Sharp LC50UA6800X, Review

SUSskyforcerld
post Apr 3 2019, 02:41 PM

306 posts

QUOTE(SimonsayZ @ Apr 3 2019, 02:32 PM)
How I wish my order has stock...damn now I got to settle with another brand.  sad.gif
How's your experience so far with PS4 Pro? Any difference in 4K gaming? Do you get frame rate drops when playing games?

My Sony TV just arrived today so gonna test 4K gaming tonight.  rclxms.gif
So fast? You bought from Shop? So sad...lost another brudder to the Evil Corporation SONY....cry.gif

Anyway, mine is PS4 Slim, as far as i can tell, it is pretty much looks the same in terms of frame rates to me. But i have no means to measure nor compare, so can't say for sure. But i believe it won't have drastic performance impact. Maybe it does cost some processing power, but it's too little to be significant.

btw, read that this game Ratchet and Clank in the map/menu somewhere can turn the HDR ON/OFF and see the effect clearly. Maybe can try this as a test as well.

If you have AVR, please test out the HDMI ARC as well...

This post has been edited by skyforcerld: Apr 3 2019, 02:55 PM
SUSskyforcerld
post Apr 3 2019, 02:56 PM

306 posts

QUOTE(SimonsayZ @ Apr 3 2019, 02:48 PM)
I actually bought from the same shop in Lazada..Oh well..

I think PS4 Slim cannot render in 4K. Need to use PS4 Pro then only can play 4K games. From this link: https://www.quora.com/Will-a-PS4-Slim-work-...ayed-on-a-4K-TV

I do not have AVR unfortunately as I am just using a Logitech Z906 for speaker setup.
Yes, PS4 Slim only 1080p, but it still can do HDR. But so far, without comparing side by side, very hard to tell if its any major difference.
SUSskyforcerld
post Apr 3 2019, 03:36 PM

306 posts

QUOTE(SimonsayZ @ Apr 3 2019, 03:09 PM)
I see. Does the TV say it is in HDR mode? Maybe can check PS4 settings.  hmm.gif
Your PS4 will detect if the TV is capable and set the HDR to "Automatic". And another setting, "Deep Color" or something to "Full" or "Automatic", i think. You don't have to do anything.

Initially i tried to connect via my AVR (PS4->AVR->TV), but my AVR only can passthrough 4k@30hz and no HDR. The HDR setting in the PS4 is disabled and i can't do anything to it. So now, i am connecting PS4 directly to TV.

And if you enable the LINK setting in your PS4 (and HDMI-CEC in TV), turning on PS4 will turn on your TV as well.

This post has been edited by skyforcerld: Apr 3 2019, 03:41 PM
SUSskyforcerld
post Apr 3 2019, 05:07 PM

306 posts

QUOTE(kkm @ Apr 3 2019, 04:19 PM)
Can get the 4tc60al1x for 2930 in PJ. And with the 300 ringgit Petronas card, seems like a good deal, no?
Seems like good deal. The specs looks the same as 6800x ,but this is newer model right?
SUSskyforcerld
post Apr 3 2019, 05:26 PM

306 posts

QUOTE(kkm @ Apr 3 2019, 05:24 PM)
Yup this is the replacement model. That's probably why there's little or no stock of the 60UA6800X everywhere.
Bro Simonsayz should have bought this....

The spec seems exactly the same...even backlight are Edge backlight....hmm...only difference is it has no Eilex Prism and weight lighter a bit. I will say go for it!

This post has been edited by skyforcerld: Apr 3 2019, 05:31 PM
SUSskyforcerld
post Apr 3 2019, 05:47 PM

306 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Apr 3 2019, 05:32 PM)
Good price.

And yes, looks like ua6800x last stocks going, to be phased out... that is quick, about 1 year only!

al1x is at least as good as ua6800x, as far as specs go.

Now, will see what new model comes, maybe year end.

My bet  will be an 8k capable model.
Honestly dont see point of 8k model....unless you need like over 80 inch TV. Contents also dont have...seems pointless for now. Better to make newer Androids TV with faster processors, bigger storage, Aquamotion, HDR 2.1 with eArc and Dolby Atmos, local dimming and maybe OLED. Sharp dont have OLED right?

