When you change your engine oil?, Every 5000KM/3 months or 10,000KM

TSSleeplessEyes
post Apr 23 2007, 09:14 AM, updated 19y ago

2,429 posts

I am driving an average car all these while, and all these while my car has been running on semi-synthetic oils and change around 8000KM-9000KM. I like semi-synthetic oils cause it can last up to 8000-9000KM before the engine feels rougher.

However last oil change (and now currently using) I used a mineral oil, to save cost.

So now I am deciding whether to

i) Use back mineral and change every 5,000KM, 4-5 months.
or
ii) Use semi and fully synthetic, more expensive, and change every yearly 10,000KM.

Need decisions....
Thanks guys.

This post has been edited by SleeplessEyes: Apr 26 2007, 04:06 PM
Dennos
post Apr 23 2007, 09:19 AM

2,736 posts

i change every 3k km using mobil cheap oil. Oil + filter + 1 battery water only RM38. Since itso cheap so i change it more often
blasturanus
post Apr 23 2007, 09:29 AM

458 posts

harlo,.

the very 1st time my dad passed down the car to me... i straight change to mobil 1 fully synthetic..used the oil for 10000 km.
after that i 'm a regular user of castrol magnatec ..changed the oil at 7k km/ 5months whichever comes 1st<---- ( change oil b4 the start of new sem and use the oil throughout the sem and the cycle repeats)
now i'm on castrol magnatec 10w30..planning to stick back to 40 weight oil next oil change..
Guenhwyvar
post Apr 23 2007, 10:04 AM

Might be on tilt. Might be, I don't care.
1,672 posts

Just follow the manufacturer's manual. smile.gif
cactuscch
post Apr 23 2007, 10:04 AM

747 posts

Actually this question has been bothering me.

The engine oil maintenance period of Myvi is 5000km or 3 months, whichever comes first. Since the distance between office and house is small, my mileage usually will reach only <2000km 3 months after the last service.

About a month ago I went to back Perodua service center to have my aircond checked and the counter staff found out that i've passed the 3-month service period (actually it's 3 months and 2 weeks). She strongly advised me to change the engine oil even though my mileage is just about 1500km (because of chinese new year I became a passenger, not a driver). I argued with her that it doesn't make sense because the engine oil is still 'clean' and the mileage was hardly near 5000km.

She couldn't give me any solid reason and at last she showed the 'maintenance book' to me and said '5000km or 3 months, whichever comes first is written in this book, we have to send this record to head office so that when you claim for warranty, they can make sure that your vehicle is properly maintained on schedule'. I kept arguing my point and I refused to change the engine oil until now.

Who is right, who is wrong? I believe many car owners have this kind of experience before.
ultrageek1
post Apr 23 2007, 10:16 AM

1,099 posts

Well, both of you are right, in your own way!

For the SC, well, there's that funny reason! And it depends on how strict they wanna be. Obviously it's difficult to follow the 3 months thingy due to work, etc commitments right?
For you, you are right when you said that you have only used so much. But try to follow the every 3 month rule tho (for warranty purposes). Even yours truly when i had my kancil, as most of the time @ LRT station, my problem was like yours. Although I didn't really want to change, at the end, warranty mattered more. After the warranty is over... smile.gif

For me, as i'm driving a FIAT, am on Selenia 20K, so i only change the engine oil once a year, as i'll hardly reach 20K or even 10K a year! But I DO change my oil filter regularly every 3 months or so...
The idiots @ Torino even though am using 20K will STILL tell you to come and change every 3 months! Dumb!!! But most will tell you, if you're on fully synth, you can stretch it BUT change your filter regularly...

Just my opinion.
justin_nys
post Apr 23 2007, 10:37 AM

1,192 posts

IMHO...if you use less..the oil in your engine works less. therefore dont need to change..Somemore it's only 3 months..not like 9 months ..

shinjite
post Apr 23 2007, 10:48 AM

�ŞħĬΩĵΐŦ��
19,321 posts

mine to avoid sludge and etc
Still change every 3 months...to me its the best way to take care
ryansxs
post Apr 23 2007, 10:59 AM

2,378 posts

If the engine is not that new, i guess it of to use mineral oil, and changing it every 5000km. Its not good just depending on months, because some people run more in a month, compare to others. Just stick to the millage will be better.
Kerry1136
post Apr 23 2007, 11:01 AM

One Decade Old
1,925 posts

For me I go semi-synthetic all the way...cuts costs too
shinjite
post Apr 23 2007, 11:03 AM

�ŞħĬΩĵΐŦ��
19,321 posts

QUOTE(ryansxs @ Apr 23 2007, 10:59 AM)
If the engine is not that new, i guess it of to use mineral oil, and changing it every 5000km. Its not good just depending on months, because some people run more in a month, compare to others. Just stick to the millage will be better.
They run more than a month because they are sticking to the 5K rule and neglect the 3 month rule at the same time:)

