Best PSU For Overclocker V2, Which One Is The Best? ^^

karom
post Sep 5 2007, 11:18 AM

Hello everybody
1,262 posts

QUOTE(TheVoIP @ Sep 5 2007, 01:45 AM)

I am assembling my new entertaiment + gaming rig. All components bought except PSU. So need your advices on the final item.

Here is my configuration:

+ Intel C2D 6550 (with Zalman 9700LED) -> At least clock at 2.8GHz
+ Gigabyte P35-DS3 -> At least clock at FSB 400MHz to run 1:1 with RAM
+ MSI 8800GTS 320MB OC Edition
+ 4x Corsair XMS2 1GB DDR800 5-5-5-12
+ LeadTek TV2000 PCI TV Card
+ LG DVD Writer SATA
+ 2x 320MB HDD SATA
+ APC UPS RS 800VA (Heard enermax got problem with UPS?)
+ Microsoft Windows Vista Home Premium
+ Edifier R1900

I am not interested on SLI as my motherboard cannot support, but it is still possible for me to further upgrade the processor to quad core as well as the graphic card later like 8800GTX that require dual 6-pin. So I am looking for PSU that can last me 3 years of enjoyable gaming experinces with some minor upgrades here and there. It has to be quiet because I am running it 24/7 on my bed room.

My first choice in my mind is Silverstone ST56F and follow by Acbel 500W LED. What do you think?

FYI, I still has Enermax FMA 460 (dual 8cm fans) with my current AMD system. But I am abit concern about its noise level. So any PSU recommended must be quieter than this Enermax. Or else I would rather use this old but reliable piece of PSU.

I read from this thread that some silverstone like ST40F is noisy and it is kind of concern me...  sweat.gif  How is the noise level from the ST56F? Hope some real users can share some experinces here...  notworthy.gif

Thanks for reading.  notworthy.gif
Try to look for 550W Continuous Power PSU.

Or if you plan to upgrade further, look for 650W PSU. It is enough to supply 8800Ultra.
toughnut
post Sep 5 2007, 11:20 AM

3,239 posts

that's the only flaw last time i check. hope they fix the memory leak already. if dont want software control, get Pro version. cheaper by rm50-80
serez
post Sep 5 2007, 11:24 AM

serez beznez
1,231 posts

QUOTE(v1rtual @ Sep 4 2007, 08:23 PM)
i just bought enermax FMAII 535W last week
anyone hear any problem with this model so far??
cause the shop keeper keep recomending me to choose that one, so i chose to try
so far heard a bit about enermax failure. but for me, i`m still using it w/out any problems. runs 24/7 on o/ced condition (but not hardcore la..) rclxms.gif
sniper69
post Sep 5 2007, 12:51 PM

.: One Shot One Kill :. .+|Level 9 Type Shit|+.
7,173 posts

QUOTE(toughnut @ Sep 5 2007, 11:20 AM)
that's the only flaw last time i check. hope they fix the memory leak already. if dont want software control, get Pro version. cheaper by rm50-80
bought Odin Pro 550W, but the salesperson gave me software for Odin GT 800W laugh.gif
mADmAN
post Sep 5 2007, 12:55 PM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(toughnut @ Sep 5 2007, 08:52 AM)
btw, i also suggest getting Odin GT 800w. pretty cheap price/watt. cost less than rm800 and it's modular, highly efficient and software controllable.
for that price id rather get the Strider 1000w. RM899 and its 100% modular.

but then i hate modular PSUs. messy like hell laugh.gif
ameque
post Sep 5 2007, 01:06 PM

284 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Sep 5 2007, 12:55 PM)

strider 1000w only rm899?? cheap la! already in stores ker?

sniper how much u buy odin 550w?
sniper69
post Sep 5 2007, 01:38 PM

7,173 posts

nod.gif, yes indeed... non-modular, the cable only coming out from one side, while the modular... well, you know what i mean... that's why MadMan also said... it's mess laugh.gif thumbup.gif

QUOTE(ameque @ Sep 5 2007, 01:06 PM)
strider 1000w only rm899?? cheap la! already in stores ker?
sniper how much u buy odin 550w?
not sure the ST1000 in stores or not... unsure.gif

the Odin Pro 550W, i bought was for my brother doh.gif, i got it from Cycom @RM380
leslie0880
post Sep 5 2007, 04:13 PM

728 posts

bro r u confirm?i ask the DA850 RM880 ler for bulk...... blink.gif
RM899 for 1000watt....thn i bought this better......
coz DA750 shortage......sian........... cry.gif
y does the modular PSU really messy?i still consider want get modular or no......

mADmAN
post Sep 5 2007, 04:20 PM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(leslie0880 @ Sep 5 2007, 04:13 PM)
y does the modular PSU really messy?i still consider want get modular or no......
the DA series and the Strider series are 2 different levels la...

