Hyundai Elantra MD 1.8 2012 big headache, Long story

TSimperialrealcs
post Jan 11 2018, 02:18 PM, updated 8y ago

IMPERIAL DEATH STAR!
6,724 posts

Aww bad day for my 5years old elantra md 1.8.. clocking 51k on odo, now the car is going overhauling due to crack on the engine lining. they dont allow warranty claim coz my wife forgot to service the car for 1 whole year lol..

TL:DR:
One day i was driving and suddenly the aircond blow out hot air. I thought aww shucks the compressor failed and i got to buy new one. Awhile later, the temperature shoot up and im 2 bars before reaching the max so naturally i just stop at roadside. Upon opening my bonnet, i can see the water shoot out from the radiator reserve tank hole and so i call for towing service to my workshop who is pro in radiator services. He just change the thermostat and teach me how to monitor the water level to make sure the car is okay.

As i check the water every morning as instructed, i notice that i need to top up about 300ml every morning and total i refilled is about 1.5L of water in 3 days time. So something is amiss and i send to hyundai service center to have it check. They told me it was due to bubbling when installing thermostat and it was solved by bleeding the radiator. The next morning i open the radiator cap and start the engine to check again and to my horror the water bubbling and spilling like mini volcano thus i send to hyundai again. This time they help me do radiator bleeding again but after 1 hour still unsuccessful. During the testing, came out an error code saying misfiring in cylinder no.2 and the error was cleared. SA asked me to leave the car for them to have more time to check.

Few days later, they told me they need to open the engine head and check the head gasket condition, fearing burnt gasket due to overheating and i consented to it. Next day, i was horried that the engine lining at cylinder no.2 was cracked and that probably caused all the problem. I was also told that the engine head was bent to about 0.25° (i assume is degree since he didnt tell me the unit). I asked if he can try to claim warranty but he denied as my wife who drive this car only service based on mileage and forgot to follow the monthly interval schedule. She apparently skipped the service from nov 2015 all the way to nov 2016 LOL.

Naturally I was not satisfied as when i consented to opening the head i was prepared to pay for it as the 1year change interval probably damaged the gasket and stuff. What i cannot believe was that 1-year mis-sighted will damage the engine block lining as in the picture and i have to pay for the engine block defects..

Anyone can help or got suggestion for this scenario?

This post has been edited by imperialrealcs: Jan 11 2018, 02:21 PM
benson92
post Jan 11 2018, 02:24 PM

1,010 posts

omg
lsm1991
post Jan 11 2018, 02:24 PM

309 posts

you know technically speaking, the "that 1-year mis-sighted" didnt really cause the damage, that mearly voided the warranty.

the issue was basically some sort of heating issue (i would assume the headgasket failed, so you basically were burning your coolant) and it overheated at one point making all your issues way worse and resulting in all that crap warping.
hyundai sc was abit dumb tho, air pockets in the radiator would require so much topping up and that crazy amount of bubbling... the smartasses probably didn't bother to check if it was exhaust gasses coming out your radiator.

so far as advise goes, well the void warranty cause you did not service it for a WHOLE year kind of screws you. You cant do much to argue against that. imo next step? figure out how much its going to cost you to replace the engine there vs outside (maybe even a halfcut if you can even get one)

This post has been edited by lsm1991: Jan 11 2018, 02:28 PM
tutuyao
post Jan 11 2018, 02:25 PM

noob
876 posts

can forget 1 year.. pro
TSimperialrealcs
post Jan 11 2018, 02:28 PM

IMPERIAL DEATH STAR!
6,724 posts

QUOTE(lsm1991 @ Jan 11 2018, 02:24 PM)
you know technically speaking, the "that 1-year mis-sighted" didnt really cause the damage, that mearly voided the warranty.

the issue was basically some sort of heating issue (i would assume the headgasket failed, so you basically were burning your coolant) and it overheated at one point making all your issues way worse and resulting in all that crap warping.

hyundai sc was abit dumb tho, air pockets in the radiator would require so much topping up and that crazy amount of bubbling... the smartasses probably didn't bother to check if it was exhaust gasses coming out your radiator.
yes, hence i tak puas hati la coz this is obvious block effect and no way the mis-sighted caused this.
hyundai just say voided warranty so cannot claim sad.gif

btw we monitored the engine oil and coolant for few days. no sign of leaked head gasket

QUOTE(tutuyao @ Jan 11 2018, 02:25 PM)
can forget 1 year.. pro
ya coz wife only drive pigi balik kerja less than 30km use per day.
1year drive about 10k only.
5years baru 51k mileage lol.

