7 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

Travel To Japan V11, Nippon here we come!

lyc1982
post Apr 4 2018, 10:31 AM

ExpectNoMercy
2,329 posts

QUOTE(invisiblelim @ Apr 4 2018, 09:58 AM)
Dear Sifu, I'm going Japan Osaka in 2 weeks time, below are my itinerary, is it OK? I'm travelling with 5 adults and 1 5 years old kid.

no kaiyukan in osaka...nice for a 5yo kid

QUOTE(z|nk @ Apr 4 2018, 09:59 AM)
Hi all , first time post in this thread . will be going to tokyo mid of November . going to do some research as early as I can .
But one thing I found about the transportation cost , JR Pass cheapest cost around MYR1K/pax for 7 days ? Seriously that expensive ?
Any alternative cheaper way ?

Or can I just stay at Tokyo for 10days ? First time to Japan thus got no idea at all . did read about this thread but seem no better option for transportation .

sorry for my bad english
first time suggest to focus on tokyo only...tokyo is so big and you can do day trips to other places such as kawaguchiko and yokohama

This post has been edited by sweet_pez: Apr 4 2018, 11:59 AM
lyc1982
post Apr 5 2018, 12:33 PM

ExpectNoMercy
2,329 posts

QUOTE(~C.W.S~ @ Apr 5 2018, 10:42 AM)
Current exchange rate 1JPY=0.036MYR seems to be good compare to previous 1JPY=0.039MYR, or can be more better? biggrin.gif
if you need it in within these few weeks...better change it

if you have more than 5 months to go...then wait loh, but no guarantee
lyc1982
post Apr 6 2018, 11:57 AM

ExpectNoMercy
2,329 posts

QUOTE(qse150 @ Apr 5 2018, 05:07 PM)
not yet finalized. still in planning process. but basically is 8 days, tokyo - osaka. Btw. i've just open the fb link on this option:

Travel sim Option 2 (3G/4G only, no calls) Hello1010: https://hello1010.my/country/asia/japan.html

turns out in Japan 3G cannot connect to their network. Minimum 4G. Is that true? both our phones are only 3G phones. Quite old already.  hmm.gif  hmm.gif  doh.gif
if this is your first time to japan, suggest you only stick to 1 place

tokyo or kyoto/osaka alone 8 days also insufficient
lyc1982
post Apr 17 2018, 04:38 PM

ExpectNoMercy
2,329 posts

QUOTE(jasonwzc596 @ Apr 16 2018, 12:47 AM)
Hi guys, I’m planning a trip to kyoto in may . I heard that kyoto station is a chaotic mess . Is it really that hard to get around ? I’m planning to get an Airbnb near Fushimi inari area (2stations away from Kyoto station on jr nari line) since it’s cheaper than staying near the station itself. Is this a good plan or should I jus pay the premium price to stay near kyoto station for simplicity sake ?any extra tip on dealing with the train system is much appreciated . Thx
P.s I will be traveling with an elderly with limited mobility
better stay near to kyoto station to save the hassle since most of the main trains depart from kyoto station

QUOTE(swn525 @ Apr 17 2018, 03:29 PM)
didn't remove it? no problem for next time visit to japan?

base on the law, clothes cannot exceed 3 pairs, haha
depend your luck, if they really check your stuff, no choice have to pay tax
but i think better don't exceed for alcohol & cigarettes
clothes cannot exceed 3 pairs...i bought more than that last time haha
lyc1982
post Apr 24 2018, 11:19 AM

ExpectNoMercy
2,329 posts

QUOTE(Belphegor @ Apr 24 2018, 11:15 AM)
Nice, thanks for the heads up! Should be getting one then. rclxm9.gif
whoa ...lend me your Switch

i wanna play Zelda
lyc1982
post Apr 25 2018, 02:09 PM

ExpectNoMercy
2,329 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Apr 25 2018, 09:31 AM)
VIP Liner doest not have any ticket office. All ticket must reserve online through PC / handphone. Waiting Lounge at Tokyo will be at 2F/3F Amerex Building 1-5-9 Yaesu Chuo Tokyo. Boarding the bus will be same building which is ground Floor (Family Mart) 
Try avoid short pants at all cost if want visit Japan Temple.
that's strange...

i went to temples during summer with short pants...nobody looked at me one kind or stopped me, i saw others also wearing similar

