Prices, Consoles in Singapore

tot31
post Jun 12 2007, 02:55 PM

I DON'T GIVE A DAMN
2,451 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Jun 12 2007, 02:05 PM)
er... i tot shops like bernard or djinn, wii @ least help u rectify the problem?
LOL....Bernard is always seek for my help regarding X360 problems. I helped him too many times already. If I reveal here many ppl will sure terkezut wan....huhuhuuhuhuh
rx330
post Jun 12 2007, 03:01 PM

11,811 posts

the 3 rod issue ar? well @ least, bernard did solve their customer problem, no?
michael9413
post Jun 12 2007, 03:08 PM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

well he got sell XXX mah... so no warranty have to rectify himself lo...
Djiin sell all non-XXX one... so all go back to SG la...
tot31
post Jun 12 2007, 03:50 PM

I DON'T GIVE A DAMN
2,451 posts

QUOTE(michael9413 @ Jun 12 2007, 03:08 PM)
well he got sell XXX mah... so no warranty have to rectify himself lo...
Djiin sell all non-XXX one... so all go back to SG la...
Non XXX also need to pay money to send back to SG. So no point saying warranty.

Added on June 12, 2007, 3:53 pm
QUOTE(rx330 @ Jun 12 2007, 03:01 PM)
the 3 rod issue ar? well @ least, bernard did solve their customer problem, no?
Not 3ROD issues but other issues.....you'll be surprise what those shops can do....hahahahaha

This post has been edited by tot31: Jun 12 2007, 03:53 PM
rx330
post Jun 12 2007, 04:08 PM

11,811 posts

buy xbox 360, kena 3 rod, after repair come back as ps3?
DjiNn
post Jun 12 2007, 04:33 PM

~||Noob Game Console Advisor||~
Store Representative
7,931 posts

QUOTE(tot31 @ Jun 12 2007, 03:50 PM)

Not 3ROD issues but other issues.....you'll be surprise what those shops can do....hahahahaha
well tot31, as you know the official distributor are from Singapore. Hence why I need to ask consumer to pay the shipping and custom tax fee.

yes. I know you , me , =-Virgil=- can fix the 3 Rods easily or anybody who wish to DIY such as Guardian or anybody else who can fix the 3 Rods with just washer and screws and of course the heat gun.

The warranty from my shop is people choice. I cover 3 months from the purchasing date and 9 months warranty which I help you guys send back to Singapore.

if they don't wish to send warranty by me. They can actually send via them self. You can actually bring the console back to Singapore.

I have a fren who had a 3 Rods machine. He did it by sending himself. Going down to SG (By his own) Fuel RM 100 (two way)(not including Toll and food) . Ask another friend who help him called up Microsoft then registered a valid address and take 14 working days to get a refurbish machine.

he came back to me he prefer to purchase from me cause he don't need to go all these hassle. (calling/registration/tax/Time and avoiding the tax).

If they don't like or can't wait or don't wish to pay the shipping fee I can just tell them to pay me RM25 which do the x clamp method. Or If I don't have time I can pass it to -=Virgil=- to do the job as well.

like I said is people choice, his money and his way.

guys, if you don't believe about my shop warranty you can actually pm those xbox 360 owners and ask them do I really give them a new machine a real 1 to 1 swap.

so don't said that a shop doesn't have a real warranty if you didn't check it out ok ? wink.gif

tot31
post Jun 12 2007, 04:34 PM

I DON'T GIVE A DAMN
2,451 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Jun 12 2007, 04:08 PM)
buy xbox 360, kena 3 rod, after repair come back as ps3?
Hahahah..if that is the case sure ppl berebut buy X360 from him. Let all the secrets kept with me, since he is really a nice guy.
rx330
post Jun 12 2007, 04:38 PM

11,811 posts

who is a nice guy? djinn is a good one, neber dealt with bernard thoguh
tot31
post Jun 12 2007, 05:07 PM

I DON'T GIVE A DAMN
2,451 posts

PrivateJohn
post Jun 12 2007, 10:57 PM

ODST m cry.
7,071 posts

QUOTE(tot31 @ Jun 12 2007, 03:50 PM)

How is 1 to 1 exchange for first 3 months, and sending back to SG for the rest of the months not consider warranty for country like Malaysia that resort to parallel import?

