Which digicam better? Pls Recommend., HELP needed from a newbie.

TSphantom88
post Apr 25 2007, 05:57 PM, updated 19y ago

65 posts

Wanted to buy a digicam. Budget RM1500. Camera for normal use, especially during travelling. Prefer to buy extra 1 battery and 2G memory for travel use.

Is there any significant effect by having image stabalizer for the camera?

Pls recommend me some good digicam, thanks. smile.gif
kjin
post Apr 25 2007, 08:26 PM

227 posts

QUOTE(phantom88 @ Apr 25 2007, 05:57 PM)
Wanted to buy a digicam. Budget RM1500. Camera for normal use, especially during travelling. Prefer to buy extra 1 battery and 2G memory for travel use.

Is there any significant effect by having image stabalizer for the camera?

Pls recommend me some good digicam, thanks. smile.gif
if you want a camera for travelling, i would recommend:

olympus u770sw
7.1 Megapixels
-10C Freezeproof
100kg Crushproof
RM1599

or

olympus u725sw
7.1 Megapixels
15ft Waterproof
5ft Shockproof
Digital Image Stabilization
RM1349

took these info directly from brochures. but i'll get a weatherproof camera if i'm going traveling. you won't know what's in store for you tongue.gif
SUSgogo2
post Apr 25 2007, 09:03 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(kjin @ Apr 25 2007, 08:26 PM)
if you want a camera for travelling, i would recommend:

olympus u770sw
7.1 Megapixels
-10C Freezeproof
100kg Crushproof
RM1599

or

olympus u725sw
7.1 Megapixels
15ft Waterproof
5ft Shockproof
Digital Image Stabilization
RM1349

took these info directly from brochures. but i'll get a weatherproof camera if i'm going traveling. you won't know what's in store for you tongue.gif
it seems like going to war instead of going to holiday. don't listen to you.

the best bet is Fuji F31fd. Else, just get everyone's getting. The Canon 850IS. whistling.gif
kjin
post Apr 25 2007, 09:40 PM

227 posts

QUOTE(gogo2 @ Apr 25 2007, 09:03 PM)

the best bet is Fuji F31fd. Else, just get everyone's getting. The Canon 850IS.  whistling.gif
hahah travelling mar.. must slim, light, durable brows.gif
TSphantom88
post Apr 26 2007, 02:40 PM

65 posts

Thanks. I did consider Olympus725sw before. Slim is actually under my consideration, but point and shoot cam seem better than those slim type woh.

Added on April 26, 2007, 2:42 pm

the best bet is Fuji F31fd. Else, just get everyone's getting. The Canon 850IS.  whistling.gif
Canon850IS is also under my consideration, how is the size of it? can fit into a pocket?

This post has been edited by phantom88: Apr 26 2007, 02:42 PM
Gadget_Freak
post Apr 26 2007, 02:56 PM

414 posts

Nikon P5000
mememe12
post Apr 26 2007, 03:09 PM

Nikon + MBP i7 :)
2,849 posts

ahaha.. yeah.. Nikon P5000... tongue.gif

FUji - F31fd
Canon - 850IS
Olympus, Sony - dunno why.. just dont like it.. heard Olympus is not so durable...
beehawk
post Apr 26 2007, 03:12 PM

Miutiful
1,281 posts

would suggest the 770 sw also...seems improved from the previous 2 model also...
rest all, no point getting also ler...
mem u need to get extra also...memory....2 gb is ok la...

but those image stabilising thinggie is just a fake....try turn off the flash and snap..see what thing u get.....a shaky picture....hehe
wink.gif
aik457
post Apr 26 2007, 07:26 PM

181 posts

if i would like to choose between ixus 70 sony T-100, T-20 and fujifilm F31 which 1 is the most recommended?

and i heard that F31 performed best in high iso setting izit ture?
ac98
post Apr 26 2007, 07:53 PM

The Spirit of Photography
3,758 posts

QUOTE(beehawk @ Apr 26 2007, 03:12 PM)
but those image stabilising thinggie is just a fake....try turn off the flash and snap..see what thing u get.....a shaky picture....hehe
wink.gif
Canon's IS, Nikon's VR and Panasonic's Mega OIS are real optical stabilization mechanisms, dun mislead potential camera owners. I bet you can't hold a camera stable even in daytime ... you didn't mention day or night in your post.

