QUOTE(Kilohertz @ Sep 17 2018, 01:36 PM)
yesTravel To Japan V11, Nippon here we come!
Travel To Japan V11, Nippon here we come!
Sep 17 2018, 03:53 PM
306 posts Joined: May 2011 |
Sep 18 2018, 10:34 AM
QUOTE(adix4 @ Sep 18 2018, 08:10 AM) Hmm still thinking There are alot to think of here and also what is important. When you talk about cheap and expensive, how much is the price difference? Also not many people can sleep in the bus, ie me. 11 days trip to Japan with my wife (her first time there) 1) Land in Tokyo using ANA and then buy jr pass pros: use ana, shinkansen to kyoto cons: expensive 2) Land in Kansai go back through SIA or Air Asia pros: SIA, willer express to kl, cheap cons: lazy to transit at Singapore 3) Land in Tokyo using ANA, use willer express both ways to Osaka and Tokyo pros: very cheap, save on accomodation cons: slow, a bit tiring which one should I use :/ dont really wanna spend a lot on jr pass tbh but if terpaksa what to dooo |
Sep 19 2018, 10:49 AM
QUOTE(sweet_pez @ Sep 18 2018, 03:56 PM) Oh yes would like to ask something. If you are specifically looking for JLPT books, then I wold suggest Kino in Shinjuku. I have been to maruzen in Tokyo station and they dont that many compare to Kino. Well pls note that these was a long time ago. While in Japan I got a private teacher and she just buy me all the books. I'm looking for reference books related to JLPT and so far going through Google, some of the stores recommended are: - Bonjinsha (Chiyoda) - Kinokuniya (Shinjuku - main store) - Maruzen Marunouchi (next to Tokyo Station) - Junkundo (near Ikebukuro station) If there's time, will drop by BookOff as I heard prices are good. However I'm not sure what kind of book selection they have. Won't have the leisure to visit all, so it's likely I'll visit Bonjinsha and Kino in Shinjuku. I've looked around the street where Bonjinsha is located and there's not much to do. I'll have 2 of my cousin sisters going along with me. So some of my questions: 1. Any bookstore recommendations besides the above 4 stores? Or the 2 i'm planning to visit - Bonjinsha and Kino. 2. Is there any interesting Cafe or places to visit near Bonjinsha? So that I can leave my cousins to rest/ sight see for 2 hours and I can check out my books. So far from what I see is the Imperial Palace and Inari Shrine... but they may not be interested in Imperial Palace. Seeking for options. RegentCid any insights? |
Sep 19 2018, 02:13 PM
QUOTE(sweet_pez @ Sep 19 2018, 12:24 PM) Okay sounded too attractive to bypass Frankly speaking, if you are taking N4, dont spend too much on books. Its not too difficult and once you move to N3 or N2, those books are useless. Better save $$ for N2 books at least. Private tutor is paid by company. Now I have quite a number of books but its more related to Business Japanese.Yes sacwoc specifically reference books for JLPT. Taking my N4 this December, and plan to go for N3 next year (not sure can make it for July '19, otherwise it'll be December '19). Local KL Kino has a number of books, but I believe it'll be somewhat (or slightly) cheaper to get from Japan. Oraity, this upcoming trip it'll be a hunt for bookstores T___T so nice, private tutor get you the books. My learning centre has a mini library, but limited reference books. Would like to get more of such books to do further self-study. |
Sep 19 2018, 05:47 PM
QUOTE(iamsolucky @ Sep 19 2018, 05:09 PM) Hi, Are you refering to the 1000yen bus to Tokyo Station? If yes, then its possible.Anyone has ride keisei bus in narita airport ? Can we buy the return ticket from the counter once we reach the airport ? example: 1st Nov arrive, 5th Nov go back, can we buy the return tickets on the counter at 1st NOV ? TQ https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=Post...1&qpid=90315586 |
Sep 19 2018, 05:49 PM