This post has been edited by lyc1982: Apr 25 2018, 02:10 PM
lyc1982
post Apr 30 2018, 07:40 PM

ExpectNoMercy
2,329 posts

QUOTE(Left4Dead2 @ Apr 30 2018, 02:33 PM)
Guys i going under group tour to Hokkaido in mid Oct for five days

That time very cold ar ? Need prepare anything serious like go artic ?
if you know how to post question...for sure know how to use google

google can give you a more accurate answer
lyc1982
post May 7 2018, 10:59 AM

ExpectNoMercy
2,329 posts

QUOTE(yoonyin @ May 7 2018, 10:02 AM)
No worry mate, I travel to these 2 places in cherry blossom season. The crowd in train at kyoto and osaka not as crazy as you see in those social media. Basically not fully crowded. is like 30-50% full and They have priority seats for traveler with infant and senior citizen.
From my friend experience he told me when he travel there during Tsuyu season. He also travel aboard with 2 kids age around 3 and 1y6m. Basically is a messy when you travel on rainy day with infant. He need to carry umbrella, baby stroller which always in folding position barely using it due to raining. Can't take a nice outdoor family photo too because there no extra hand in rain. Theme park is a disaster because rain, outdoor ride will stop and indoor will full with crowd~
in short, raining isn't good for outdoor activities
lyc1982
post May 10 2018, 11:47 PM

ExpectNoMercy
2,329 posts

QUOTE(kla2552 @ May 10 2018, 12:11 PM)
anyone in Tokyo now? weather still 15C. i will arrived tomorrow. i thought May should be warm abit. i just don't want to pack sweater/jacket
you can always buy sweater / jacket there if you can’t tahan
lyc1982
post May 17 2018, 11:11 AM

ExpectNoMercy
2,329 posts

QUOTE(swn525 @ May 16 2018, 09:11 AM)
always go japan buy Kit Kat green tea? why don't try others taste

more favorite in https://nestle.jp/brand/kit/45thcampaign/in...on/en/index.php
i tried the chili one which is to acquired taste i guess...haha

lyc1982
post May 18 2018, 11:14 AM

ExpectNoMercy
2,329 posts

QUOTE(oguraX @ May 17 2018, 09:50 PM)
Guys, if i got 2 days only at tokyo, can you guys suggest me places that i must go??
train station

haneda

narita
lyc1982
post May 20 2018, 12:53 AM

ExpectNoMercy
2,329 posts

QUOTE(~mingwei~ @ May 19 2018, 01:29 PM)
DAY 1

07:00AM - Arrival at Narita Airport Terminal 2
11:00AM – Store luggage in Hotel - Asakusa
11:30AM – Asakusa 
• Kaminarimon Gate
• Nakamise-dori - Street Food
• Senso-ji Temple
02:00PM –Lunch – Ichiran Asakusa  〒111-0032 Tōkyō-to, Taitō-ku, Asakusa, 1 Chome−1−16 HK浅草ビル
03:00PM – Check in Hotel
06:00PM –Discover Asakusa - Walk around
08:00PM - Dinner Tempura bowl Tenya Asakusa
11:00PM – Back to Hotel

DAY 2

08.00AM - Breakfast at Hotel
10.00AM – Tokyo Disneyland -Take a bus from the Skytree.
10:30PM – Ginza – Under bridge Yakitori
12.00AM – Back to hotel

DAY 3

08:00AM -  Breakfast at Hotel
09:00AM – Odaiba – Odaiba rainbow bus
06:00PM – Hotaluna boat ride back to Asakusa - 1560yen pax
07:30PM – Sumida River chilling~
08.00PM – Asakusa for Dinner - Heijouen Asakusa Kaminarimon-dori – Wagyu Beef (Golden Cow Statue)
09:30PM – Asakusa Don Quijote
12.00AM - Back to Hotel

DAY 4

08.00AM – Breakfast at Hotel
09:30AM – Tsukiji Fish Market
11:00AM – Shibuya – Hachiko Statue – Shibuya Crossing
12:30AM – Lunch - Nazebo Shabu2 - 6F Shibuya BEAM, 31-2 Udagawacho, Shibuya, Tokyo -1600Yen
03:30PM – Harajuku
• Takeshita dori street
• Meiji-jingumae 'Harajuku' Station Meiji Shrine
07:30PM – Shinjuku
• Dinner omoide Yokocho for Yakitori next to Shinjuku station
11.30PM – Back to Hotel

DAY 5

09.00AM – Breakfast at Hotel
10.30AM – Akihabara
01:00PM – Ueno- Ameya Yokocho
03.00PM – Ginza
06:00PM – Tokyo Tower

Day 6

10:30AM - flight back to M'sia

Hi, any comment for my itinerary? too pack? I'm thinking of squeezing-in Hakone for day trip..possible? lol...