I believe it's the only shop doing this, and basically the sungei wang warranty are indeed BS.
tot31
post Jun 13 2007, 10:05 AM

I DON'T GIVE A DAMN
2,451 posts

For me warranty means you don't need to pay any single cent. So if a shop promise to give 1 yr warranty (not just 1 month or 3 months 1-1 exchange) means if anything happens to my machine and when I send it back to the shop, I as the consumer doen't has to pay anything. So whatever bullcrap reasons those shops are telling that I've to pay just to get my warranty, it's not a warranty.

My point here is if JB can sell cheap consoles than KL where I can save a few hundred bucks (after considering toll + fuel), I would go down there and buy from there. In fact if I go there with 2 other people and share all the expenses among 3 of us, it would be more cost saving. I don't give any damn about any warranty as I know all warranties from any shops are BS.
PrivateJohn
post Jun 15 2007, 02:54 AM

ODST m cry.
7,071 posts

When xb360 was first release, Microsoft only cover the xb360 warranty for 3 months. They only extend it to 1-year down the road because of high failure rate shakehead.gif

So, given the fact that Xbox360 isn't official in Malaysia. The only shop that do 1-1 exchange for first 3 months (yes, a new machine) is consider, warranty to me...at least. After that, you can choose to claim the warranty yourself or, take care of the postage fee. Once the postage fee is taken care of, your xb360 will be swap with SG offciail distributor. No Hassle.
Unlike most of the shop in Sungei wang which is irresponsible that sit your console in the shop for ages and you wouldn't know the status of your console.

Of course, it's people choice for going down to SG themselves but it isn't everyone favourite option. (time consuming & not necessary cost saving) Otherwise, nobody will buy games in Malaysia anymore. Original PC games is like RM40 in Thailand & Original Xbox Games is so much cheaper in SG. Heck, why do we even bother getting electronics locally when there are alot of cheap bargain offers in SG? (unless you're JB lang...then more or less abit kiasu liaw)

Same goes to X-clamp solution - Either pay others to do it for you or do it yourself
DIY = Free
Pay others RM25? RM50? RM100? RM180? That's expensive too, but not everyone want to DIY. (charging RM100-RM180 however, is too much IMO for such little work & it's as expensive as claiming a new xb360)

At the end of the day, it's all about choices.

This post has been edited by PrivateJohn: Jun 15 2007, 03:16 AM
tot31
post Jun 15 2007, 11:10 AM

I DON'T GIVE A DAMN
2,451 posts

Warranty definitin taken from WIKIPEDIA http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Warranty

In commercial and consumer transactions, a warranty is an obligation that an article or service sold is as factually stated or legally implied by the seller, and that often provides for a specific remedy such as repair or replacement in the event the article or service fails to meet the warranty. A breach of warranty occurs when the promise is broken, i.e., a product is defective or not as should be expected by a reasonable buyer.

In business and legal transactions, a warranty is an assurance by one party to the other party that certain facts or conditions are true or will happen; the other party is permitted to rely on that assurance and seek some type of remedy if it is not true or followed.

If a shop promised to give 1 yr warranty, it means that within the warranty period if anything happens to the good/item, the consumer shouldn't pay any single cent to the shop to get his good/item to be repaired,exchanged etc.

It's good if a shop can give during the first 3 months of the warranty, a 1-1 exchange but when the period of that 1-1 exchange is over and the item is still covered within the 1 year warranty, that shop shouldn't ask for any extra payment wether it would be 1cent, 10cents, 50cents, RM1, Rm25, RM100 or RM250 for whatever crap reason. It should be FREE OF CHARGE. That's is a real WARRANTY should be.