QUOTE(sweet_pez @ Sep 19 2018, 05:20 PM) Hahahahaha yes, i totally know what you mean. Feel that I'm weak at 聴解, so I bought a book to hone my listening skills. It's nerve wrecking as the syllabus is more advanced for N4 and my centre has yet to catch up. Will have to rely on apps and online sites. Only way to improve listening is to stay in Japan or watch lots of Japanese tvs. I suck at grammer and I pass my JLPT L2 solely because of listening - full marks. Japan trip is likely happening mid Dec after JLPT N4; so am thinking I could get something in advance for N3 |
Sep 20 2018, 09:07 AM
QUOTE(sweet_pez @ Sep 19 2018, 06:46 PM) Unfortunately option 1 is not available If you are non Japanese you get away with a lot of things. I do watch Japanese TV and recently have started to listen to japanese radio podcast (Spotify have wonders) but still slow in the pick up. Also need to pick up on my vocabularies otherwise there's no way I can understand |
Sep 21 2018, 05:13 PM
QUOTE(NXaqua @ Sep 21 2018, 05:07 PM) Ok. Thanks. Actually that is pretty cheap which is basically RM100/pax. Hotel in Japan are pretty strict with headcount. Maybe you can abit cheaper in a capsule hotel or a hostel. But you will lose some privacy.I have googled for accommodation at Namba, using agoda,booking.com , airbnb and etc. Noted the room price for 3 pax in a single room start from RM300+.. Any one can recommend any accommodation below RM300.00 for 3 pax in a room for 4 night? Appreciate it very much. |
Sep 21 2018, 05:37 PM
Sep 24 2018, 12:04 AM
QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Sep 21 2018, 06:23 PM) Yeah. That's why airbnb is preferred. But seems like there are still issues with their licensing and apparently many owners are still reluctant to apply for that license making it illegal to let and to rent. Thoughts on this? Cant really comment on Airbnb as I havent stayed in one b4. There are a few reasons why Airbnb is having some issue in Japan. The hotel cartel in Japan is very strong and they have been complaining about Airbnb saying that they have to go through a lot to get licensing like fire safety. The other reason is that it can be quite distruptve to the nieighbourhood. There will be safetly concern if they see different people entering an apartment each day. Furthermore foreigners wil have a hard time understanding the complicated method of seperating the trash. Hence I think it will be more difficult to get a license if its in the middle of Tokyo or Osaka. |
Oct 2 2018, 09:37 AM
Oct 8 2018, 11:57 AM
QUOTE(sweet_pez @ Oct 8 2018, 09:39 AM) Please google: "can you bring dried meat into japan" Compare to HK, Japan do really check your bag randomly or at least ask to see your passport, so you really have to be careful. Its really hit and miss. Sometimes they just let me go and some times they do check my bags even though I show them my Japanese ID and spoke Japanese. As for AU, I flew there a few times and one time got selected for the check.They told me a few times that its not racial profiling and its random. That check is really thorough. They not only check for bomb, they even check if my bag is counterfeit and what leather its made of. Also I declare that I did not bring any milk product, but I took the chocolcate from the airplane with me! They let me go with a warning.You'll find at least 1 helpful website. One more - if it's not legal and you get caught, it'll be dependent on how serious the offence is. Item confiscated, you'll have to pay a penalty and you'll leave a record in their system. The next time you ever fly to Japan again, don't be surprised if they select you as one of the passenger to do checking on - where they'll open your bag and search thoroughly. This situation is embarrassing for people; in Australia they call it "bomb check" and it's random. But if a person ever has any prior records, it's no surprise that they're picked for this check whenever they fly. The above is only based on what was shared by friends who fly often. They could be wrong. But in any case, I'll personally avoid any problem with the immigration especially when it's deemed not legal (upon your checking). Then you shouldn't have suggested for anyone to sneak in products or substances that is not allowable into the country. You do know it's not legal so please refrain from saying such things even as a joke. There will be people who may take you seriously. And really, you don't think the Custom officers are going to believe he's from China/ SG when he's holding a Malaysian passport? |