Best is still 5K or 3 months whichever comes first. But if one feels that he/she needs to follow the mileage rule, its up to them, its their car biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by shinjite: Apr 23 2007, 11:05 AM
gkl83
post Apr 23 2007, 12:41 PM

8,377 posts

QUOTE(Guenhwyvar @ Apr 23 2007, 10:04 AM)
Just follow the manufacturer's manual.  smile.gif

manual book said 3months or 5000km + use their recommended "ciplak" engine oil...

perhaps we use the better engine oil will longer lasting and more mileage?
any1 can verify ?
hian
post Apr 23 2007, 12:55 PM

418 posts

For me, semi-synthetic for every 7-10k. If wanna fuel saving, best way is to drive it slow, and don't floor the gas often. biggrin.gif

My underpowered-Gen2 needs around 450-500 bucks of fuel every month, while my old piece of turbo junk consumes only around 300+...and they both use the same motor oil. shakehead.gif

StratOS
post Apr 23 2007, 01:09 PM

Berries~ Mmmm~
20,901 posts

I use Fully Synthetic oil & change at 10,000KM.. used my c200(w202) model for almost 12 years.. my dad passed it to me last year and changed the oil every 10,000km..
daddyVW
post Apr 23 2007, 01:18 PM

997 posts

Fully Synthetic oil & change at 10,000KM (thats about 3 month time).
gkl83
post Apr 23 2007, 01:27 PM

8,377 posts

QUOTE(daddyVW @ Apr 23 2007, 01:18 PM)

3months drive 10000km? sweat.gif
ltw82
post Apr 23 2007, 02:12 PM

1,166 posts

happy.gif
using semi-synt, change every 5000km run even after 3months time... so i follow the meter, not the months...
n305er
post Apr 23 2007, 02:27 PM

Please Save the trees!
4,427 posts

For those who follow the meter only, be aware that Semi Synthetic or mineral based oils have shell life.

Like food, after they are used, they slowly degrade naturally or degrade faster with more usage.
SUSFlizzardo
post Apr 23 2007, 02:54 PM

Troll
1,093 posts

Fully syntentic is the way
sleepwalker
post Apr 23 2007, 03:01 PM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

Fully synthetic and every 5000km.. funny thing is that I always do 5000km in 3 months.. just the right timing..
ltw82
post Apr 23 2007, 03:20 PM

1,166 posts

QUOTE(cactuscch @ Apr 23 2007, 10:04 AM)

Who is right, who is wrong? I believe many car owners have this kind of experience before.
there's no right or wrong in the 1st place... she is juz doing her job...
cool2.gif
i went for 2nd service after 4 months+2weeks usage, clock at 5020km... so far they dint give me any silly question for coming late, they juz ask my millage how much? have u reach 5k or 6k already?
haha~~~

hmm.gif
oni semi-syn or mineral will degrade...?
full-syn with will not degrade...? even after 8000km millage used until 10000km...?
jimmy1977
post Apr 23 2007, 03:28 PM

~ I Love My Number ~
3,638 posts

My Hyndai Getz Use RM 88++ Engine Oil & Change At Ever 5,000KM , All Service Around RM 150 , May I Know , RM 88++ Is Nice Engine Oil Bo ?

This post has been edited by jimmy1977: Apr 23 2007, 03:40 PM
StratOS
post Apr 23 2007, 03:31 PM

Berries~ Mmmm~
20,901 posts

QUOTE(daddyVW @ Apr 23 2007, 01:18 PM)
3 months ar.. walau er.. u drag racer or wut.. laugh.gif mine drive almost a year then 10k km..

rm 170 per bottle for shell helix brand..
TSSleeplessEyes
post Apr 23 2007, 03:42 PM

2,429 posts

QUOTE(jimmy1977 @ Apr 23 2007, 03:28 PM)
My Hyndai Getz Use RM 88++ Engine Oil  & Change At Ever 5,000KM , All Service Around RM 150 , May I Know , RM 88++ Is Nice Engine Oil Bo ?
This question is very subjective if you only state the price.

At this price, you maybe getting a semi-synthetic, but unknown viscosity and unknown brand.

You have to check with your SC what brand and what oil are they using.
But from what I heard from a friend of mine who is owning a Atoz, they are using Shell as their supplied oils.
jimmy1977
post Apr 23 2007, 03:51 PM

~ I Love My Number ~
3,638 posts

QUOTE(SleeplessEyes @ Apr 23 2007, 03:42 PM)
This question is very subjective if you only state the price.

At this price, you maybe getting a semi-synthetic, but unknown viscosity and unknown brand.

You have to check with your SC what brand and what oil are they using.
But from what I heard from a friend of mine who is owning a Atoz, they are using Shell as their supplied oils.
Is Castrol Engine Oil .

