133 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Bottom

Enquiries/Recommendations Notebook Recommendation Thread v.30, Ultrabook/Gaming Laptop

Midbrain
post Mar 3 2018, 08:21 PM

48 posts

Dear all sifu,
i will be glad if you all could give a recommendation for any ultrabook

Brand: any (as long as not HP)
Budget: below 4k
Usage: mostly office and movies
display: 13 - 14'' (4K display anti-glare)
processor: 8th gen i5 and above
weight: around 1.3kg
usb type a 2.0/3.0 : at least 2 ports
fingerprint sensor with windows hello
storage: total storage of at least 500mb with at least 125mb of SSD
battery life > 10hr with a single charge

notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
zero5177
post Mar 3 2018, 11:59 PM

Sixth Sense Unlocked
1,552 posts

Guys, I have shortlisted this 2 laptop with MX150 graphic card at affordable price and good i5 8250 processor,

which you think have better built quality/heat management and after sales service?

Acer Aspire 5 A515-51G-50AC - 15" | i5 8250 | 4gb DDR4| 1TB HDD | Nvidia MX150 | 3 years local warranty RM25xx
Lenovo Ideapad 320-15IKBRN - 15" | i5 8250 | 4gb DDR4| 1TB HDD | Nvidia MX150 | 2 years onsite warranty RM25xx

Please give your input or suggest also if you have better alternative at this price range.. i5 and good graphic card is what I'm looking for at affordable price.
Hoping to play most normal games fluently, and occasionally AAA games at lowest setting
BaDKiDz
post Mar 4 2018, 03:36 AM

262 posts

QUOTE(zero5177 @ Mar 3 2018, 11:59 PM)
Guys, I have shortlisted this 2 laptop with MX150 graphic card at affordable price and good i5 8250 processor,

which you think have better built quality/heat management and after sales service?

Acer Aspire 5 A515-51G-50AC - 15" | i5 8250 | 4gb DDR4| 1TB HDD | Nvidia MX150 | 3 years local warranty RM25xx
Lenovo Ideapad 320-15IKBRN - 15" | i5 8250 | 4gb DDR4| 1TB HDD | Nvidia MX150 | 2 years onsite warranty RM25xx

Please give your input or suggest also if you have better alternative at this price range.. i5 and good graphic card is what I'm looking for at affordable price.
Hoping to play most normal games fluently, and occasionally AAA games at lowest setting
I have same thoughts as you.. Hesitating to get previous gtx 1xxx series or 9xx.. I prefer Asus over both brand but Asus combination with I5 8250 don't have mx150 if not mistaken.. Btw those 1tb hdd they don't have ssd variant? I rather swap 256 ssd than 1tb hdd
zero5177
post Mar 4 2018, 12:43 PM

Sixth Sense Unlocked
1,552 posts

QUOTE(BaDKiDz @ Mar 4 2018, 03:36 AM)
I have same thoughts as you.. Hesitating to get previous gtx 1xxx series or 9xx.. I prefer Asus over both brand but Asus combination with I5 8250 don't have mx150 if not mistaken.. Btw those 1tb hdd they don't have ssd variant? I rather swap 256 ssd than 1tb hdd
Good to see someone in the same ship as me...

I've survey through Asus, the closer to this is with 940mx which is not as good as the new mx150... price different around less than 200 compared to the Lenovo and Acer with mx150

I heard Acer don't have slot for SSD m2 while the Lenovo have?
The cheapest SSD variant is the AMD A9 variant from Asus at less than 2k... but their performance is even below 4th gen i3... the graphic card is also somewhat entry level too... since SSD can be added later, I rather pick the one with better processor and GPU...

I too prefer Asus, but too bad for that price range, new Asus only equipped with Mx130
BaDKiDz
post Mar 4 2018, 05:50 PM

262 posts

QUOTE(zero5177 @ Mar 4 2018, 12:43 PM)
Good to see someone in the same ship as me...

