11 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

> Name of MY edible fish & Fish eating concern, Fish name in Malaysia & mercury in fish Q&A

pandah
post Jan 17 2018, 11:58 AM

719 posts

Eat moderately local fish is enough

Those faraway fish usually frozen long period not very good in retaining nutrition

Big size fish in the top food chain also contains higher heavy metal
TSLeo.Lee
post Jan 17 2018, 12:24 PM

QUOTE(pokolinou @ Jan 17 2018, 11:31 AM)
The keyword for this is "MODERATION"
Too much of something is not always good. So just give your lovely wife those healthy foods everyday. Don't think too much.
Yes, I believe in moderation too. Even overeating ginseng will do more harm than good. But in the case of mercury in fish which I am not familiar with, how much is too much and how much is too little?
TSLeo.Lee
post Jan 17 2018, 12:28 PM

QUOTE(gark @ Jan 17 2018, 11:31 AM)
Google and you shall find..  innocent.gif

Study shows not the type of fish, but where the fish comes from.. but of course, fish who eat fish (carnivorous) usually have higher mercury levels as they are concentrated.

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC4334092/

https://www.researchgate.net/publication/27...nsular_Malaysia
Yes, I been googling the whole time since I found out the news of mercury in fish and its effect but it is too much information and some of it even contradict with each other. For example, some say freshwater fish have higher content of mercury than saltwater fish and some say no. Some say you could get plant based Omega 3 instead if scare of mercury in fish.

And to make it worst, I can't find any simple details of mercury contents in our Malaysia fish. Mostly research studies like the links that you post. Those are not for the view of layman (normal people) like me. It is for those professor.

This post has been edited by Leo.Lee: Jan 17 2018, 12:30 PM
mydurian
post Jan 17 2018, 12:31 PM

854 posts

QUOTE(Leo.Lee @ Jan 17 2018, 11:27 AM)
I have 2 young kids and my wife are pregnant with another one. My wife have been frequently advise to eat more fish especially those with high Omega 3 content as Omega 3 are good for brain development. It also have the same benefits for young child and also benefit adult in one way or another.

However, I realize that there is also the concern of mercury content in fish especially popular high Omega 3 content fish such as Tuna, Salmon and etc. To deal with that, I am thinking of eating plant based Omega 3 & local freshwater fish with lower Omega 3 content fish (not sure how low) but recently I heard that freshwater fish actually have higher mercury content that can affect brain development. I am confuse  rclxub.gifbangwall.gif . Do you guys have any info about this?

Other than that, I also wanted to show my kids the photo of those fish before it is cooked & served on a plate as I noticed many youngster today don't even know what kind of fish that they're eating. (Including myself, I only know few but not really sure how to differentiate it). I don't want my kids to be like those kids in developed country like USA & etc that don't even realize the foods that they eat especially meat are living being that have head, feet, name and etc before being served as food.

And being a Chinese and living in Malaysia, I also want to know and tell my kids the name of those fish in Chinese, Malay and etc. Hope you guys have some info about this.
Google la. - http://chinese-menus.blogspot.in/2008/04/c...nd-seafood.html

zstan
post Jan 17 2018, 12:34 PM

15,856 posts

eat sardine je la. cheap and safe and high in omega 3
TSLeo.Lee
post Jan 17 2018, 12:36 PM

QUOTE(gark @ Jan 17 2018, 11:35 AM)
Not only pregnant.. if lifetime eat mercury tainted fish.. in kids and adults  will lead to future complications..

Unless you avoid seafood altogether..
Impossible that I will avoid seafood as it it the best protein among all the meat and contain high amount of Omega 3. I have read some research about how Omega 3 boost learning skill in baby and children. It also state about how baby which lack of Omega 3 are not able to speak till older like 3 - 4 years old. I also read an article (something like National Geographic) where it said that one of the factors that make human become more intelligent than other ape is because we start to eat crocodile and fish.

This post has been edited by Leo.Lee: Jan 17 2018, 01:32 PM
maraippo
post Jan 17 2018, 12:37 PM

~PoPoPoPoPo~
1,165 posts

Go bookstore, buy fish encyclopedia

Point picture n tell story together with kids
SUSmemekfalui
post Jan 17 2018, 12:38 PM

245 posts

I have 2 young kids and my wife are pregnant with another one. My wife have been frequently advise to eat more fish especially those with high Omega 3 content as Omega 3 are good for brain development. It also have the same benefits for young child and also benefit adult in one way or another.

However, I realize that there is also the concern of mercury content in fish especially popular high Omega 3 content fish such as Tuna, Salmon and etc. To deal with that, I am thinking of eating plant based Omega 3 & local freshwater fish with lower Omega 3 content fish (not sure how low) but recently I heard that freshwater fish actually have higher mercury content that can affect brain development. I am confuse  rclxub.gifbangwall.gif . Do you guys have any info about this?

Other than that, I also wanted to show my kids the photo of those fish before it is cooked & served on a plate as I noticed many youngster today don't even know what kind of fish that they're eating. (Including myself, I only know few but not really sure how to differentiate it). I don't want my kids to be like those kids in developed country like USA & etc that don't even realize the foods that they eat especially meat are living being that have head, feet, name and etc before being served as food.