This post has been edited by jimmy1977: Apr 23 2007, 07:01 PM
scorgio
post Apr 23 2007, 06:10 PM

4,694 posts

I use primarily Castrol lubricant as I had contact to get it lower than retail.
If I pour in Synthetic, I changed at 10000km interval.
If Magnatec, 7000km interval (actually, engine still don't feel rough at 7000km).
If engine "makan minyak", use the cheapest mineral oil.

Note: Beware of some American brand lubricant which comes in 1 quartz bottle (0.945L). Their label would state 'synthetic blended'. The shop would also tell you that it's synthetic oil. But in fact, they are semi-syn only.
karmakid
post Apr 24 2007, 12:21 AM

2,598 posts

so far for my 3 years old kelisa, am using semi syn engine oil. Shell.
usually can last me up to 8k mileage before i change my engine oil and filter as well.

but i heard that those who's using petronas petrol, shuld try petronas engine oil, instead of shell.

any people use or compare it before?
hz428
post Apr 24 2007, 12:39 AM

1,056 posts

plz change every 3 month
egiewan
post Apr 24 2007, 01:04 AM

aL-|ncognito
6,777 posts

I change every 3 months. Using Mineral oil btw smile.gif Wanna switch to semi-syn soon nod.gif
scorgio
post Apr 24 2007, 01:57 AM

4,694 posts

QUOTE(karmakid @ Apr 24 2007, 12:21 AM)
any people use or compare it before?
Doesn't matter.

Ur petrol's not gonna mix & combust with the engine oil.

If yes = ur engine needs an overhaul.
jimmy1977
post Apr 24 2007, 03:34 PM

~ I Love My Number ~
3,638 posts

QUOTE(hz428 @ Apr 24 2007, 12:39 AM)
plz change every 3 month
Wah ! Every 3 Month ? If Just Drive 2000KM At 3 Month Also Wan To Change Mei ? That U Must Rich Man .
egiewan
post Apr 24 2007, 04:16 PM

aL-|ncognito
6,777 posts

QUOTE(jimmy1977 @ Apr 24 2007, 03:34 PM)
Wah ! Every 3 Month ? If Just Drive 2000KM At 3 Month Also Wan To Change Mei ? That U Must Rich Man .
Use mineral oil lor. Cheap wut smile.gif My service still free so hantam go and service the car every 3 months. Every 3 months@5000km ma which one comes first smile.gif
pillage2001
post Apr 24 2007, 04:18 PM

1,992 posts

The engine oil maintenance period of Myvi is 5000km or 3 months, whichever comes first. Since the distance between office and house is small, my mileage usually will reach only <2000km 3 months after the last service.

About a month ago I went to back Perodua service center to have my aircond checked and the counter staff found out that i've passed the 3-month service period (actually it's 3 months and 2 weeks). She strongly advised me to change the engine oil even though my mileage is just about 1500km (because of chinese new year I became a passenger, not a driver). I argued with her that it doesn't make sense because the engine oil is still 'clean' and the mileage was hardly near 5000km.

She couldn't give me any solid reason and at last she showed the 'maintenance book' to me and said '5000km or 3 months, whichever comes first is written in this book, we have to send this record to head office so that when you claim for warranty, they can make sure that your vehicle is properly maintained on schedule'. I kept arguing my point and I refused to change the engine oil until now.

Driving short distance would put more stress on the transmission and engine and typically, the engine oil last about 3 months before it degrades at a faster rate. If you don't use your car doesn't mean the engine oil will still be as good as the same day a you put it in. There's moisture in the air and cardon deposits that will degrade the oil over time and there's where you get sludge.
jimmy1977
post Apr 24 2007, 06:40 PM

~ I Love My Number ~
3,638 posts

QUOTE(egiewan @ Apr 24 2007, 04:16 PM)
Use mineral oil lor. Cheap wut smile.gif My service still free so hantam go and service the car every 3 months. Every 3 months@5000km ma which one comes first smile.gif
But My New Car But Change Nice Engine Oil , If Old Car , Just Use Normal Oil Can Lo !
TSSleeplessEyes
post Apr 24 2007, 06:48 PM

2,429 posts

QUOTE(jimmy1977 @ Apr 24 2007, 06:40 PM)
But My New Car But Change Nice Engine Oil , If Old Car , Just Use Normal Oil Can Lo !
I must beg to differ and throw a spanner on this one.
I myself is using oils such as Q8,Idemitsu,Mobil and ELF semi-synthetics in the past and all these while.

There is no hard and fast rule that old junks must only use normal oil.

I dont simply settle for any cheap, off-the-shelve oils found in either Carrefour or Giant.Even Petronas oils are off my list.
There is a noticeble difference between semis and minerals, and between brands.

I only to regret this time to try out minerals (and it's coming from Idemitsu!) for my 15yr old ride cause my engine feels rough at 5000KM.

Next oil change thinking whether to go for MOTUL or ADNOC semi-synthetic or Fully Synthetic. No more minerals.