whistling.gif
ac98
post Apr 26 2007, 07:56 PM

The Spirit of Photography
3,758 posts

Nothing's wrong with that ... if 'everyone else' has a Canon, it means it's a trustworthy brand and it's the best digicam money can buy nod.gif
TSphantom88
post Apr 26 2007, 10:38 PM

65 posts

thanks for all of your opinion, really considering canon850IS now. erm...how about the olympus mju760? anybody using it? how is it compare to ixus850IS ??
SUSgogo2
post Apr 27 2007, 12:59 AM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(ac98 @ Apr 26 2007, 07:56 PM)
Nothing's wrong with that ... if 'everyone else' has a Canon, it means it's a trustworthy brand and it's the best digicam money can buy nod.gif
everyone jump to the sea to die. so are u following?

of course the best camera in town is Fuji F31fd. You can get a better camera next time. Get it before it disappear. Image Stabilizer is not needed if you got a good high ISO camera.

Added on April 27, 2007, 12:59 am
QUOTE(phantom88 @ Apr 26 2007, 10:38 PM)
thanks for all of your opinion, really considering canon850IS now. erm...how about the olympus mju760? anybody using it? how is it compare to ixus850IS ??
olympus is crap. better buy Canon 850IS

This post has been edited by gogo2: Apr 27 2007, 12:59 AM
goldfries
post Apr 27 2007, 01:10 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(ac98 @ Apr 26 2007, 07:56 PM)
i use the same analogy for Proton and you'll see a lot of flames coming. smile.gif
cvshi515
post Apr 27 2007, 01:40 AM

1,188 posts

QUOTE(gogo2 @ Apr 27 2007, 12:59 AM)
everyone jump to the sea to die. so are u following?

of course the best camera in town is Fuji F31fd. You can get a better camera next time. Get it  before it disappear. Image Stabilizer is not needed if you got a good high ISO camera.

Added on April 27, 2007, 12:59 am
olympus is crap. better buy Canon 850IS
Just curious, i read some forum saying that the Fuji F31fd was not a easy camera to be handle. It need some adjustment in order to get a nice photo... is that true? because i'm new in photography, so might not able to do the so call point and shot with it....

This post has been edited by cvshi515: Apr 27 2007, 01:41 AM
Gadget_Freak
post Apr 27 2007, 01:42 AM

414 posts

F31fd have quite a serious purple fringing problem, but it can be fixed thru PP
goldfries
post Apr 27 2007, 02:53 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(Gadget_Freak @ Apr 27 2007, 01:42 AM)
F31fd have quite a serious purple fringing problem, but it can be fixed thru PP
got any example photo of that? my Fuji S7000 has problems when capturing purple / pink scenes. i donno if that's what you call that problem.

QUOTE(gogo2 @ Apr 27 2007, 12:59 AM)
Image Stabilizer is not needed if you got a good high ISO camera.

i don't think you quite get the point of Image Stabilizer. there will be times where you still would want to use ISO 400 or whichever. it does help in taking clearer images for those with less steady hands.
TSphantom88
post Apr 27 2007, 03:36 AM

65 posts

any recommended place which is trustable to get my digicam?
greyPJ
post Apr 27 2007, 06:44 AM

artificially stupid
3,169 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Apr 27 2007, 02:53 AM)
got any example photo of that? my Fuji S7000 has problems when capturing purple / pink scenes. i donno if that's what you call that problem.
i don't think you quite get the point of Image Stabilizer. there will be times where you still would want to use ISO 400 or whichever. it does help in taking clearer images for those with less steady hands.
sample of purple fringing: (when the background is bright sky the border turn into purple)

http://www.dcresource.com/reviews/fuji/fin...ew/DSCF0064.JPG

this is ISO1600 on Fuji 1/4s handheld:

-if fuji has IS, at 1/4s SS IS certainly helps in this situation, but even without IS there is 50/50 chance to get a good shot.

-for canon, this shot is completely impossible, IS is totally useless in this situation.

goldfries
post Apr 27 2007, 06:49 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

yeah. if you want to get shots at low-light situation, high ISO is definitely more helpful than IS. smile.gif

0.0206sec    0.49    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 03:53 AM