11 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Official TP-Link C1200 V1(EU) Firmware is out, Hidden WDS functionality works!, Page 29

TSJohnLai
post Feb 22 2018, 01:30 AM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(RoxyGal @ Feb 21 2018, 11:18 PM)
Tried this way as well, after i TFTP older version of the firmware C1200v1_eu_tm-up-boot-1.0.0 Build 20170905 rel.41738_2017-09-05_13.51.02 and wait the router the power cycle and reboot. And after reboot, it will still be the same international firmware.

There will be no TM configuration page at all.
No no....what I mean is, first you tftp 41738 into the router (don't reboot yet after you tftp 41738), then upgrade to 57928 directly at 192.168.0.1 page.

You said you are able to view TM firmware configuration page (the 5ghz high channel wifi list) after successful tftp, but it revert back to EU after reboot right? Following the above method ought to work.
TSJohnLai
post Feb 25 2018, 10:04 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(biloxee @ Feb 25 2018, 03:04 PM)
[attachmentid=9616392]
Can't, just tried it. Once the recovery firmware is transferred to the router, it will automatically reboot.

Cannot restore any of the UniFi firmwares.
It will restore the AU v1.1.1 Build 20170706 rel.65715 and Beta firmwares.

Reverting to the Beta firmware. The latest v1.1.3 Build 20180124 rel.52299 firmware is terrible for me. Keeps rebooting.
Sigh, I just sent email to TP-Link support again asking on how to revert back to Malaysia firmware from EU firmware.

Let see if TP-Link will reply to me. Don't put too much hope.....
TSJohnLai
post Feb 26 2018, 04:12 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(lyt25_1234 @ Feb 26 2018, 02:16 PM)
Ok, solved it.
Mind to tell us how did you solve it?

QUOTE(hnr2802 @ Feb 26 2018, 04:09 PM)
I have updated to the latest EU firmware. The route CPU load is 100% and preventing me from surfing the net. Any advice?
Did you disable NAT Acceleration or use QOS functionality?

Or somebody is torrenting/p2p?
TSJohnLai
post Feb 26 2018, 09:00 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(hnr2802 @ Feb 26 2018, 05:38 PM)
I don't use QoS. But im trying to setup ipv6. And not successful.

About cpu usage, did you enable other service such as USB file sharing and Print Server?

TSJohnLai
post Feb 28 2018, 12:10 AM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(Alex9182 @ Feb 27 2018, 11:55 PM)
oh, C1200 with "C1200v1_eu-up-1.1.3 Build 20180124 rel.52299" firmware just self rebooted after 5 days, not so good after all.
~.~ It is well known fact that C1200 will still random reboot, although not that frequent.
Basically, one can expect random reboot once a week.

It is a pity. C1200 hardware is better than DIR-850L. But unstable firmware is really an issue.

This post has been edited by JohnLai: Feb 28 2018, 12:11 AM
TSJohnLai
post Feb 28 2018, 12:26 AM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(Alex9182 @ Feb 28 2018, 12:18 AM)
thinking to save some money by using this router also can not, just now was thinking DIR850L can be trusted but after seeing another thread condemn it so teruk, better get other unit.

any recommendation for a stable no "self reboot", on 24-7 router?

with limited budget, not looking for high performance, just stable one for family used similar function with c1200 is ok but must be stable and low cost.

current unifi speed is 30mbps, double story teres house, 20 x 70 size. family of 5.
Any high end router that costs more than RM800.

Example : ASUS RT-AC68U ---> Reason = one can flash alternative firmware.....although default firmware is good enough....
TSJohnLai
post Feb 28 2018, 12:46 AM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(Alex9182 @ Feb 28 2018, 12:41 AM)
no la, dont want to spent so much, if can get <RM200 ok d
-.-...Do you know TP-Link C1200 itself cost about RM350?

And D-Link DIR-850L costs about RM300?

How exactly do you think <RM200 router will perform? sad.gif Hate to shatter your hope, but hey...it is life.... console.gif
TSJohnLai
post Feb 28 2018, 01:03 AM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(Alex9182 @ Feb 28 2018, 12:55 AM)
Asus RT-N12HP may be can meet my need, i dont need 5g band. as long as stable is ok for me. smile.gif
Thus, I propose you to check your area for 2.4Ghz wifi.
If it is really congested.....as in 10 - 20 wifi hotspots around, you are screwed.

Plus, some leaky microwave oven can totally screwed 2.4Ghz wifi signal.

Even better, try to connect to C1200 2.4ghz and run some speed benchmark. If it can get 30Mbps, RT-N12HP should be fine.
TSJohnLai
post Mar 1 2018, 11:43 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(Invalid Username @ Mar 1 2018, 04:12 PM)
is it advisable to install the TM Unifi firmware or the normal EU firmware? Have a TIME router
.....Which one is more important for you?

Having option to select more 5ghz wifi channels, but you need to accept TR-069 and @unifi suffix at wifi guest network with TM firmware

Or EU firmware with limited 5ghz wifi channels without TR-069 and annoying @unifi suffix?
TSJohnLai
post Mar 2 2018, 01:06 AM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(Invalid Username @ Mar 1 2018, 11:44 PM)
I’ve installed the TM firmware. What I meant was if it was ok to install the TM firmware as my router is from Time I didn’t know if it would work as usual.
Should be fine.

