Guitars Guitar String Stories, Accidents while playing or restringing

RustReaver4D1
post Apr 20 2007, 02:02 PM

1,100 posts

Aiyo, you guyz' stories damn ganas lah... Luckily I haven't had any serious mishaps with guitar strings. Come to think about it, I haven't had a string snap on me since a few years back... and even then it happened everything I tried to play the "Unforgiven" solo, at the part where there's a bend at 20th fret E-string. Suffice to say, I've stopped playing that solo.... and stopped bending too... hehe.. tongue.gif
RustReaver4D1
post Apr 27 2007, 11:09 AM

1,100 posts

Yeah and fastfret supposedly will help prevent your strings from rusting... not sure how effective it is though.

Since you do clean your strings after playing, the problem could be humidity. Try sticking some silica gel in your gig bag. Then again, your hands may just be rust-inducing in which case, get a transplant.. jk jk... hehe tongue.gif

And EQ has a point about changing strings. Don't expect your strings to not rust for like 6 months or so... smile.gif

RustReaver4D1
post Apr 27 2007, 02:55 PM

1,100 posts

QUOTE(echobrainproject @ Apr 27 2007, 01:26 PM)
well the guitar tech at sinamex asked me to only put alil bit of selica gel. he says putting more than a bag can cause the bindings to come out or crack
oh crap! I left a 8cm x 8cm bag of silica gel in my gig bag with my RR3 for the past 2 weeks! shocking.gif

0.0159sec    0.75    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 11:47 PM