This post has been edited by skyforcerld: Apr 3 2019, 05:47 PM
SUSskyforcerld
post Apr 4 2019, 09:04 AM

306 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Apr 3 2019, 06:28 PM)
8k capable means it can play 8k videos... there are people making own 8k videos, etc.

i think 8k is next since sharp already has an 8k big size model, shud b easy to cascade it down to smaller size tv's.

new models must have something new and good as an offer... yes, dolby vision is possible... but dolby seems stuck up, unwilling to license many others.

dtsx, atmos... can forget it... becos tv makers focus on VIDEO, not audio... and they shud.

they are in video display biz, not audio... they cannot and must not compete with audio people... onkyo, yamaha, denon.

for HD audio, tv makers take the attitude users should be doing input->avr->tv.

and i agree.
Although there are home contents for 8K, commercial contents won't be coming anytime soon. Even 4k contents is so little. This morning i tried going in front of TV to check pixels when playing 4K videos, i can't see any jaggies or square pixels at all. Much less sitting 8 feet away. Even if it does cascade down to smaller TVs, IMO, it is pointless and just a marketing gimmick to sell TVs. You really don't need it coz you won't be able to see the difference anyway (unless you got bionic eyes, maybe can.. laugh.gif )

I agree with you that TV makers should not focus on Audio, but given the trends, they should at least make it easy for people to passthrough Dolby Atmos or whatever new sound encoding format to the AVR. Because built in Smart/Android TV will be a standard thing. In fact, i don't think you can find dumb TV anymore short of some no name China brand from TESCO.

So hopefully HDMI 2.1 and eARC will be holy grail of the next gen equipments, where true plug and play is possible....not having the user to troubleshoot 1000 possible problems! laugh.gif

More Reviews Updates:
1. This morning got shock by TV. When boot up, Netflix, Youtube, DTV all disappeared from the Home Screen. After a while, the items appears back, but the UI is changed a little bit. Can't move horizontally to the left most like previously. Pressing "OK", instead of activating the app, it pops up a menu "Open, Move....". So need to click Open again to activate the app. Restarted a few times, still the same. Thought i am screwed and need factory reset. Then i remember i played with the Orientation app last night and set to landscape. So i set it back to "Automatic" and everything's fine again....Wheew!

2. Btw, also installed BitDefender last night. Have to sideload this app. Works fine, it even adds an option in the Menu setting to enable/disable the Bitdefender.

3. Installed Popcorn Time, works great too! flex.gif

4. Tested Nintendo Switch finally. Some people says it will looks bad on 4K TV. I have tested a few games. Looks OK to me, no need to do any settings.

One question on shutting down the TV. I press the power button to put TV off/standby and then turn off my main power. Is this ok? Because i would assume i need to proper shutdown the Android, but the screen doesn't shows anything, so i don't know if it has been proper shutdown before i turn off the power.

This post has been edited by skyforcerld: Apr 4 2019, 09:11 AM
SUSskyforcerld
post Apr 4 2019, 10:44 AM

306 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Apr 4 2019, 10:26 AM)
nice, fair price always best at the time.
4k, 8k... maybe 6k then! biggrin.gif

no, tv makers will not do much for audio pass thru... becos HD audio will need licensing which they are not ready to pay, will jack up the costs.

which is the main reason why this tv can only do DD (25 years old) and why most box players can't do HD audio.

there are premium price tv's that can do dd+, dts (digital); very rare u find any capable of HD audio.

using remote switch off keeps the TV on standby. standby mode allows the tv to auto update security patches, playstore apps.

it does not need to reboot the android everytime u switch on.
You meant 16k? lol. I didn't realized passthrough also needs to pay license? Just passing to someone else to decode wor...sweat.gif

Even my S8+ i only use FHD+ (2200 x 1080), eventhough it can do 2K resolution....can't tell the difference anyway!

using remote switch off keeps the TV on standby. standby mode allows the tv to auto update security patches, playstore apps.
But my TV needs to be turned off when nobody is at home. Basically, i just powered down the main switch which connects to everything including modem and router.

There is also a "Quick Start" option. The description says turning it ON use a little more power. What does it do actually?

This post has been edited by skyforcerld: Apr 4 2019, 10:47 AM
SUSskyforcerld
post Apr 4 2019, 10:56 AM

306 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Apr 4 2019, 10:50 AM)
i had been hunting for a new android box.
i have always had boxes that can do HD audio, need it.
there are only a handful of them that can do it, and they are priced much higher.
all cheap boxes cannot do it.

errr... u r one who cuts power to all of that?
moden, router even more impt to keep them on... for no change in IP, stability.
i do not know if cutting off power everytime is actually bad for equipment.
me, i keep the all on standby except for long periods of unuse.
I cannot. Must turn off everything. Wife will complain if i don't.

