11 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Official TP-Link C1200 V1(EU) Firmware is out, Hidden WDS functionality works!, Page 29

TSJohnLai
post Jan 28 2018, 11:46 AM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(biggie @ Jan 28 2018, 09:02 AM)
Earlier error is due to I do not choose Malaysia (unifi) in the setting.

Now working ok after about 24hours. Wondering if this router is as good as d850 which goes months without need to reset.

However I do notice that with this beta the wifi signal seem to be lower then before. Seem similar to d850 which is not good.
Darn. I finally know the reason of weak wifi signal as reported by few users!

In Malaysia; 5150-5350, 5470-5650 and 5725-5875 max EIRP are 1 Watt.
However, the beta firmware is using DE (Germany) power profile; 5250 – 5350 MHz (channel 36-64) is limited to 200 mW. Since the beta firmware only has channel 36 - 48. No wonder lah. doh.gif Germany 5470 – 5725 has eirp of 1W, too bad beta firmware has missing channel.

According to Utilities Regulation and Competition Authority of the Bahamas (No idea why Time/TM/Maxis firmwares select BS as power profile, anyone wanna report to MCMC?), 5150–5250MHz is limited to 200mW, 5250–5350MHz is limited to 200 mW, 5470–5725 = 1W, 5725–5825 = 1W

Hope this concludes wifi signal issue.
If users are previously using higher channel with high eirp, after updating to beta firmware, weaker signal is expected.

QUOTE(jesseclane @ Jan 28 2018, 10:09 AM)
just installed time yesterday. no wonder my router keep crashing
Crash due to beta or original default firmware? Please be specific.
TSJohnLai
post Jan 29 2018, 06:59 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(RoxyGal @ Jan 29 2018, 05:59 PM)
tplink eu v1 latest firmware came out already

http://static.tp-link.com/2018/201801/2018...)_V1_180124.zip
Thanks. I updated the thread.

Strangely, the openwrt revision seem to be older than beta.
Beta is 66049 while official is 52299. Will test later.
TSJohnLai
post Jan 29 2018, 07:35 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(RoxyGal @ Jan 29 2018, 07:29 PM)
newer doesnt mean better

Tested roughly

Summary

WIFI 2.4G/5G transmission,stability,speed : Unifi stock firmware still works better, stronger, stable and consistant. Still not upper channel like 165 for WIFI 5ghz. Feel like being throttle and underclock.
For malaysia WIFI channel, max wattage should be 200mW for 2.4G and 1000mW for 5G. Guess this firmware using Europe Wifi region so no maximum wattage and channel.

CPU AND RAM: Almost perfect.

GUI: Fast

IPV6: never test because using as AP

AP mode: AP Mode enable but not in full mode as missing few setting. Im still using manual AP setting.

Disconnect Issue: Under testing.
Well, the official firmware wifi region still automatically select Germany as default....no option to select other.
TSJohnLai
post Jan 29 2018, 10:11 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(MrSpeedy @ Jan 29 2018, 09:44 PM)
Do you think TP-Link will release regional based firmware later?
I think this is for the general testing firmware because of the link http://test.tp-link.com

But I highly doubted that Malaysian version TM will screw with their crappy "@unifi" SSID and other backdoors.
It is their prototyping website (you know, for html coding test just to see if everything displayed correctly ) before releasing firmware globally. So....it is as official as it can be.

........there was a beta firmware for Malaysia region......which fixed the random reboot issue too....with the most desired WIFI channel region (Bahamas...really? But why? Why Bahamas? rclxub.gif ), but it is full of crappy stuffs.
The filename is (Someone posted it at Jjuggler's blog);
C1200v1_eu_tm-up-boot-1.0.0 Build 20180104 rel.7326_2018-01-05_10.30.45.bin

Strongly advised not to install TM firmware. puke.gif

Maybe those who interested might wanna ask Jjuggler to supply that particular firmware here?

