Why would you choose a MacOS ?, Curious, cause i am getting a macbook

TSjjgoh
post Jan 22 2018, 10:22 PM, updated 8y ago

153 posts

Just curious, nothing much.
I am dilemma on choosing a Custom Build PC or a Macbook Pro.

So by surfing online, custom build pc can easily take down macbook pro.

Did you guys get apple product because of the stability, performance, or just simple neat and ease of use?

I am a windows user and iphone user, and looking for either a macbook or custom pc rig.

Cheers wink.gif thanks in advance. nod.gif
moonsatelite
post Jan 22 2018, 10:25 PM

737 posts

QUOTE(jjgoh @ Jan 22 2018, 10:22 PM)

Did you guys get apple product because of the stability, performance, or just simple neat and ease of use?

I am a windows user and iphone user, and looking for either a macbook or custom pc rig.

Cheers wink.gif thanks in advance.  nod.gif
In my perspective, Apple's bag of tricks has already dried up to its maximum stage. You're better off with building a custom PC to save money and get the needed performance.
acbc
post Jan 22 2018, 10:32 PM

9,050 posts

I migrated to macOS full time because W10 fucked up all my external drives and lost over 10TB of data. Stupiak USB 3.0 driver unstable. Occasionally will disconnect my drives without warning.

Now, I'm using an old Lenovo ThinkPad X60S as file and print server which my Macs can connect to it. Nice. The OS? Windows XP. Haha. W10 sucks!
Millennium Falcon 888
post Jan 23 2018, 04:18 PM

112 posts

If you intend to use your PC for both work and play, I suggest you go for a custom-built rig rather than MBP (and I'm an Apple notebook user since 2011, by the way)... You can bundle it with the best hardware and software you want, and without having to pay a bomb for those branded types! rclxms.gif

By the way, is Windows 10 that problem-plagued? Until today, I feel the best ones I've used so far (in terms of stability, functionality, user-friendliness, etc.) are still XP and 7, whilst 8 has too many "interfaces" and Vista is very clunky! laugh.gif

This post has been edited by Millennium Falcon 888: Jan 23 2018, 04:21 PM
TSjjgoh
post Jan 23 2018, 05:48 PM

153 posts

Thank you for the reply,

mind if i ask, is MBP come with Final Cut Pro or even Microsoft Office? We have to pay?

btw does MBA can perform heavy task like rendering video?

pmsoo
post Jan 23 2018, 06:12 PM

374 posts

Custom built PC has always been much cheaper, more powerful, more flexible/adapter/customizable/etc than Mac. It was the same 10 years ago, it is the same now.

(Although briefly the 5k iMac was cheaper than the sum of parts in PC equivalent.... Because we occasionally get a bone or two back from Apple 😀)

Mac OS has a stronger eco system between the iPhone, iPad and Mac. If you can use those, or learn to use those, you will see how many mac os x became life long supporters.

Mac OS feels like a more refined OS. Less likely to have problems of viruses and bugs. Yes, it is not guaranteed but less likely compared to competition.

Macbook also hold strong resell value due to the same reason above. For a reason. Second hand prices are driven by market demand.

There are always workarounds to problems if you research hard enough. I find mac os x to be much easier to use without the hassle of workarounds, hence my 10 years of support of their products even if they are on the higher end of the scale.
pmsoo
post Jan 23 2018, 06:16 PM

374 posts

QUOTE(jjgoh @ Jan 23 2018, 05:48 PM)
Thank you for the reply,

mind if i ask, is MBP come with Final Cut Pro or even Microsoft Office? We have to pay?

btw does MBA can perform heavy task like rendering video?
You''ll have to pay for them.

Rendering video depends on your video output and the MBA (processor) itself.
You'll have to mange your expectation since its an integrated graphics
TSjjgoh
post Jan 23 2018, 09:56 PM

153 posts

Thank you for the replies!
SUSVoidDance
post Jan 23 2018, 10:34 PM

34 posts

I've been using OS X, now Mac OS since 2006. Prior to that, I used to learn a bit with OS 9. I'm a Win user too, since Win 3.11. Way back during stone age of Operating System.

