4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Buying Advice Looking for Digital SLR, Recommendation?

goldfries
post Apr 23 2007, 11:14 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(Wonka @ Apr 23 2007, 08:41 PM)
If it's 3k for a new set, it would be high freaking end
no sir, RM 3k - 4k DSLR is still considered beginner category. the semi-pro / pro series would cost nearly a car just for the body alone.

QUOTE(manutd304 @ Apr 23 2007, 09:18 PM)
an SLR is definately better then a prosumer camera...

not necessarily so. i've highlighted it some where before but it's tedious for me to retype.

1. not everyone is into lens changing.

2. not everyone is into lugging lens around.

3. not everyone is into spending on lens.

my S7000 on it's own has better zoom than your DSLR kit lens and has better macro / super macro than your DSLR kit lens too. smile.gif

so for you or anyone to say DSLR is better, i'd say you'd better state your reasons. smile.gif
yewkhuay
post Apr 24 2007, 12:04 AM

I don't even belong here....
6,657 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Apr 23 2007, 11:14 PM)
no sir, RM 3k - 4k DSLR is still considered beginner category. the semi-pro / pro

my S7000 on it's own has better zoom than your DSLR kit lens and has better macro / super macro than your DSLR kit lens too. smile.gif

so for you or anyone to say DSLR is better, i'd say you'd better state your reasons. smile.gif
correct oso .... sweat.gif
bloodymax
post Apr 24 2007, 04:11 AM

40 posts

get 1 prosumer i think is more suitable for u
is true

TSWonka
post Apr 24 2007, 04:28 AM

U n k o ™
1,643 posts

Means i might use 0% easy payment to get that Nikon D40
I might search around for the best price there might be biggrin.gif
Thanks anyway tongue.gif
g88
post Apr 24 2007, 07:43 AM

1,631 posts

QUOTE(Wonka @ Apr 23 2007, 08:18 PM)
These are the specs im looking for,

* 8x optical zoom
* 2.5" LCD display
* 7 megapixel or higher
* Any brands

Well, the truth is, my budget is around RM1000-1300
Any recommendations of which i should take?
I know that my budget is a little low or what biggrin.gif
So, just give me some reviews about this matter
Thanks smile.gif
pls dun spoil DSLR market doh.gif ...Rm1-1.3K i think even 2nd hand 300D you also cannot get rclxub.gif ...maybe Pentax or Samsung u could...but again 7MP above hahah...no way since those only 6MP wink.gif
macg
post Apr 24 2007, 08:14 AM

20 posts

If you are new in photography, its better to start from point & shoot then slowly upgrade to prosumer. Only when you are ready to explore more and willing to spend on lenses then go into DSLR.

Looking at nice photos taken using DSLR might give you an illusion that you can do that too if you have the same camera but usually its not the case if you don't have that kind of experience. Well, this is just my opinion. smile.gif
shinchan^^
post Apr 24 2007, 08:33 AM

K66
21,256 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Apr 23 2007, 11:14 PM)
no sir, RM 3k - 4k DSLR is still considered beginner category. the semi-pro / pro series would cost nearly a car just for the body alone.
not necessarily so. i've highlighted it some where before but it's tedious for me to retype.

1. not everyone is into lens changing.

2. not everyone is into lugging lens around.

3. not everyone is into spending on lens.

.... y r u using a dlsr then?
simmytan
post Apr 24 2007, 08:52 AM

115 posts

yea i agree, where got 1300 for a DSLR? if got plz let me know cuz i am looking for one too

I would recommend you to go for second hand Canon D20, can get around RM 2500, (body + kit lens only)

miraged
post Apr 24 2007, 08:58 AM

405 posts

QUOTE(shinchan^^ @ Apr 24 2007, 08:33 AM)
brother he said "not everyone".
he also said his PNS camera better than some kit lenses.
ofc he's using that **-200mm (or was it 300 lens, goldfries?)

btw, if u wanna know about cameras, google first la. i mean, u ask qquestinos like how much is dslr, isit RM1000...use film or memory card... aiii...

here let me help
http://web.canon.jp/Imaging/enjoydslr/index.html

i'd apprecciate if u take the effort to read, as i took the effort to find that link.

goldfries
post Apr 24 2007, 10:37 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(shinchan^^ @ Apr 24 2007, 08:33 AM)
because i want to get certain thing out of the DSLR which my Fuji S7000 cannot produce. smile.gif

and i'm ok with lens changing, lugging lens around & spending on lens but there were many occasions that i wish i was with my prosumer or P&S. smile.gif

look at the standard DSLR, i want to shoot macro i have to change to macro lens or some other lens that supports macro. i want to zoom, i also have to change to zoom lens. smile.gif

if you're talking about overall wonders of photography results, the DSLR wins hands down on capable users but my post was highlighting on other issues like convenience and cost. smile.gif

QUOTE(simmytan @ Apr 24 2007, 08:52 AM)
yea i agree, where got 1300 for a DSLR? if got plz let me know cuz i am looking for one too

I would recommend you to go for second hand Canon D20, can get around RM 2500, (body + kit lens only)
D20?

