10 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

Travel To Japan V11, Nippon here we come!

swn525
post Mar 8 2018, 04:06 PM

877 posts

QUOTE(shirley_andy @ Mar 8 2018, 02:22 PM)
When shopping in Osaka (eg. Abeno Harukas, Namba district, Umeda district), how do I know / how do I ask if the shop is licensed tax-free store to claim back 8% consumption tax?
Ic, so its better to spurge during lunch and budget during dinner.
lyc1982 is correct, you sure can see banner/poster, or you just simple ask "tax free?", then you will get the answer

https://tax-freeshop.jnto.go.jp/eng/shopping-guide.php

2 main category which is general or consumable items
each category need hit 5000 yen or more (excluding tax), then can request tax-free

additional info, enjoy more discount in following shop
http://www.jp-coupon.com

This post has been edited by swn525: Mar 8 2018, 04:07 PM
swn525
post Mar 8 2018, 04:41 PM

877 posts

QUOTE(Ninjitsu @ Mar 8 2018, 04:38 PM)
Can I ask your opinion if you have a limted budget and can visit either Disneysea or Disneyland which do you prefer? Seeing that both are priced similarly.

Is renting a car for travelling a good idea for 4? Seeing car rentals are not pricey. But I guess parking the car is expensive in Tokyo?
no doubt i will pick disneysea, much different compare to disneyland
been visit disneyland hong kong, tokyo, paris. all almost same

if can, suggest visit both, got discount for 2 day 2 park

This post has been edited by swn525: Mar 8 2018, 04:42 PM
swn525
post Mar 9 2018, 09:36 AM

877 posts

QUOTE(jojo_g2 @ Mar 9 2018, 09:24 AM)
is 8-10 days enuff to do tokyo & kyoto?

and isit best to just take the shinkansen to kyoto & back? will be travelling with wife and 10yr old son.
kyoto but without osaka?
suggest need 2 full days for kyoto, and kyoto might need walk a lot
swn525
post Mar 9 2018, 10:22 AM

877 posts

QUOTE(jojo_g2 @ Mar 9 2018, 09:41 AM)
Seems like Kyoto is preffered for many. As for osaka, yes. I suppose if we are going to kyoto, osaka is in the list as well. But I don't really think it could be done with just 10 days. Which is why I'm wondering if it's possible to do them in this short time. Anyone done that before here? And the JR pass seems to be really expensive.
your 10 days include flight date? if yes, then you actually have 8 days only, better focus in tokyo, hakone area
always have osaka flight ticket promotion, next trip only focus on guan xi (osaka, kyoto, nara, kobe, himeji those place)
swn525
post Mar 9 2018, 05:24 PM

877 posts

QUOTE(mocha321 @ Mar 9 2018, 05:16 PM)

I'm planning an Osaka-Kyoto trip. Would 13 Nov to 20 Nov be OK to catch the autumn leaves? Is 8D7N enough for this two locations? Will be travelling with elderly, so will try to have not too packed schedule. Won't be going to Universal Studio.

If I go for flights that will arrive KIX at around 9pm+, would it be too rush to catch a train to Osaka/Kyoto? I checked a few airlines but mostly either arrive early morning or night. Any suggestions?
some AA flight arrive 3pm+
swn525
post Mar 9 2018, 05:29 PM

877 posts

QUOTE(midnightsunray @ Mar 9 2018, 05:26 PM)
In 2016, I took a solo trip to Tokyo, Osaka and Kyoto. It was only nine days but I woke up at 7AM and went back to the Airbnb at 12AM everyday. I managed to catch all the attractions I was planning to go including food, shopping, temples, museums, parks, etc.

So, I don't think it's a problem. Also, I took the shinkansen from Tokyo to Kansai area and flew back to Malaysia from Narita Airport.

What I would recommend is to have a pre-planned schedule and use it as a guide. Google Map every street you are planning to take. Make sure you get the train times right. Then you can make full use of your trip.
first, i went to osaka & kyoto alone, i can visit a lot of place
after go with my wife, the place i can visit is less
after again, go with parents on last year, it's very very less, one day only 2 place in kyoto, haha
swn525
post Mar 9 2018, 05:34 PM

877 posts

QUOTE(shirley_andy @ Mar 9 2018, 05:31 PM)
I'm gonna have a 8D 7N trip to Osaka-Kyoto too next month, so far my itinerary is ok not that pack, taking away USJ and shopping allocation (which I have), I think 8D7N for you should be fine. My AA flight also reach KIX around 9pm+, based on what I've read, KIX immigration check may take sometime so I decide to sleep at airport the first night. The rails stop at midnight, but there are limousine bus that still run after 12am but only to a few major hotel in Osaka, so not convenient for me as I book AirBnb in less central area.
last 2 year clear immigration i take about 2 hours.
now KIX immigration is changed their method, process is very very fast, less than 5 mins can clear it, for my last year & this year January experience.
swn525
post Mar 14 2018, 12:17 PM

877 posts

QUOTE(Chaud @ Mar 14 2018, 11:57 AM)
has anyone tried before entering Japan with passport validity less than 6 months but more than 3 months?
better don't take risk to try, later destroy your whole trip
malaysia renew passport speed is very fast now
swn525
post Mar 14 2018, 01:34 PM

877 posts

QUOTE(Chaud @ Mar 14 2018, 12:18 PM)
course i wanna book a JR pass but they need my passport info. I can only renew next month.