DA & OP - high end
Strider - mid range

or something like that la.

modular PSU is messy coz the wires come out from all over the place...ugh

u look at the pictures and compare lor

u see the modular the cables are coming out from all over the place...compared to non-modular cables coming from ONE side only. hell of alot neater.
sniper69
post Sep 5 2007, 04:22 PM

7,173 posts

QUOTE(leslie0880 @ Sep 5 2007, 04:13 PM)
the ST1000 @RM899, confirmed by uncle ianho, he's the one who tested the PSU icon_idea.gif, not fully tested though, just a simple review smile.gif, about the modular or not... it's up to you... if i were you, i'd go for single rail PSU - in your case, DA850 (but still, it's modular doh.gif shakehead.gif)
mADmAN
post Sep 5 2007, 04:24 PM

10,530 posts

oh yeah...one more thing about modular....

i have a friend who is an electrician for high end factory machinery. the kind that costs tens or hundreds of thousands. he told me that no matter what, try and keep ur electrical connections to a minimum. this is 2 reduce resistance and so that it doesnt disrupt the electrical flow... even joining 2 cables and soldering them isnt a good idea as its considered an extra connection. the best is always to have one single long cable as compared to 2 or more cables joined together.

this resistance thing has been discussed quite a few times in this forum and other places as well...
sniper69
post Sep 5 2007, 04:24 PM

7,173 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Sep 5 2007, 04:20 PM)
the DA series and the Strider series are 2 different levels la...

DA & OP - high end
Strider - mid range

or something like that la.

modular PSU is messy coz the wires come out from all over the place...ugh

u look at the pictures and compare lor

u see the modular the cables are coming out from all over the place...compared to non-modular cables coming from ONE side only. hell of alot neater.
so... who say that the modular tidier... tongue.gif, MadMan proved it already thumbup.gif
leslie0880
post Sep 5 2007, 04:54 PM

728 posts

@sniper bro DA850 too expensive lah....maximun jus can get RM750 for my PSU only....and i ask many ppl ady,they said if using OP or DA series 750watt is enough for me....

@madman fran u OP750 bought how much?but the ST1000F really more attration.......if ST1000F can compare with
OP850watt?

and this 1 is wht i c at XS...

Tier 1 Brands - The Most Powerful And Stable Components On The Market
Silverstone ZF (Etasis 85/75/56)
Seventeam ST >600 (SSI, V2.91) <--- ST1000F?
Silverstone OP/DA >700W <---DA750?

so both off the PSU are same is Tier 1?

This post has been edited by leslie0880: Sep 5 2007, 04:57 PM
mADmAN
post Sep 5 2007, 04:58 PM

10,530 posts

i bought mine from jy14. u ask him his price lor...but i think all the bulkers selling around RM730.

and i cant compare between the st1000 and op850. that one have to find comparison review or something.
leslie0880
post Sep 5 2007, 05:05 PM

728 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Sep 5 2007, 04:58 PM)
i bought mine from jy14. u ask him his price lor...but i think all the bulkers selling around RM730.

and i cant compare between the st1000 and op850. that one have to find comparison review or something.
as wht i saw is,ST1000 total 12v1+12v2 = 70A@max80A
DA850 total 12v=70A....
thn means the both are same(i think....) blink.gif
now very confuse lah.......
maybe will bought the OP750....coz DA750 shortage.....
dun know OP850 how much,if low thn DA850 thn can consider too....
SUSTheVoIP
post Sep 5 2007, 10:57 PM

Super General
5,793 posts

QUOTE(sniper69 @ Sep 5 2007, 08:17 AM)
@thevoip
how much your budget? are you into overclocking? looking for non-modular PSU or the modular PSU? from the spec i checked, any true power PSU from 500W should be ok for your setup. i'm not saying that Acbel is not good, but i got an issue with Acbel + 8800GTS, it'll randomly shut down due to power failure until i switched to Gigabyte Odin Pro 550W, but the funny thing is, a friend of mine used to use with Acbel Gold 550W + 8800GTX Ultra, it went so smooth until he SLI-ed doh.gif, so i guess, it's just my bad luck sad.gif

the Silverstone ST56F is silent i must say, no worries, even though it uses 80mm, but it's more silent than any other typical 80mm PSU icon_idea.gif
I am not planing to spend much on the PSU, but still can allocate not more than RM500 la... It does not mean I need to spend up to RM500... sweat.gif It is why I planning to get ST56F because only RM340 ma... biggrin.gif

How is the Gigabyte Odin Pro 550W? And how long is the warranty?

