6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Bottom

Dell XPS M1210 Support Thread #1, COD4? No problem...

AzeL
post Jul 5 2007, 11:20 AM

304 posts

oooh i tot mebe used for awhile the rubber wear down a little hence causing imbalance

if the rocking is minute it shouldnt be a problem i think...maybe the latitude has shock absorbers built into the legs laugh.gif

funny if it's not the leg then it shud be the surface...but then ur latitude is okay...design?..u mean the weight distribution not even then it will rock ?

This post has been edited by AzeL: Jul 5 2007, 11:23 AM
AzeL
post Jul 5 2007, 11:53 PM

304 posts

QUOTE(n20nine @ Jul 5 2007, 05:03 PM)
Azel,

hahaha, the latitude has no shock absorbers as far as i know. the latitude's surface is totally flat, of course it still has the four rubbers, but they're thin. the xps' surface is not quite flat eh..

oh ya, any idea if i still can purchase the 9 cell batt..

today, i called up Dell saying tht i am not happy with my purchase as the webcam is horrendous, the media buttons are too small for me to press and flimsy, the touchpad is cramped up..in fact i noticed the thing was not done well, the chrome area has scratch. ermm..the lid's surface gets all the stains...so i said tht i wanna exchange it for the 1330 and will pay the difference. they said no..if i wanted to, they will charge rm80 for collection, and 20% of the price i paid for my xps as restocking fee...so all in all, i would have lost slightly more than RM 1K and would have to add another 1.2K at least for the 1330 which i sooooo crave for. It's not worth it la..
well...i'm very satisfied with my xps actually...no physical defects whatsoever....not even a scratch...the only thing im grumbling about is the keyboard,but just a little bit la hehe...but thats just me...as the keyboard works fine..i just don't like the occasional squeaky noise

lid get all the stains??...i thought with that kinda lid its harder to get stains?...i use a moist cloth to wipe the lid..seems to work and it's clean as a whistling.gif

yes i am a hygiene freak...sue me!! icon_rolleyes.gif

as for the batt...just call them up and ask for it...or u can buy online too if im not mistaken laugh.gif

nvm la...the xps 1210 is cool also what...got that classic boxy look yet still sexy and appealing..just lost out in technology to the 1330 only...personally i think the 1330 is cool too...but the wedge look looks gay lol

This post has been edited by AzeL: Jul 5 2007, 11:57 PM
AzeL
post Jul 6 2007, 05:23 PM

304 posts

AzeL
post Jul 7 2007, 03:17 PM

304 posts

@n29

hmm i noticed when i open the lid i always put my thumb under the silver thing at the edge of the lid and push up...hence no touching the lid itself lol...u could do this..or sideways up to u laugh.gif

@eiraku

btw...u wasid in ur earlier post not to buy lcd protector...what happened?,didnt stick well?,made the screen blur?...was this the same protector u bought and announced a few pages back?

was thinking of getting a protector..now havin doubts lol...hell mebe ill buy to modify it become palmrest skins lol
AzeL
post Jul 7 2007, 06:09 PM

304 posts

QUOTE(Eiraku @ Jul 7 2007, 05:28 PM)
Lets just say, it didn't stick at all...  vmad.gif

Thank God it was only RM30, but it didn't stick that well as palmrest skins too... So I'll just skin it totally later... And where would I do the skinning? I'll just get some DIY skins (somebody's selling em in Garage Sales) as per my own design, and stick it myself... icon_rolleyes.gif

Anyway, I'm heading off to Uni tomorrow, so I'll be more or less absent from this moment forth in LYN... I'll be back as soon as I find some stable WiFI to latch on to... So, it's been nice hanging around here, and take care guys!
lol im goin to uni too..not gonna bring lap until im sure my room is adequately burglar proof,note that i didnt say completely burglar proof, because that's just rubbish...anyone determined enough with enough time can always break in vmad.gif

hmm as for skins...can i just use masking tape?...yea i know it's butt ugly but hey maybe i can draw something on it to make it "pretty" doh.gif

AzeL
post Jul 14 2007, 08:36 AM

304 posts

grrr....my uni got wireless but my hostel cluster no access yet

and worse my mouse died on me...good news is going back this afternioon and im getting myself a new mouse
AzeL
post Jul 14 2007, 11:54 PM

304 posts

owh crap my laptop got worm jus now couldnt start windows even in safe mode had to restore the whole thing to factory settings...good thing didnt remove the recovery partition

okay what bloatware shud i get rid of again?...lazy to muck through the entire thread
AzeL
post Jul 15 2007, 06:40 PM

304 posts

wow great idea..too bad didnt think of saving the downloaded stuff into the recovery partition >_<

btw...when i play my wmp11..it takes like 9 seconds to start playing songs and when it change songs its slow too like 5 seconds...and then there's this stuttering...ive read that this may be a driver issue...but i checked the version alr and it's the latest offered by dell (30/1/07)

any ideas anyone?
AzeL
post Jul 27 2007, 01:09 PM

304 posts

lol long time havent come back here...had to walk all the way uphill to the admin building to get a good strong signal...anywa it was worth it.

well i have my laptop for about 1 month already...the facials are still flawless...and im a heavy user too..what with oblivion and cs'ing with hostel mates...palmrest still like new...i think the yellowish color is from the sweat of ur palm or something..i noticed mine had it too after hours of resting palm there..just use moist cloth to wipe it off...as for my silver lining at the touchpad,like new too...no flaw whatsoever

but then mine's only 1 month old...many things could happen later *touch wood* haha
AzeL
post Jul 29 2007, 10:51 PM

304 posts

asus got 12 inch i think...or i think its more like 11 inch...go check it out...and sony vaio too...but specwise for 12 incher wont be as good as the 1210 tho im afraid

my warranty only 1 year...but maybe ill extend it when a month or two from expiring
AzeL
post Sep 25 2007, 02:04 PM

304 posts

wow long time mia from here...windy im one of the bastards who got it at 2999 too haha

so far no problem with my unit...been 3 months already

yupe the media buttons will still be on when idle..about ms word..maybe its software issue?...im using ms office 2007 and so far working like magic

hmm dirty black???...do u wipe ur palm rest after use?...i tihnk the sweat does something to it

@Eiraku

i tried installing the 163.69 WHQL driver but cant because there's no 7400 go in the list...nw currently using 163.44 from LV2G.