I want to purchase the pass now because I'm not sure about the price by the time I renew passport. I purchase from klook though, so the price go up and down everyday
new passport last page will have your old passport number
swn525
post Mar 14 2018, 03:19 PM

877 posts

QUOTE(wkwong91 @ Mar 14 2018, 02:31 PM)
Hi Sifus, kindly give some advise on my itinerary.  biggrin.gif

QUOTE(lyc1982 @ Mar 14 2018, 03:12 PM)
on 31 mar...you only plan to spend 1 hour at BIC ?
one hour BIC really not enough
save the link below to get BIC discount
japan coupon
swn525
post Mar 14 2018, 03:26 PM

877 posts

QUOTE(lyc1982 @ Mar 14 2018, 03:23 PM)
i think if he/she has items to buy before visiting BIC then it's possible to be an hour...but if you are doing window shopping, 1 hour seems insufficient

me every time go also spend more than 1 hour because simply too many new gadgets to look/fiddle around
i went there spend 3 hours at least, haha

QUOTE(wkwong91 @ Mar 14 2018, 03:23 PM)
Not sure going to stay at BIC how long. Scare I will buy a lot when see those camera things.

Thanks for the coupon link!  notworthy.gif
if for lens, can buy at there
if for camera, better buy in malaysia, because the warranty issue.
swn525
post Mar 15 2018, 08:48 AM

877 posts

QUOTE(Left4Dead2 @ Mar 14 2018, 10:56 PM)
End of Nov or early Dec18, which place suggest to visit ?

Budget for spending is below 4-5k per person

Does take package + local travel more economic ?

Never been to Japan and travel alone
yup, please google......
if you know chinese, suggest you following website
http://bbs.qyer.com/forum-57-1.html
travel guide
http://guide.qyer.com/
swn525
post Mar 15 2018, 10:41 AM

877 posts

QUOTE(shirley_andy @ Mar 15 2018, 10:35 AM)
Matta fair this weekend, anyone knows whether any chance of any tour agent selling cheaper tickets for USJ, Osaka Amazing Pass, Harukas Observatory, Kaiyukan aquarium etc?

Plan to purchase them through Klook instead of won't have much difference.
Osaka Amazing Pass - 10% off for JCB cards in kansai airport counter

but anyone know how to apply JCB card in malaysia, saw some discount only for JCB card in japan
swn525
post Mar 15 2018, 11:06 AM

877 posts

QUOTE(elvatra @ Mar 15 2018, 10:52 AM)
Hi Guys,
I'm planning my second trip to Japan. previously i have visit Osaka and Kyoto with my wife. Now we plan to visit Tokyo with our infant which is 1 year old when then time we travel. will be on Novemeber 2018. we are planning to take MAS Airlines. understand that we can carry 1 bag just for babbies stuff without additional charges. however my concern are how much milk powder we can carry on board the plane? i have go through the FAQ and i dun find any related to this.
you are not bring whole tin of milk powder right
milk powder is not liquid, why you concern that?
swn525
post Mar 15 2018, 04:18 PM

877 posts

QUOTE(gonzalo20 @ Mar 15 2018, 03:23 PM)
if Dotombori? hehe
Dotombori should be ok, what item you planing to buy? cosmetic? skin care? medicine?
swn525
post Mar 15 2018, 04:28 PM

877 posts

MAS promotion, osaka & tokyo RM1199 for return
swn525
post Mar 16 2018, 08:55 AM

877 posts

QUOTE(shirley_andy @ Mar 16 2018, 06:50 AM)
but I want the special design one, so have to book online first right?
yes, need online booking
if you flight reach at 9:30pm, better don't buy the special design
the machine can buy normal ICOCA
swn525
post Mar 16 2018, 01:55 PM

877 posts

QUOTE(shirley_andy @ Mar 16 2018, 12:12 PM)

meaning these design also can get if I buy at Kansai Airport Station? No need to do booking now?
QUOTE(gonzalo20 @ Mar 16 2018, 12:15 PM)
Yes. It stated there. U can get it at Kansai Airport hehe
no need booking? direct can get from machine in kansai airport JR train station?
i believe his question is too late reach kansai airport, and the kansai airport green window will close at 11pm
if can get those special design in JR station machine, then will solve his problem
swn525
post Mar 17 2018, 03:51 PM

877 posts

QUOTE(shirley_andy @ Mar 16 2018, 04:13 PM)
per my understanding, book online, collect at KIX.
yes, if book online, collect in kansai airport JR green counter
if can direct walk in to buy, then don't book online
your question just can be reach there before 11pm or not, i can't guarantee, depend your flight, clear customs & waiting luggage

This post has been edited by swn525: Mar 17 2018, 03:54 PM
swn525
post Mar 19 2018, 08:52 AM

877 posts

QUOTE(domo_kun @ Mar 19 2018, 06:06 AM)
Inclusive luggage and meals and insurance? So cheap. AA?
for japan, AA free seat promotion is not the cheapest fare.

10 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.1439sec    0.51    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 10:35 PM