I've survey through Asus, the closer to this is with 940mx which is not as good as the new mx150... price different around less than 200 compared to the Lenovo and Acer with mx150

I heard Acer don't have slot for SSD m2 while the Lenovo have?
The cheapest SSD variant is the AMD A9 variant from Asus at less than 2k... but their performance is even below 4th gen i3... the graphic card is also somewhat entry level too... since SSD can be added later, I rather pick the one with better processor and GPU...

I too prefer Asus, but too bad for that price range, new Asus only equipped with Mx130
What is price? Asus 2.3k rite?
I don't know they have slot for ssd, so Lenovo have? How about asus? I know those member is own do using the cd drive change to hdd and hdd change to ssd.. Something like that..
Latest Asus using mx130 which not much diff in benchmark compare to 940mx
sigma200
post Mar 4 2018, 10:12 PM

1. Preferred brand : Any reliable brand

2. Budget : Around RM3k

3. Usage : college assignments (microsoft office), statistical/ data works & analysis, web browsing, movies and video streaming. No games.

4. Screen Size : 13-inch

5. Other: Light, portable, long-battery life, good after sale support n warranty & can last the extra few years in terms of the tech and specs
GangQi
post Mar 4 2018, 11:10 PM

31 posts

Dear masters,

Need help with laptop recommendation.

Preferred brand : Dell
Usage : Importantly open computer must fast, buying Stocks / Cryptocurrency Purpose and with some Dota only.
Screen Size : 14 - 15inch
RAM: any
Processor: any
Budget : 3-5k

Currently still using window 7, can downgrade from window10 to window 7?
Any advice welcome. notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
cyongyong
post Mar 5 2018, 10:15 PM

58 posts

Hi Hi everyone biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

I am looking for a new laptop and need recommendation from all the sifus here .

1. Preferred brand :Hp, dell .... but got others which are better also ok
2. Budget :3-4K
3. Usage : photo editing (light room and Photoshop) , simple website designing(wordpress) and maybe video editing
4. Screen Size :13"

Please recommend ya ... i was looking online and google and reading forum but still confuse on which laptop to buy ..

icon_question.gif icon_question.gif icon_question.gif
myway1985
post Mar 5 2018, 11:24 PM

12,089 posts

QUOTE(cyongyong @ Mar 5 2018, 10:15 PM)
Hi Hi everyone  biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif 

I am looking for a new laptop and need recommendation from all the sifus here .

1. Preferred brand :Hp, dell .... but got others which are better also ok
2. Budget :3-4K
3. Usage : photo editing (light room and Photoshop) , simple website designing(wordpress) and maybe video editing
4. Screen Size :13"

Please recommend ya ... i was looking online and google and reading forum but still confuse on which laptop to buy ..

icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif
alienware 13 r3 dfo
i5-7300hq
8gb
256gb ssd
13. fhd ips
gtx 1050
win10
1year warranty
RM3899
taengu
post Mar 6 2018, 09:34 AM

33 posts

1. Preferred brand : any reputable brand, preferably HP, dell or asus
2. Budget : rm2.2k or below
3. Usage : internet surfing, microsoft office, movies (mainly for academic purposes)
4. Screen Size : 13” and above
5. Extras: preferably light weight since im going to carry it to college everyday

nikki_5543
post Mar 6 2018, 04:06 PM

95 posts

Hi all, by end of this month i would like to buy gaming laptop..but hard to choose.. i can prefer and model such as hp,Asus,illigear,dell but need expert help to buy most value for money ones. budget 3.5k to 4k.