I can tell you this, Mac OS is built for ease of use. Start the Mac and just go. You want Final Cut Pro? Download it (buy it), install and go. No hassle of doing setup or whatever. And it last long. I am typing from an ol' 2011 MBP running a few Adobe graphics apps and occasionally iMovie (since this MBP cannot really run FCP anymore). No virus ever encountered since 2006. The thing with Mac OS, you're from thinking what next upgrade needed for your PC or tweaks that you must do to make it better. You're left with doing thing that you want to do with your computer, whatever it is.

As for PC, I love tweaking, setting, and customised it. But to do a graphic design there without thinking that I need to save every 10 minutes would be suicidal. PC is catching up or even at par with Mac nowadays.

It is your money, your choice.
Millennium Falcon 888
post Jan 24 2018, 10:32 AM

112 posts

I just realized that it's going to be 7 years since I switched to MacOS after over a decade of using Windows... And believe it or not, I'm still with the SAME MacBook Pro I bought in 2011 which is doing well until today (considering I usually don't switch off the notebook from Monday to Friday, only leaving it on standby but with a full shutdown over weekends)... Even if I had to replace the original (and way under-capacity) 500GB hard drive to a 1TB last year and leaving the PC with Machines Service Provider for almost two weeks with flickering screen issue... rclxms.gif

So with reference to my earlier reply, while the custom PC is indeed a great way to have a top-notch computer without paying a bomb, the longevity may not be able to beat that of a MacBook... thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by Millennium Falcon 888: Jan 24 2018, 10:34 AM
skyuo23
post Jan 24 2018, 11:40 AM

54 posts

I've been using Windows my entire life, over two decades now and just recently switch over to Macbook Pro 2015 due to work purposes. I was really mad and angry throughout the transition process and the differences between both OS.

Took me about 3 months to be fully comfortable with it and I have to say, MacOS really does have advantages in certain areas. It really feels good, smooth, fast and a lot less lag compared to Windows.

That being said, only go for MacOS if you think you need it and if you have the money. Otherwise, Windows pretty much do the same thing as well.
Wifi_One
post Jan 24 2018, 03:31 PM

Legendary Flamer
2,593 posts

if u game occasionally, macbooks are not meant for gaming and your experience and time will be frust. that being said, alot of idiots in utube reviews always wanna run games to benchmark mac hardware to windows. dumb idiot...

but if u r going into mac os for the stability and ease of use, and alot of typing and surfing and vid editing, mbp will be no doubt a better choice if money is not an issue.

not sure about other mbp users,,, but for me, once you used the macbook trackpad, almost every windows pc's trackpad feel like rubbish.

battery life is subjective to usage.

if your mbp encounter hardware failure... u gonna need alot of money to fix it as per compared to windows based noteoook.
KingRyan
post Jan 24 2018, 03:33 PM

208 posts

Super easy to use. It's amazingly simple just that not that good if you use Office products a lot. I almost never use my MBP to work. Windows for that.
Zelmel
post Jan 24 2018, 09:13 PM

495 posts

Just sharing my experience.
I am user of both MacBook and custom rig PC.
Believe it or not, my MacBook is 2008 version. I have been using it until 2016. When it battery is no longer available on the market. Than it has to rest at home and become my movie laptop (to connect to tv). Before this it is my only laptop for all my daily work, thesis, data calculation and presentation. It smooth, free of virus, done things perfectly without worry of hang or crash. If I can upgrade the HDD to SSD and have a new battery might be I will continue to use it for my work.
On the other hand, my custom rig PC is for gaming, playing with RGB, showing off to friend how your PC can be water cooled or colorful. Pc never failed me with any game compare to Mac. Mac can’t play game well. These two years when my MacBook aged, I used my PC for my work. It just feel sluggish and might be hang once in a while to give you a big headache.