This post has been edited by AzeL: Sep 25 2007, 02:07 PM
AzeL
post Dec 11 2007, 11:55 PM

304 posts

just upgraded to vista ultimate...seems that LV2G drivers don't work with windows dreamscene...currently using drivers downloaded from windows update

so should i stick to it or can anyone give me suggestions?

@zhinsara
feel the same way too, but hey, it runs CSS without a hick, and thats enough for me.

P.S: man this thread is going to be buried by 1330 and 1530, lol
AzeL
post Dec 31 2007, 01:48 PM

304 posts

QUOTE(NewbieBetta @ Dec 28 2007, 08:33 PM)
pls dont die...this thread wont die...where have all the 1210 user went?no complain anymore huh?all 1210 in m'sia working fine? tongue.gif  tongue.gif  tongue.gif
don't worry we're still here...and nope not having any issues with my xps...just upgraded to ultimate a month back and 2gb ram...only problem sems to be that BaoFeng codec im using seems to have some issues with vista dreamscenes...as i cant play some of them...and temperatures running a little high even when idling...but i guess thats due to dreamscene which uses up gpu and cpu power
AzeL
post Dec 31 2007, 06:54 PM

304 posts

QUOTE(Eiraku @ Dec 31 2007, 02:44 PM)
Temp's a bit high? Like I said, our M1210s are a bit quirky indeed... icon_rolleyes.gif

idling with dreamscene cpu and gpu sometime go as high as 79C >_<

Edit:

uh...any of u guys have problem transferring files to pendrives?...i tried transferring files from kingston data traveller 2gb to my other 4 gb one and it always stuck halfway...after force quit the transfer windows cant detect one of them and the other one simply got relabeled as "removable drive"

not sure whether usb driver issue....pendrive driver issue or one of my pendrive going to see the big man in heaven...any ideas?....ive googled for info but so far come up with nothing relevant

This post has been edited by AzeL: Dec 31 2007, 08:24 PM
AzeL
post Mar 22 2008, 01:08 AM

304 posts

well back from the dead

pretty busy lately

and now i have a problem
my battery wont charge properly...i completely drained it yesterday and after leaving it off and charging for about 5 hours i came back and discovered it was only at 56%...in windows i noticed the battery icon has no animation like it usually shows when its charging and the charge stucks at 56%

battery problem?
AzeL
post Mar 23 2008, 01:17 PM

304 posts

u opened up and cleaned urself?...was thinking of cleaning the heatsink too but dun dare open up further >_<

teach me?
AzeL
post Apr 5 2008, 11:36 AM

304 posts

they gav me a replacement battery last week...only got hold of it today because was at campus and they wanted the old baterry to be given to the delivery guy.

guys...where do i go to extend warranty?...ive tried browsing thru the site but it's not exactly user friendly...can i just call the technical services number? 1-800-88-5784?
AzeL
post Apr 12 2008, 11:17 PM

304 posts

okay asked them about the warranty contact number...i think you should put it on the first post

1800 88 0525 extension 73512

office hours only though...grrr need to call them from campus...issit still toll free if i use handphone?
AzeL
post Apr 13 2008, 10:23 PM

304 posts

i always come back to this page which has no option for XPS machines...zzzzz

http://www1.ap.dell.com/content/products/c...c=my&l=en&s=dhs
AzeL
post Apr 20 2008, 10:23 AM

304 posts

sigh shudve just put an xps warranty and not bundle...not gonna do online of they bundle...later its not and i end up paying for some lucky ******* 2 years cc warranty

Added on April 25, 2008, 10:46 pmi opened up my xps...and the heatsink part i removed the blue pad thinghy thats attached to the GPU (bad move) and my temp rise alot!..played COD4 for an hour and when i exited i8kfangui recorded a max temp of 108 C...reopened...applied a thick layer of thermal paste (had to apply think coz thin layer the heatsink wouldnt be touching at all)...temp drop alot...for now even after pushing it for a few hours on COD4 and bioshock it never goes beyond 76C

owh and undervolted my cpu as well...for mine the highest multiplier i undervolted to the lowest voltage that was avaible thru RightMark CLU clock...man and it runs stable..i changed all the multipliers to 0.9500V..too bad dun have lower option cause i suspect can go even lower.

anyways...here's a little comparison.

before fan clean and everything (roughly 11 months usage)
max cpu temp after stressing with orthos is about 96C...GPU under heavy load can hit 95C (not max,maintain at 90s)

right now after cleaning fans and changing the heat paste and stuff with undervolting cpu

cpu after stressing only go as high as 76C..and it wont go higher!
same thing with GPU..played cs source with full hdr 4 hours online in de dust 2...i was expecting temp to go like 90s...but i8k registered a max of only 77C

(btw..all testing was done with my lappy cooler)...so w/o might be a few degrees hotter)...but hey...still a big difference!

This post has been edited by AzeL: Apr 25 2008, 10:46 PM

6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.0765sec    0.55    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 04:11 PM