This post has been edited by imperialrealcs: Jan 11 2018, 02:29 PM
lsm1991
post Jan 11 2018, 02:34 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(imperialrealcs @ Jan 11 2018, 02:28 PM)
yes, hence i tak puas hati la coz this is obvious block effect and no way the mis-sighted caused this.
hyundai just say voided warranty so cannot claim sad.gif

btw we monitored the engine oil and coolant for few days. no sign of leaked head gasket
ya coz wife only drive pigi balik kerja less than 30km use per day.
1year drive about 10k only.
5years baru 51k mileage lol.
coolant slowly going missing is usually either: leaks OR hg failure. Then, If there are bubbles in your coolant constantly coming out even after a long time, its probably a hg leak. Air pockets only hold that much air and in the case of leaks, the entire coolant system is pressurized when running so water will come out rather than enter the system (it might suck some air in when cooling down but thats it, will only let that much in)

This post has been edited by lsm1991: Jan 11 2018, 02:49 PM
JimmyChan77
post Jan 11 2018, 02:58 PM

32 posts

Did Hyundai concluded, what is the reason for the damaged block? Low coolant or engine oil? Cause one whole year did not service, either coolant or engine oil low will cause overheating and maybe because of the overheating, it burnt the gasket and warp the engine block?

Sorry the hear the bad news bro...
tauto
post Jan 11 2018, 03:02 PM

It could be as simple as fan failure, but still recommended that the car is serviced/checked regularly regardless of mileage thumbsup.gif
TSimperialrealcs
post Jan 11 2018, 03:04 PM

IMPERIAL DEATH STAR!
6,724 posts

QUOTE(lsm1991 @ Jan 11 2018, 02:34 PM)
coolant slowly going missing is usually either: leaks OR hg failure. Then, If there are bubbles in your coolant constantly coming out even after a long time, its probably a hg leak. Air pockets only hold that much air and in the case of leaks, the entire coolant system is pressurized when running so water will come out rather than enter the system (it might suck some air in when cooling down but thats it, will only let that much in)
yes, i also pelik what kind of air pocket can store until 1.5L of waters top up lol..

QUOTE(JimmyChan77 @ Jan 11 2018, 02:58 PM)
Did Hyundai concluded, what is the reason for the damaged block? Low coolant or engine oil? Cause one whole year did not  service, either coolant or engine oil low will cause overheating and maybe because of the overheating, it burnt the gasket and warp the engine block?

Sorry the hear the bad news bro...
overheating they said caused by thermostat few weeks ago.

QUOTE(tauto @ Jan 11 2018, 03:02 PM)
It could be as simple as fan failure, but still recommended that the car is serviced/checked regularly regardless of mileage  thumbsup.gif
nope, fan tested at full speed
Ginny88
post Jan 11 2018, 03:37 PM

1,032 posts

Not servicing for 1 year is not the cause of the damaged engine block. My Avanza runs less than 10,000 km a year so I change the oil once a year. No problem at all. However it may invalidate your warranty as most companies specify 10,000 km or 6 months whichever comes first. Car companies look for any excuse they can to void warranty so don't expect leniency from them.

The cause of your engine block problem is probably overheating due to loss of coolant (water). The water level in the radiator need to be checked very now and then. Due to the long service interval it may not have been checked for a year.

TSimperialrealcs
post Jan 11 2018, 03:40 PM

IMPERIAL DEATH STAR!
6,724 posts

QUOTE(Ginny88 @ Jan 11 2018, 03:37 PM)
Not servicing for 1 year is not the cause of the damaged engine block. My Avanza runs less than 10,000 km a year so I change the oil once a year. No problem at all. However it may invalidate your warranty as most companies specify 10,000 km or 6 months whichever comes first. Car companies look for any excuse they can to void warranty so don't expect leniency from them.

The cause of your engine block problem is probably overheating due to loss of coolant (water). The water level in the radiator need to be checked very now and then. Due to the long service interval it may not have been checked for a year.
er, no.
after that 1 year non-service period up to nov 2016, we did service with schedule and this problem only happen in early 2018
means in year 2017 we serviced as usual and no unusual behaviour from the car in term of performance and fuel consumption as i monitor it every refuel
therain01
post Jan 11 2018, 05:22 PM

257 posts

Well nothing much can be done sine you have breached the terms and condition. Guess you are just unlucky the thermostat happen to stuck and blown engine head with just minimal overheating.

Did a surface search a new cylinder head cost around rm 800 before shipping from
TSimperialrealcs
post Jan 12 2018, 06:48 PM

IMPERIAL DEATH STAR!
6,724 posts

QUOTE(therain01 @ Jan 11 2018, 05:22 PM)
Well nothing much can be done sine you have breached the terms and condition. Guess you are just unlucky the thermostat happen to stuck and blown engine head with just minimal overheating.

Did a surface search a new cylinder head cost around rm 800 before shipping from
where did u see rm800 for a cylinder head? im looking for one.
ori hyundai rm2500
therain01
post Jan 12 2018, 07:09 PM

257 posts

QUOTE(imperialrealcs @ Jan 12 2018, 06:48 PM)
where did u see rm800 for a cylinder head? im looking for one.
ori hyundai rm2500
2500 can buy a used engine before shipping.

