123 Pages « < 86 87 88 89 90 > » Bottom

Sharp LC50UA6800X, Review

dracozz
post Apr 7 2019, 03:12 PM

141 posts

Hi, my friend has an al1x and I managed to install unifi playtv (via apk) but sadly I couldn’t navigate Unifi PlayTv interface either using mouse or remote control. Mouse seemed to be clicking on different area. Also, even if I managed to click on a channel, the stream would not start (it just display the first frame).

I have an older UE630X and still managed to navigate Unifi PlayTv using combination of mouse and remote control.

Another general question on Sharp 4K Tv. I couldn’t seem to get Kodi or SPMC to run in 4K mode, be it the GUI or watching video.

Hope for some advise from experts here
AVFAN
post Apr 7 2019, 04:08 PM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(dracozz @ Apr 7 2019, 03:12 PM)
Hi, my friend has an al1x and I managed to install unifi playtv (via apk) but sadly I couldn’t navigate Unifi PlayTv interface either using mouse or remote control. Mouse seemed to be clicking on different area. Also, even if I managed to click on a channel, the stream would not start (it just display the first frame).

I have an older UE630X and still managed to navigate Unifi PlayTv using combination of mouse and remote control.

Another general question on Sharp 4K Tv. I couldn’t seem to get Kodi or SPMC to run in 4K mode, be it the GUI or watching video.

Hope for some advise from experts here
yes, playtv app is not optimized for ATV, u get that kind of thing.

but the last time i tried on ua6800x, it is still manageable like u described using ue630x.

will need more al1x users to comment.

it is tricky to determine if the tv kodi is delivering 4k, 4khr or not.

becos when u playback with tv kodi, kodi does not give any info at the task bar, and the "display" button on tv remote does not show anything.

however, based on my eyes with same file played on another device confirmed to be 4k hdr, i think it is.

the picture does not come out as good due to the quality of the tv player.

that applies to playback as well as tv apps.

use a good box player for same apps and videos, u will see the significant difference.
dracozz
post Apr 8 2019, 07:45 AM

141 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Apr 7 2019, 04:08 PM)
yes, playtv app is not optimized for ATV, u get that kind of thing.

but the last time i tried on ua6800x, it is still manageable like u described using ue630x.

will need more al1x users to comment.
it is tricky to determine if the tv kodi is delivering 4k, 4khr or not.

becos when u playback with tv kodi, kodi does not give any info at the task bar, and the "display" button on tv remote does not show anything.

however, based on my eyes with same file played on another device confirmed to be 4k hdr, i think it is.

the picture does not come out as good due to the quality of the tv player.

that applies to playback as well as tv apps.

use a good box player for same apps and videos, u will see the significant difference.
Thanks for the info. I am very sure Kodi does not play at 4K. Even Netflix 4K doesn’t seem to be playing at 4K. Only YouTube could be playing at 4K based on the stats and quality of stream (again not entirely sure though owning this Sharp for years)

So, One more thing I would like to confirm. Sharp TV has an Android running at 1080p but does this limit other apps in video resolution?

4K Media box that I use has android running in 4K gui with kodi also in 4K gui and video playback.
voncrane
post Apr 8 2019, 09:21 AM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(dracozz @ Apr 8 2019, 07:45 AM)
Thanks for the info. I am very sure Kodi does not play at 4K. Even Netflix 4K doesn’t seem to be playing at 4K. Only YouTube could be playing at 4K based on the stats and quality of stream (again not entirely sure though owning this Sharp for years)

So, One more thing I would like to confirm. Sharp TV has an Android running at 1080p but does this limit other apps in video resolution?

4K Media box that I use has android running in 4K gui with kodi also in 4K gui and video playback.
Quick question.. Within Kodi, what does the system info show? This would be for the GUI and might not necessarily be the same for output during playback. To find this, while watching a confirmed high bitrate 4K content, press the letter "O" on the keyboard to pull up the codec info. Ultimately, it will depend on the TV's hw specs. If Kodi decides that the GPU is incapable of driving the GUI at full 4K res, it'll resort to only using the CPU for that and use the GPU during playback to push full res. However, if that too is limited or restricted by the TV itself? Kodi has no choice but to push 1080p or 4K, but it's downscaled by the TV itself to 1080p.. Only to be upscaled again somewhat by its image processors..Weird, but poorly built FWs are known to do that. Based on the bolded part above, that might be the issue here.