TSJohnLai
post Jan 30 2018, 10:19 AM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(Jjuggler @ Jan 30 2018, 02:31 AM)
i prefer the stock beta than the beta provided by tm.
Unfortunately, there is demand for that particular TM firmware. Might as well as give them what they want? happy.gif

QUOTE(biggie @ Jan 30 2018, 08:35 AM)
How to update? Can press update firmware button? For current beta users need to input every setting again?
Manual update, download the zip, extract, login to router, select the new firmware, click upgrade, wait.
In my case, no setting was reset after upgrading from beta to official.
TSJohnLai
post Jan 30 2018, 11:10 AM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(Jjuggler @ Jan 30 2018, 10:42 AM)
the cpu load is lesser than 30% for me. mostly stay in the range of 10 - 15%. just flash my c1200 to the latest fw which just released few days ago. Highly recommended.

Will prepare a full depth review on the new firmware soon.
So....may I upload the TM firmware 'robbed' from your site by one of your user? laugh.gif
TSJohnLai
post Jan 30 2018, 01:18 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(Jjuggler @ Jan 30 2018, 01:12 PM)
hahaha. up to you bro. btw special thanks for you for highlighting the new firmware is out of the public just two days after i purchase my asus ac58u  bangwall.gif lol.  biggrin.gif
It was RoxyGal who first discovered the new official firmware. rclxms.gif Will upload TM Beta firmware at first page soon. My lovely RoxyGal, remember to check it later.

By the way Jjuggler, why did you purchase ac58u in first place? blink.gif
TSJohnLai
post Jan 31 2018, 11:30 AM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(biggie @ Jan 31 2018, 11:22 AM)
Thank you. Upgrade mine successfully. Hopefully, will be a stable as the previous release which I am happy with.

Also tick the beamforming this time aorund. IPV6 have been disable previously.
Well....aside from official firmware....if you really need the high power 5ghz channel 161 and 165....you might wanna try TM beta firmware (random reboot / wifi fix included).
Beware of TM firrmware pro and cons... dry.gif
You can find it at first page.
TSJohnLai
post Jan 31 2018, 12:08 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(coolguy_0925 @ Jan 31 2018, 11:41 AM)
If I get you right, Europe firmware has lower 5GHz power vs Msia?

How about 2.4GHz?
For 5Ghz, yes.
For 2.4Ghz, MCMC MTSFB TC T007:2014 document mentions max 2.4ghz eirp is 500mW.

For 2.4Ghz at Germany (well, EU C1200 V1 firmware defaults to DE)
TSJohnLai
post Jan 31 2018, 02:50 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(coolguy_0925 @ Jan 31 2018, 02:22 PM)
Wow Msia MCMC max 500mW but DE max 100mW
Majority of low and mid range router sold in Malaysia actually limit 2.4Ghz at 100mW.
Only for high end router where TP-Link, Asus, DLink etc engineers bother to set correct/max 500mW 2.4Ghz for Malaysia. So much for being 'high end'. innocent.gif
Artificial product segmentation. (Same for 5Ghz)

Now, make your choice of which firmware to use. devil.gif
It is either official EU firmware or TM Beta firmware.
TSJohnLai
post Feb 1 2018, 03:12 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(Jjuggler @ Feb 1 2018, 12:23 PM)
Bro pardon me for being rude, but have you tried the latest un-official firmware pointed by RoxyGal? I flash my c1200 to the firmware and it does reduce the cpu usage and the router going well for about 3 days. The only drawback is the lan port of the router not detecting my cable. so relying on wireless now.  rclxms.gif
QUOTE(cannavaro @ Feb 1 2018, 01:30 PM)
eh, you mean all 4 LAN ports not working after the update?
confused.gif
In my case, LAN ports are working just fine.

Port 4 customised for hypptv, port 1 connected to main gaming desktop.

Jjuggler's cable got loose?
TSJohnLai
post Feb 3 2018, 01:18 AM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(goskype @ Feb 3 2018, 01:02 AM)
hey guys, I got the Archer C7 tp link, I set up my router and inserted my PPPOE and did the UNIFI config for IPTV, it wrote INTERNET connected but I don't get any connection and unable to load even to google sad.gif, is there a setting I missed or I have to call Unifi to send a technician?
.....Check your gateway.
Maybe you set static ip on your device?