This post has been edited by SleeplessEyes: Apr 24 2007, 06:52 PM
jimmy1977
post Apr 24 2007, 07:10 PM

~ I Love My Number ~
3,638 posts

QUOTE(SleeplessEyes @ Apr 24 2007, 06:48 PM)
I must beg to differ and throw a spanner on this one.
I myself is using oils such as Q8,Idemitsu,Mobil and ELF semi-synthetics in the past and all these while. 

There is no hard and fast rule that old junks must only use normal oil.

I dont simply settle for any cheap, off-the-shelve oils found in either Carrefour or Giant.Even Petronas oils are off my list.
There is a noticeble difference between semis and minerals, and between brands.

I only to regret  this time to try out minerals (and it's coming from Idemitsu!)  for my 15yr old ride cause my engine feels rough at 5000KM.

Next oil change thinking whether to go for MOTUL or ADNOC semi-synthetic or Fully Synthetic. No more minerals.
So What Brand Engine Oil U Use ? And What Brand Engine Oil Better And No Expensive ?
blackpc
post Apr 24 2007, 08:06 PM

The Slow & The Curious
2,377 posts

QUOTE(gkl83 @ Apr 23 2007, 01:27 PM)
3months drive 10000km?  sweat.gif
well, if u stay far from your workplace, that's what you will clock.

anyway, IMHO, old engines needs to be lubricated with better fully synthetic oil. It should not be the other way round... and please don't simply change your oil grade every oil change.. sweat.gif
shinjite
post Apr 24 2007, 08:54 PM

�ŞħĬΩĵΐŦ��
19,321 posts

I thought if your car is old, its best to use mineral as it provides better protection to the engine internals? For me, I am using fully synthetic in my Wira, as long no problems like leaking and etc, its fine smile.gif
SUSkockroach
post Apr 24 2007, 09:23 PM

Certified Noob
3,256 posts

My answer is ===> I use Mineral oil only & change at 5,000KM

Cant afford a synthetic oil... no money
micwin1437
post Apr 24 2007, 09:38 PM

1,197 posts

QUOTE(kockroach @ Apr 24 2007, 09:23 PM)
My answer is ===> I use Mineral oil only & change at 5,000KM

Cant afford a synthetic oil... no money
nothing wrong with that, in fact i already seen and scrap 1 to 2 mm harden sludge from lots of kia spectra and naza ria which follow the kia service center rule which is...use synthetic engine oil (petronas/caltex) change every 10000km, in the end the car owner need to do major overhaul for their engine after passing the 70000km mileage, after dismantling the engine all i can see is carbon sludge all over the internal engine wall.......now have seen more than 10 cars overhaul at that service center........good luck to those who uses synthetic oil for 10000km...prepare lots of money after your 7th cycle for you know what....MAJOR OVERHAUL.... biggrin.gif

zeist
post Apr 24 2007, 09:54 PM

Mivec 1800cc
15,182 posts

My engine makan the oil, so I have to change every 4,000km, using semi-synthetic.
Mclaren
post Apr 24 2007, 10:14 PM

206 posts

around 5000 or 6000...
using SHELL semi-synthetic.

micwin1437
post Apr 24 2007, 10:24 PM

1,197 posts

http://www.castrol.com/castrol/genericarti...ntentId=7018508

This engine condition inside the engine is similar( refer to the engine that is black in colour) to the kia engine that did major overhaul around 70000km. 10000km interval with fully synthetic engine oil.
shinjite
post Apr 25 2007, 12:16 AM

�ŞħĬΩĵΐŦ��
19,321 posts

Yup that is why regardless is what type of oil u use...best to change every 5k/3 months. Don't wanna let your engine to be sludge filled smile.gif
TSSleeplessEyes
post Apr 25 2007, 10:56 AM

2,429 posts

QUOTE(micwin1437 @ Apr 24 2007, 09:38 PM)
nothing wrong with that, in fact i already seen and scrap 1 to 2 mm harden sludge from lots of kia spectra and naza ria which follow the kia service center rule which is...use synthetic engine oil (petronas/caltex) change every 10000km, in the end the car owner need to do major overhaul for their engine after passing the 70000km mileage, after dismantling the engine all i can see is carbon sludge all over the internal engine wall.......now have seen more than 10 cars overhaul at that service center........good luck to those who uses synthetic oil for 10000km...prepare lots of money after your 7th cycle for you know what....MAJOR OVERHAUL.... biggrin.gif
Here's another article I want to contribute too.

Toyota Will Cover Sludge Problems

Read this part:
Toyota and Lexus owners manuals specify that the oil should be changed every 7,500 miles or every six months, whichever comes first. Under severe driving conditions, oil should be changed every 5,000 miles or four months

5,000 miles is 8046.7KM (8000KM)
7,500 miles is 12070.1KM (12000KM)

Thats quite a long mileage. But some says that it is because of their climate and driving situation that is different than Asian countries.

