Skip Degree, straight To MBA, good or bad?

good or bad?

As per your plan, yes go ahead [ 19 ] ** [54.29%]
As per your plan, no this is not the way [ 16 ] ** [45.71%]
Total Votes: 35
Guests cannot vote 

TSacepilot12
post Nov 6 2017, 01:54 PM, updated 9y ago

623 posts

I'm planning to skip my degree and continue with MBA

because i felt that degree is wasting my time.

I want to continue in business but with my current tourism course i can't do credit transfer which will then take me 3 years to finish my degree. 3 years is freaking a lot to me.

I have my own business and it continue to grow from time to time, with parent's expectation i will definitely need to continue my studies but i don't feel like giving my 3 years time to college because with 3 years i can grow my business internationally, at least and minimum in M'sia.

So I want to take a part time MBA in m'sia at least it's a master and parents also wont bising and at least i have a backup plan if my business fail in future, i'm still holding MBA.. at least boleh cari makan wont die

What do you think?
I really don't want to give up my 3 years full time as a student and I want to continue my business as an entrepreneur, I spent 5 years + to make things happen.. i won't give up my idea and my business no matter what
SUS2feidei
post Nov 6 2017, 01:56 PM

Ayam tatau, ayam virgin (c)
3,158 posts

Don't think you can go MBA without a basic degree, unless u got say 20 years of work experience
TSacepilot12
post Nov 6 2017, 02:10 PM

623 posts

QUOTE(2feidei @ Nov 6 2017, 01:56 PM)
Don't think you can go MBA without a basic degree, unless u got say 20 years of work experience
I have friends who take MBA.. i did some reseach on what MBA really do

so i look through all their things.. and i feel that MBA is really not that hard if we research properly..

the only thing that i'm concern is that if i continue my degree my 3 years will be gone just like that

i can't go back to those hostels life, taking LRT to college and literally a dead person.

i have things to do and i have things that need to be done, i cannot stop in my current situation..

MBA only 1 year +- no matter how hard it is.. it's only 1year

SheepGeeks
post Nov 6 2017, 02:33 PM

637 posts

MBA is to support your ability in management skills only. Getting a degree is to specialize and sharpen your skills toward the field you're heading to.

Problem is, if you do not have a specific skill and knowledge, how do you manage a business? or even get into a position to manage people and things, where you don't even know where you should start. Low rank job doesn't need MBA, FYI.

Never ever take a shortcut in your education, since your parent are supporting you, why not enjoy the coming 3 years and get a proper job. You have 30~40 more years of working life, why would you want to add 2 years more?
SUS2feidei
post Nov 6 2017, 02:34 PM

Ayam tatau, ayam virgin (c)
3,158 posts

QUOTE(acepilot12 @ Nov 6 2017, 02:10 PM)
I have friends who take MBA.. i did some reseach on what MBA really do

so i look through all their things.. and i feel that MBA is really not that hard if we research properly..

the only thing that i'm concern is that if i continue my degree my 3 years will be gone just like that

i can't go back to those hostels life, taking LRT to college and literally a dead person.

i have things to do and i have things that need to be done, i cannot stop in my current situation..

MBA only 1 year +- no matter how hard it is.. it's only 1year
If u can find any college or university can admit you without basic bachelor degree, then, good on u.

Next thing is to ask yourself, why or what do you want to achieve for this MBA? Just to satisfy your parents nagging? Or, you deeply want it yourself?
chamelion
post Nov 6 2017, 02:48 PM

Back to Bricking
2,755 posts

Without degree in specialise; MBA is nothing.
MBA just a paper cover very wide area but not deep.

Anyway your problem is not MBA or Degree; is your attitude to complete something, lack of persistent and will.

How could you finish a MBA if your cant finish your Degree?
joe_toye
post Nov 6 2017, 04:34 PM

1,249 posts

QUOTE(chamelion @ Nov 6 2017, 02:48 PM)
Without degree in specialise; MBA is nothing.
MBA just a paper cover very wide area but not deep.

