Advice Needed: Toyota Estima
TSPlatonic
Jan 22 2018, 11:18 PM, updated 8y ago
Hello Folks, I need some advise on Toyota Estima 2.4 Aeras, I'm currently scouting for year 2013 - 2014, Price range is around 160k. Is this a reliable car? What should I look out for when selecting the unit? What is the standard maintenance price like? Thank you
jameslow
Jan 22 2018, 11:34 PM

QUOTE(Platonic @ Jan 22 2018, 11:18 PM) Hello Folks, I need some advise on Toyota Estima 2.4 Aeras, I'm currently scouting for year 2013 - 2014, Price range is around 160k. Is this a reliable car? What should I look out for when selecting the unit? What is the standard maintenance price like? Thank you  2.4 is reliable, you won't go wrong when you decided to maintain a Jap car especially a Toyota. You need a lot of study when comes to specs, there are probably too many combination.
afoka
Jan 22 2018, 11:50 PM
Been using from 2015... only balik kampung or long distance journey... bigger boot than vellfire and alphard coz can open the boot floor to put more stuff.
Since it recond, only 1 year warranty by dealer for engine and transmission. Must spare money for emergency backup or change part
Toyota is reliable...my colleague own latest model wish just change the transmission last month for 7k after 6 years daily drive....not bad lor
Estima not that fast...2.4 kinda so so la..cant beat those v6 even starex more faster.
Minor service around 300 to 500..depends what you change la...i have change both rear brake disc for 500..major can be around 600 to 700 coz need change cvt fluid for every 20k or 30k..i forgot already
First thing I did when I get my estima is to send to Toyotsu Toyota at Shah Alam for the first service...coz they only two official toyota sc that can service and accept recond car..but it bloody expensive...it cost me almost 2k for the major service plus service aircond and they do full inspection for your car...need to leave it for 1 day...later they give you full checklist report of your car...the car parts...verify vin number...everything la...you have to pass copy of the geran also to them as reference.
This post has been edited by afoka: Jan 23 2018, 12:12 AM
cedyy
Jan 22 2018, 11:53 PM
QUOTE(afoka @ Jan 22 2018, 11:50 PM) Been using from 2015... only balik kampung or long distance journey... bigger boot than vellfire and alphard coz can open the boot floor to put more stuff. Since it recond, only 1 year warranty by dealer for engine and transmission. Must spare money for emergency backup or change part Toyota is reliable...my colleague own latest model wish just change the transmission last month for 7k after 6 years daily drive....not bad lor Estima not that fast...2.4 kinda so so la..cant beat those v6 even starex more faster. Minor service around 300 to 500..depends what you change la...i have change both rear brake disc for 500..major can be around 600 to 700 coz need change cvt fluid for every 20k or 30k..i forgot already First thing I did when I get my estima is to send to Toyotsu Toyota at Shah Alam for the first service...coz they only two official toyota sc that can service and accept recond car..but it bloody expensive...it cost me 4k for the major service plus service aircond and they do full inspection for your car...need to leave it for 1 day...later they give you full checklist report of your car...the car parts...verify vin number...everything la...you have to pass copy of the geran also to them as reference. 4k major service what they changed?
afoka
Jan 23 2018, 12:16 AM
QUOTE(cedyy @ Jan 22 2018, 11:53 PM) 4k major service what they changed? Sorry my mistake...it was only 1.8k only. Can refer the attached invoice.
4k was quotation to overhaul the engine at Toyotsu... coz I saw a vellfire send there to be overhaul.
cedyy
Jan 23 2018, 12:38 AM
QUOTE(afoka @ Jan 23 2018, 12:16 AM) Sorry my mistake...it was only 1.8k only. Can refer the attached invoice.
4k was quotation to overhaul the engine at Toyotsu... coz I saw a vellfire send there to be overhaul. didn't know the estima transmission is cvt
Wth2000
Jan 23 2018, 07:08 AM
What do you normally check for a recon estima before buying?
pg84
Jan 23 2018, 07:48 AM

