16 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Bottom

Travel To Japan V11, Nippon here we come!

TSsweet_pez
post May 31 2018, 12:32 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(Belphegor @ May 31 2018, 10:00 AM)
Thank you admin! laugh.gif
lol ain't admin but no problem! If there's anything else you all want to have it included in Pg1 please let me know.

QUOTE(swn525 @ May 31 2018, 12:01 PM)
Coca Cola Finally Launch First Alcohol Drink in Japan on 28th May 2018
3%, 5%, 7%

http://www.bbc.com/news/world-asia-44276218

go and try if you are going to japan
Right after I left aih.
Belphegor try this. Bring back for some of us too brows.gif
TSsweet_pez
post May 31 2018, 01:46 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

Alright about the 'bad experiences' - as it had somewhat passed, I've also let go and learnt my lesson. I admit some of them are my own fault.

1. Late Bus in Oshino Hakkai

Our plan for Fuji 5 Lakes (Yamanakako and Kawaguchiko) was 3 Days 2 nights. We left from Shinjuku station and bought the bus ticket that morning itself. We could have bought it online, but there were some uncertainties in the trip and as such, we decided to buy that morning. Managed to get the 10am bus.

However out of all the uncertainties, the certain thing is that we're definitely going back to Shinjuku on Day 3 in the evening, so I bought the 5.10pm bus ticket in advance via online. Because we wanted to get back to Shinjuku earlier, we've decided to leave earlier on Day 3.

The initial plan for Day 3 was to visit Fuji-Q Highland. However one of my friend was sick (bad sore throat and cough), so we changed our plan to Chureito Pagoda and Oshino Hakkai instead. We checked the board and there's a direct bus to and from Oshino Hakai back to Kawaguchiko Station (the station that we're talking the Fuji-Q bus back to Shinjuku at 5.10pm).

After chucking out baggage in the coin locker, we took the adorable Thomas the Train's train to Chureito Pagoda. By the time we're done, we left for Oshino Hakkai. From Chureito Pagoda, we took a train and stop at another station, then took the local bus to Oshino Hakkai.

Upon arrival in Oshino Hakkai station, we looked for the bus timetable to know what time we need to get back to the station. The timetable says 4.05pm.

Oshino Hakkai >> Kawaguchiko Station @ 20minutes

So we said it's fine. We'll come back to the station at 3.45pm. So off we go. Halfway, friend A and me split with friend B. Friend A and I decided to leave the village and walk to the bus stop earlier so that on the way we can grab some snacks. Halfway walking to the bus stop, we saw the Tourist Information Centre. So we just went in and I decided to confirm the bus's time with them.

Unfortunately they showed us a timetable that is different from what we saw. The bus is estimated to arrive by 4.38pm to the bus stop in Oshino Hakkai. We panicked because that means we have very little time to catch our bus to Shinjuku. Friend B arrived at the bus stop at 3.50pm, as she missed my text to tell her she can still go around and to meet by 4.15pm. So anyway we waited anxiously for the bus.

4.38pm came and no, no sign of the bus. 4.45pm, then 4.50pm, then 4.55pm. Finally the bus showed up. It was late by almost 20minutes and we could barely believe this. Yes we realized local bus may not be on time, but usually they are late by 5-10minutes. To top it, it's a normal day with no traffic jam and just average number of people/ tourists. It was very disheartening but as you realize by now, we missed the bus. We arrived back at 5.15pm, in time to see our bus leave at that moment sweat.gif bid it au revior as we knew they waited 5min for us.

With a heavy heart, we went to get tickets for the next bus but there's no more bus to Shinjuku. The earliest and nearest bus will be to Shibuya. So we bought that. It was not only pricier, but also a longer ride (>30min more compared to bus to Shinjuku). Upon arrival in Shibuya, we still need to make our way to Shinjuku. It was a very tiring journey. We end up having our dinner around... 10.30pm? Mc D was about to close too so we just do takeaway.

2. Booked Hotel for the Wrong Date (learn from my mistake!)

This is my own mistake and yes, I have checked everything before flying. I couldn't believe I didn't notice the wrong date doh.gif

As plans changes and with the freedom of cancelling hotel booking before a certain date, I've mistakenly booked the wrong date for our last night's stay. As our flight is at 11am, I didn't want rush to get to airport. As such, we're staying in a Hotel near the airport (15min away) with shuttle bus service.

On the way to airport (get to Narita to take Hotel's shuttle bus), I was checking my phone and realized the booking was for 27th May, whereby we're on the way there on 26th May around 10pm? The hotel's shuttle bus arrived at Narita and we boarded it. Apologized to hotel staff and explained the situation but we're almost out of luck - there were no rooms, with the exception of 1 room with extra bed (for 3 pax - there's only 2 of us though, as the 3rd friend went backpacking to Hiroshima) I think we still had some luck, so we took the room and paid the extra 2,000yen (I borne the cost, as I made the mistake after all).