This post has been edited by Zelmel: Jan 24 2018, 09:15 PM
TSjjgoh
post Jan 25 2018, 12:30 AM

153 posts

I always choose a Laptop/PC base on their hardware spec, but one things i realize between MBP and CPU Rig, MBP having lower spec than those cpu rig but they still can perform task just like those cpu rig, then i read somewhere on net they say its the software compatibility.
Well guess my plan is this, laptop for MBP and custom rig at home later.
Do we really need the latest mbp? is the newer the better? does it apply on macbook? for Iphone i guess yes, the newer/latest is the best ( battery, spec, no lag), what about MB?

thanks for all the wonderful sharing. appreciate it.
Millennium Falcon 888
post Jan 25 2018, 10:15 AM

112 posts

QUOTE(jjgoh @ Jan 25 2018, 12:30 AM)
I always choose a Laptop/PC base on their hardware spec, but one things i realize between MBP and CPU Rig, MBP having lower spec than those cpu rig but they still can perform task just like those cpu rig, then i read somewhere on net they say its the software compatibility.
Do we really need the latest mbp? is the newer the better? does it apply on macbook? for Iphone i guess yes, the newer/latest is the best ( battery, spec, no lag), what about MB?

I've been using the same MacBook Pro since 2011 and it is still able to perform tasks well, considering the notebook is probably equivalent to a mid-range Windows PC... Even if the computer did get hit by a flickering screen problem some time ago, but I was fortunate that repairs were free thanks to extended warranty (the PC had to be left at Machines for two weeks)... thumbup.gif

Still, unlike the "usual" computers, it's quite an achievement for an MBP to be able to last until today - almost seven years since the first day of use... And I don't have plans to change the MBP as of now, why change a good thing? rclxms.gif

And in contrast, during these seven years, I have already gone through five or six mobile phones, with the latest being the iPhone X and first one probably some basic Samsung Android phone! laugh.gif
tutuyao
post Jan 25 2018, 11:52 AM

noob
876 posts

been using mac for 6 years now. things i like the most is stability, UI and UX, and in the end of the day, it just works.

not like windows, i need to tweak this tweak that, run cc cleaner, etc.

but when it comes to gaming, hehe...
Wifi_One
post Jan 25 2018, 12:57 PM

Legendary Flamer
2,593 posts

QUOTE(Zelmel @ Jan 24 2018, 09:13 PM)
Just sharing my experience.
I am user of both MacBook and custom rig PC.
Believe it or not, my MacBook is 2008 version. I have been using it until 2016. When it battery is no longer available on the market. Than it has to rest at home and become my movie laptop (to connect to tv). Before this it is my only laptop for all my daily work, thesis, data calculation and presentation. It smooth, free of virus, done things perfectly without worry of hang or crash. If I can upgrade the HDD to SSD and have a new battery might be I will continue to use it for my work.
On the other hand, my custom rig PC is for gaming, playing with RGB, showing off to friend how your PC can be water cooled or colorful. Pc never failed me with any game compare to Mac. Mac can’t play game well. These two years when my MacBook aged, I used my PC for my work. It just feel sluggish and might be hang once in a while to give you a big headache.
I'm still using my 2008 aluminum MacBook. If yours is the same one as mine, you can still get the battery OEM in imbi plaza . I got mine for I think rm150. Can last 2 hours plus with brightness set to 30%. Surfing n utubing is not an issue with my 2008 alu Mac lol
Wifi_One
post Jan 25 2018, 01:02 PM

Legendary Flamer
2,593 posts

QUOTE(jjgoh @ Jan 25 2018, 12:30 AM)

If u don't mind my personal thoughts... A brand new mbp is always the choice . If u can get a new 2016 base model, it's good enif for everything except gaming. U can even edit simple 4k vids using fcp

But.. if u feel adventurous and like to diy, and at the same time trying Mac os ecosystem, your best bang for buck is the MBP 13" 2012. Old yet gold. This is the last of the MBP that's user upgradable.

Pump in 16gb ram, remove DVD replace with secondary HDD bracket, secure 2 units of 240gb SSD, and raid it to a total of 480gb. Your SSD spead will be ultra fast.