There will be 4 adults + 1 2yo kids travelling this August.
i agree with RegentCid on bringing a 2yo kid out till 11pm...no fun like that

then the following day need to start at 8am...gonna be difficult

This post has been edited by lyc1982: May 20 2018, 12:53 AM
lyc1982
post Jun 3 2018, 09:14 PM

ExpectNoMercy
2,329 posts

QUOTE(hwachong @ Jun 3 2018, 07:21 PM)
I'm planning for honeymoon to Osaka/Kyoto and Tokyo next April. Do you all have advise whether I should head to Osaka/Kyoto or Tokyo first? I plan to arrive at one city and depart from the other city.
it all depends on what you couple like...

city or culture or nature ?
lyc1982
post Jun 5 2018, 03:21 PM

ExpectNoMercy
2,329 posts

QUOTE(tohff7 @ Jun 4 2018, 06:07 PM)
I think either way is fine, but prefer starting at Osaka/Kyoto then Tokyo based on few reasons.

1) Assuming you are just taking AirAsia, the KUL-Osaka have better timing (morning flight, reaching around 3pm) compare to KUL-Tokyo (reaching after 9pm). For the flight back, Tokyo-KL has a midnight flight (around 11.50pm) which means you have time to go around on your last day

2) I assume you are going to Hakone/Fuji Lake on the Tokyo leg. So, it's best to leave the relaxing part of your trip to later after you are exhausted from all the walking around in Osaka/Kyoto and Tokyo city
need to check the timing to osaka though...from oct 2018 onwards the flight arrive KIX around 9:25pm

QUOTE(hwachong @ Jun 3 2018, 10:09 PM)
more city and culture.
if city and culture is preferable ...go kansai area first

then tokyo...then hokkaido
lyc1982
post Jun 16 2018, 03:22 AM

ExpectNoMercy
2,329 posts

QUOTE(chinti @ Jun 13 2018, 01:40 PM)
I'm going end of October till beginning of November. Oh well, already booked
mine same period as yours...AA return 700+ per pax
lyc1982
post Jun 20 2018, 02:59 PM

ExpectNoMercy
2,329 posts

QUOTE(terces @ Jun 20 2018, 02:11 AM)
Dear All, we ( a couple) will be visiting Hokkaido from 23rd October to 5th November 2018.

We are looking for autumn colors, know that the date probably a little late, so we planned to straight travel down to north of Hokkaido (towards Shiretoko) then only coming down south (towards Hakodate) at end of trip. This is because probably at end of trip (around early November) Sapporo area will still have some autumn colors.

We travel using rented cars.
Please look into the draft itinerary below.
Appreciate for any advise. notworthy.gif

23rd October 2018 (Day 1)
*Reach Chitose Airport
Get rental car
Have breakfast

Furano
1.1 Tomita Melon House
1.2 Farm Tomita
1.3 Furano Cheese Factory
1.4 Ningle Terrace

2. Biei
2.1 Blue Pond
2.2 Panorama Road & Shikisai No Oka
2.3 Hill Shikisaino

* TRAVEL to Asahikawa
STAY at Asahikawa

24th October 2018 (Day 2)

Asahikawa
1.1 Asahikawa Zoo
1.2 Mt. Asahikawa

2. Ramen Village

-STAY at Asahikawa

25th October 2018 (Day 3)

*TRAVEL to Sounkyo

Sounkyo
1.1 Mt. Kurodake
1.2 Ginga Fall
1.3 Ryu Sei Fall

*STAY at Sounkyo
26th October 2018 (Day 4)

*TRAVEL to Abashiri
Takinoue Park

2. Shibazakura Park

3. Abashiri Kando Morning Fair

*STAY at Abashiri
27th October 2018 (Day 5)

*TRAVEL to Shiretoko

Shiretoko
1.1 Shiretoko National Park
1.2 Shiretoko 5 Lakes
1.3 Shin Koshin Waterfall

*STAY at Shiretoko
28th October 2018 (Day 6)