Beware though....currently, if one flashed EU, can't flash back to MY. sad.gif

TP-Link doesn't respond to my email about how to revert back to MY from EU firmware at all.

TSJohnLai
post Mar 2 2018, 07:43 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(Alex9182 @ Mar 2 2018, 02:23 PM)
Asus RT-N12HP arrived, setup and update to latest firmware, simple and easy.

However, something is wrong with the WiFi connection even after done factory reset and re-setup.
1). Ping, Download, Upload is abnormally low and in consistent,

2). Wifi range is lower then C1200.

result are the same tested on few devices. maybe i get a defective unit.

Put back Archer C1200, everything back to normal speed

(see attached test result for Asus Vs Tp-Link).

**PS...  Note book connected with LAN cable, speed is not effected, (Ping 15ms, Download 32mbps, Upload 10mbps).
hmm.gif

1) Did you screw in two antennas properly?

2) Did you adjust the antenna transmit power and force channel 40Mhz? Go to Advanced Settings, Wireless.
Enable Wireless Multicast Forwarding.
Disable Enable WMM ASPD
Disable Enhanced interference management
Set Tx Power adjustment to 200 mW
TSJohnLai
post Mar 2 2018, 08:14 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(Alex9182 @ Mar 2 2018, 08:12 PM)
Antenna screw properly, unscrew and rescrew in. The rest i leave it at default.
Default should not give such problems i guess.
Don't.
The default wireless options sucks.
I used DSL-N12HP before. (a more or less the same stuff)

After you make the modification, reboot and rebenchmark.
TSJohnLai
post Mar 2 2018, 08:20 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(Alex9182 @ Mar 2 2018, 08:18 PM)
I believe many happy user are using default settings, no need to tweak just to get 30mbps within 3 meters away line of sight distance. smile.gif
..........Should I explain what those option do?

You need to make those changes if you wanna get 30Mbps..... dry.gif It doesn't matter about devices being within 3 meters away line of sight distance.
TSJohnLai
post Mar 11 2018, 10:45 AM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(rhytion @ Mar 11 2018, 10:25 AM)
Finally got root access after enabled SSH for this router thanks to help from this forum

https://forum.lede-project.org/t/build-for-...-ac1200/2547/44

Now I can enable back Malaysia bands on AU firmware
Would be grateful if you post the step on enabling back Malaysia bands on AU firmware after getting root access.
TSJohnLai
post Mar 11 2018, 01:18 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(rhytion @ Mar 11 2018, 01:03 PM)
Lastly, I bricked my router by running

CODE
mtd write C1200.bin linux

to see if I could restore it to old TM firmware and after a reboot it's not booting up properly anymore. It seems like TFTP is not working for me, when I tried to boot it up all the light just flashes for a second then only the WPS LED lights up. I can go into the Web GUI which we normally get after a failed firmware update but it never goes pass 40%, either showing firmware upgrade failed or firmware not compatible. Anyone with similar experiences know how to fix it or will TM consider this as customer's fault?
sweat.gif
..........still under warranty? Then I suggest you to totally brick it using one of the method posted in lede forum thread and go claim warranty from TM.....
I think you just overwrite the uboot safeloader section with wrong stuff.

That aside, does the DE-->MY setting persist after router reboot? hmm.gif

EDIT:About that 40% issue, which firmware did you try? EU or TM?

EDIT2:I think you forgot to cut off the first 0x20200 from TM firmware before mtd write.

TM firmware has boot partition
fwup-ptn factory-boot base 0x01000 size 0x2abc9
fwup-ptn fs-uboot base 0x2bbc9 size 0x2939d
fwup-ptn os-image base 0x54f66 size 0x1d5001
fwup-ptn file-system base 0x229f67 size 0xc6a001
fwup-ptn product-info base 0xe93f68 size 0x00110
fwup-ptn soft-version base 0xe94078 size 0x00059
fwup-ptn extra-para base 0xe940d1 size 0x0000b
fwup-ptn support-list base 0xe940dc size 0x0011c
fwup-ptn profile base 0xe941f8 size 0x022bc
fwup-ptn default-config base 0xe964b4 size 0x09d83
fwup-ptn qos-db base 0xea0237 size 0x32071
fwup-ptn partition-table base 0x00800 size 0x00800
Eu firmware doesn't have boot partition
fwup-ptn fs-uboot base 0x01000 size 0x2939d
fwup-ptn os-image base 0x2a39d size 0x1d8001
fwup-ptn file-system base 0x20239e size 0xc3a001
fwup-ptn product-info base 0xe3c39f size 0x00110
fwup-ptn soft-version base 0xe3c4af size 0x00059
fwup-ptn extra-para base 0xe3c508 size 0x0000b
fwup-ptn support-list base 0xe3c513 size 0x00099
fwup-ptn profile base 0xe3c5ac size 0x02790
fwup-ptn default-config base 0xe3ed3c size 0x07d28
fwup-ptn qos-db base 0xe46a64 size 0x32071
fwup-ptn partition-table base 0x00800 size 0x00800
Can you still ssh to the router? If can, try to cut off the boot partition and mtd write again. But since you already wrote the firmware into the router...well....... sweat.gif