We're talking about WARRANTY here not any other service. As for my X-Clamp service does not even relevant to the WARRANTY issue here. Since you've brought it up, those poor 3ROD victims out there has a choice wether to fork out RM250 to pay to get their dearly console to be repaired during that so called WARRANTY that have been given by the shop that've promised to them when they first bought it or get it quickly done with RM100 (I offered) without wasting anytime (trying to tinker what to do or wether the steps are right and risking the console to be totally useless). If they feel that they can DIY it themselves then it's up to them.

As for going to JB to get much cheaper price (the price difference is RM200-RM300) is not a waste of time (for me and the other of my friends). Wether you get it here in KL or JB or any other place, if any shop promise any warranty, I'll take it as a bull full of crap.

What I'm trying to say here is, all the shops here are not being honest on the warranty issue. All this while the consumers thought that when anything should happen to their consoles, they will just take it back to the shop to get it repaired with no extra cost but it's totally a different story when that day happens.

The problem here is the shoppers mostly are snot transparent enough about their so called 'warranties'. Usually there are always a catch behind cheap price, in this case, its expensive and NO CLEAR CUT WARRANTRY.. laugh.gif

Have you been to electronic shop that offer electrical goods, that for example a fridge that costs RM1k, comes in with 2 years of warranty, but the shooper informs the customer if he adds another RM100, the warranty extended to 5 years, any breakdowns, they will even go to your house and pick the fridge up, NO QUESTIONS ASKED. How about that for a warranty?

Unfortunately thats not happening here in Malaysia if you buy any console. Simple case, a console supposed to come with all authentic accessories, since when do we have to add another RM100 for a STANDARD ORIGINAL PACKED IN CONTROLLER? its like we are being raped anally without us realizing it.

Loyalty is one thing.Its a subjective matter. Loyalty and smart consumerism don't go side by side. If we are loyal, we cannot see any forgein cars on the road, only Protons. But thats not happening. I can understand you want to be loyal, your choice. But for me personally, loyalty don't pay the bills. I have to find the best bargain, thats LOGICAL and SENSIBLE. Winners? the consumers.

For the xclamp addition, you even know why those people charge that price? Have you witnessed the process using your two eyes? If you have not, then its useless for me to explain how hard and difficult the process is, and I personally aim for perfection. and I'll try my best not to let my customers down.Thats a testimonial thats speaks for itself. I know a lot of folks would want to pay me to do the thing, and play happily after that, without worriying will the shop cover the 3ROD thing ever again. Winners? the consumers.Again.

People want the best offer, but too lazy to walk around. Thats why people like POWEREDGE succeeds! biggrin.gif
PrivateJohn
post Jun 15 2007, 12:21 PM

ODST m cry.
7,071 posts

I thought you understand parallel import more than i do? If it's parallel import there is no official warranty.
I believe GH are being very clear with their unofficial warranty support, there was no hidden agenda or anything.
1. 1-1 exchange for first 3 months with no extra-charge (i don't know why you like to avoid the validity of this point)
2. postage fee for the rest of the months if necessary due to the fact we are in Malaysia with parallel import.
3. Xb360 swap with official SG distributor.
GH can do that because of the unofficial support from Microsoft & Distributor. That's why the Microsoft merchandise & freebies you get during the LAN event do not pop out of nowhere like magic.

The shop in Sungei Wang however, ya...mostly are VERY tricky. The warranty terms are very vague and you wouldn't even know will you ever get it back. (the difference lie on the distributor & support) Again, you can refer to most of the post in LYN.net about their experience with Sungei wang shop or others.

The problem here is the shoppers mostly are snot transparent enough about their so called 'warranties'. Usually there are always a catch behind cheap price, in this case, its expensive and NO CLEAR CUT WARRANTRY..