Others

Other "minor" misfortunes - Dropped by phone twice, screen blacked out. Need to get it changed. My camera's lense was also damaged so need to get it replaced as well. Suffered fever in 1 of the day in Tokyo. The friend who went backpacking - she had bad sore throat at the start of the trip which turned into chronic cough after 1 week+. She will need to get an xray when she's back in Aus.

For the most part, we enjoyed our trip very much, with exception of these small occurrences. They're not major, but for a minute there my backpacking friend texted me few days ago saying, "Do you think we offended any kamisama during our trip?? With all these streaks of bad luck?" (P/S: she almost lost her JR pass after splitting with us - but again - own scatterbrain effect hahahaha). This is also the first time I'm struck with so many negative occurrence that it's almost odd hmm.gif

This post has been edited by sweet_pez: May 31 2018, 01:47 PM
TSsweet_pez
post May 31 2018, 01:58 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ May 31 2018, 12:39 PM)
Japan those new drinks taste sure very weird
So far I've not had much "weird" tasting stuff (probably I ain't very adventurous) except for the yuzu-tasting ramen by Afuri. It just didn't work for me.

QUOTE(~mingwei~ @ May 31 2018, 12:55 PM)
Yes, after Hakone, if time permitted would like to visit the surrounding of Shinjuku.
Thank you so much for all the info, really help me a lot. Do you prefer I start the 2nd and 3rd day with Disney and Hakone or put it at last? You know la the 1st few day the energy is there. I don't know how hot is in August cos I will be bringing my 3yo daughter along, kinda worry about that. Another thing, how long can one spend in odaiba?
Yes i'll suggest if possible, do Disney on the 2nd day and Hakone maybe 1-2 days after Disney (for your energy to recover haha) coz you're right, it's very tiring to do full day travel. The stress of finding the attraction, looking for the bus stop, making it back to catch the bus etc is not as simple as people think, unless you're familiar with the surrounding and timing. However it's also your preference on how to go about it.

On Day 1, after you're familiar with the train system, check out the line way to get to Disneyland. Also, Google Map may be convenient but it tells you the "current" (at the time you Google) the way. Most of the time, we still check the station's line route to be sure.

There are many ways to get to your destination, so whenever you're unsure or find something strange, just ask the station staffs. Also, your GPS may not work well in Tokyo (depending on area) so just try to read the Google Map. Otherwise, get a Tokyo area map at the station (a lot of the train stations have maps for the area; sometimes old school is the way to go hahaha).

Tip: Always check the return bus/ train timetable and plan accordingly. Sometimes we make mistakes (such as reading the wrong time, or read an outdated timetable) so give leverage. Also don't try to catch the last bus/ train, it's scary if you miss it laugh.gif last train is usually past 1030 or 11pm, depending on line/ station. But i don't think you'll leave late as your children would have been tired.

Be prepared to do take out from McD or KFCs nearby and eat them at home. If they give you a Japanese menu, just say, "Eigo menyu kudasai" (English menu please). More of these helpful phrases such as directions, ordering etc is in Page 1.
TSsweet_pez
post May 31 2018, 04:29 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ May 31 2018, 02:04 PM)
When Suntory releasing those colorless drink. So big disappointment on it 
Most weird still that Eel favorite soda & long long time ago ...''Curry Lemonade''
Ok curry lemonade is just unacceptable #nonono
TSsweet_pez
post May 31 2018, 11:41 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(quadcube @ May 31 2018, 11:21 PM)
wut? Afuri yuzu ramen is my favorite, especially after a whole day of "heavy broth/重口味" meals laugh.gif
Hahahahaha taste is subjective. Probably coz friend chose the "strong" yuzu - it was really too much for me happy.gif; ...but even so, personally I still prefer Ichiran
TSsweet_pez
post Jun 1 2018, 09:23 AM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(quadcube @ May 31 2018, 11:51 PM)
Yea, I always order the extra yuzu flavour, it's something really special IMO compared to the crappy ramens here in Kanazawa laugh.gif have you tried the "dry/kon lou" ramen? the one from musashi ramen in Roppongi is seriously gooooood

Oh dear, you're really into the yuzu sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif one of my friend liked it.

Ah you're talking about Tsukemen. The one in your photo is tsukemen, the dry noodle where you dip into the sauce. Yes I've tried Menya and I loved it. Wanted to go again this round but couldn't due to lack of time. The Menya Musashi in Shinjuku is the main branch (which is why you'll see the word "honten"), probably that's why it's always full! In terms of Afuri, there were recommendations for it so I thought why not, let's give something new a try laugh.gif if you don't try it, you won't know whether you like it or otherwise.

