17 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Bottom

The Official iPhone X Discussion Thread | V3, Pick yours up now!

dikae
post Dec 2 2017, 01:04 PM

an apple a day
9,192 posts

QUOTE(kukur0 @ Dec 2 2017, 02:02 PM)
Yes. Everything on
Try to reinstall the app?
dikae
post Dec 2 2017, 01:46 PM

an apple a day
9,192 posts

QUOTE(kukur0 @ Dec 2 2017, 02:26 PM)
Yes. Whatapps voice can use. Only WeChat voice cannot use.
Strange reinstall app also don’t work..u gotta wait for someone here to rescue u then, if they use wechat on ipx...
dikae
post Dec 2 2017, 01:55 PM

an apple a day
9,192 posts

Where can I find the read up about each sensor and it’s function i.e what does the ambient light sensor do? What does the front microphone do? Dot projector?
dikae
post Dec 2 2017, 02:13 PM

an apple a day
9,192 posts

QUOTE(deepan84 @ Dec 2 2017, 03:03 PM)
Been checking out the x in shops past one week with the intention to buy it. First impression was wow but after few minutes of usage, it’s pretty underwhelming for the price. Sitting beside the Samsung S8, the X’s interface somehow looks dated. Screen also not so vibrant as compared to S8 unless set at maximum brightness.

For me personally, I would not pay more than RM4000 for the X. And now with the S8 at 2.5k, buying the X at almost 6k seems absurd.

However, it’s all down to personal choice. I’m due for a new phone as my 6Plus is pretty damaged. Most probably will go for S8 while waiting for the next version of X as the current version not really worth the price tag.

The only thing still making me hesitant is the need to learn a new OS (android) after years of using iOS (since iPhone 3G).
You may also consider the 8 plus, closest to your 6 plus imo smile.gif

dikae
post Dec 2 2017, 02:19 PM

an apple a day
9,192 posts

QUOTE(deepan84 @ Dec 2 2017, 03:15 PM)
Nah...my choice is either the X or S8. 8Plus looks too old school. The bezels are just too big for this gen phone.
How about the note 8 instead of s8? as the s9 will be out in a few months...smile.gif
dikae
post Dec 2 2017, 02:25 PM

an apple a day
9,192 posts

QUOTE(legalaid @ Dec 2 2017, 03:22 PM)
Yeah I’m finally an silver 256 owner, upgraded from i6. Love the size. Not too big. Find it heavier.

And strangely they stil use the same cable as i6 and ear phone. I tot a lot has been mentioning about the usb c or something like that.

I haven been following. Bought it just wanted an upgrade.
Nice! Enjoy your new toy, should be a huge upgrade from 6 to x smile.gif
dikae
post Dec 2 2017, 03:33 PM

an apple a day
9,192 posts

QUOTE(legalaid @ Dec 2 2017, 04:21 PM)
Not really la. Skipped i7 mah.
QUOTE(attw @ Dec 2 2017, 04:30 PM)
You also skipped the 6S, so it’s worth the upgrade smile.gif
Exactly what I meant...6 to 6s to 7 to x is a huge upgrade here smile.gif
dikae
post Dec 2 2017, 04:01 PM

an apple a day
9,192 posts

QUOTE(louis198920 @ Dec 2 2017, 04:46 PM)
You can read this released paper by Apple:
FaceID Security Paper

My own words (explanation below may not cover everything):
Infrared Camera - Captures infrared wavelength spectrum (normal camera captures visible spectrum wavelength, eg. colours that you can see)

Flood Illuminator - Imagine pointing a flashlight to your face, but this is infrared version, this works together with other sensors to calculate the depth map of your face, also how FaceID is able to work in the dark.

Dot Projector - Projects infrared dots to your face that helps to determine detailed features of your face (moustache, scars, etc..).

Proximity Sensor - How close/far away are you from the phone. The information is used by other apps as well.
Ambient Light Sensor - What is the current brightness of the surrounding. The information is used for TrueTone Display as well as FaceID. Previously was only used for Auto Brightness.

Microphone/Speaker/Front Camera is pretty self explanatory yea =)
Thanks...weird tho there's a microphone sensor next to the speaker, why would they need to put a microphone sensor there ? ohmy.gif
dikae
post Dec 2 2017, 04:36 PM

an apple a day
9,192 posts

QUOTE(Lynixx @ Dec 2 2017, 05:30 PM)
iOS 11.2 is available!!!
Wonder if it’s safe to update sweat.gif anyone updated to 11.2 so far?