I think there is no need for me to speak out again about the difference of the business structure. (location & service) You were there at the consoul event, you should understand more than i do. There are no free lunch (not even the nasi lemak provided at the event). If you demand more insight on this, i would be glad to tell you about it. From a semi third person view tongue.gif You can't always compare the price of Coca-cola you get in 7-11 with the one sold in Tesco.

QUOTE(tot31 @ Jun 15 2007, 11:10 AM)
Loyalty is one thing.Its a subjective matter. Loyalty and smart consumerism don't go side by side. If we are loyal, we cannot see any forgein cars on the road, only Protons. But thats not happening. I can understand you want to be loyal, your choice. But for me personally, loyalty don't pay the bills. I have to find the best bargain, thats LOGICAL and SENSIBLE. Winners? the consumers.

For the xclamp addition, you even know why those people charge that price? Have you witnessed the process using your two eyes? If you have not, then its useless for me to explain how hard and difficult the process is, and I personally aim for perfection. and I'll try my best not to let my customers down.Thats a testimonial thats speaks for itself. I know a lot of folks would want to pay me to do the thing, and play happily after that, without worriying will the shop cover the 3ROD thing ever again. Winners? the consumers.Again.

People want the best offer, but too lazy to walk around. Thats why people like POWEREDGE succeeds!  biggrin.gif
Well, i guess i do not need to point out the obvious anymore because you are exactly in the same shoes as GH and giving the same explanation.(especially the bolded sentence since it contradicts your JB trip scenario) There are different price point of service available everywhere but everyone are looking for different service.(yes, included x-clamp repair) The testimonial there do speak for itself. wink.gif Have you witness the struggle of game shop in Malaysia that sells strictly ori only? If you haven't, you probably won't understand. The above are the relevancy i am trying to brige together all along. Loyal or not, it's a fact. Starbucks or Kopitiam? Buy locally or import? It's all about different choices cater for different consumer.

What you say about most of the Sungei wang shop might be true (i wouldn't say all, some are honest) but trying to paint GH being tricky with the warranty issues, well...it's consider defamation. It's just simply not true. I hope this will shed some light on your disatisfaction with GH wink.gif

This post has been edited by PrivateJohn: Jun 15 2007, 01:08 PM
tot31
post Jun 15 2007, 02:39 PM

I DON'T GIVE A DAMN
2,451 posts

I thought you understand parallel import more than i do? If it's parallel import there is no official warranty.
I believe GH are being very clear with their unofficial warranty support, there was no hidden agenda or anything.
1. 1-1 exchange for first 3 months with no extra-charge (i don't know why you like to avoid the validity of this point)
2. postage fee for the rest of the months if necessary due to the fact we are in Malaysia with parallel import.
3. Xb360 swap with official SG distributor.
GH can do that because of the unofficial support from Microsoft & Distributor. That's why the Microsoft merchandise you get during the LAN event do not pop out of nowhere like magic.

The shop in Sungei Wang however, ya...mostly are VERY tricky. The warranty terms are very vague and you wouldn't even know will you ever get it back. (the difference lie on the distributor & support) Again, you can refer to most of the post in LYN.net about their experience with Sungei wang shop or others.
I am not talking about any shops in particular. Thats why I don't write about Sg Wang or GH. For me, they are all the same, shops. The only difference is, some of the shops DO INFORM THE BUYERS on the limited 'warranty', meaning only free labor not spare parts bla bla bla.
What i am trying to stress is, in Malaysia, there is NO SUCH THING AS 100% Warranty in Malaysia for consoles. Period. GH's method is applaudable, but look at the pricing of its other items. check and balance. :wink.gif: singapore, indon, the fact is there, there is no such thing as official warranty in malaysia. period. simple solution, during purchase, the shopper must be transparent. 100%. no hiding the dust under the rug. As we both know, 360 is a ticking time bomb.