My 2008 MacBook has 2 physical drives inside it. Boot SSD, 2nd is a 500gb HDD. Good as backup unit lol

Down side is no retina display.
Zelmel
post Jan 26 2018, 10:19 AM

495 posts

QUOTE(Wifi_One @ Jan 25 2018, 12:57 PM)
I'm still using my 2008 aluminum MacBook. If yours is the same one as mine, you can still get the battery OEM in imbi plaza . I got mine for I think rm150. Can last 2 hours plus with brightness set to 30%.  Surfing n utubing is not an issue with my 2008 alu Mac lol
Yup my one is macbook alu 2008, bought one OEM batt before, last two hours like your. After one year now the batt also very sad already.

QUOTE(Wifi_One @ Jan 25 2018, 01:02 PM)
If u don't mind my personal thoughts... A brand new mbp is always the choice . If u can get a new 2016 base model, it's good enif for everything except gaming. U can even edit simple 4k vids using fcp

But.. if u feel adventurous and like to diy, and at the same time trying Mac os ecosystem, your best bang for buck is the MBP 13" 2012. Old yet gold.  This is the last of the MBP that's user upgradable.

Pump in 16gb ram, remove DVD replace with secondary HDD bracket, secure 2 units of 240gb SSD,  and raid it to a total of 480gb. Your SSD spead will be ultra fast.

My 2008 MacBook has 2 physical drives inside it. Boot SSD, 2nd is a 500gb HDD. Good as backup unit lol

Down side is no retina display.
Your 2008 Alu upgraded with SSD? how you do that? I tot macbook alu is PATA and not SATA. Or maybe i am wrong.
my ram is max at 8GB

This post has been edited by Zelmel: Jan 26 2018, 10:29 AM
Wifi_One
post Jan 26 2018, 10:36 AM

Legendary Flamer
2,593 posts

QUOTE(Zelmel @ Jan 26 2018, 10:19 AM)
Yup my one is macbook alu 2008, bought one OEM batt before, last two hours like your. After one year now the batt also very sad already.
Your 2008 Alu upgraded with SSD? how you do that? I tot macbook alu is PATA and not SATA. Or maybe i am wrong.
my ram is max at 8GB
It's SATA 2 bro. Putting a SSD SATA 3 is not a problem. It will just run at SATA 2 speed. Still blazing fast comapred to 5400rpm.

Used to boot up at one minute plus in HDD. With SSD, 2008 boots up under 30 secs
Zelmel
post Jan 26 2018, 10:47 AM

495 posts

Thanks bro for the update. U make me wonder now, to uppgrade or not. She is still a pretty lady to me. Although just my movie player now. If i can get good oem batt, i still willing to bring her out to office.

Not that new macbook not good or what. It just show how good is macbook even it is old one.
I can buy the new macbook but i hate when it only two/four type-c port, and those dongle. urggh

This post has been edited by Zelmel: Jan 26 2018, 10:48 AM
Zelmel
post Jan 26 2018, 11:39 AM

495 posts

Btw which SSD brand u use on your macbook 2008?
Wifi_One
post Jan 27 2018, 12:04 AM

Legendary Flamer
2,593 posts

QUOTE(Zelmel @ Jan 26 2018, 11:39 AM)
Btw which SSD brand u use on your macbook 2008?
any brand will do.

i use sandisk plus 120gb.
busyman
post Jan 27 2018, 04:50 PM

1,465 posts

Bought a used 2012 mac mini in 2014, shut down less than 10 times.

Performance same as day 1 smile.gif
kcirdenk
post Jan 27 2018, 08:44 PM

179 posts

is the mac mini late 2014 still worth to buy? or should i wait till September?
TSjjgoh
post Jan 27 2018, 10:40 PM

153 posts

can i get little bit advise, are we able to use pirate final cut pro on MacOS?
Saw few seller offering the pirate software for MacOs

Is MacOS something suitable for a programmer like me? Is there any problem like need convert this in order to use it on Mac.

Thank you.

dvlzplayground
post Jan 28 2018, 12:29 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(jjgoh @ Jan 27 2018, 10:40 PM)
can i get little bit advise, are we able to use pirate final cut pro on MacOS?
Saw few seller offering the pirate software for MacOs

Is MacOS something suitable for a programmer like me? Is there any problem like need convert this in order to use it on Mac.