C7 default gateway 192.168.1.1
Other TP-Link Archer default gateway is 192.168.0.1
TSJohnLai
post Feb 5 2018, 08:17 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(shamsay @ Feb 5 2018, 12:54 PM)
Seems the new official firmware still having auto reboot issue.my router just reboot again after 2days uptime.
QUOTE(gustoh7@gmail.com @ Feb 5 2018, 05:45 PM)
Hi.I have the same issue.Auto reboot still persists after upgrade to the new firmware.I have Archer C1200 EU V1 version.
Strange, I haven't encounter random reboot with the official firmware. It has been 6 days since I installed it. hmm.gif
TSJohnLai
post Feb 8 2018, 04:42 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(coolguy_0925 @ Feb 8 2018, 02:22 PM)
Yes it still restarts by itself

Last session lasted about 5 days
Well, mine auto reboot just now.

8 days plus.

Better than original firmware which reboot many times within one day.
TSJohnLai
post Feb 10 2018, 07:09 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(Alex9182 @ Feb 10 2018, 01:57 PM)
Need some help here,

after upgrade firmware to "Archer C1200(EU)_V1_180124", the modem works ok.

then when i try to upgrade back to TM firmware, i get message "Unable to Upgrade".

what i need to do to get it back to Tm firmware?  Please help.
Read post by biloxee
TSJohnLai
post Feb 12 2018, 04:11 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(Alex9182 @ Feb 11 2018, 11:07 PM)
Hi, I am using TP-Link Archer C1200 router TM unit at home for browsing, some gaming, internet banking usage.

I want to ask, at router management setting, NAT Forwarding, ALG, UPnP, can i disable all those. it seem not needed for me but i am not sure.

Can i safely disabling all those within NAT Forwarding, will it make my router less secure?
does it reduce the CPU load on the router?
please help
Hmm? Are you using TM beta firmware at first post? Downgrade successful with TFTP?

Yes, disable all ALG and UPNP. It will make your router MORE SECURE.
There are some malware/virus/trojan made use of UPNP for portforwarding and exposing victim system to the Internet.

TSJohnLai
post Feb 16 2018, 02:07 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

Some people prefer TP-Link TM Malaysia Firmware due to having more 5ghz channels....

RoxyGal, the official TM Malaysia firmware is out.
TSJohnLai
post Feb 16 2018, 11:10 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(RoxyGal @ Feb 16 2018, 04:18 PM)
I know but after update to international firmware I can no longer update the UNIFI latest firmware. It stated unable update firmware. Any solution? @JohnLai , can you try for me? I think you too unable to update to UNIFI latest firmware
Biloxee already pointed it out.

TFTP method ought to work.
Difference is the IP would be 192.168.0.66 hmm.gif

This post has been edited by JohnLai: Feb 16 2018, 11:11 PM
TSJohnLai
post Feb 17 2018, 01:14 AM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(RoxyGal @ Feb 17 2018, 12:04 AM)
@JohnLai

Tried TFTP method, able to access to c1200 restore firmware and upload the stock unifi firmware but when reboot it will only revert back to the last firmware. So TFTP method doesnt work
Guess you have to contact TP-Link for more info.

As for your 5ghz channel question on the TM latest official firmware, it contains 36, 40, 44, 48, 100, 120, 161 and 165.

EDIT: Are you sure TFTP successfully upload TM firmware into the router?

This post has been edited by JohnLai: Feb 17 2018, 01:23 AM
TSJohnLai
post Feb 21 2018, 01:35 AM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

....RoxyGal

A question for you. You said tftp flashed TM firmware automatically reset to EU version after reboot.....

Try these.
1) TFTP older version of the firmware C1200v1_eu_tm-up-boot-1.0.0 Build 20170905 rel.41738_2017-09-05_13.51.02, but DON'T REBOOT once you are able to access TM firmware configuration page.

2) Right away flash the current C1200v1_eu_tm-up-boot-1.0.0 Build 20180208 rel.57928_2018-02-09_10.03.18 via the 41738 upgrade pages.

11 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0260sec    0.59    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 08:22 PM