How come you said ST56F is using 80cm fan and silent? It is using 12cm fans, right?

QUOTE(toughnut @ Sep 5 2007, 08:52 AM)
btw, i also suggest getting Odin GT 800w. pretty cheap price/watt. cost less than rm800 and it's modular, highly efficient and software controllable.
Out of budget la... and the spec too crazy liao... sweat.gif

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Sep 5 2007, 09:14 AM)
and based on the criteria:
-ur gonna upgrade to quad proc and 8800gtx
-silent

i would personally recommend the thermaltake toughpower 750w. really quiet psu, cheap, and gets the job done. you may want tocheck out the new modded tough power series as well, theres also a 650w version. those have better intake airflow and chances are maybe even quieter as it is able to cool the psu better.
How much is the ToughPower 750W and how long is the warranty?

QUOTE(karom @ Sep 5 2007, 11:18 AM)
Try to look for 550W Continuous Power PSU.

Or if you plan to upgrade further, look for 650W PSU. It is enough to supply 8800Ultra.
What brand & model?

QUOTE(serez @ Sep 5 2007, 11:24 AM)
so far heard a bit about enermax failure. but for me, i`m still using it w/out any problems. runs 24/7 on o/ced condition (but not hardcore la..) rclxms.gif
My Enermax FMA 460 also serving me fine... except a bit noisy due to dual 8cm fans.

QUOTE(sniper69 @ Sep 5 2007, 12:51 PM)
bought Odin Pro 550W, but the salesperson gave me software for Odin GT 800W laugh.gif
Odin Pro 550W good or not? Or should I insist on Silverstone ST56F that highly recommended by this thread.

QUOTE(sniper69 @ Sep 5 2007, 01:38 PM)
the Odin Pro 550W, i bought was for my brother doh.gif, i got it from Cycom @RM380
How long is the warranty? Silent or not? Any regret?

This post has been edited by TheVoIP: Sep 5 2007, 10:58 PM
sniper69
post Sep 5 2007, 11:23 PM

7,173 posts

How is the Gigabyte Odin Pro 550W? And how long is the warranty?

IIANM, 1 year from shop (where i bought), 1 or 2 or 3 years from manufacturer, alaaa, not sure la, last time bought, grab it, ask the warranty and send the item to my bro tongue.gif

How come you said ST56F is using 80cm fan and silent? It is using 12cm fans, right?

oops.gif, my bad... correction, ST56F using 120mm not 80mm as i said earlier, pardon me... doh.gif shakehead.gif

Odin Pro 550W good or not? Or should I insist on Silverstone ST56F that highly recommended by this thread.
How long is the warranty? Silent or not? Any regret?

both of actually good, both also with similar price range and same wattage (±), the ST56F OEM from Enhance, while Odin Pro, OEM from Channel Well Technology
SUSTheVoIP
post Sep 5 2007, 11:38 PM

Super General
5,793 posts

Hi sniper69,

Have you use the ST56F before? How silent it is? How about the Gigabyte in term of silentness? rolleyes.gif
sniper69
post Sep 6 2007, 01:05 AM

7,173 posts

QUOTE(TheVoIP @ Sep 5 2007, 11:38 PM)
Hi sniper69,

Have you use the ST56F before? How silent it is? How about the Gigabyte in term of silentness?  rolleyes.gif
wink.gif, no... i'm not using the ST56F, i'm on ST56ZF as my siggy said, the Odin Pro is indeed silent, okla... the 135mm fan is not that loud... biggrin.gif
SUSTheVoIP
post Sep 6 2007, 12:32 PM

Super General
5,793 posts

QUOTE(sniper69 @ Sep 6 2007, 01:05 AM)
wink.gif, no... i'm not using the ST56F, i'm on ST56ZF as my siggy said, the Odin Pro is indeed silent, okla... the 135mm fan is not that loud... biggrin.gif
I see.. Odin Pro 550W cost RM390 from Cycom. Do you think the price is ok?

The Odin Pro attract me for only one reason, 14cm fan, which should be really silent. But the modular form as well as too many 12 volts rails concern me... sweat.gif

Do you think it is enought to power my gear with 8800GTS? rolleyes.gif

106 Pages « < 26 27 28 29 30 > » Top

0.0290sec    0.28    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 07:42 PM