Thank you.
no piracy discussion here please. suffice to say it's the same story for both OS.

what programming are you doing?
BRY7
post Jan 28 2018, 02:28 PM

Siri: I'm your humble personal assistant
7,924 posts

reliability is the main reason i've moved completely into an Apple ecosystem
kapalterbang_737
post Jan 30 2018, 10:53 AM

859 posts

Been using Mac OS since 2006 and never looked back since
tried to migrate back to Windows but never succeed.. just love the simplicity and ease of use of Mac
and maybe because I'm not a gamer/programmer which relies on Windows so I can live without them

Still using my 2006 MacBook White as my daily driver.. still going (but not so strong laugh.gif)

This post has been edited by kapalterbang_737: Jan 30 2018, 10:55 AM
Zelmel
post Feb 3 2018, 09:44 AM

495 posts

Upgraded my HHD to SSD. Feel like my 2008 macbook can run for another few years.
Wifi_One
post Feb 4 2018, 11:12 PM

Legendary Flamer
2,593 posts

QUOTE(Zelmel @ Feb 3 2018, 09:44 AM)
Upgraded my HHD to SSD. Feel like my 2008 macbook can run for another few years.
Yeah.. mine too. Just that if viewing utube 720p, it's gets very hot fan blasting 3.5k rpm above.. temp can reach 80degres

For web surfing.. no prob
jackiez
post Feb 5 2018, 12:29 AM

255 posts

-smooth & consistency
-eco system
-trackpad undoubtedly the best
-less hassle
-despite from os, top notch quality build, device that last really long with no significant performance drop over years, guess this is the main reason why few or 5 years above macbooks still have the value of rm1k-2k.

people often say that with the price of a mac even the entry lelvel mba11 u can get a pretty decent spec for a winos based laptop/pc and winos 10 is somewhere getting near to macos in term of stability and ecosystem,

but really never try never know, its just different even at details u probably wont know it can actually be different yet better & the way it should be.

This post has been edited by jackiez: Feb 5 2018, 12:49 AM
Zelmel
post Feb 5 2018, 07:54 AM

495 posts

QUOTE(Wifi_One @ Feb 4 2018, 11:12 PM)
Yeah.. mine too. Just that if viewing utube 720p, it's gets very hot fan blasting 3.5k rpm above.. temp can reach 80degres

For web surfing.. no prob
You might need to open up and clean the dust
Wifi_One
post Feb 5 2018, 06:17 PM

Legendary Flamer
2,593 posts

QUOTE(Zelmel @ Feb 5 2018, 07:54 AM)
You might need to open up and clean the dust
Done that. Still the same. Last year I send to some imbi workshop to reapply some thermal compound. I suspect he used cheepo less quality compound.
Alias
post Feb 11 2018, 10:48 AM

247 posts

It comes down to 2 things actually.

If you do heavy gaming - go for custom w10 pc (btw had no trouble with the os whatsoever)

Work stuff, browsing, light use - mbp (I'm still using my good ol Late 2013 mbp, there's no need to upgrade with my usage...for now)
Mackiddo
post Feb 11 2018, 08:18 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

ecosystems
Queryz
post Feb 13 2018, 04:46 PM

258 posts

super stable os.. smile.gif no virus yet i think..
ultra_nyamuk
post Feb 13 2018, 05:22 PM

1,833 posts

Im in this dilemma too. But considering Dell XPS 13, MBP 13 non tb. Almost similar specs/price..
Xps pro:
8th gen Intel
Batt life
Upgradeable ssd
Mbp pro:
Retina
Build quality?

I cant decide.. i guess end up the OS difference. And batt life only 10hrs for mbp? Dell advertise 19hrs...end up at least more than 10hrs in real life. How about real life usage for 2017 mbp 13...any users here ?
donduck
post Feb 27 2018, 03:39 PM

For software development purposes, it's always easier to work on Unix-based environment as a developer.
Benefon
post Feb 27 2018, 06:02 PM

4,800 posts

QUOTE(ultra_nyamuk @ Feb 13 2018, 05:22 PM)
Im in this dilemma too. But considering Dell XPS 13, MBP 13 non tb. Almost similar specs/price..
Xps pro:
8th gen Intel
Batt life
Upgradeable ssd
Mbp pro:
Retina
Build quality?

