post Apr 23 2007, 10:56 PM

1,179 posts

Come on man, he was laughing like he never laughed before laugh.gif

TSstefanong
post Apr 24 2007, 12:54 PM

322 posts

QUOTE(PetroToxin @ Apr 23 2007, 10:21 PM)
Well the funniest thing that happened was when I just started Bass and it happend around 3-4 years back.

So I got my bass + amp + tuner + method book rclxms.gif

I thought that its wise to tune my bass first
So I attached the tuner (which picks up vibration) on the headstock
and started tuning to the bass standard tuning which is EADG

But at that time I knew nuts about the tunings and stuff... All I know is EADG (From the TABs In the Method Book)

And guess what? I read the TABs Upside Down..  doh.gif

You guessed it,
I tuned the strings Upside Down (GDAE) thumbup.gif

The E and A strings survived the extreme high tension, But when it was till the D string, I remembered that when I achieved a near perfect G (Just a step more towards A) the string just gave way and just sprang out violently shocking.gif   

And worst still, I still did not realise my mistake and thought that I tuned it An Octave too high. So I tuned the E A and G string (D String snapped) down an octave sill in the wrong tuning (Still tuned upside down)

But there is no tension. rclxub.gif So I concluded that there is a problem with the bloody tuner. So I got my Rant Speech ready and marched back to the music shop the next day. vmad.gif

It all ended when I explained what happened to my current ex-teacher and he just blew out laughing his ass off (Literally)

Me < unsure.gif

And when he explained my mistake

I changed from  hmm.gif to oops.gif

And because I "Brightened" his day, He gave me a new pack of D'addario free of charge and told me not to mess with anything until I know enough.
The moral of this true story is : Only mess with stuff if you know what you are doing sweat.gif
WOW this is definitely a winning post lol...
asura_86
post Apr 24 2007, 05:06 PM

**blank**
1,217 posts

QUOTE(PetroToxin @ Apr 23 2007, 10:21 PM)
Well the funniest thing that happened was when I just started Bass and it happend around 3-4 years back.

So I got my bass + amp + tuner + method book rclxms.gif

I thought that its wise to tune my bass first
So I attached the tuner (which picks up vibration) on the headstock
and started tuning to the bass standard tuning which is EADG

But at that time I knew nuts about the tunings and stuff... All I know is EADG (From the TABs In the Method Book)

And guess what? I read the TABs Upside Down..  doh.gif

You guessed it,
I tuned the strings Upside Down (GDAE) thumbup.gif

The E and A strings survived the extreme high tension, But when it was till the D string, I remembered that when I achieved a near perfect G (Just a step more towards A) the string just gave way and just sprang out violently shocking.gif   

And worst still, I still did not realise my mistake and thought that I tuned it An Octave too high. So I tuned the E A and G string (D String snapped) down an octave sill in the wrong tuning (Still tuned upside down)

But there is no tension. rclxub.gif So I concluded that there is a problem with the bloody tuner. So I got my Rant Speech ready and marched back to the music shop the next day. vmad.gif

It all ended when I explained what happened to my current ex-teacher and he just blew out laughing his ass off (Literally)

Me < unsure.gif

And when he explained my mistake

I changed from  hmm.gif to oops.gif

And because I "Brightened" his day, He gave me a new pack of D'addario free of charge and told me not to mess with anything until I know enough.
The moral of this true story is : Only mess with stuff if you know what you are doing sweat.gif
ouch...the bass still ok? i mean after apply that much tension on the neck with upside down tuning... rclxub.gif
PetroToxin
post Apr 24 2007, 10:20 PM

1,179 posts

Still ok, thanks to the truss rod laugh.gif
blacktrix
post Apr 24 2007, 10:23 PM

Scott Pilgrim Vs The World!
13,063 posts

Damn.. I snapped my high E string on my Acoustic today.....
Freakin' whiplash left a nasty mark on my right hand....... Tuning it and then *SNAP*

Sigh...... need to re-string it anyway.....
TSstefanong
post Apr 25 2007, 03:48 PM

322 posts

QUOTE(blacktrix @ Apr 24 2007, 10:23 PM)
Damn.. I snapped my high E string on my Acoustic today.....
Freakin' whiplash left a nasty mark on my right hand....... Tuning it and then *SNAP*

Sigh...... need to re-string it anyway.....
With all the scars/injuries/potential critical injuries (string missing eyes and all), we guitarists still risk bodily injuries to produce music. We deserve a clap don't we...well at least for our masochism.
Bassix
post Apr 25 2007, 03:58 PM

-----
1,171 posts

that's why you have guitar techs and roadies.
blacktrix
post Apr 25 2007, 05:05 PM

Scott Pilgrim Vs The World!
13,063 posts

What? Roadies for the Clap? Eeeeeeeeeeeeewwww.
Sigh.... what happened to the good old days where it's a shot of penicillin and goodbye VD....
Nowadays, you get VD that just KILLS you.....

