31 Pages « < 12 13 14 15 16 > » Bottom

Home Theatre HDMI CABLE, Cheap & expensive same quality?

honda6831
post Nov 9 2008, 01:49 AM

25 posts

QUOTE(rthj @ Nov 8 2008, 02:09 PM)
i am using 15 m of hdmi cable in a room the size of 3.5mx5m, receiver sitting in the middle of the 3.5m width wall and projector is installed on the opposite wall, half way down from the ceiling. 10 m wasnt enough...12 or 13 would but....the one up from 10 is 15m

bro,

how much for the 15m cable...

my friend was quoted RM1800++ for a 10M supra cable....

is this cable really cost so much $$$ ???

please advice any other choices...

cheers,

rthj
post Nov 10 2008, 02:00 AM

1,048 posts

my 15m is not branded stuff...it was about rm1200....supra being 1800 is not a surprise....still..can shop around, maybe?

Darkkopi
post Nov 10 2008, 07:05 AM

156 posts

10m.. 15m.. is too long for a HDMI cable without any signal booster especially if the cables are thin. The picture quality degraded.
rthj
post Nov 10 2008, 12:50 PM

1,048 posts

have you tested it before?
Darkkopi
post Nov 10 2008, 04:05 PM

156 posts

QUOTE(rthj @ Nov 10 2008, 12:50 PM)
have you tested it before?
Yes I have, it not only affects HDMI cables, VGA, audio cables etc are also affected, when it's too long, the signal degrades hence if you are going to use such long wires, you need a signal booster.
nadky
post Nov 10 2008, 04:19 PM

117 posts

QUOTE(Darkkopi @ Nov 10 2008, 04:05 PM)
Yes I have, it not only affects HDMI cables, VGA, audio cables etc are also affected, when it's too long, the signal degrades hence if you are going to use such long wires, you need a signal booster.
Yes, you need signal booster unless the HDMI you bought has guarantee from manufacturer (which they normal will mentioned the longest length before signal will be lost) that there'll be no signal lost for certain length. If you exceed that length then you need a booster.
Darkkopi
post Nov 10 2008, 04:25 PM

156 posts

QUOTE(nadky @ Nov 10 2008, 04:19 PM)
Yes, you need signal booster unless the HDMI you bought has guarantee from manufacturer (which they normal will mentioned the longest length before signal will be lost) that there'll be no signal lost for certain length. If you exceed that length then you need a booster.
and those HDMI cables which have quite a long length before any signal is loss is very thick and expensive tongue.gif
rthj
post Nov 10 2008, 04:28 PM

1,048 posts

in my setup, it seem there's no difference when i connect the 15m cable vs a 2m cable.....this was before the devices were in its current location.
sphiroth
post Nov 16 2008, 02:42 AM

2,804 posts

QUOTE(Darkkopi @ Nov 10 2008, 04:05 PM)
AFAIK, HDMI is digital signal (VGA and sound is analog). Therefore even if the signal degrade but still above the threshold level, it still will be interpreted correctly. hmm.gif
ronaldjoe
post Nov 17 2008, 01:29 PM

3,569 posts

QUOTE(sphiroth @ Nov 16 2008, 02:42 AM)
AFAIK, HDMI is digital signal (VGA and sound is analog). Therefore even if the signal degrade but still above the threshold level, it still will be interpreted correctly.  hmm.gif
AFAIK certain yahama speakers have monster cable as its internal circuits.
There is a reason for it ppl go for quality interconnects, where quality is demanded.
I dont see that it's a gimmick if the price is right. Certain stuffs in M'sia is just overpriced IMO.

Chapalang cable cant match the performance of quality cable. Good n bad & Price Vs performance.

sphiroth
post Nov 17 2008, 02:16 PM

2,804 posts

QUOTE(ronaldjoe @ Nov 17 2008, 01:29 PM)
AFAIK certain yahama speakers have monster cable as its internal circuits.
There is a reason for it ppl go for quality interconnects, where quality is demanded.
I dont see that it's a gimmick if the price is right. Certain stuffs in M'sia is just overpriced IMO.

Chapalang cable cant match the performance of quality cable. Good n bad & Price Vs performance.
Speaker will benefit from using good quality wires because its use analog signal whereas HDMI is digital signal (1 and 0 bit ony).
latias93
post Nov 17 2008, 11:29 PM

Peminat Setia Exists
1,270 posts

I got PS3 and need HDMI cable to reap full awesomeness.. bought a HDMI cable (short) for $15.90 Singaporean Dollars.. not bad.
ronaldjoe
post Nov 18 2008, 07:19 AM

3,569 posts

QUOTE(sphiroth @ Nov 17 2008, 02:16 PM)
Speaker will benefit from using good quality wires because its use analog signal whereas HDMI is digital signal (1 and 0 bit ony).
You have your point right too. icon_rolleyes.gif
May be it's physo, I see my M1000 come with better picture quality...
Colour is more vibrant like having the effect of switching on dynamic contrast. biggrin.gif
It's personal choice anyhow.
aerobowl
post Nov 18 2008, 08:36 AM

556 posts

i use 2 HDMI cables
1 is 2M panasonic provided cable (FOC with plasma)
1 is 1.5M carrefour made cable (RM22)

both work fine with my upscaling 1080 DVD and i happy with the PQ

HDMI is more like a PC/computer accessory to me, or i will think it is just a USB cable with alot more pins

ronaldjoe
post Nov 18 2008, 09:19 AM

3,569 posts

No very sure on DVD pq
I watch bluray nowadays...seems to be get addicted to it brows.gif
sphiroth
post Nov 18 2008, 11:53 AM

2,804 posts

QUOTE(ronaldjoe @ Nov 18 2008, 07:19 AM)
You have your point right too.  icon_rolleyes.gif
May be it's physo, I see my M1000 come with better picture quality... 
Colour is more vibrant like having the effect of switching on dynamic contrast.  biggrin.gif
It's personal choice anyhow.
As long as you happy, thats OK. thumbup.gif

Just like those 'fuel saver' thingy, some said it works although scientifically proven not. laugh.gif

QUOTE(ronaldjoe @ Nov 18 2008, 09:19 AM)
No very sure on DVD pq
I watch bluray nowadays...seems to be get addicted to it  brows.gif
Me too. But BD is very expensive ler.. sweat.gif
ronaldjoe
post Nov 18 2008, 02:33 PM

3,569 posts

QUOTE(sphiroth @ Nov 18 2008, 11:53 AM)
As long as you happy, thats OK.  thumbup.gif

Just like those 'fuel saver' thingy, some said it works although scientifically proven not.  laugh.gif
Me too. But BD is very expensive ler..  sweat.gif
Get BD fr overseas. Around RM40 to RM50 per title. brows.gif
TSpiscesguy
post Nov 18 2008, 02:34 PM

私の名前はりゅうです
3,965 posts

QUOTE(ronaldjoe @ Nov 18 2008, 02:33 PM)
Get BD fr overseas. Around RM40 to RM50 per title.  brows.gif
So cheap meh?? I thought Rm80++ ..
aiman04
post Nov 18 2008, 02:53 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

Where are you getting the BDs for RM40-50 bro? Care to share?
sphiroth
post Nov 18 2008, 04:10 PM

2,804 posts

QUOTE(aiman04 @ Nov 18 2008, 02:53 PM)
Where are you getting the BDs for RM40-50 bro? Care to share?
I also interested.. nod.gif

31 Pages « < 12 13 14 15 16 > » Top

0.0259sec    0.77    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 06:25 AM