This post has been edited by JohnLai: Mar 11 2018, 01:38 PM
TSJohnLai
post Mar 11 2018, 10:02 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(rhytion @ Mar 11 2018, 02:28 PM)
Not really sure if it persists, haven't tried yet. Can't SSH into the router anymore. Tried nearly all firmware from TM and EU and non of them are working sadly. Now waiting for warranty claim from TM.
About that editing /etc/config/wireless, was you doing it via VIM or UCI? Do you reload the wifi interface after applying change?
TSJohnLai
post Mar 11 2018, 11:12 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(rhytion @ Mar 11 2018, 10:35 PM)
I did it via vim by connecting through an SSH client without root access, I'm using Bitvise personally, if I run vim directly through the netcat one then the arrow keys just won't work. I just ran wifi to reload the interface afterwards and the changes were applied and shown in web interface.

Anyway, just contacted TM for replacement, hopefully I won't get the trashcan.
Well, I used UCI to do so. Channel is successfully changed to 165. (verified via Wifi Analyser).
Unfortunately, the setting doesn't persist after reboot.

Reason being the /etc is mounted as ramfs type file system.

rclxub.gif

EDIT:

SUCCESS!!!!!!!!!
SETTING PERSISTED!!

Ignore the CPU usage, I am torrenting a lot of stuff. biggrin.gif

EDIT2: Edited the image to remove private info....

This post has been edited by JohnLai: Mar 12 2018, 12:15 AM
TSJohnLai
post Mar 12 2018, 08:34 AM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(MrSpeedy @ Mar 12 2018, 07:20 AM)

Good job on that.
If you don't mind, can you please explain step-by-step in layman terms?

Extra: Since the previous Beta firmware is the most stable firmware, is it possible to use SSH to modify the annoying 'Beta' background wallpaper?
Then it will solve most of the problems...
Alamak, how am I suppose to explain step-by-step? Using vim alone through Esc, i (case sensitive), ZZ (case sensitive) to save temporary stuff at 10-usb is troublesome enough. rclxub.gif

I don't use beta firmware....beside, to remove the background, I think one must delete/replace index.1516775402233.html background? It is possible to modify the Beta background wallpaper. However, the setting will not persist after reboot. hmm.gif
TSJohnLai
post Mar 12 2018, 09:07 AM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(lyt25_1234 @ Mar 12 2018, 09:04 AM)
How do you ssh to the router? and what is the login credentials?

Follow the guide at https://forum.lede-project.org/t/build-for-...-ac1200/2547/47
TSJohnLai
post Mar 12 2018, 10:37 AM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(lyt25_1234 @ Mar 12 2018, 09:09 AM)
Thanks! Will do!
hmm.gif

Officially, there are three bands :
1)U-NII-1 = 36-50
2)U-NII-2A = 50-64 U-NII-2C = 100-144
3)U-NII-3 = 149-165

We all know U-NII-1 is universally available.

TM firmware is using BS country code with extra parameter "no_autodetect": true which results in channel 36, 40, 44, 48, 100, 120, 161 and 165
However, simply forcing BS code without this extra parameter results in channel 36, 40, 44, 48. doh.gif
I guess one must write extra parameter into config.bin for the firmware to display additional higher channel. I assume "no_autodetect": true actually disable DFS.

No idea how this parameter should be written into config.bin
To be certain, I need config.bin with channel 100 from TM router. Anyone with TM latest firmware can donate a config.bin for me to check?

Forcing MY country code will result in channel 36, 38, 40, 44, 48, 149, 153, 157 and 161.

Here is a funny stuff, if one forces TW code, one will have access to U-NII-2A channel (auto default to channel 56), with the side effect 2.4ghz wifi stops working . From what I can see, TW code will force DFS to be enabled regardless of the extra "no_autodetect": true parameter hmm.gif Something about 5ghz DFS causes 2.4ghz wifi to stop working.
The same 2.4ghzs issue also happens with SG country code.

EDIT:
Weird, I am expecting higher channel with higher transmit power should produce better signalquality . But the result kinda...strange:
36 = -44dBm
161 = -52dBm
(The closer to 0dBm, the better the signal)
As if the higher channel still transmit at same power as lower channel.

EDIT:
Would be grateful if someone help me to test these countries code:
DZ
AL
BH
KW
AZ
EG
UA
IN
SV
CO
CR
PE
AR
MX
CA
KR
JP

The above is the one I haven't test yet. sweat.gif It took me too long to test, I already tested 80+ country codes.
Some country code broadcast at higher power.
Just write out 5ghz range for each of the country code above.

edit:
after searching high and low for BCM47189 documentation......it appears C1200 V1 EU doesn't support DFS. This confirms my suspicion about TM Bahamas region code with additional parameter.......

This post has been edited by JohnLai: Mar 12 2018, 04:14 PM

11 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0549sec    0.70    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 12:35 AM