QUOTE(miraged @ Apr 24 2007, 08:58 AM)
he also said his PNS camera better than some kit lenses.
was referring to prosumer. biggrin.gif S7000 is prosumer.

This post has been edited by goldfries: Apr 24 2007, 10:38 AM
miraged
post Apr 24 2007, 10:57 AM

405 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Apr 24 2007, 10:37 AM)

was referring to prosumer. biggrin.gif S7000 is prosumer.
sorry i wasn't clear on that :/
apologies.
Whos Your Daddy
post Apr 24 2007, 03:47 PM

173 posts

his budget is 1k-1.3k and he wants a big zoom range. How can you achieve that with dslr? a nikon D40 with 18-200 will cost you around 4-5k already. Better get a prosumer.
miraged
post Apr 24 2007, 04:58 PM

405 posts

word....

so i guess he can make conclusion now, righttttt?
nairud
post Apr 24 2007, 05:11 PM

One Leg Kick Ultra
7,529 posts

you're better off with a S3 IS , 12x zoom. within your budget range... looks like a "dslr" but miniaturized
TSWonka
post Apr 24 2007, 06:20 PM

U n k o ™
1,643 posts

Guess your all correct.
I dont see much difference in dslr and prosumer cams.
Thanks anyway

edited: 1 more little stupid question, what's the difference between prosumer and dslr?
blush.gif

This post has been edited by Wonka: Apr 24 2007, 06:41 PM
aichiban
post Apr 24 2007, 06:51 PM

pot yia thee keh tai lang!!
1,994 posts

QUOTE(Wonka @ Apr 24 2007, 06:20 PM)
Guess your all correct.
Thanks anyway

edited: 1 more little stupid question, what's the difference between prosumer and dslr?
blush.gif
if u dont see much difference in dslr and prosumer cams,
get a 850IS, ngam ur requirement also
still can customize aperture n shutter speed

if still cant see the difference, then any camera will do, really
porkchop
post Apr 24 2007, 06:52 PM

Lalala Life's Sweet
6,633 posts

if ur still new just get prosumer first.........it takes a long way to learn to use a dSLR.....

neoardi
post Apr 24 2007, 07:58 PM

Membanteras Pembenci
645 posts

QUOTE(Wonka @ Apr 24 2007, 06:20 PM)
Guess your all correct.
Thanks anyway

blush.gif
To answer ur question,
the main different between prosumer and dslr camera is, the dslr can change its lenses, but prosumer cannot.
But the differ between prosumer and consumer camera is, the prosumer one hv more manual options (e.g. manual focus, manual apeture etc.) than normal consumer dgicam.

This post has been edited by neoardi: Apr 24 2007, 07:59 PM
TeOtq
post Apr 24 2007, 08:08 PM

839 posts

hm..so for prosumer camera,wat the model u guy recommand?
i saw nikon p5000 quite good, and many forumer tell me about fuji f31d..
miraged
post Apr 24 2007, 08:18 PM

405 posts

wchi model to recommend?

http://www.dpreview.com/news/0702/07022006_nikonp5000.asp
http://www.dpreview.com/news/0602/06022111canons3is.asp
http://www.dpreview.com/news/0609/06091405_canon_g7.asp

check these cameras out. fuji f31d is not a prosumer. ermmmm.. well... in that case 850IS i also not prosumer...

aiyah... bro... these 5 cameras.. go out try urself first then come back as us.

i can telll you 850IS looks nice, sleek enough, and takes good pictures
f31d (fuji) looks slightly, only slightly bulky but takes BETTER pictures
as for the powershots, i have no idea.
as for the p5000 i also have no idea.

someone said on top, if u cannot see difference btween prosumer and slr, stick with prosumer (coz cheaper). if u a lot of cash (or don't mind forking out more money, go for d40 or 350D.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0154sec    1.23    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 10:03 AM