In Ichiran, they have some new items compared to 1.5 years ago when I last went. There's a braised meat and matcha beer.

Matcha beer:

This post has been edited by sweet_pez: Jun 1 2018, 09:24 AM
TSsweet_pez
post Jun 1 2018, 01:23 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Jun 1 2018, 12:33 PM)
Is September a good time to travel to Kansai?
Anytime is good time. Probably you want to clarify your definition of "good time" so the rest know in what context you're talking about.
TSsweet_pez
post Jun 4 2018, 09:23 AM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(jenhuei @ Jun 2 2018, 12:11 AM)
Hi All, below is the itinerary that i have come up with for my coming Tokyo trip. This is the 1st time for me and wife traveling to Tokyo. We have no plan to visit museum, mostly are shopping (for the lady) and sightseeing and we dont want to rush it. Will there be too much extra time? or should i be adding a trip to Hakone on day 5? some pointer is well appreciated.

You don't want to rush it? Day 1 is already impossible. Put 3 to max 4 things to do in a day - that's possibly doable. Knowing how it's a shopping trip, you do know that "shopping" doesn't end in 1 hour? You also need to plan the time to look for station, platform, wait, and then ride the train there you know. Not to forget, you'll need time to walk from train station to attraction, get lost, finally find the place and then allocate time to again, get back to the station to move onto the next destination.

There's only 1 thing to say for Day 1-4: re-plan it. Before you do, look up these few things:

1. Open Google Map and drop the pin of all the places you're going. Check all the train ride (how long is needed). Plan the whole route. Transportation system in Tokyo is easy to use but only if you're familiar with it. For a first timer, you need double or triple the time to read and understand the system on the first 2 days.

2. Google the opening hours of Malls/ Dept Stores you plan to visit and attractions.

TSsweet_pez
post Jun 4 2018, 01:03 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(vreis @ Jun 4 2018, 12:09 PM)
The bolded part is really true, went to Shinjuku Station but just finding the correct exit is difficult enuff without the stroller, bags, and kids tagging along sweat.gif

Walked a year worth of walking in tokyo laugh.gif

Btw I've used about 7k yen/week for suica charge alone even after optimised the routes sweat.gif  sweat.gif
Came back last week, though soul still at Tokyo  laugh.gif
Below are my actual schedule vs planned (hope can be helpful to those with toddlers)

Dropped some of the places as time not permitted but overall very satisfactory & enjoyable trip.
Yes, a lot of walking sweat.gif big stations are even more complicated. My average steps in Tokyo is around 32,000. Highest record was 36,000 steps (at which, the next day my knee hurts that walking up and down the stairs prove to be a difficult task).

Your above is ideal for parents with kids and those looking for relaxing trip. 3-4 places in a day is sufficient. Can always plan an additional one in case you have time to cover, but more often than not, most people experience a lack of time due to frequent delays (leaving accommodation late) laugh.gif
TSsweet_pez
post Jun 5 2018, 12:17 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(hwachong @ Jun 5 2018, 11:43 AM)
Any transport concerns to hotel if I arrive at Haneda airport at 10pm?
Read Page 1 Post #1
TSsweet_pez
post Jun 6 2018, 09:31 AM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(sacwoc @ Jun 5 2018, 06:04 PM)
Most important question is where is your hotel??? Haneda??? Yokohama?? Hakone??
You're back here!!! It's been awhile biggrin.gif

QUOTE(motherland @ Jun 6 2018, 08:53 AM)
Hmm i guess no more annual family trip to Japan...hotel for 10pax is expensive...
There are options for budget hotels and some hostel even offer private room(s) at reasonable price. Look up the internet for options.
TSsweet_pez
post Jun 6 2018, 10:18 AM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(sacwoc @ Jun 6 2018, 09:43 AM)
Been busy travelling lately for work. Furthermore since I left Japan last year, my information might be outdated... smile.gif
Awhhh it's alright, many things are not outdated and always appreciate your contribution biggrin.gif

QUOTE(alan_kong84 @ Jun 6 2018, 10:05 AM)
Does this apply in osaka as well? Since osaka approved airbnb. Bcox i check last time my homestay at tokyo no longer active but my stay in osaka still active.
Did you read the article...? It says "Japan" and not "Tokyo" alone. I suggest you PM your Osaka's host and check with him/ her on the situation. Wouldn't want to arrive there to find that you don't have a place to stay.
TSsweet_pez
post Jun 7 2018, 10:32 AM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(DEVILtonight @ Jun 7 2018, 12:13 AM)
If anyone here has booked and paid with Airbnb in June and after, I can share my experience of a refund.