think i do not need to speak out again about the difference of the business structure. (location & service) You were there at the consoul event, you should understand more than i do. There are no free lunch (not even the nasi lemak provided at the event). If you demand more insight on this, i would be glad to tell you about it. From a semi third person view  You can't always compare the price of Coca-cola you get in 7-11 with the one sold in Tesco.
I am looking for cheaper alternatives. is that a crime? can't we suggest cheaper alternatives if we happen to come accross by them? i thought the community is about sharing the best deals etc. those stuffs i got during consoul 07, i PAID for them (everybody agreed lunch sucks only dinner on the last day can be considered acceptable) and the coke in 7-11 or tesco thing, simple, one is open 24/7 and one buys stocks in large amounts of quantity. different business structures right? what they have in similarity? Satisfaction. I can always go and replace my can of coke that i bought in midnite if i find its piss inside, rather than coke itself in 7-11, no questions asked, and same thing in tesco. not getting it in gaming world. if i, as a consumer, brought in my machine since the whole gutt is bending to oblivion, i do not need to switch it on in the shop, plug in everything bla bla bla. i should just tell the shopper, dude, my machine is fcuked, i wanna exchange. thats it. if the shop wants to check, they can check for themselves, no need to involve me. oh ya, thats the standard practice they have in the states. because they have OFFICIAL WARRANTY. here, nada, zilch.

Well, i guess i do not need to point out the obvious anymore because you are exactly in the same shoes as GH and giving the same explanation.(especially the bolded sentence) There are different price point of service available everywhere but everyone are looking for different service. The testimonial there do speak for itself.  That's the relevancy i am trying to brige together.
It's all about different choices cater for different consumer. What you say about most of the Sungei wang shop might be true (i wouldn't say all, some are honest) but trying to paint GH being tricky with the warranty issues, well...it's consider defamation. It's not true.

I think i know what GH did wrong - change the "line" to 3-months warranty + 9 months guarantee swap with official stock from SG distributor. (consumer will be responsible for the postage fee

what turns you on, doesn't mean it does the same for me. meaning, its apples and oranges. depends. whats hassle to you, may not be the same for me.

the point that i am streesing is, i want to share cheaper alternatives. as simple as that. anything wrong?or against forum rules? no need to bash somebody that found cheaper alternatives. consumers have the right to compare and comment. if the shop is good enough, he is not afraid by it. in fact, he would take all the comments as suggestions, not kill off the competition. last time i checked, this forum ain't sponsored by certain gaming shops.

PrivateJohn
post Jun 15 2007, 04:00 PM

ODST m cry.
7,071 posts

I don't know what is the so-called killing-off-the-competition you mention.

*Pasar Malam thread started by me & New Era SDN BHD used to be there but they stop bringing in Xbox games and thus, it was removed.

The last time i checked, i was just defending the complain made by people that is not true & based on their personal preference.
I see anything that benefits the community, i will support it. I see a shop that do 100% ori, i will support it more.
I see unfair complain, i standout and talk about it. What's so wrong about it? Lets not kid ourselves, you were directing at GH. I am not afraid to point out the obvious because a problem is a problem.

the point that i am streesing is, i want to share cheaper alternatives. as simple as that. anything wrong?or against forum rules? no need to bash somebody that found cheaper alternatives. consumers have the right to compare and comment. if the shop is good enough, he is not afraid by it. in fact, he would take all the comments as suggestions, not kill off the competition. last time i checked, this forum ain't sponsored by certain gaming shops.

I believe nobody bash anything until you start with this which was once brought up @ consoul thread by others. So...who started it? Now you know why it always end up a flame war when you post in xbox subforum? I believe i treated you fair & square the first time too at the guitar hero thread.

If some party trying to paint your shop as having "agenda", what will you do with that accusation? So i think it's not about GH afraid of criticism or comment, it has more to do with people having personal agenda doing damage or taking side.
Even myself as GH friend, i do complain to them from time to time because i am also a consumer myself.
So next time before you think it's others who always look for trouble, maybe it isn't so. Sometimes, the forum can be really peaceful if we don't bring up sensitive issues.

what turns you on, doesn't mean it does the same for me. meaning, its apples and oranges. depends. whats hassle to you, may not be the same for me.