And being a Chinese and living in Malaysia, I also want to know and tell my kids the name of those fish in Chinese, Malay and etc. Hope you guys have some info about this.
This is /k

Why not u do your own research

Then share ur result here

Then u probably have more input from /k

samjet
post Jan 17 2018, 12:39 PM

190 posts

Expensive fish: 老鼠斑,鳕鱼,顺壳
Eat more
TSLeo.Lee
post Jan 17 2018, 12:39 PM

QUOTE(Boom Mortar @ Jan 17 2018, 11:36 AM)
deswai some ppl choose vegan
No offense, I am one of those guys that disagree with vegan. There is a reason why human are omnivores and not herbivores.
TSLeo.Lee
post Jan 17 2018, 12:41 PM

QUOTE(tahfeikei @ Jan 17 2018, 11:36 AM)
i guess one needs to eat a lot of fish to get mercury poisoning...BTW, don't drink water also cos i heard got a lot of female hormones in our water
I have read that you only need to eat two (2) servings of palm sized fish (some fish) per month to get mercury poisoning. Imagine how much did a Chinese eat in their usual steamed fish?
TSLeo.Lee
post Jan 17 2018, 12:43 PM

QUOTE(gark @ Jan 17 2018, 11:38 AM)
Not really..
Depends on lifestyle..
Yup. I think so too. Those fisherman have eat too much fish.
TSLeo.Lee
post Jan 17 2018, 12:44 PM

QUOTE(gark @ Jan 17 2018, 11:39 AM)
Anyway.. not only Mercury.. but lead, arsenic, cadmium.. is also a concern..
Haha. yea... speaking of arsenic. I have read that white rice actually contain arsenic.. Damm... dry.gif
TSLeo.Lee
post Jan 17 2018, 12:48 PM

QUOTE(upcars @ Jan 17 2018, 11:41 AM)
Tilapia I didn't mention cause it's not worth mentioning. Cod and salmon not available in msian Waters . Cobia, parang, gt all is game fish. Mekong is game fish.
Yes, but they do sell cod and salmon in the market and they're high in Omega 3. One of the thing that make me confuse is some say if scare mercury, you can eat tuna then some say don't eat tuna cause have mercury. Well, no offense ya. I am posting this question to get some debate from all of you guys. Just to see opinions from different views. I have do my own research before posting. It just that i got confuse in all those research.
kaiserreich
post Jan 17 2018, 12:49 PM

Pendekar Papan Kekunci
4,234 posts

Eat smaller fish.
Sardine, selar, Kembong, Mabong etc.
Less Mercury.

Canned fish are also nutritious, but taste wise cannot match fresh fish la.

Eat in moderation and you should be fine.

You want your kids to know how fish look like, bring your kids to pasar and teach them.

This post has been edited by kaiserreich: Jan 17 2018, 12:50 PM
TSLeo.Lee
post Jan 17 2018, 12:51 PM

QUOTE(Pete the great @ Jan 17 2018, 11:49 AM)
Yeah its kind true.

I don't have the stats with me, but I saw one video, even Norweigian Salmon is tainted with mercury.

So whatever gain u have on Omega3 is set off by the sea pollution.
Yea.. it is bad. Human really are the only living beings that poison their own food. Haizz

TSLeo.Lee
post Jan 17 2018, 12:54 PM

QUOTE(MarioKart @ Jan 17 2018, 11:50 AM)
Apa susah....buy food supplement lah.
I have read that Omega 3 supplement do not have the same effect as natural source. Maybe because it deteriorate during processing or the source they're using to make those pill. I even saw a bottle of Omega 3 supplement (forgot the brand) which stated in it ingredients that it source is from wool (sheep fur). Seriously?
TSLeo.Lee
post Jan 17 2018, 12:57 PM

QUOTE(TimesOfTrouble @ Jan 17 2018, 11:53 AM)
Then you should probably start learning the type of fish you can commonly find in supermarket. When you are shopping for grocery, head to seafood section there's fish with their name and price shown there. Market like giant, Tesco or Aeon should have listed them in BM & English, if either then Google it.

Also nowadays has website for online ordering fish that Chinese commonly eat like 非洲鱼, 白须公, and etcetera. Chinese restaurants mostly don't list them on menu so you have to ask them to know. It's much more easier to remember the fish you usually eat than just memorize and read about them on the web.

Yea but not all are accurate. I think it depend on experiences of categorizing. I remember buying a type of fish (forgot the name) after confirmed the type of fish with the seller to make nyonya style curry/assam fish and my Malay friends said i bought the wrong type. The type that i bought are usually fried with turmeric and eat with nasi lemak. lol.
Boom Mortar
post Jan 17 2018, 01:03 PM

227 posts

QUOTE(Leo.Lee @ Jan 17 2018, 12:39 PM)
No offense, I am one of those guys that disagree with vegan. There is a reason why human are omnivores and not herbivores.
dun worry..ayam not vegan

lolololol
quikstep
post Jan 17 2018, 01:06 PM

422 posts

would u rather have a normal IQ child or an autistic one?

there are OM3 in eggs and other plants as you realised. eat moderately and screw the doctor's advice!

11 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » 

0.0250sec    0.59    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 05:39 AM