QUOTE(Pete the great @ Dec 14 2017, 11:26 AM)
not sure if they working or not, heard from Sarawak friends that there been cases, some muslim there eat some stuff in public they not suppose to eat.
As clarification, there are many local ethnicity in Sarawak especially local native which they look like Muslim Malay but they are not. The local native are bumi too and they are not Muslim by religion (most of them are Christian or Catholic).People are friendly over there and most etnicity live well along with others.
U will see Muslim Malay, Native and Chinese eat and drink at the kopitiam that is not certified halal. Not that all non-halal kopitiam serve pork/lard but owner couldn't be bother to certify halal I guess..
QUOTE(Pete the great @ Dec 14 2017, 12:01 PM)
seem like in Sarawak, they are very lax about that.
that's why a lot of my Sarawakian friends tell me, that place is nice to live, don't get the kind of stuff we face in Peninsular.
I only been to Bintulu and Miri - but I can say, the place is just so different. All the races there so peaceful, they don't differentiate by haroom or not, even wedding, all races come to attend church, mosque, temple.
This is very true. People respect each other as an "individual" and their religion. Individual comes first because something happen most of the people saw it will come over and try to help irregardless of religion. that's why a lot of my Sarawakian friends tell me, that place is nice to live, don't get the kind of stuff we face in Peninsular.
I only been to Bintulu and Miri - but I can say, the place is just so different. All the races there so peaceful, they don't differentiate by haroom or not, even wedding, all races come to attend church, mosque, temple.
It is opposite in West Msia (not trying to generalised everyone, but most people), when something happen and surrounding people will start to see who is this person their race/ethnicity, and religion. A double standard treatment, stereotype and hypocrite. Again, not targeting everyone in West or a specific religion, but u can easily see in social media shared, and even newspapers stating headline with "..... four <some race> robbing someone house or goldsmith....."
It is always the extremist (all types of religion) that trying to show everyone that their religion is superior than others and becoming chain-effect to others and so..
Unusual of me to share view of sensitive topic, back to TS topic.
If religion is an issue, then try to understand and accept the religion as this is a long journey.
If parent is an issue, try to explain to them upfront and strategize your communication. What is their concerns and pin it down during your discussion with them. Old school parents are quite tricky to handle, so best to share are "need to know" basis, the more u share it will creates more question and confuse them. Less is more.
Lastly, I recommend to take a longer time digest because it involves your life time partner, not just anyone or religion.
Good luck TS.
QUOTE(alexanderltc @ Dec 14 2017, 11:34 AM)
+1 agree on this, especially all practitioner as pure as their religion
Dec 17 2017, 05:49 PM

0.0174sec