This post has been edited by voncrane: Apr 8 2019, 09:22 AM
dracozz
post Apr 8 2019, 10:03 AM

141 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Apr 8 2019, 09:21 AM)
Quick question.. Within Kodi, what does the system info show? This would be for the GUI and might not necessarily be the same for output during playback. To find this, while watching a confirmed high bitrate 4K content, press the letter "O" on the keyboard to pull up the codec info. Ultimately, it will depend on the TV's hw specs. If Kodi decides that the GPU is incapable of driving the GUI  at full 4K res, it'll resort to only using the CPU for that and use the GPU during playback to push full res. However, if that too is limited or restricted by the TV itself? Kodi has no choice but to push 1080p or 4K, but it's downscaled by the TV itself to 1080p.. Only to be upscaled again somewhat by its image processors..Weird, but poorly built FWs are known to do that. Based on the bolded part above, that might be the issue here.
I don’t think I can press O using the TV. I go to the Video Settings (one of the icons in bottom right of Kodi during playback) and do video calibration. It will show 1920x1080. So like you said it could be Kodi detecting Android in 1080p thus limiting the resolution or it could be the TV (Android) limiting all apps to 1080p.

It would be the best if these Android TV can support any decent 4K HDR players (preferably Kodi etc) natively rather than still having to buy another media box.

Back to al1x model, I found serious flaw whereby apps are always set to run in background and never being killed. Example, exiting SPMC will give u a black screen until you manually restart the TV using Android software (Settings, About, Restart). That’s really inconvenient! Hanged apps will remain in their state until you restart using Android settings not the remote control.

Any al1x owner can chip in some advice? Looks like my friend has to buy another 4K media box for an “advanced” TV
AVFAN
post Apr 8 2019, 10:33 AM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(dracozz @ Apr 8 2019, 07:45 AM)

the trouble is there is no info displayed in either kodi or tv display button when doing playback.

however, when playing back a 4khdr video, u can see the brightness comes on when playing and dims when u stop playing - hdr function is active.

netflix... when i had 4k subscription, i am quite sure it is 4k but i dun use netflix 4k anymore.

i hv to say netflix 4k is not really that good at 15-20mbps bit rate; the tv can produce better PQ if u feed it with 60-90mbps ones!

other android apps... compared to my media box, the PQ is a little inferior, whatever app... incl astrogo which is only 720p max.

overall, i am saying what i have always said - the tv native player (and support for other player apps) is not very good.

the tv android apps are very handy for quick n easy access but for PQ quality, the android output is surely not as good as some better built boxes.

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Apr 8 2019, 10:56 AM
AVFAN
post Apr 8 2019, 10:53 AM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(dracozz @ Apr 8 2019, 10:03 AM)
I don’t think I can press O using the TV. I go to the Video Settings (one of the icons in bottom right of Kodi during playback) and do video calibration. It will show 1920x1080. So like you said it could be Kodi detecting Android in 1080p thus limiting the resolution or it could be the TV (Android) limiting all apps to 1080p.

It would be the best if these Android TV can support any decent 4K HDR players (preferably Kodi etc) natively rather than still having to buy another media box.
Back to al1x model, I found serious flaw whereby apps are always set to run in background and never being killed. Example, exiting SPMC will give u a black screen until you manually restart the TV using Android software (Settings, About, Restart). That’s really inconvenient! Hanged apps will remain in their state until you restart using Android settings not the remote control.

Any al1x owner can chip in some advice? Looks like my friend has to buy another 4K media box for an “advanced” TV
spmc is defunct since 2016, i wouldn't use it... probably incompatible with androidtv... same will happen to any device running on androidtv.

that is why one should not sideload too many unapproved apps on androidtv unlike a regular android.

it is best to have another media box if one is into lots of apps, home theater, use of hd audio - the more advanced uses.

i use the tv for a few simple apps, and another box for the rest, incl kodi and playback.

and yes, the androidtv in the tv can be improved.

but since it is a midrange price tv, i doubt there will be big improvement in that aspect.

voncrane
post Apr 8 2019, 12:37 PM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

I see.. I was talking about using a separate wireless keyboard to press "O" and see what happens..Codec info doesn't show up? In addition to what AVFAN says. I can see that these models still ship with buggy Android TV OSes.. Which is quite worrisome, but at the same time explains to me why some manufacturers still prefer to stick to their proprietary OSes.. Anyways, as long as one still chooses their TV primarily based of it's PQ and AQ compatibility qualities.. Should be fine. Cuz it's easier and cheaper to buy a better performing Android/TV OS powered box plus AVR than it is to change one's TV over poor PQ or file playback.. However, in an ideal world.. C'mon.. they should be able to figure both packages in one. Guess it boils down to the cost then.. They don't want us to expect such from it's price range.. At least not for now.
dracozz
post Apr 8 2019, 02:28 PM