Ok Ok oK..... Back to topic:

Has anyone seen that stupid Remake of The Haunting? There's one scene where the girl is plucking a Harpiscord, and the string snapped hard into her eye. That's brutal....
jyunkin
post Apr 26 2007, 09:38 PM

348 posts

hi guys .. me electric guitar B string keep on getting rusty and i've clean in almost every morning when i want to play ..

something wrong ??

and how to efficiently prevent ur string getting rusty ?
i clean the string with dry clean cloth everytime i played it.
i keep it inside my gig bag as well ...

btw it's a stock sx string ^_____^
Equilibrium777
post Apr 26 2007, 10:59 PM

1,228 posts

ermm well. . . try fast frets. . . but anyway i suggest its time to change a new set of strings =D

maybe you shred solely on the B string ? xD
RustReaver4D1
post Apr 27 2007, 11:09 AM

1,100 posts

Yeah and fastfret supposedly will help prevent your strings from rusting... not sure how effective it is though.

Since you do clean your strings after playing, the problem could be humidity. Try sticking some silica gel in your gig bag. Then again, your hands may just be rust-inducing in which case, get a transplant.. jk jk... hehe tongue.gif

And EQ has a point about changing strings. Don't expect your strings to not rust for like 6 months or so... smile.gif

echobrainproject
post Apr 27 2007, 01:26 PM

4,765 posts

well the guitar tech at sinamex asked me to only put alil bit of selica gel. he says putting more than a bag can cause the bindings to come out or crack
SweetTooth
post Apr 27 2007, 01:37 PM

2,650 posts

try new strings like elixirs biggrin.gif
MetalZone
post Apr 27 2007, 02:22 PM

2,515 posts

QUOTE(RustReaver4D1 @ Apr 27 2007, 11:09 AM)
Then again, your hands may just be rust-inducing in which case, get a transplant.. jk jk... hehe  tongue.gif
Speaking of that, sweat is a killer of strings... there was a conference/camp where we had to practice without the aircond, imagine me and my drummer sweat like crazy... by the time the 4 day camp was over, my strings had changed colour and I had just changed them a day before the camp.
SweetTooth
post Apr 27 2007, 02:30 PM

2,650 posts

yeah i sweat a lot when i play. besides strings, my pick keeps slipping vmad.gif

This post has been edited by SweetTooth: Apr 27 2007, 02:30 PM
the_registered
post Apr 27 2007, 02:51 PM

I'm not crazy, but I'm registered
844 posts

QUOTE(echobrainproject @ Apr 27 2007, 01:26 PM)
well the guitar tech at sinamex asked me to only put alil bit of selica gel. he says putting more than a bag can cause the bindings to come out or crack
What bindings?
RustReaver4D1
post Apr 27 2007, 02:55 PM

1,100 posts

QUOTE(echobrainproject @ Apr 27 2007, 01:26 PM)
oh crap! I left a 8cm x 8cm bag of silica gel in my gig bag with my RR3 for the past 2 weeks! shocking.gif

MR.Syxo
post Apr 27 2007, 09:37 PM

367 posts

QUOTE(Equilibrium777 @ Apr 22 2007, 12:39 PM)
wow. . . until whack your bandmate. . . ganas wei. . .

scary to jam with you xD
not to ganas loo..slow2 only.. biggrin.gif

Added on April 27, 2007, 9:38 pm
QUOTE(Everdying @ Apr 22 2007, 02:22 PM)
and why was your gf sitting so close to your guitarist? and not beside your drumkit? tongue.gif
maybe becoz he is hensem than me??no laa..our jam room small only..my gf sitting near by me and inront the guitaris..LOL

This post has been edited by MR.Syxo: Apr 27 2007, 09:38 PM
PetroToxin
post Apr 27 2007, 10:46 PM

1,179 posts

QUOTE(RustReaver4D1 @ Apr 27 2007, 11:09 AM)
Yeah and fastfret supposedly will help prevent your strings from rusting... not sure how effective it is though.

Since you do clean your strings after playing, the problem could be humidity. Try sticking some silica gel in your gig bag. Then again, your hands may just be rust-inducing in which case, get a transplant.. jk jk... hehe  tongue.gif

And EQ has a point about changing strings. Don't expect your strings to not rust for like 6 months or so...  smile.gif
Fast Fret is okay if you can bear with the "Oily-ness"

I have a pack of silica gel in my case but the strings and even the screws at the bridge is still rusting away sad.gif
MetalZone
post Apr 27 2007, 11:05 PM

2,515 posts

QUOTE(PetroToxin @ Apr 27 2007, 10:46 PM)
Fast Fret is okay if you can bear with the "Oily-ness"
thats the thing I dont like... the oilyness...
surprisingly though the strings in my guitars rarely rust. They will gradually change colour from bright silver to grey over a period of over 1-2 months. But nothing serious. Do you guys really mean rust as in like, really rusty?
I have a silica gel pack in my GRX70's case, but not in my RG1570's case, and I don't actually see any difference.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0243sec    1.24    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 01:01 AM