This post has been edited by dikae: Dec 2 2017, 04:36 PM
dikae
post Dec 2 2017, 04:43 PM

an apple a day
9,192 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Dec 2 2017, 05:38 PM)
I wouldnt say the X or rather IOS UI looks dated. It has been like this since years ago with improvements coming in here and then. But I would agree that the display still feels not impressive especially when compared to vibrant displays like the S8/S8+/note 8 even with the new OLED screen. I have tried toying with the settings which include setting the colour filters, turning off true tone and even turning to maximum brightness but Im still not happy with the display. I am starting to suspect the tempered glass to be the cause of the phone turning brightness down but I have tried phones on display at resellers and found the displays are the same. 
Well turning to Android would be a more cost effective move but do bear in mind that you would have issues switching your data and apps over as some of them are not 'switchable over' especially app or games data.
Beats me too. For Rm5888, why cant they provide the USB-C adapter and USB-C cable rather than the same old adapter and lightning cable?
The screen on note 8 does looks impressive sweat.gif

dikae
post Dec 2 2017, 04:57 PM

an apple a day
9,192 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Dec 2 2017, 05:45 PM)
Try this, open the same page or picture on your X and compare with the Note 8 side by side.  sweat.gif
I actually did lol....but didn't have another phone to snap side by side..... the comparison was quite hum.... sweat.gif
dikae
post Dec 2 2017, 05:42 PM

an apple a day
9,192 posts

QUOTE(Lego Warfare @ Dec 2 2017, 06:40 PM)
That because Apple calibrated their display to display accurate colours. Samsung has over saturated and over contrasted colours, nothing impressive about that.
Agree, to me it's more for the screen size and infinity edge...laugh.gif
dikae
post Dec 2 2017, 06:05 PM

an apple a day
9,192 posts

QUOTE(legalaid @ Dec 2 2017, 06:56 PM)
Hope it’s not something out of topic.

I have successfully restored my x with iCloud info. But I can’t seem to get the photo from the album. Anyone could help?
Did u select (tick) photos in your iCloud?
dikae
post Dec 2 2017, 07:32 PM

an apple a day
9,192 posts

QUOTE(vez @ Dec 2 2017, 08:27 PM)
using ipx to snap? biggrin.gif
Yeap and no filter laugh.gif..it was a quick snap tho coz that sales guy doesn’t seem happy sweat.gif
dikae
post Dec 2 2017, 08:21 PM

an apple a day
9,192 posts

QUOTE(KingRyan @ Dec 2 2017, 08:46 PM)
Anyone know if the iPhone X is in stock at any blue cube outlets? Not the dealers but blue cube itself. Looking for space grey 64GB. Tried paradigm mall, they don't even carry iPhone X...
QUOTE(meltan @ Dec 2 2017, 08:59 PM)
Strange. Think one forummer got it from Paradigm.
QUOTE(KingRyan @ Dec 2 2017, 09:01 PM)
They don't even have iPhones on display..
Yes earlier someone said paradigm blue cube has stock...did you try to ask them? Maybe their display kena curi or removed etc? sweat.gif

dikae
post Dec 2 2017, 09:25 PM

an apple a day
9,192 posts

QUOTE(nas @ Dec 2 2017, 09:42 PM)
Which method do you guys prefer to charge your phone?

1 Normal 5W charger
2 iPad 12W charger
3 Wireless and fast wireless
4 Power bank
5 Battery case
6 Fast charger with Usb type C cable

Currently doing 1, 2 and 4. Tempted to try the wireless charging but a bit paranoid about the heat.
How can I check if my charger is 5W or 12W? Is it the adapter or cable?
dikae
post Dec 2 2017, 10:03 PM

an apple a day
9,192 posts

QUOTE(realitec @ Dec 2 2017, 10:57 PM)
If you are using charger comes with your iPhone, it is 5w.. It will take around 2 hours+ to fully charge your phone..
Yea I got a bunch of adapters I’m not sure how to check lol unless I’m gonna test on everyone sweat.gif I’m sure there’s a way to check 5W or 12W right?
dikae
post Dec 2 2017, 11:26 PM

an apple a day
9,192 posts

QUOTE(haziqk10 @ Dec 2 2017, 10:47 PM)
Look at your adapter. Should have info on it. 5W means 5V/1A while 12W means 5V/2.4A.
One of the adapter says 2.5A 250 V sweat.gif should be the one from Ipad (air 1)

This post has been edited by dikae: Dec 2 2017, 11:26 PM
dikae
post Dec 2 2017, 11:40 PM

an apple a day
9,192 posts

QUOTE(haziqk10 @ Dec 2 2017, 11:29 PM)
That should be the input. Look at the output.
Snapped the pic...it’s likr 3-4 years not sure if it’s safe to use on ipx laugh.gif

dikae
post Dec 3 2017, 12:57 AM

an apple a day
9,192 posts

QUOTE(haziqk10 @ Dec 3 2017, 12:13 AM)
Should still be doing 5V/2.4A which is 12W if it is an ipad charger.
Problem is that I’m not sure is this adapter coming from iPad or iPhone 6/s sweat.gif

17 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.1112sec    0.13    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 05:11 PM