Here is the cylinder head

【北京现代名图朗动索八索九ix25ix35途胜全新途胜发动机缸体空缸体】http://www.dwntme.com/h.ZZ0jKaV

This post has been edited by therain01: Jan 12 2018, 07:12 PM
andrekua2
post Jan 13 2018, 06:01 AM

13,483 posts

You voided your warranty, simple as that. Not that they didn't want to help you claim. I bet they probably used that standard reply anything could happened because you're trying to make it sounds reasonable to proceed with the claim because of the low mileage.

Anyway I had my fair share of problem with Hyundai SD and it's service partners. Not that the car was bad. The attitude of these SA are just fuck up. I did get my ac problem fixed by writing a feedback to Hyundai Korea and then totally ignore SD calls to help me rectify my problem. Surprisingly a month later, sc told me I had a compressor recall when I sent there for servicing. He was surprised as hell because he's the same fuck up that told me its normal for aircon to be not cold (It's actually hot for my case) when car is stationary. Rest is history. Car is good, personnel are bad.

It didn't stop me from buying another Korean though but I bought KIA (the Hyundai is a company provided car) and is much happier with the personnel even though they might not have the establishment like SD.

This post has been edited by andrekua2: Jan 13 2018, 06:02 AM
voscar
post Jan 13 2018, 12:20 PM

1,526 posts

now only i know such volcano splashing is not normal, lol
my gen2 few years back when i diy flushing the radiator, same volcano splashing out after engine up-to-temp. after that i close the radiator cap, let engine cool down, the next day able to top up another 500ml of coolant into the radiator cap side.

after that been running few years without overheat including outstation, but i found the coolant tends to disappear mystery in every 2 months, need to top up about 200ml on spare water tank.
voscar
post Jan 13 2018, 12:26 PM

1,526 posts

another question, isn't the head gasket failure will cause the engine oil to become milo color; or radiator coolant to become milky? coz i always checked engine oil, no milo color except usual dirty-gold brown, and radiator coolant was clear red (due to the coolant i used).

This post has been edited by voscar: Jan 13 2018, 12:27 PM
TSimperialrealcs
post Jan 13 2018, 01:29 PM

IMPERIAL DEATH STAR!
6,724 posts

QUOTE(voscar @ Jan 13 2018, 12:20 PM)
now only i know such volcano splashing is not normal, lol
my gen2 few years back when i diy flushing the radiator, same volcano splashing out after engine up-to-temp. after that i close the radiator cap, let engine cool down, the next day able to top up another 500ml of coolant into the radiator cap side.

after that been running few years without overheat including outstation, but i found the coolant tends to disappear mystery in every 2 months, need to top up about 200ml on spare water tank.
any splashing is not good when it comes to coolant.

QUOTE(voscar @ Jan 13 2018, 12:26 PM)
another question, isn't the head gasket failure will cause the engine oil to become milo color; or radiator coolant to become milky? coz i always checked engine oil, no milo color except usual dirty-gold brown, and radiator coolant was clear red (due to the coolant i used).
my head gasket not blown only wrapped a little and thats the problem.
they go by the book and said no water in engine oil and radiator water is clean no contaminant so they concluded head gasket is okay
TSimperialrealcs
post Jan 13 2018, 01:30 PM

IMPERIAL DEATH STAR!
6,724 posts

QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Jan 13 2018, 06:01 AM)
You voided your warranty, simple as that. Not that they didn't want to help you claim. I bet they probably used that standard reply anything could happened because you're trying to make it sounds reasonable to proceed with the claim because of the low mileage.

Anyway I had my fair share of problem with Hyundai SD and it's service partners. Not that the car was bad. The attitude of these SA are just fuck up. I did get my ac problem fixed by writing a feedback to Hyundai Korea and then totally ignore SD calls to help me rectify my problem. Surprisingly a month later, sc told me I had a compressor recall when I sent there for servicing. He was surprised as hell because he's the same fuck up that told me its normal for aircon to be not cold (It's actually hot for my case) when car is stationary. Rest is history. Car is good, personnel are bad.

It didn't stop me from buying another Korean though but I bought KIA (the Hyundai is a company provided car) and is much happier with the personnel even though they might not have the establishment like SD.
true enough. while i try hard to replenish the lost fluid with RO water, they just use tap water lol. sakit hati
hjack
post Jan 14 2018, 01:29 PM

281 posts

If you wanna augue about warranty, well, perodua manual did clearly stated if missed the first 3 services warranty is void. No mention of missing regular one will void though.
So you should start reading your hyundai manual.

0.2002sec    0.55    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 02:10 PM