Oct 8 2018, 01:49 PM
QUOTE(lucaswjk @ Oct 8 2018, 12:21 PM) Not rice. Japanese rice so nice no need to sneak in. I actually have bought of dried meat back to Japan a feel time. QUOTE(sweet_pez @ Oct 8 2018, 01:32 PM) Indeed... I'm not surprised. I believe they're as strict as Australia. It's better not to take any form of risk. Not only that, they even smell it to see if it original leather or not. As for chocolate, was too full after the main meal (business calls mah. Hahahaha but man... even the bag - whether counterfeit or real! That comes as a bit of a surprise. Next time just eat them all in the plane |
Oct 9 2018, 09:36 AM
QUOTE(maxxxxx0123 @ Oct 8 2018, 07:23 PM) Guys, my itinerary is as below. Care to help see and any suggestion that I can add on? Day 10 - Ginza. WOnder what you want to do there for a full day. If you need to go, try going on a weekend. After 12pm, they will close the main road for people to walk. They also have a few nice tea shop where you can enjoy a cuppa. Use to go there often during the weekend to sit down and enjoy the crowd.Day 1 - Arrive Narita early morning. Take train to Kyoto Walk around and visit kyoto tower Day 2 - Arashiyama Day 3 - Walk around gion area, Kiyomizu those Day 4 - Fushimi Inari-taisha, Sanjūsangen-dō, Tofukuji Temple Day 5 - Go to Osaka. Walk around Tennoji, Abeno Harukas, Abeno Q'sMall, Dōtonbori area Day 6 - USS Day 7 - Kuromon Ichiba, Osaka Castle, Umeda Sky Building Day 8 - Tsutenkaku tower, Dōtonbori, Shinsaibashi area Day 9 - Go to Tokyo. Akibahara & Shinjuku walk around Day 10 - Ginza area Day 11 - Shibuya area & Meiji Shrine Day 12 - Hakone Day 13 - Sky tree area. Travel to Narita and overnight there at late evening Day 14 - Back |
Oct 9 2018, 02:04 PM
Oct 15 2018, 10:45 AM
QUOTE(wangpr @ Oct 15 2018, 10:21 AM) Would like to ask from SHinagawa Station (Tokyo) got what shinkansen to Shin Osaka? As Japan Rail Pass not valid on Nozomi... All shinkansen pass through Shinagawa. You can take Hikari instead of Nozomi. Assuming you are taking shinkansen back to Tokyo, then Japan Rail pass will do. Else it is not worth it.What pass is good for this travel? |
Oct 19 2018, 10:34 AM
I think its better to confirm what epidemic/disease that is spreading in Japan. If not this will cause unnecessary worry for anyone. That is how normally gossip spread without any proof...I heard from a friend. Its not that I am saying anyone of you is lying, but without any source its just hearsay.
Oct 22 2018, 09:50 AM
Oct 22 2018, 10:48 AM
QUOTE(dinozilla @ Oct 22 2018, 10:36 AM) yup, i m landing at Narita then transfer to Domestic to Itami... You need to check with your airlines. If its two different airlines, then most probably yes. that means i will need to complete clearance at Narita through custom, then re-check in to domestic? cannot go through transit directly? Immigration is defenitely in Narita. |
Oct 22 2018, 11:20 AM
QUOTE(dinozilla @ Oct 22 2018, 10:53 AM) I am booking from same Airlines, ANA Checked with ANA. Immigration is defenitely Narita. If you have check-in baggage, mostly probably you just claim it at Itami.the flight itinerary is KUL -> Narita (est. Layover 2.5hr) -> Itami KIX -> Haneda (est. layover 1hr50m) -> KUL first time taking this kind of Int-Domestic, Domestic-Int transfer, wonder how it will be? |
| Change to: | 0.0223sec
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 11:01 PM |