23 Pages « < 18 19 20 21 22 > » Bottom

solid wood for your home renovation, using Balau sawn timber to look perfect!

ryancfs
post Jul 4 2020, 08:45 PM

77 posts

QUOTE(PowerPC @ Jun 27 2020, 06:37 PM)
Hi, good day smile.gif mixed hardwood in Malaysia has many names, like red wood, tembusu, sawit , pama, and lot of name. Their character are all light and multiple colour.
Hi PowerPC, again thanks for the reply. So these mixed hardwood are cheaper than those "highend" hardwood right? What price range should I be expecting for mixed hardwood?
TSPowerPC
post Jul 5 2020, 10:05 AM

269 posts

QUOTE(ryancfs @ Jul 4 2020, 08:45 PM)
Hi PowerPC, again thanks for the reply. So these mixed hardwood are cheaper than those "highend" hardwood right? What price range should I be expecting for mixed hardwood?
You are most welcome biggrin.gif

Usually, it will be about 40 to 50% cheaper than premiun hardwood, depend on the dimension you looking (custom size or common size), the length you request will also effect the price range biggrin.gif
ryancfs
post Jul 12 2020, 06:56 PM

77 posts

QUOTE(PowerPC @ Jul 5 2020, 10:05 AM)
You are most welcome biggrin.gif
Usually, it will be about 40 to 50% cheaper than premiun hardwood, depend on the dimension you looking (custom size or common size), the length you request will also effect the price range biggrin.gif
Thanks bro!!
TSPowerPC
post Jul 12 2020, 07:09 PM

269 posts

QUOTE(ryancfs @ Jul 12 2020, 06:56 PM)
Thanks bro!!
You are most welcome ~
chamelion
post Jul 23 2020, 08:25 AM

Back to Bricking
2,755 posts

Hi, wood hobbist here.

Anyone have idea what is the name of this wood. It is heavier and harder than common pallet wood.

Thank you.

chayjeong
post Oct 21 2020, 10:41 AM

294 posts

anyone have contact for white oak staircase supplier?
digbick
post Mar 12 2021, 11:01 AM

54 posts

Hi, is balau suitable for kitchen worktop?
SUSceo684
post Mar 12 2021, 12:31 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(digbick @ Mar 12 2021, 11:01 AM)
Single slab would be expensive. Joining several pieces as per
will require all of them to be S4S and planed down to the same height.
Getting someone to plane hardwood like balau MAY be a challenge.
bigred
post Mar 12 2021, 01:02 PM

210 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Mar 12 2021, 12:31 PM)
Single slab would be expensive. Joining several pieces as per
will require all of them to be S4S and planed down to the same height.
Getting someone to plane hardwood like balau MAY be a challenge.
Yes, quite suitable. It's hardwood and durable vs water. Used for wood decking and used to built traditional boats.

Can join several pieces BUT make sure it is done right otherwise the places where it is joined might split or come up (warping due to poor joint).

It doesn't have much grain on the wood (unlike oak) hence won't be a conversation piece for the kitchen but durable and functional. Will look quite good if under proper lighting.
bigred
post Mar 12 2021, 01:05 PM

210 posts

<Deleted due to duplicate posting>

This post has been edited by bigred: Mar 12 2021, 03:10 PM
SUSceo684
post Mar 12 2021, 01:09 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(bigred @ Mar 12 2021, 01:05 PM)
Yes, quite suitable.  It's hardwood and durable vs water.  Used for wood decking and used to built traditional boats.

Can join several pieces BUT make sure it is done right otherwise the places where it is joined might split or come up (warping due to poor joint).

It doesn't have much grain on the wood (unlike oak) hence won't be a conversation piece for the kitchen but durable and functional.  Will look quite good if under proper lighting.
Yup agree on the "bulletproof" characteristics of balau. Very durable and no need to panic even if it got a little wet.
Angry Clerk
post Dec 20 2021, 11:21 PM

253 posts

Hi all sifus here, have you all heard of Surian Batu wood?

I found in Laz that one 6 feet as dining table. Considering
TSPowerPC
post Dec 21 2021, 10:15 PM

269 posts

QUOTE(Angry Clerk @ Dec 20 2021, 11:21 PM)
Hi all sifus here, have you all heard of Surian Batu wood?

I found in Laz that one 6 feet as dining table. Considering
Hi my fren, is that a seller name SL Wood ? It is my cousin.

Surian Batu has rich texture, great for indoor biggrin.gif
ar188
post Dec 22 2021, 12:48 AM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(PowerPC @ Dec 21 2021, 10:15 PM)

Surian Batu has rich texture, great for indoor  biggrin.gif
hi bos long time no see.

ohh i tot the balau wood at online sales is you... biggrin.gif
ar188
post Dec 22 2021, 12:49 AM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(digbick @ Mar 12 2021, 11:01 AM)
balau too wide range of specis under shorea.. some are really difficult to keep straight even after s4s...
Angry Clerk
post Dec 22 2021, 07:44 AM

253 posts

QUOTE(PowerPC @ Dec 21 2021, 10:15 PM)

Surian Batu has rich texture, great for indoor  biggrin.gif
hahaha... yes, I checked with two sellers, he is one of them.

thinking to buy smaller piece as coffee table first, worry the colour not ngam with me.

I also worry they send me first level polish only, I need to DIY then habislah... 😂😂😂
TSPowerPC
post Dec 22 2021, 06:54 PM

269 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Dec 22 2021, 12:48 AM)
hi bos long time no see.

ohh i tot the balau wood at online sales is you... biggrin.gif
Hi boss, you are right, the Balau portion is mine, chengal and other species is my cousin biggrin.gif

Long time no hear from you, how are you doing now ?
TSPowerPC
post Dec 22 2021, 06:55 PM

269 posts

QUOTE(Angry Clerk @ Dec 22 2021, 07:44 AM)
hahaha... yes, I checked with two sellers, he is one of them.

thinking to buy smaller piece as coffee table first, worry the colour not ngam with me.

I also worry they send me first level polish only, I need to DIY then habislah... 😂😂😂
You wont be wrong if buying from him, the color will be change overtime since it is natural material.

The finishing level from them is nearly right to use, but still need some touch up to the finest detail, depend on your taste. rclxms.gif
Minolta
post Jan 2 2022, 10:37 AM

2,292 posts

Is Balau commonly used as batten for floors (for solid wood flooring)? Or normally no need hardwood for battens?
Pugface
post Jan 2 2022, 04:07 PM

522 posts

Hi boss. Got catalogue to browse for inspiration or not

23 Pages « < 18 19 20 21 22 > » Top

0.0370sec    0.29    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 01:27 PM