QUOTE(Platonic @ Jan 22 2018, 11:18 PM) Hello Folks, I need some advise on Toyota Estima 2.4 Aeras, I'm currently scouting for year 2013 - 2014, Price range is around 160k. Is this a reliable car? What should I look out for when selecting the unit? What is the standard maintenance price like? Thank you  At that price . Why not get a vellfire. I was looking for estima but price diff between the 2 are small enough for me to get vellfire. Well ppl might say boot space , not stable la , too big car parking prob. Yes boot space but u can actually push both back seat to front , no prob here. Not stable is true though...take corner it will lean , uneven road it will feel lile sampan. But after install full set stabilizer bar , this car rocks man. Feels like driving a sedan . Those are the consideration in my mind when hunting estima . Luckily i choose vellfire instead
sani_2020
Jan 23 2018, 08:53 AM
160k on the road or car only. Dont forget the gst, puspakom inspection, jpj registration etc.
After u buy it, u may want to install full car carpeting, tint, fm converter, roof monitor, visor etc.
That are the costs.
TSPlatonic
Jan 23 2018, 10:04 AM
QUOTE(pg84 @ Jan 23 2018, 07:48 AM) At that price . Why not get a vellfire. I was looking for estima but price diff between the 2 are small enough for me to get vellfire. Well ppl might say boot space , not stable la , too big car parking prob. Yes boot space but u can actually push both back seat to front , no prob here. Not stable is true though...take corner it will lean , uneven road it will feel lile sampan. But after install full set stabilizer bar , this car rocks man. Feels like driving a sedan . Those are the consideration in my mind when hunting estima . Luckily i choose vellfire instead The car dealer is offering me a Vellfire 2010 for RM138,000 with mileage clock at 60k, My instinct told me that its a 8 years old car and its too clumpsy to be driven, By the way the Estima is for my wife, i personally think that Estima has a better dynamics looks.
TSPlatonic
Jan 23 2018, 10:06 AM
QUOTE(sani_2020 @ Jan 23 2018, 08:53 AM) 160k on the road or car only. Dont forget the gst, puspakom inspection, jpj registration etc. After u buy it, u may want to install full car carpeting, tint, fm converter, roof monitor, visor etc. That are the costs. I'm still scouting around for the best deal in town, A friend told me to buy it after CNY when the hype of getting a car is low, Then the dealers will lower the price to offer a better deal.
zeese
Feb 2 2018, 04:44 PM
QUOTE(afoka @ Jan 23 2018, 12:16 AM) Sorry my mistake...it was only 1.8k only. Can refer the attached invoice.
4k was quotation to overhaul the engine at Toyotsu... coz I saw a vellfire send there to be overhaul. Hi! May I know, what service is this.. Below Aircond Service.. it says OTHERS - EFI ..... RM390 Is that part of aircond service? Thanks.
Zot
Feb 2 2018, 04:48 PM
QUOTE(zeese @ Feb 2 2018, 04:44 PM) Hi! May I know, what service is this.. Below Aircond Service.. it says OTHERS - EFI ..... RM390 Is that part of aircond service? Thanks. EFI most likely Electronic Fuel Injector?
mozact89
Apr 24 2018, 11:12 AM
QUOTE(Platonic @ Jan 23 2018, 10:04 AM) The car dealer is offering me a Vellfire 2010 for RM138,000 with mileage clock at 60k, My instinct told me that its a 8 years old car and its too clumpsy to be driven, By the way the Estima is for my wife, i personally think that Estima has a better dynamics looks. Dont believe with the mileage... They will surely adjust it..
fireballs
Apr 24 2018, 11:22 AM
why no one consider to get a brand new nissan instead?
mugenz
Apr 24 2018, 11:27 AM
QUOTE(fireballs @ Apr 24 2018, 11:22 AM) why no one consider to get a brand new nissan instead? Expensive parts even we have local distributor in Msia. Compared Estima whether is facelifted or non facelifted its easier to get parts as there are alot of imports, half cuts and even now toyota msia is selling estima/previa Own 2008 Model which is not expensive to maintain. Easily can get replacement parts.
james boon
May 4 2018, 03:46 PM
can anyone tell me is acr30 still worth to buy? heard that build quality is better than acr50. somemore third row seat is more comfortable.
Double K
Jun 27 2018, 02:32 AM

QUOTE(james boon @ May 4 2018, 04:46 PM) can anyone tell me is acr30 still worth to buy? heard that build quality is better than acr50. somemore third row seat is more comfortable. Acr30 3.0cc V6 was beast. Easy to drive can easily smoke any suv or sedan at highway. Mine max 180km couldn’t go further ! But the power still got plenty
james boon
Jul 6 2018, 04:38 PM
[quote=Double K,Jun 27 2018, 02:32 AM]Acr30 3.0cc V6 was beast. Easy to drive can easily smoke any suv or sedan at highway. Mine max 180km couldn’t go further ! But the power still got plenty /quote tnx bro, how about fc. This post has been edited by james boon: Jul 6 2018, 04:40 PM
fooloosin
Sep 17 2018, 12:01 PM
QUOTE(Platonic @ Jan 22 2018, 11:18 PM) Hello Folks, I need some advise on Toyota Estima 2.4 Aeras, I'm currently scouting for year 2013 - 2014, Price range is around 160k. Is this a reliable car? What should I look out for when selecting the unit? What is the standard maintenance price like? Thank you  Hello I have driving Estima acr50 2006 for 8 years and sold last year The common problem of this car are High engine oil consumption 1 liter for 1000kms ! Steering rack problem CVT gear box underpowered Very regret to owe this car