My host confirmed with me that her place is affected by the law, and I requested the host to cancel. She asked me to cancel, and she will refund. This she may, but never cancel on your side in cases like these. It went back and forth, until I contacted Airbnb and explained the situation. Within a day, I got back what I paid.

FYI
Thank you for your sharing.
TSsweet_pez
post Jun 11 2018, 10:39 AM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(hwachong @ Jun 10 2018, 11:58 AM)
Hi sifus, this will be my wife and I first time in Japan and our honeymoon. Please see below my draft itinerary. We will be arriving at Tokyo on Day 0 night. Any suggestions especially for Day 6 and Day 9? Thank you in advance.

Day 6 - Depends on what time is your Shinkansen and how much time you have. Generally there's a lot of things in Tokyo Station itself (you're taking bullet train from there right?). It's not a problemt o spend 2-3 hours there.

Optionally, you can drop your luggage (coin locker/ baggage storage counter) @ Tokyo station and then walk to the Imperial Palace (if you haven't been there before). About 10-15min walk, which is decent. Estimated time to spend in the Palace - between 1-2 hours.
TSsweet_pez
post Jun 18 2018, 12:51 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(smooky @ Jun 18 2018, 11:35 AM)
Hi all, I'm having trouble search getting from Narita Airport to Kawaguchiko station coz my flight arrive at 6pm on 1 july. Does anyone know the better way or fastest route to Kawaguchiko station?
Try Googling with these keywords: bus from narita to kawaguchiko

Come back here and let me know if you don't get answer/ accurate result to your search.
TSsweet_pez
post Jun 18 2018, 01:36 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(K1d0 @ Jun 18 2018, 01:34 PM)
My Sapporo accommodation affected on end June, host not yet get license but assure me can continue stay. I called airbnb, Airbnb told me if they dint receive license from host 10 days prior my stay, airbnb will auto cancel.

After that host contacted me if can deal privately, as in pay her in cash. Rejected the offer, and proceed to ask airbnb to cancel. Get 100% refund + another voucher worth the price I pay for the cancellation and used it to book another Airbnb which got approved  biggrin.gif

So if any host ask you to deal in cash, just reject it politely then proceed to call Airbnb to request cancellation. Airbnb customer service told me all listing that you can search in the website now is having license.
Nice, thanks for the sharing. Also glad to hear you've found another accommodation (plus compensation!).
TSsweet_pez
post Jun 18 2018, 01:50 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

In lieu of the earthquake in Osaka, information updated on page 1:

- Safety tips (link)
- Where to seek refuge (Tokyo)
- App for push notification on Tsunami/ Earthquake (developed by Japan Tourism & Organization)
TSsweet_pez
post Jun 18 2018, 01:54 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(K1d0 @ Jun 18 2018, 01:41 PM)
No problem  biggrin.gif Yup! Suddenly saved so much in accommodation because of this, for Sapporo accommodation now each of us in the group pay less than RM30 per night  laugh.gif

Another tips on Airbnb, after host agree to do cancellation, just call Airbnb customer service (Malaysia/Singapore) to do cancellation, within 5 mins you will receive confirmation of full refund + compensation. Messaging via airbnb website/apps take them very long to process.
Interesting. I've never called them before (not that I notice any Malaysia number to call sweat.gif ). The last time a host cancelled the accommodation, I informed airbnb via PM and it was sorted out fast. The refund was reflected very fast too - if i recall correctly within 3 days or a week - which is pretty fast imo.

This post has been edited by sweet_pez: Jun 18 2018, 02:00 PM
TSsweet_pez
post Jun 19 2018, 09:20 AM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(billywee @ Jun 18 2018, 06:00 PM)
Is credit card widely accepted in Tokyo and Hokkaido?
Yes it is. You can use them in shops, drugstores, taxis or even convenience stores. However you'll still need to use cash for transport (train, bus), meals, paying in small stores etc.

This will be good info for you. I'll update them on Page 1 as well:
https://www.finder.com/using-a-credit-card-in-japan
https://japan-magazine.jnto.go.jp/en/special_credit.html

This post has been edited by sweet_pez: Jun 19 2018, 09:24 AM
TSsweet_pez
post Jun 19 2018, 02:57 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(quadcube @ Jun 19 2018, 01:46 PM)
Was at Komatsu airport when it happened. It’s like 200+km away but everything that is hanging would shake like mad laugh.gif heard from my friend it’s pretty bad, trains were suspended for more than 1 and a half hours
Someone shared the link on this video: https://www.facebook.com/groups/jpntravel/p...57619240928625/ i can imagine the tremor!

16 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.1629sec    0.11    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 03:30 AM