1. Preferred brand : any reputable brand, preferably HP, dell or asus
2. Budget : 3.5k to 4k
3. Usage : internet surfing, Microsoft office, movies , autocad and naviswork
4. Screen Size : 13” and above
5. Extras: value for money,extra warranty if offer by the manufacture and as below

intel 7700HQ
8gb ddr4 (2133/2400)
1tb sata + 128gb ssd
gtx 1050ti/1060 (4gb)

BaDKiDz
post Mar 7 2018, 12:41 AM

262 posts

Hi there,

I had come out with 3 comparison.. Need some advise or recommendation.. Currently seems HP and acer have upper hand.. But review said acer poor in heat, while hp no review, only friend experience said hp quality not really good... Any feedback from owner or suggestion will be ok.. My budget 2.5k

Lenovo
320 0PMJ
I5 8250, 4GB DDR4, MX140 GPU, 1TB Hdd, no dual storage(SSD) option

ACER
A515 51G 50AC
I5 8250, 4GB DDR4, MX140 GPU, 1TB HDD(can upgrade ssd dual storage)

HP.
PAVILION 15 CK063TX
I5 8250, 4GB DDR4, MX140 GPU, 1TB HDD(can upgrade ssd dual storage)

BaDKiDz
post Mar 8 2018, 11:22 AM

262 posts

QUOTE(Slick69 @ Mar 7 2018, 11:11 PM)
I'm not sure about the Lenovo, but yeah, try to avoid Acer, the good ones are the Acer Swift series. Forget about everything else.

The Lenovo lack of dual storage really sucks though. But not unsolvable, just annoying. Tell the shop you want to swap out your hdd to copy, or "mirror" (you sound fancier that way) your windows before they swap it ok?

If they don't, you are gonna be buying windows 10 all over again. Don't do that, let them work for you instead!😎

No matter how I look at it though, the HP is the best one.

Its got a great, glossy ips screen (I can assure you that Lenovo is using lower quality ips screen than HP), you'll be surprised by the quality of the speakers, it even got a hint of bass. Best built quality in its price range. You'll love it.

There's more to a laptop than just specs you know.

Remember to add 4gb RAM later if you to game, and add ssd for speed. Get a warranty for peace of mind.

If it's survived longer than what your friend said it would, SHOVE IT AT HIS FACE.
Hi there, thanks for the advise.. Lenovo basically I asked them, I need do my own.. I can do as I already did it to my old laptop Asus from hdd to ssd but ssd storage is less and expensive .. Thus prefer something with dual storage...

My concern is on heat, if it heat is it shorten my laptop life?
Cause I use it for gaming maybe few hr per sessions..
Currently I got good image on Asus quality as myself and friend among use Asus.. Our laptop still working fine even after 7 years..

I had hear and seen alot acer brand with heat problem.. Example during uni life 5years back my friend acer will shutdown or blue screen when we playing dota together..
So I not sure did acer solved their heat issue which have this impact of shutdown or reboot or blur screen..

I had another friend with good acer he use his acer 6year n working fine then he upgrade lenovo 5 year still working great.. But since lenovo no dual storage at 2.5k range then I gonna leave it..

Another friend with hp pavilion series, his laptop hdd problem but solve with warranty.. After 5 years speaker spoilt..
Another is my gf sis her hp mobo burnt..

Thus now I considering on acer n hp..and I wonder hp heat management is good or same as acer..

HP quality on screen I heard alot good reviews and bad on on acer as well...
do you have any other suggestions at 2.5k mark?
ToniV
post Mar 8 2018, 11:48 PM

2,374 posts

Looking for laptop. Price range rm3000 to rm4000
Should be light weight.
Good built quality and performance
BaDKiDz
post Mar 9 2018, 12:58 AM

262 posts

QUOTE(Slick69 @ Mar 8 2018, 12:25 PM)
It's quite limited, there's really not much good choices in that price range. I won't be worrying about the heat since 8250u is a 15 watt cpu and the mx140 is only a 25 watt gpu. Any decent laptops can handle that combo.

There are others, but many comes with big sacrifice on screen and sound quality. Definitely huge losses in gaming. Unless you are fine with HD630...