The only thing allowed in the house to remain power on is the Fridge and the power to heat the piano( to keep moisture away), which is a low power heater of sort inside the piano....

sweat.gif

This post has been edited by skyforcerld: Apr 4 2019, 10:59 AM
SUSskyforcerld
post Apr 4 2019, 02:32 PM

306 posts

QUOTE(ruzaini88 @ Apr 4 2019, 01:48 PM)
Agree. We don't have commercial 8K source. Unless you buy own 8K video cam and play the recorded video in TV.
Anyhow I am eager to see more 8K TVs in shelf because it will makes 4K TV more cheaper with high spec biggrin.gif
i don't think price can go down any lower...they will just phase it out. Now RM500 for 32" FHD. Next time RM500 for 32" 4K. Then maybe 55" onwards all 8k and jual mahal again. And the cycle continues. biggrin.gif
SUSskyforcerld
post Apr 4 2019, 03:21 PM

306 posts

QUOTE(zakifirdaus @ Apr 4 2019, 03:11 PM)
Hi, I just bought a sharp LC-50UA6800X
2 days ago. After install some apps, my tv got issue where it auto turn on and off. It take about 10 sec only after on to off.. And it on again.. Is anyone facing same issue? I did tried to hard reset but not sure what is the correct way. Please help me...
Congrats and welcome to the brotherhood!

Bought almost same time as me, i guess.

1. Auto turn on/off - have you connected to any device like PS4, AVRs etc? Because if HDMI-CEC is enabled those devices might cause it. Example turning on the PS4 will automatically turn on the TV as well. It can also be caused by WOL (Wake on Lan) if that is turned on. A live LAN might triggers it to turns on. After you have check and change the settings, tru restarting it just to be sure. The restart function is in the "About" menu i think.

2. There is a factory reset somewhere, try the above before doing this.

SUSskyforcerld
post Apr 5 2019, 08:35 AM

306 posts

Found a new feature. The TV can do Splitscreen app! A bit like Windows 10, but not as flexible i think. The screen will get squashed to the side instead of maintaining aspect ratio. Not sure if it can do 4 screen like Windows 10
I think it will be very useful if can split 4 screen for those with 60 inches and above TV. Beside splitting the screen with apps, you can actually split it with your input source, ex, PS4. So you have Chrome one side and PS4 the other side. But problem is aspect ratio not maintained, maybe there is a setting somewhere?

Beside this, you can press ALT TAB on your keyboard to switch apps. You can also select to close the indovidual app when use in combination with the mouse.
SUSskyforcerld
post Apr 10 2019, 09:40 AM

306 posts

QUOTE(SimonsayZ @ Apr 9 2019, 11:28 AM)
Though I didn't get 6800X but still happy to get a 4K TV. Had a test with PS4 Pro at 4K HDR. Its really sharp and smooth framerate.
Maybe later I will get another Sharp TV for other room. I still prefer 60 inch model.  biggrin.gif

Anyone using Android box? I am surprise my box can work in 4K 30fps HDR mode. Only manage to test 1080P video streams for now but it looks rather decent.

If you have Unchartered 4, try it. It can turn on HDR on/off in-game. So far that is the best way for me to compare. But honestly, HDR just looks...different to me, not neccessary better or worse.
SUSskyforcerld
post Apr 10 2019, 09:52 AM

306 posts

QUOTE(dracozz @ Apr 8 2019, 10:03 AM)
I don’t think I can press O using the TV. I go to the Video Settings (one of the icons in bottom right of Kodi during playback) and do video calibration. It will show 1920x1080. So like you said it could be Kodi detecting Android in 1080p thus limiting the resolution or it could be the TV (Android) limiting all apps to 1080p.

It would be the best if these Android TV can support any decent 4K HDR players (preferably Kodi etc) natively rather than still having to buy another media box.
Back to al1x model, I found serious flaw whereby apps are always set to run in background and never being killed. Example, exiting SPMC will give u a black screen until you manually restart the TV using Android software (Settings, About, Restart). That’s really inconvenient! Hanged apps will remain in their state until you restart using Android settings not the remote control.

Any al1x owner can chip in some advice? Looks like my friend has to buy another 4K media box for an “advanced” TV
After using my UA6800X intensely for about a week, i think i ran into almost similar problem. But i think this has more to do with the app though.