This post has been edited by SleeplessEyes: Apr 25 2007, 10:59 AM
micwin1437
post Apr 25 2007, 11:18 AM

1,197 posts

their climate have lower humidity(20% to 50%), while our humidity is around 80%, high humidity promotes sludge built up more rapid....smile.gif
TSSleeplessEyes
post Apr 25 2007, 02:45 PM

2,429 posts

QUOTE(jimmy1977 @ Apr 24 2007, 07:10 PM)
So What Brand Engine Oil U Use ? And What Brand Engine Oil Better And No Expensive ?
Current oil (for testing purposes): Honda/Idemitsu 10W30 mineral oil. RM 55/4L.
Results: Not a long lasting oil.

I'll answer you the one in blue.

Mobil Delvac 1640, SAE 40

Mobil Delvac 1600 series

RM 55 for 5 litres
thats 5 litres and check out the specs too.

Suitable for older cars up to 15 years of age, which asks for up to API SF grade, such as:

*Proton Wira 1.3 and 1.5 GLI (fuel injection models)
*Proton Iswara/Saga
*Perodua Kancil and Rusa

Please check your manual if your Hyundai Getz supports API SE and above.

This post has been edited by SleeplessEyes: Apr 25 2007, 02:51 PM
blue.taxi
post Apr 25 2007, 04:10 PM

251 posts

I use semi & fully synthetic oil change them every 3 - 4k kms, but of the time is semi. fully is damn expensive as my car need 5 L per oil change. If later add in oil cooler lagi more.

As I heard next month engine oil price will go up??.... susah...
stormchaser
post Apr 25 2007, 04:15 PM

love your neighbour, help serve society
594 posts

i change on every 7k, using perodua (petronas) semi-syn.. but usually it's before 3 months time..

This post has been edited by stormchaser: Apr 25 2007, 04:16 PM
gkl83
post Apr 25 2007, 04:24 PM

8,377 posts

QUOTE(blue.taxi @ Apr 25 2007, 04:10 PM)
I use semi & fully synthetic oil change them every 3 - 4k kms, but of the time is semi. fully is damn expensive as my car need 5 L per oil change. If later add in oil cooler lagi more.

As I heard next month engine oil price will go up??.... susah...

u driving performance car? 5L engine oil for ur engine... hmm.gif
jimmy1977
post Apr 25 2007, 05:27 PM

~ I Love My Number ~
3,638 posts

QUOTE(SleeplessEyes @ Apr 25 2007, 02:45 PM)
Current oil (for testing purposes): Honda/Idemitsu 10W30 mineral oil. RM 55/4L.
Results: Not a long lasting oil.

I'll answer you the one in blue.

Mobil Delvac 1640, SAE 40

Mobil Delvac 1600 series

RM 55 for 5 litres
thats 5 litres and check out the specs too.

Suitable for older cars up to 15 years of age, which asks for up to API SF grade, such as:

*Proton Wira 1.3 and 1.5 GLI (fuel injection models)
*Proton Iswara/Saga
*Perodua Kancil and Rusa

Please check your manual if your Hyundai Getz supports API SE and above.
nod.gif nod.gif O.......!
blue.taxi
post Apr 25 2007, 05:49 PM

251 posts

gkl83,
yeap, but it depend on ppl view. if drive it normal don't rev it kau kau.. can go to 5k kms. just to make sure the engine run in tip top condition. And some new cars is going for 15k kms oil change ie BMW & Audi. it all depend on the engine spec.,

For my another car (kelisa) is 3 months or 5k kms.

Oil hv used: Royal Purple 10w30 & 10w40, Delo 400 15w40 & Shell Hilex (Semi) 15w50. Castrol 10w60. For now is using the shell 15w50 semi, seem hv good feel in the track day, anyway will see if it can last untill 4 or 5 k kms.

This post has been edited by blue.taxi: Apr 25 2007, 05:52 PM
tcting
post Apr 25 2007, 08:45 PM

No more GTI
1,448 posts

Don't try to save on engine oil and later costs more on overhaul.

blue.taxi
post Apr 25 2007, 08:58 PM

251 posts

but I hv a friend he cliam (don't how ture) for his conti's car he change engine oil every 15K km w/ semi, then later go to mineral oiland the car still run good untill now is ~ 300k km??!! hmmm.. may he drive so slow never rev the car...

but for my jap car I still prefer the 3 - 5k kms range.
TSSleeplessEyes
post Apr 26 2007, 12:00 AM

2,429 posts

QUOTE(blue.taxi @ Apr 25 2007, 08:58 PM)
but I hv a friend he cliam (don't how ture) for his conti's car he change engine oil every 15K km w/ semi, then later go to mineral oiland the car still run good untill now is ~ 300k km??!! hmmm.. may he drive so slow never rev the car...

but for my jap car I still prefer the 3 - 5k kms range.
Do not underestimate Conti-engines, especially coming from VOLVO or Mercedez Benz.
They are built to last forever,like those classic Volvo 240GL.