*TRAVEL to Kushiro

Akan
1.1 Lake Akan
1.2 Lake Onneto
1.3 Lake Kussharo
1.4 Lake Mashu
1.5 Watanabe Farm
1.6 Ainu Kotan

2. Kushiro
2.1 Crane Centre
2.2 Kushiro Marshland
2.3 Washo Market

*STAY at Kushiro

29th October 2018 (Day 7)

*TRAVEL to Otaru

Passing by Sapporo
1.1 Hokkaido University

2. Otaru
2.1 Otaru Canal
30th October 2018 (Day 8)
*Niseko / Jozankei / Mt Yotei / Lake Toya

31st October 2018 (Day 9)

*Niseko / Jozankei / Mt Yotei / Lake Toya

1st November 2018 (Day 10)

*Hakodate

2nd November 2018 (Day 11)

*Noboribetsu
3rd November 2018 (Day 12)
*Sapporo
4th November 2018 (Day 13)
*Sapporo

5th November 2018 (Day 14)

*Chitose
do you know how far is hakodate from niseko ?
and you only plan to visit hakodate for 1 day..hhmmm

QUOTE(2+2=5 @ Jun 20 2018, 02:29 PM)
Hi all, i might head to Nara/Kobe during my stays in Kyoto but do i need passes for that?

Ticket fare (based on Google Map):
1. Kyoto > Fushimi Inari via Keihan Main Line > Nara and back Kyoto via JR Nara Line YEN1340
2. Kyoto > Kobe > Osaka > Kyoto via JR Tokaido-Sanyo Line YEN2050

JR Kansai Area Pass for 2D priced at YEN4300, meanwhile train rides above are less than the pass price. Will ICOCA do the job? Besides, is there any reservation for seat needed?

Thank you.
first, use hyperdia for more accurate train fares

second, you already answered you own question
lyc1982
post Jun 27 2018, 05:08 PM

ExpectNoMercy
2,329 posts

QUOTE(_ChAoS_ @ Jun 27 2018, 11:58 AM)
Hi, which train did you use? Also, did you use a pass, ICOCA or bought a ticket manually?
alternatively some of the Kansai Passes covers Haruka express
lyc1982
post Jun 28 2018, 02:47 PM

ExpectNoMercy
2,329 posts

QUOTE(sweet_pez @ Jun 28 2018, 02:12 PM)
That's odd. Booking.com is mostly inn/ ryokan, guesthouse, Hotels etc. So they even have airbnb style apartment? I don't recall much as all my apartment is via AirBnB. I only book Hotels with Booking.com.

When you see there were no keys at the mailbox, should have contacted the Host and inform him that it's not there. Take a photo of the empty mailbox. Share the same to Booking.com. Then you show them the receipt/ tax invoice of your stay at the Hotel/ accommodation on that day. This is proof that you had to pay extra for another stay.

If all of it are only "hearsay" or justification from both parties with no evidence, there's nothing Booking can do. Thus when there's trouble, always take action to contact all parties so that they are aware of the issue.

Sorry to hear of your experience. Do hope you'll have a more pleasant stay in Japan in future. I've used Booking.com multiple times and didn't encounter any issue - except - when I tried to request for a Tax Invoice for a previous stay (just 1 month ago). They will ask you to contact the Hotel directly though, and there was no reply from the Hotel.
just to share...some airbnb do have listings on booking.com as well, i realized it when i was planning for my accommodations

same photos uploaded on both airbnb and booking.com haha...
lyc1982
post Jul 6 2018, 04:17 PM

ExpectNoMercy
2,329 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Jul 6 2018, 04:06 PM)
Yes...inside got alot alot small shop. they all Izakaya.
Sometimes I also having my dinner at Jiromaru near Seibu Shinjuku Station too
QUOTE(chinti @ Jul 6 2018, 04:08 PM)
oh okay i know this place, there's one shop tht i often go last time. cant rmb the name tho but only know the location.
do u know tht ramen cart in front of shinjuku station 1?
those yakitoris....not cheap man
lyc1982
post Jul 11 2018, 11:10 AM

ExpectNoMercy
2,329 posts

QUOTE(chinti @ Jul 11 2018, 09:09 AM)
fulamak so so emo...booked MAS last week, n today received email saying CIMB user got up to 40% off...checked the price again and could have save RM300 per person ><
huh ??

mind sharing the CIMB offer screenshot here ?

7 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.1491sec    0.78    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 03:54 PM