElementCase Formula (which I bought for RM419) and the rubber quality feels as premium as the UAG Monarch - which feels very sturdy, solid and tight, so likely it would not cause scratches too (*touch wood though!)  I think that's probably one of the most expensive case I've ever seen apart from those that come with a battery pack!
attw
Jul 31 2018, 08:24 PM
For those of you who read about the ads by Samsung, here’s probably why... This post has been edited by attw: Jul 31 2018, 08:24 PM
attw
Aug 1 2018, 08:27 AM
QUOTE(streamline @ Aug 1 2018, 02:29 AM) Both phones (Apple and Samsung) are good. Using the X and S9+. Maybe alot going for S9+ instead of S9. Yes, I too used the S9+ for a week before I sold it off. Anyways, Apple's iPhone X is still selling like hot cakes, so much so, their quarter result is very much in contrast to Samsung's. After all their ads poking fun at Apple, look who's having the last laugh
attw
Aug 2 2018, 09:19 AM
QUOTE(666devil @ Aug 1 2018, 06:31 PM) Apple never need to rely on such cheapskate tactics. Year after year,same tactic by Sammy. That is when we know who’s desperate and going down the drain. Well in fairness, they used to during the days of Steve (the infamous I'm a Mac, I'm a PC ad) but that was when they were the underdogs. I guess Sammy feels like that now even though they are number one hahaha...