Yes they are fuel guzzlers by famous, but their engines are rock solid, much more realiable than a Japanese engine.
micwin1437
post Apr 26 2007, 11:27 AM

1,197 posts

QUOTE(SleeplessEyes @ Apr 26 2007, 12:00 AM)
Do not underestimate Conti-engines, especially coming from VOLVO or Mercedez Benz.
They are built to last forever,like those classic Volvo 240GL.

Yes they are fuel guzzlers by famous, but their engines are rock solid, much more realiable than a Japanese engine.
yes you are right and the price for the engine parts are also very pricey compare with jap. engine..... biggrin.gif
blue.taxi
post Apr 26 2007, 03:56 PM

251 posts

but now for some new jap car like Toyota, Lexus & Honda will go for the 10k kms oil change. So I think there is no s sure oil change intervel for all cars.... it is more to the individual & the Enviroment Law of that countries. As used oil hv to recycle which cost money. As we can see most car for EU hv long oil change interval. Even the ATF is label as long life..??? which I don't so.
mensa
post Apr 27 2007, 12:38 AM

487 posts

mine change every 5k mileage with castrol magnatec
MR.Syxo
post Apr 27 2007, 12:42 AM

367 posts

i dont know bout that..i send the car when my father ask me to do so..LOL
shinjite
post Apr 27 2007, 12:49 AM

�ŞħĬΩĵΐŦ��
19,321 posts

QUOTE(MR.Syxo @ Apr 27 2007, 12:42 AM)
i dont know bout that..i send the car when my father ask me to do so..LOL
But its good to know so that next time you know how to take care of it smile.gif
cloudwan
post Apr 27 2007, 01:22 AM

- Knob -
8,525 posts

QUOTE(micwin1437 @ Apr 24 2007, 09:38 PM)
Hmmmm... I'm not really sure about this coz i change my engine oil every 10,000km or 4~5 months whichever comes 1st... My bro n me been doing this for quite sometime now... My bro car has already reach 120,000km in the span of 3 years n still haven't need to do any overhauling ler from the sludge thingy or whutever... My 1st car reach 100,000km milage too b4 i sold it n it never needed to overhaul b4... My current car is now at 40,000km n still ticking..

I think maybe it depends on the oil quality n how frequent u change type of lubricants during ur car lifetime... be mindful also that everytime u change ur engine oils not all of the dirt and grimes would come out with the dirty engine oils.. Some may still be in ur engine so it is not suprising to find sludge etc in ur engine..

My job involve with dealings in the petroleum sector n i had talked with a few engineers from oil company's like caltex n petronas n they all advise against the habit of frequent changing of oil brand/grade/type n such.. They say if u really wanted to change u should atleast use the same brand/type/grade for a while (maybe after 3 service periods) only after then u can try other brands/type/grade. No engine oils are made alike in terms of formula n such.. n u can't really see/feel any diff with just one time trial service using a specific brand/type/grade... Sometimes it takes a longer period to see the difference.. Maybe after 2-3 service period..
micwin1437
post Apr 27 2007, 09:07 AM

1,197 posts

QUOTE(cloudwan @ Apr 27 2007, 01:22 AM)
Hmmmm... I'm not really sure about this coz i change my engine oil every 10,000km or 4~5 months whichever comes 1st... My bro n me been doing this for quite sometime now... My bro car has already reach 120,000km in the span of 3 years n still haven't need to do any overhauling ler from the sludge thingy or whutever... My 1st car reach 100,000km milage too b4 i sold it n it never needed to overhaul b4... My current car is now at 40,000km n still ticking..

I think maybe it depends on the oil quality n how frequent u change type of lubricants during ur car lifetime... be mindful also that everytime u change ur engine oils not all of the dirt and grimes would come out with the dirty engine oils.. Some may still be in ur engine so it is not suprising to find sludge etc in ur engine..

My job involve with dealings in the petroleum sector n i had talked with a few engineers from oil company's like caltex n petronas n they all advise against the habit of frequent changing of oil brand/grade/type n such.. They say if u really wanted to change u should atleast use the same brand/type/grade for a while (maybe after 3 service periods) only after then u can try other brands/type/grade. No engine oils are made alike in terms of formula n such.. n u can't really see/feel any diff with just one time trial service using a specific brand/type/grade... Sometimes it takes a longer period to see the difference.. Maybe after 2-3 service period..
i know that your car you driving is still can drive but do you look inside the engine, even with sludge your car is still drivable mah.

btw those car i say are regular service at 10000km interval and either using fully synthetic oil from petronas or caltex.

the major issue here is that test done by major oil manufacturer on fully sythetic and the test show that this oil can last more than 10000km of use but you must know that they are doing the test in a control enviroment/lab that is stable temperature and humidity whereas we are driving in variable condition.