Using this apk for MyPadTV. Sometimes, after watching some episodes, it will break and stop, attempt to replay the same episode will be met with a blank black screen. However, you can still go back to Home by pressing the "Home" button, however, if i want to watch back the same episdoe earliar, i will need to restart it.

Another issue encountered is auto restart, not sure what causes this, but i suspect it could be the KeepSolid VPN i am using causing it. I remember when i didn't turn it on, it did't auto restart, need to monitor some more to be sure.
SUSskyforcerld
post Apr 10 2019, 10:47 AM

306 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Apr 10 2019, 10:05 AM)
yep, ATV does not like unapproved sideloaded apps that the security feature deems invasive.

this is for the protection of the integrity of the TV.

if a box kaput, u lose a few hundred RM; if tv kaput, u lose a few K rm.

best stick to apps that are at least official on regular android playstore.
Keep Solid VPN is official ATV playstore app. Only thing is the Mypad APK and maybe Bitdefender...not sure if installing Bitdefender is a good idea...maybe if this still happens, i will uninstall it and monitor.

Btw, the Setorientation App cause problems even if not used, it tends to screw up my Homescreen, i have it uninstalled. So far so good.

Another thing, i am trying to play my medias from my NAS. Using Kodi to access it, it can see the NAS, but loading directory seems to be freaking slow. Is there any better apps to view the photos and videos in my NAS?

This post has been edited by skyforcerld: Apr 10 2019, 10:50 AM
SUSskyforcerld
post Apr 10 2019, 11:08 AM

306 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Apr 9 2019, 01:44 PM)
just find some new videos to test with box.

4k hdr is quite diff from 1080p sdr.

and yr box... "4k 30fps HDR"... a bit dated... now u can get a 4k hdr 60fps,  gigabit rj45, ac wifi for <rm250! tongue.gif
What brand/model ah? Maybe itchy handed to get one to play play. LOL.
SUSskyforcerld
post Apr 10 2019, 11:57 AM

306 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Apr 10 2019, 11:36 AM)
no idea what nas set up u hv...
but i do use SMB sometimes.
the smb setup in kodi is cumbersome, easier to use es file explorer.
esf, go to network, lan, find the server, key in id, pw, etc.
use esf to find the file, select kodi to play which is better.
works fine for me wifi 50ft for tv (or box) with pc (inc ext hdd attached).
good for most videos except the heavy weights demanding v high bit rates.
keep in mind, performance for such things depends on yr network hardware, network speed, hdd read/write, file types/sizes. etc.
i use several boxes from 2 brands.

rm240 for a compact, all round use - tanix tx5 max:
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4722095/+40#bottom

rm600 for a powerful, advanced video+audio - himedia q10pro:
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4629018/+440
Ic. Thks. I am using SMB as well, will test out the ES Explorer next, I have both wired and AC connections, i think my AC connections is just as fast as a 100Mbit wired. I stream mostly on AC nowadays, i will test it out later with both to see if there is any difference, over the weekend.

Think will get an Android box soon before Gobind Singh haramkan. sweat.gif

SUSskyforcerld
post Apr 10 2019, 01:00 PM

306 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Apr 10 2019, 12:54 PM)
the tv ethernet port is not gigabit, use of ac wifi (can get 200-300mbps) will be better is u hv >100mbps speed.

box... just dun buy those with all kinds of illegal apps installed! biggrin.gif
Yes, i know the TV only 100mbit, which is why i use Wifi AC. I have a good external Tplink WifiAC for PC use...damn good and fast, faster than powerline adapter on 1Gbit (powerline is the bottleneck). Hmm...i wondwr if it will work if i plug in to TV.....opps...better not, later blow it up. Haha!

But illegal apps is a must if i buy a separate Android box....bruce.gif
SUSskyforcerld
post Apr 13 2019, 09:12 AM

306 posts

QUOTE(chew118 @ Apr 12 2019, 04:15 PM)
4TC50AL1X selling at 1999 TBM.  At pwtc fair
PWTC got fair now? If still got the petrol redeem voucher, seems like good deal.
SUSskyforcerld
post Apr 15 2019, 05:22 PM

306 posts

After nearly two weeks, i have received notification regarding my Petronas redemption voucher on the way from GDEX. rclxms.gif

So far, after 2 weeks using this TV, very satisfied.

I only have 1 issue, which is sometimes it auto-restart, not sure if the apps are causing it or it happens after prolonged usage like > 3hours? Anyone have experienced this?

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.5328sec    0.66    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 06:17 AM