I cant decide.. i guess end up the OS difference. And batt life only 10hrs for mbp? Dell advertise 19hrs...end up at least more than 10hrs in real life.  How about real life usage for 2017 mbp 13...any users here ?
As usual still under 10 hours max on MBP 13 mid 2017.
Irfan2397
post Mar 3 2018, 07:51 PM

Please dont stalk me!!!
1,693 posts

Planning to get a MB Air , I have never used a Mac OS in my whole life is it a huge difference from windows ? I am mainly using for viewing slides note , presentation & doing assignment.
Benefon
post Mar 4 2018, 08:52 AM

4,800 posts

QUOTE(Irfan2397 @ Mar 3 2018, 07:51 PM)
Planning to get a MB Air , I have never used a Mac OS in my whole life is it a huge difference from windows ? I am mainly using for viewing slides note , presentation & doing assignment.
Huge difference ?
Not really once you had touch in , there was slightly different due to window software can't be install over Mac.
But most of Mac software license still able to find in eBay..
soonwai
post Mar 10 2018, 03:02 AM


11,459 posts

QUOTE(jjgoh @ Jan 22 2018, 10:22 PM)

Cheers wink.gif thanks in advance.  nod.gif
Cause the OS is great. Not better than Windows or anything like that, just great.

For me:
Custom build PC running MacOS ie: Hackintosh. I have never bought a desktop Mac.
Laptops: All of mine are MacBooks, Pro or otherwise. I've only ever bought one PC laptop. A Pentium III PC Suria laptop from eons ago.

I come from a BSD Unix background and just love the terminal (command line). It works really well with iPhones and iPads. Things like handoff, universal clipboard.
Ckmwpy0370
post Mar 12 2018, 02:05 PM

3,821 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Mar 10 2018, 03:02 AM)
Cause the OS is great. Not better than Windows or anything like that, just great.

For me:
Custom build PC running MacOS ie: Hackintosh. I have never bought a desktop Mac.
Laptops: All of mine are MacBooks, Pro or otherwise. I've only ever bought one PC laptop. A Pentium III PC Suria laptop from eons ago.

I come from a BSD Unix background and just love the terminal (command line). It works really well with iPhones and iPads. Things like handoff, universal clipboard.
Yes. for those users have knowledge or from Unix Background usually preferable Mac due to Mac sometimes need command line to communicate or activation or carry out certain tasks if compare with Windows OS that one thing i dun like Mac ( perhaps I not like type of programming)
No doubt that Mac OS is very stable platform but I still prefer windows platform as ease of integration/communication to Android, Sound Bar, SmartTV include VPN to my office.
If you have Mac, then you shld have Iphone, Ipad or any Apple product (proprietary) to ease Sync each other’s that bring you towards and feel the great of use of Mac product or Apple.

Ckmwpy0370
post Mar 12 2018, 02:27 PM

3,821 posts

QUOTE(Queryz @ Feb 13 2018, 04:46 PM)
super stable os.. smile.gif no virus yet i think..
Mac already have adware virus infection la..
Queryz
post Mar 12 2018, 03:13 PM

258 posts

QUOTE(Ckmwpy0370 @ Mar 12 2018, 02:27 PM)
Mac already have adware virus infection la..
owh already got ya? shocking.gif shocking.gif
but the os still good right rclxm9.gif
Ckmwpy0370
post Mar 12 2018, 05:57 PM

3,821 posts

QUOTE(Queryz @ Mar 12 2018, 03:13 PM)
owh already got ya?  shocking.gif  shocking.gif
but the os still good right rclxm9.gif
OS still working fine but a bit lagging before install any antivirus thought was free from virus permanently
Installed antivirus to clean off and working fine
TSjjgoh
post Mar 14 2018, 02:34 PM

153 posts

I'm planning to get a second hand one. Probably MacBook Pro

I am not a full time video editor, gamer, programmer. Which year of MBP should i look into? and also what kind of spec should i be getting?