eone
post Apr 27 2007, 09:10 AM

Prime
2,678 posts

just followed the sticker
benzene88
post Apr 27 2007, 09:11 AM

Anonymity
2,384 posts

QUOTE(eone @ Apr 27 2007, 09:10 AM)
just followed the sticker
same here... when the time comes just leave it to the mechanic..
Nothing Better To Do
post Apr 27 2007, 09:39 AM

297 posts

full-syn every 5000 as prescribed by the manufacturer.
Dannyl
post Apr 27 2007, 10:21 AM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

QUOTE(micwin1437 @ Apr 27 2007, 09:07 AM)
i know that your car you driving is still can drive but do you look inside the engine, even with sludge your car is still drivable mah.

btw those car i say are regular service at 10000km interval and either using fully synthetic oil from petronas or caltex.

the major issue here is that test done by major oil manufacturer on fully sythetic and the test show that this oil can last more than 10000km of use but you must know that they are doing the test in a control enviroment/lab that is stable temperature and humidity whereas we are driving in variable condition.
Here's a thread from another forum which supports what micwin1437 said. Old thread but still very much applicable. Or maybe the threadstarter and micwin143 are the same person...?
http://www.autoworld.com.my/forum/allposts...%27nuff+said%3F
TSSleeplessEyes
post May 11 2007, 04:50 PM

2,429 posts

zNiPeR
post May 11 2007, 05:13 PM

307 posts

egiewan
post May 11 2007, 05:28 PM

aL-|ncognito
6,777 posts

zNiPeR
post May 11 2007, 05:39 PM

307 posts

QUOTE(egiewan @ May 11 2007, 05:28 PM)
Hey I'm using Idemitsu as well icon_rolleyes.gif I change every 3 months...coz when weekend breaks I will hantam the car abit. Somemore I often drive short trips only so the engine oil will get dirty easier smile.gif
hehe...u sure ar u hantam every weekend? brows.gif how about weeknights? tongue.gif
egiewan
post May 11 2007, 05:48 PM

aL-|ncognito
6,777 posts

SUSceo684
post May 11 2007, 06:18 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(ultrageek1 @ Apr 23 2007, 10:16 AM)

For the SC, well, there's that funny reason! And it depends on how strict they wanna be. Obviously it's difficult to follow the 3 months thingy due to work, etc commitments right?
For you, you are right when you said that you have only used so much. But try to follow the every 3 month rule tho (for warranty purposes). Even yours truly when i had my kancil, as most of the time @ LRT station, my problem was like yours. Although I didn't really want to change, at the end, warranty mattered more. After the warranty is over... smile.gif

For me, as i'm driving a FIAT, am on Selenia 20K, so i only change the engine oil once a year, as i'll hardly reach 20K or even 10K a year! But I DO change my oil filter regularly every 3 months or so...
The idiots @ Torino even though am using 20K will STILL tell you to come and change every 3 months! Dumb!!! But most will tell you, if you're on fully synth, you can stretch it BUT change your filter regularly...

Just my opinion.
Once activated/opened, a pack of fresh milk will go bad faster than expiry date whether u drink a sip or half the packet

Engine oil once activated it turns acidic over time, thats why u need to change every 3 months cos it starts to breakdown on exposure to heat etc
cheeann
post Jun 25 2007, 02:39 AM

I love my suggie~
9,799 posts

who wan 2 service their car's engine oil,oil filter or gear oil at ur own time without making appointment n wait long Q? jus give me a pm,ok?
KeV
post Jun 25 2007, 08:52 AM

www.kampar.net
6,758 posts

i just recently serviced my car in shell autoserv, due to unexpected breakdown from power steering pump.

i was using petronas fully syn, few services before it and decided to try this shell helix ultra on 30,000km

remarkably, i found out that, its much easier to accelerate and i could hit 180 km/h way faster than on petronas, guess engine oil does make a difference. i have better fc on the same journey, even though i hentam at 180, haha

good thing about shell autoserv is that, there's wifi while u wait and u can order food from nearby mamak stall and get it delivered to ur place, first class! plus the cleaniness of the place is appealing. the one i went to was the one located next to carrefour kepong, i hope that helps

This post has been edited by KeV: Jun 25 2007, 08:53 AM
kcng
post Jun 25 2007, 09:25 AM

~ Or@ng Giler ~
17,566 posts

QUOTE(KeV @ Jun 25 2007, 08:52 AM)
i just recently serviced my car in shell autoserv, due to unexpected breakdown from power steering pump.

i was using petronas fully syn, few services before it and decided to try this shell helix ultra on 30,000km

remarkably, i found out that, its much easier to accelerate and i could hit 180 km/h way faster than on petronas, guess engine oil does make a difference. i have better fc on the same journey, even though i hentam at 180, haha

good thing about shell autoserv is that, there's wifi while u wait and u can order food from nearby mamak stall and get it delivered to ur place, first class! plus the cleaniness of the place is appealing. the one i went to was the one located next to carrefour kepong, i hope that helps
where is that place?