141 posts

Ok as far as for the al1x is concerned, I think Kodi (installed on TV) is indeed playing in 4K and HDR mode although gui in 1080p as the option for TV HDR Gamma Adjustment is available when playing 4K HDR files using Kodi.
AVFAN
post Apr 8 2019, 02:49 PM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(dracozz @ Apr 8 2019, 02:28 PM)
Ok as far as for the al1x is concerned, I think Kodi (installed on TV) is indeed playing in 4K and HDR mode although gui in 1080p as the option for TV HDR Gamma Adjustment is available when playing 4K HDR files using Kodi.
i think it is la...

only that the output is not great, makes u think it may not be.

i have used enough boxes and player apps incl mx pro and kodi to say all of them produce varying degrees of picture quality.

that is a result of hardware, firmware and app itself.

the one in the tv is among the inferior ones.

which is why i prefer to use my own box when it comes to playback.

only with that will the tv deliver its best video quality.

the diff is major when u play the highest bit rate videos - for both video and audio.

having said that, the androidtv is useful for those who do not do much playback, do not care much about audio, just want some simple apps running.

for that, it is very handy, incl ability to do astrogo and unifi playtv which many boxes can't do.

SimonsayZ
post Apr 9 2019, 11:28 AM

2,792 posts

Though I didn't get 6800X but still happy to get a 4K TV. Had a test with PS4 Pro at 4K HDR. Its really sharp and smooth framerate.
Maybe later I will get another Sharp TV for other room. I still prefer 60 inch model. biggrin.gif

Anyone using Android box? I am surprise my box can work in 4K 30fps HDR mode. Only manage to test 1080P video streams for now but it looks rather decent.

AVFAN
post Apr 9 2019, 01:44 PM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(SimonsayZ @ Apr 9 2019, 11:28 AM)
Though I didn't get 6800X but still happy to get a 4K TV. Had a test with PS4 Pro at 4K HDR. Its really sharp and smooth framerate.
Maybe later I will get another Sharp TV for other room. I still prefer 60 inch model.  biggrin.gif

Anyone using Android box? I am surprise my box can work in 4K 30fps HDR mode. Only manage to test 1080P video streams for now but it looks rather decent.

just find some new videos to test with box.

4k hdr is quite diff from 1080p sdr.

and yr box... "4k 30fps HDR"... a bit dated... now u can get a 4k hdr 60fps, gigabit rj45, ac wifi for <rm250! tongue.gif

SimonsayZ
post Apr 9 2019, 02:05 PM

2,792 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Apr 9 2019, 01:44 PM)
just find some new videos to test with box.

4k hdr is quite diff from 1080p sdr.

and yr box... "4k 30fps HDR"... a bit dated... now u can get a 4k hdr 60fps,  gigabit rj45, ac wifi for <rm250! tongue.gif
Yea my android box is old generation which I bought 2 years back. That is why I am surprised it can use 4K hdr. biggrin.gif
AVFAN
post Apr 9 2019, 03:39 PM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(SimonsayZ @ Apr 9 2019, 02:05 PM)
Yea my android box is old generation which I bought 2 years back. That is why I am surprised it can use 4K hdr.  biggrin.gif
2 years is not so old, likely ok.

Best to get a variety of videos, test if they come out ok on the tv.

2160p, 10bit, hdr, hevc, 24, 30, 50, 60fps.

If some come out jerky, washed out colors or too dark, u may want ot consider new box. biggrin.gif

Or course, audio capability is another story.
SimonsayZ
post Apr 9 2019, 04:05 PM

2,792 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Apr 9 2019, 03:39 PM)
2 years is not so old, likely ok.

Best to get a variety of videos, test if they come out ok on the tv.

2160p, 10bit, hdr, hevc, 24, 30, 50, 60fps.