Benefon
post Mar 14 2018, 02:47 PM

4,800 posts

QUOTE(jjgoh @ Mar 14 2018, 02:34 PM)
I'm planning to get a second hand one. Probably MacBook Pro

I am not a full time video editor, gamer, programmer. Which year of MBP should i look into? and also what kind of spec should i be getting?
2013 slightly laging on Sierra.
2014 maybe slightly better.
2015 can upgrade SSD
2016 non touch already soldered on board
2016 touch bar also same.

You might consider higher storage at least 256gb SSD or more if you can.
Otherwise just use airport for backup.

This post has been edited by Benefon: Mar 14 2018, 02:48 PM
wan89
post Mar 15 2018, 09:28 PM

45 posts

I’m MBA user. The laptop is cool only if you are non-hardcore gamers. It is best to use for surfing internet, light and easy to carry anywhere. The system built in is just for casual user.
ultra_nyamuk
post Mar 16 2018, 01:22 PM

1,833 posts

Finally went with mbp 13 nontouch. But i noticed usb drives get very hot when i plug in to the mac. Got usb c sandisk and also older usb using adapter.. also very hot. Never got hot before on my windows pc. Anything im missing? Is this normal? Its uncomfortably hot. Its the same when i plug in straight or using hub or using usb c to A converter.

This post has been edited by ultra_nyamuk: Mar 16 2018, 01:23 PM
quadcube
post Mar 17 2018, 02:43 PM

1,924 posts

QUOTE(ultra_nyamuk @ Mar 16 2018, 01:22 PM)
Finally went with mbp 13 nontouch. But i noticed usb drives get very hot when i plug in to the mac. Got usb c sandisk and also older usb using adapter.. also very hot. Never got hot before on my windows pc. Anything im missing?  Is this normal? Its uncomfortably hot. Its the same when i plug in straight or using hub or using usb c to A converter.
quite normal IMO, since there's active circuits in the device, it would heat up when it's transferring data/doing something.

but more specifically, it depends how the operating system deal with the USB devices. window would usually suspend the USB device when it's not in use but macOS might perform differently. noticed the same issue, whether it's from a hub/ direct connection to the MacBook Air/Pro.
ultra_nyamuk
post Mar 17 2018, 11:49 PM

1,833 posts

QUOTE(quadcube @ Mar 17 2018, 02:43 PM)
quite normal IMO, since there's active circuits in the device, it would heat up when it's transferring data/doing something.

but more specifically, it depends how the operating system deal with the USB devices. window would usually suspend the USB device when it's not in use but macOS might perform differently. noticed the same issue, whether it's from a hub/ direct connection to the MacBook Air/Pro.
so its normal ? because using the same usb drives don't heat up when used on my windows pc.
quadcube
post Mar 18 2018, 09:41 AM

1,924 posts

QUOTE(ultra_nyamuk @ Mar 17 2018, 11:49 PM)
so its normal ? because using the same usb drives don't heat up when used on my windows pc.
yeah, I guess it's pretty normal, happened to me too. a quick search would show similar inquiries about this issue
MooTikPin
post Apr 28 2018, 12:54 AM

576 posts

The ecosystem with iPhone
TSjjgoh
post Apr 29 2018, 08:55 PM

153 posts

Anyone can show me the difference between air and pro?

is like, what kind of people need the pro, where what kind of people need the air?

Benefon
post Apr 30 2018, 07:44 AM

4,800 posts

QUOTE(jjgoh @ Apr 29 2018, 08:55 PM)
Anyone can show me the difference between air and pro?

is like, what kind of people need the pro, where what kind of people need the air?

Air = low screen resolution
Pro = retina display close to Oled and higher resolution.
Air = design unchanged
Pro = faster processor
Air = no usb type C
Pro = had 3 or 4 usb c
Air = got micro SD slot.
Pro = removed all.

Air & Pro 13 weight is around the same, even battery life for full charged.
Pro 13 screen display has build in tempered glass Vs Air just a display surface only.

Price and Value get Air.
Wanna get faster speed go for Pro.

I'm the previous Air user, after went for Pro.
You won't back to Air anymore.