been using petronas 800 and having my service done at every 10k......
and not having any issue with that.....
KeV
post Jun 25 2007, 09:40 AM

www.kampar.net
6,758 posts

theres lots of shell autoserv around klang valley. only the one, i went in kepong is my friend, next to carrefour but he's gonna quit and move on to a perodua service centre, hehe

rm218 includes lots of things

shell helix ultra oil change
tyre balancing
36 point car checkup
nitrogen tyres fill up
free car wash
free gift, tool kit box
free oil filter change

basically a good deal under this package biggrin.gif
kev da man
post Jun 25 2007, 09:46 AM

super lurker
15,278 posts

QUOTE(ultrageek1 @ Apr 23 2007, 10:16 AM)

Just my opinion.
oil degrades. that's why its a 5000km/3 months period. after 3 months the lube properties will slowly degrade, and might not be able to properly lube and cool the engine.
ericjeff
post Jun 25 2007, 11:23 AM

236 posts

mayb i driving an old car, doesn't change at shell autoserv. their service is good.

last time around there is a salesman selling a package of RM 25 with 8car wash, 36-point health check, nitro gas in my tyre.(if i'm not mistaken). everytime i drive my car to wash, they serve me very well. ask me about coffee also. haha ^^

but the packages seems a bit expensive for me, while i only use the Castrol around RM 60 for changing my engine oil, oil filter only cost me about RM 10. i change it after 5,000 km. but i will check the oil condition also. coz my dad said no need to wait 5,000km, sometimes engine oil wil become bad in use before the mileage.......depends actually.
shinjite
post Jun 25 2007, 01:34 PM

�ŞħĬΩĵΐŦ��
19,321 posts

mine every 3 months now or 5000km if I manage to cover it due to my tripmeter rosak
thom_chai
post Jun 25 2007, 01:39 PM

1,830 posts

QUOTE(shinjite @ Jun 25 2007, 01:34 PM)
mine every 3 months now or 5000km if I manage to cover it due to my tripmeter rosak
Go fix teh trip meter!!!

tongue.gif
wevilli
post Jun 25 2007, 01:43 PM

noob fella
867 posts

i change every 5000 Km... added oil treatment into the engine oil... reduce wear and tear... rclxm9.gif
yewkhuay
post Jun 25 2007, 04:02 PM

I don't even belong here....
6,657 posts

i m using semi-syn , changing every 8-9K mileage, save time coz i travel 4K+ KM every month...
briggs86
post Jun 25 2007, 11:21 PM

409 posts

i using semi syn, change it every 5k or every half year whatever which 1 come first ....
cheeann
post Jun 26 2007, 09:59 PM

I love my suggie~
9,799 posts

any local cars wan 2 do service at their car's engine oil+filter,spark plug n gear oil can find me 2 service rather than finding time 2 go workshop or sum even SC u need 2 do appointment n wait 2 do up ur car n waste all ur precious time on da worksop but only castrol available here at ur own free time/leisure time like during at working time or after working time from 8am-10pm from mon-fri while on sat n sun from 8am-1pm n i'll prefer around area like sri petaling,taman seputih,taman desa,happy garden,oug n certain part of cheras n pj area,so interested? if any1 of u interested can give me a call at 012-2792ll2 n i'll come 2 ur place 2 service u car n save all ur precious time
TSSleeplessEyes
post Jun 26 2007, 11:01 PM

2,429 posts

QUOTE(cheeann @ Jun 26 2007, 09:59 PM)
any local cars wan 2 do service at their car's engine oil+filter,spark plug n gear oil can find me 2 service rather than finding time 2 go workshop or sum even SC u need 2 do appointment n wait 2 do up ur car n waste all ur precious time on da worksop but only castrol available here at ur own free time/leisure time like during at working time or after working time from 8am-10pm from mon-fri while on sat n sun from 8am-1pm n i'll prefer around area like sri petaling,taman seputih,taman desa,happy garden,oug n certain part of cheras n pj area,so interested? if any1 of u interested can give me a call at 012-2792ll2 n i'll come 2 ur place 2 service u car n save all ur precious time
No "Sales threads outside the tradezone "!

This post has been edited by SleeplessEyes: Jun 26 2007, 11:02 PM
madguy88
post Jun 23 2015, 03:10 AM

822 posts

QUOTE(briggs86 @ Jun 26 2007, 12:21 AM)
i using semi syn, change it every 5k or every half year whatever which 1 come first ....
what ur engine oil brand n details .. ??

mine i plan to use shell hilex ultra for me next change

ayamxxx
post Jun 29 2015, 11:09 AM

4,057 posts

i am in saving mode.

I buy 5W40 Fully Synthetic Oil from Tesco, usually Total, Shell, Mobil 1 (less chance fake, plus RM149 after discount).

I am not Redline rev guys. so I used those oil up until 15k km before changing oil.

0.0673sec    0.37    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 12:51 AM