If some come out jerky, washed out colors or too dark, u may want ot consider new box. biggrin.gif

Or course, audio capability is another story.
OK thanks for the information. Will give it a try an see. thumbsup.gif
SUSskyforcerld
post Apr 10 2019, 09:40 AM

306 posts

QUOTE(SimonsayZ @ Apr 9 2019, 11:28 AM)
Maybe later I will get another Sharp TV for other room. I still prefer 60 inch model.  biggrin.gif

If you have Unchartered 4, try it. It can turn on HDR on/off in-game. So far that is the best way for me to compare. But honestly, HDR just looks...different to me, not neccessary better or worse.
SUSskyforcerld
post Apr 10 2019, 09:52 AM

306 posts

After using my UA6800X intensely for about a week, i think i ran into almost similar problem. But i think this has more to do with the app though.

Using this apk for MyPadTV. Sometimes, after watching some episodes, it will break and stop, attempt to replay the same episode will be met with a blank black screen. However, you can still go back to Home by pressing the "Home" button, however, if i want to watch back the same episdoe earliar, i will need to restart it.

Another issue encountered is auto restart, not sure what causes this, but i suspect it could be the KeepSolid VPN i am using causing it. I remember when i didn't turn it on, it did't auto restart, need to monitor some more to be sure.
AVFAN
post Apr 10 2019, 10:05 AM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(skyforcerld @ Apr 10 2019, 09:52 AM)
After using my UA6800X intensely for about a week, i think i ran into almost similar problem. But i think this has more to do with the app though.

Using this apk for MyPadTV. Sometimes, after watching some episodes, it will break and stop, attempt to replay the same episode will be met with a blank black screen. However, you can still go back to Home by pressing the "Home" button, however, if i want to watch back the same episdoe earliar, i will need to restart it.

Another issue encountered is auto restart, not sure what causes this, but i suspect it could be the KeepSolid VPN i am using causing it. I remember when i didn't turn it on, it did't auto restart, need to monitor some more to be sure.
yep, ATV does not like unapproved sideloaded apps that the security feature deems invasive.

this is for the protection of the integrity of the TV.

if a box kaput, u lose a few hundred RM; if tv kaput, u lose a few K rm.

best stick to apps that are at least official on regular android playstore.
SUSskyforcerld
post Apr 10 2019, 10:47 AM

306 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Apr 10 2019, 10:05 AM)
yep, ATV does not like unapproved sideloaded apps that the security feature deems invasive.

this is for the protection of the integrity of the TV.

if a box kaput, u lose a few hundred RM; if tv kaput, u lose a few K rm.

best stick to apps that are at least official on regular android playstore.
Keep Solid VPN is official ATV playstore app. Only thing is the Mypad APK and maybe Bitdefender...not sure if installing Bitdefender is a good idea...maybe if this still happens, i will uninstall it and monitor.

Btw, the Setorientation App cause problems even if not used, it tends to screw up my Homescreen, i have it uninstalled. So far so good.

Another thing, i am trying to play my medias from my NAS. Using Kodi to access it, it can see the NAS, but loading directory seems to be freaking slow. Is there any better apps to view the photos and videos in my NAS?

This post has been edited by skyforcerld: Apr 10 2019, 10:50 AM
voncrane
post Apr 10 2019, 11:03 AM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(skyforcerld @ Apr 10 2019, 10:47 AM)
Keep Solid VPN is official ATV playstore app. Only thing is the Mypad APK and maybe Bitdefender...not sure if installing Bitdefender is a good idea...maybe if this still happens, i will uninstall it and monitor.

Btw, the Setorientation App cause problems even if not used, it tends to screw up my Homescreen, i have it uninstalled. So far so good.

Another thing, i am trying to play my medias from my NAS. Using Kodi to access it, it can see the NAS, but loading directory seems to be freaking slow. Is there any better apps to view the photos and videos in my NAS?
You don't need an anti-virus or Anti-Malware.. Just be a bit careful on what you install especially on your TV. Like AVFAN said.. Box? Couple hundred.. TV costs more and will inconvenience longer. Some dubious apps will use your device as a miner and or bot.. Connecting and maxing out resources as they like. Millions of owners don't know their devices are active or sleeping bots awaiting further instructions.

Don't know what type of NAS device you are using. But as with all things.. Connect via ethernet cable all the way. Skip Wi-Fi.. Gigabit ethernet helps on both ends if available. Reconfigure if you are still having issues.. Switch between SAMBA, NFS, etc.. Lastly, there's always Plex.. Though I prefer to run natively and integrate using Kodi's own library system.. Just add the NAS as an external source..

123 Pages « < 86 87 88 89 90 > » Top

0.0201sec    0.86    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 02:26 PM