This post has been edited by Benefon: Apr 30 2018, 07:45 AM
domcobb
post Apr 30 2018, 10:51 AM

199 posts

Hi everyone,

It is interesting to me that I stumbled upon this thread, at this hour, considering that I was thinking of getting the MacBook Air later this afternoon, during lunch time!

And so I thought I pop the question in here and perhaps, if you be so kind, could share some insights, so as for me to make a more informed decision.

The primary reason of me getting the MacBook Air is for All-Work-No-Play usage.

Majority of the time will be spent on typing and I mean, a lot of typing, for articles, publications and etc.
Besides that, it will be used for web surfing, reading, minimal photo editing, absolutely no games, and of course, the occasional response to all you awesome people here, in LowYat forum; and some other forums too.

What is holding me back is the fact that the MacBook Air is an old tech, which begs the question if the MacBook Air is worth getting it, in 2018, for the usages that I have mentioned earlier on … or should I look into MacBook Pro instead.

I will be honest, the MacBook Pro is a little out of my budget, of which I am willing to put other interests of mine on hold, just so to balance things out.

I gotta say, the following reply from fellow forumer, Benefon, caught my attention, which prompted to seek for your guys thoughts and opinion on my intention to get a MacBook Air.

QUOTE(Benefon @ Apr 30 2018, 07:44 AM)
I'm the previous Air user, after went for Pro.
You won't back to Air anymore.
This would be my 1st laptop from Apple. I owned and iPhone and iPad, of which the latter, has been my daily driver, for the usages that I mentioned above.

Thanks in advance for the response; truly, I appreciate it. thumbsup.gif

Benefon
post Apr 30 2018, 11:01 AM

4,800 posts

domcobb

You don't know my first Air come with USB 2.0 very slower for RAW files transferred from SD Card.
In the end bought thunderbolt 1 with adapter and cable for external HDD its cost me few hundred bucks.

After went for MacBook Pro 13 late 2013 it's awesome all those device was fast and superb.
domcobb
post Apr 30 2018, 11:13 AM

199 posts

QUOTE(Benefon @ Apr 30 2018, 11:01 AM)
domcobb

You don't know my first Air come with USB 2.0 very slower for RAW files transferred from SD Card.
In the end bought thunderbolt 1 with adapter and cable for external HDD its cost me few hundred bucks.

After went for MacBook Pro 13 late 2013 it's awesome all those device was fast and superb.
Whoa … That must have been quite some time back!
I am just at the crossroad of either going with an old tech that is within my budget, that I believe serves the purpose and usage, as of now OR to go for something that is slightly beyond my budget; which is still manageable, but an overpowered laptop, that, at present time, may seems a little too much but a future-proof, as my usage grows over the years.
You know what I mean?

Benefon
post Apr 30 2018, 11:17 AM

4,800 posts

QUOTE(domcobb @ Apr 30 2018, 11:13 AM)
Whoa … That must have been quite some time back!
I am just at the crossroad of either going with an old tech that is within my budget, that I believe serves the purpose and usage, as of now OR to go for something that is slightly beyond my budget; which is still manageable, but an overpowered laptop, that, at present time, may seems a little too much but a future-proof, as my usage grows over the years.
You know what I mean?
Anyway can go down to Machines or Swift for try out.
Sometime play for while it's feel like acceptable, after bring home just realized.
domcobb
post Apr 30 2018, 11:20 AM

199 posts

QUOTE(Benefon @ Apr 30 2018, 11:17 AM)
Anyway can go down to Machines or Swift for try out.
Sometime play for while it's feel like acceptable, after bring home just realized.
I had done that over the weekend; hence, the decision to get the MacBook Air later this afternoon but, as I said, your post, sorta triggered the whole ‘future-proof’ side of the equation, so yea. smile.gif

squall8985
post Apr 30 2018, 11:36 AM

379 posts

I'm having a 12 inch MacBook for almost a year. Only occasionally using it. Only recently i had to use it more then usual since i'm not having any Windows laptop on hand. Earlier cursing it a lot since on daily basis i had to find Windows equivalent software on the MacOs itself. Had to relearn lots of things. But the most thing i love about Mac is it consistency of the OS itself.

0.0467sec    0.65    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 06:32 AM