If you are lucky I would suggest to get the unicorn of laptops, HP envy 15 with Ryzen 5 2500U. Should be around RM2500++. Amd just launched them last week.

I'm still recommending you that HP laptop (the one with Nvidia mx140). You also need to consider adding 4GB RAM in the future.

Here's the expected performance of that gpu, lower it by 15 fps since this is MX150 2GB benchmark.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uJo0bRL6Qak&t=135s

Here's an asus alternative. I don't like the low quality ips screen they are using. But maybe you'll find them to be fine?

https://www.asus.com/my/Laptops/ASUS-VivoBook-S15-S510UN/

Asus didn't state the price, but I expect it to be close to RM3000. There's a cheaper version of course, but remember that the cost is lower cpua and gpu power.

It still good enough for gaming if you are willing to use 720p.
The ryzen special is come with integrated HD graphic rite? In term of price almost same as I5.. Dont have really good amd experience.. So the 2.5k par this ck063tx I5 8th gen mx150 shall be my choice.. Actually I don't know hp screen is so good and sound too cause my perception on hp is working laptop..

Asus that you give the link is high spec.. It close to 4k not 3k
Je Ping
post Mar 9 2018, 09:55 AM

15 posts

1. Preferred brand : None

2. Budget : Below 5K-5.5K

3. Usage : Uni, Programming, Maybe some light gaming

Prefer : 8gb RAM, SSD, Nvidia® GeForce GTX1060
Aelzen
post Mar 10 2018, 01:48 PM

34 posts

1. Preferred brand : Any
2. Budget : RM4600-ish
3. Usage : Graphic work on the go / whilst traveling. (lighter is better, but not necessary; don't want a heavy brick, though)
4. Screen Size : 15"+

I'm currently looking at a MSI GP62M-7REX-2621MY. It's got a decent gfx card (1050ti), 8gb ram and an SSD for running my core work apps off (photoshop, illustrator, all those other adobe suite tools). No CD/DVD, but it's not needed. Best thing is everywhere I've seen it has it on sale for less than RRP right now.

I'm not totally sold on the MSI, rather looking for something with similar specs or better but have no idea where to look or what to look at. I haven't had to buy a computer in a long time now and don't really know where to start. Hoping someone can point me in a good direction.

This post has been edited by Aelzen: Mar 10 2018, 01:48 PM
meaninglessx7
post Mar 10 2018, 07:47 PM

175 posts

1. Preferred brand : No preference
2. Budget : RM7k below
3. Screen Size : 13'' above 15" is the best
4. Main preference : lightest possible, quality and good performance
5. Usage: office use, heavy browsing, software development, multitask, vm
KittehDispenser
post Mar 10 2018, 11:54 PM

177 posts

1. Preferred brand : Nope
2. Budget : 3.5 to 4k
3. Screen Size : 13'' or 14"
4. Main preference : Good Keyboard, 8 to 9 hour battery life, Won't get too hot while doing simple task as I always use on bed or lap.
5. Usage: College use, Watch Movie, Data Research, a lot typing.
6. ETC: 8th gen U Processor, 256GB SSD, 8GB Ram
nivlanauk
post Mar 12 2018, 01:18 AM

307 posts

Hello, my desktop just died and am looking for laptop now for portability.

1. Preferred brand: Asus but I'm open to reliability.
2. Budget :4k+-
3. Usage : Uni use. website browsing and microsoft office, playing street fighter 5 at max settings, bonus points if it has nice speakers and screen.
4. Screen Size :13"/14"
5. Other: I will be bringing this out a lot. so portability and battery life is important.

UX550V looks like the perfect laptop that I would get but that is way out of my budget.
Looking at UX430U now. But are there any other reliable alternatives in the market?

Is the integrated intel graphics actually sufficient these days? Just want to be watching videos at 1080p and play street fighter v that's all. I don't play any other graphics intensive games. At home I'll plug it into my monitor.

133 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Top

0.0245sec    0.68    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 11:15 PM