That is true & that is exactly what i am saying. You do know that 70% of your point were indirectly supporting my point all along? Just like the explanation given by you regarding xclamp repair. You are in the same shoe as GH.

I am looking for cheaper alternatives. is that a crime? can't we suggest cheaper alternatives if we happen to come accross by them? i thought the community is about sharing the best deals etc. those stuffs i got during consoul 07, i PAID for them (everybody agreed lunch sucks only dinner on the last day can be considered acceptable) and the coke in 7-11 or tesco thing, simple, one is open 24/7 and one buys stocks in large amounts of quantity. different business structures right? what they have in similarity? Satisfaction. I can always go and replace my can of coke that i bought in midnite if i find its piss inside, rather than coke itself in 7-11, no questions asked, and same thing in tesco. not getting it in gaming world. if i, as a consumer, brought in my machine since the whole gutt is bending to oblivion, i do not need to switch it on in the shop, plug in everything bla bla bla. i should just tell the shopper, dude, my machine is fcuked, i wanna exchange. thats it. if the shop wants to check, they can check for themselves, no need to involve me. oh ya, thats the standard practice they have in the states. because they have OFFICIAL WARRANTY. here, nada, zilch.

Nope, you are not guilty & nobody said you are. Anyway this is quite funny (sorry, i really miss nasi lemak laugh.gif ), but are you arguing for the sake of arguing? Yes, of course everyone paid for that but have you yourself try to organize a LAN with lucky draw & prize to win like the one @ consoul? Maybe you should try once. I don't think the amount you paid during consoul is even enough to warrant a venue as big as consoul, let alone the lucky draw (prize as expensive as wireless wheel etc etc)

@bold sentence : Are you sure? Most of the shop, trading in console or games, claiming for warranty etc etc does involve checking. (at least that's the way in UK)
Since you bring up the official warranty in the states, well...did you notice you contradict yourself again. In the states, shop do Oris only. Still, the least they do check the console whether the warranty has been void. Given that you are extreme modders, i do not think the point you want to make is Malaysia market should go all-oris only? Modded console can't claim for warranty...

So, what's your disatisfaction with GH or possibly even me. You can surely bring it up other than the price point because you already understand why is the need for that price since you understand the 7-11 scenario. You know me, i am kepo, can't be 100% unbias (but trying to be rational) & all things xbox. If you think there is anything wrong on my part you can surely bring it up because i do take feedback seriously. icon_rolleyes.gif (first thing i did wrong is going OT here, so if you wish to you can post one more time here then the rest, you can resolve with me via PM or anyone related.)

If you do get my message, then hopefully we will leave it at that & proceed with more gaming talk. It's all about consumer choices & option available. Kopitiam or Starbucks. I like starbucks... tongue.gif

This post has been edited by PrivateJohn: Jun 15 2007, 04:04 PM
Mr. Alby
post Jun 15 2007, 04:08 PM

128 posts

I love the food during Consoul 2007... rclxms.gif
..but pedas gile wei.... sweat.gif
ghostdevice
post Jun 15 2007, 04:12 PM

53 posts

^^^ ko mane tahan gayers whistling.gif
michael9413
post Jun 15 2007, 04:23 PM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

pls la...
argue also no use la..
as long as they told the customer the consequences then it is ok..
but without telling them tat it is not a honest dealer... end of story liao...

This post has been edited by michael9413: Jun 15 2007, 04:23 PM
Mr. Alby
post Jun 15 2007, 04:34 PM

128 posts

QUOTE(ghostdevice @ Jun 15 2007, 04:12 PM)
^^^ ko mane tahan gayers whistling.gif
ko pun same je... tongue.gif

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0212sec    1.46    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 03:44 AM