Anyway your problem is not MBA or Degree; is your attitude to complete something, lack of persistent and will.

How could you finish a MBA if your cant finish your Degree?
Sorry - you are wrong.

You can actually do an MBA or Masters without a degree provided you meet the minimum years in terms of working experience in a related field.

Many Academics believe that the working experience is worth it's weight in Gold when it comes to MBA and that to get the most out of an MBA, you must first work instead of straight-away continuing from a degree programme.

How could you finish a MBA if your cant finish your Degree? - Are you trying to tell me that someone who has years of working experience and has even started a Multi-million dollar company CANNOT finish an MBA? Someone with a Diploma or even SPM? Do you even know your facts or are you just shooting off from your mouth without an inch of research to back your statement? This is pure bollocks! I can even tell you of people who skip Masters to do their PHD!

So anyway - the Education Framework works this way - the higher you go in Tertiary Education, the more focus your area is. That's why PHD programmes are so narrow into one particular research field. Let me illustrate it for you:

Imagine a circle that contains all of human knowledge. By the time you finish your secondary school and diploma you are a small dot in the middle of the circle. With a Degree you gain a speciality. A master's degree helps to deepen that speciality. Reading research papers takes you to the edge of human knowledge and after many years, you manage you make a dent on the outer circle - that is PHD. (hence the red tip touching the entire circle). So yeah the response where MBA just a paper cover very wide area but not deep is entirely WRONG!

Look here - http://matt.might.net/articles/phd-school-in-pictures/

The MBA is considered in many circles as a terminal professional degree which covers mostly the scientific approaches to management - or in most cases a specialised area of management.

joe_toye
post Nov 6 2017, 04:35 PM

1,249 posts

QUOTE(2feidei @ Nov 6 2017, 02:34 PM)
If u can find any college or university can admit you without basic bachelor degree, then, good on u.

Next thing is to ask yourself, why or what do you want to achieve for this MBA? Just to satisfy your parents nagging? Or, you deeply want it yourself?
There are some but not many here in Malaysia. Most of the MBAs that accept students without a degree are in the UK and US.

I do know of some public universities that allow for Masters even without a degree or diploma but based on the years of experience. And we are talking about actual Public Universities.
lamode
post Nov 6 2017, 07:55 PM

anything could happen!
3,904 posts

QUOTE(acepilot12 @ Nov 6 2017, 01:54 PM)

I want to continue in business but with my current tourism course i can't do credit transfer which will then take me 3 years to finish my degree. 3 years is freaking a lot to me.

I have my own business and it continue to grow from time to time, with parent's expectation i will definitely need to continue my studies but i don't feel like giving my 3 years time to college because with 3 years i can grow my business internationally, at least and minimum in M'sia.
So I want to take a part time MBA in m'sia at least it's a master and parents also wont bising and at least i have a backup plan if my business fail in future, i'm still holding MBA.. at least boleh cari makan wont die

What do you think?
I really don't want to give up my 3 years full time as a student and I want to continue my business as an entrepreneur, I spent 5 years + to make things happen.. i won't give up my idea and my business no matter what
Me and my course mate got Master of Science from Greenwich UK via Segi about 2 years back, and he entered the course without degree.
From what I was told is 3 - 5 years of working exp in relevant field is needed.
TSacepilot12
post Nov 7 2017, 08:04 PM

623 posts

QUOTE(joe_toye @ Nov 6 2017, 04:34 PM)
Sorry - you are wrong.

You can actually do an MBA or Masters without a degree provided you meet the minimum years in terms of working experience in a related field.

Many Academics believe that the working experience is worth it's weight in Gold when it comes to MBA and that to get the most out of an MBA, you must first work instead of straight-away continuing from a degree programme.

How could you finish a MBA if your cant finish your Degree? - Are you trying to tell me that someone who has years of working experience and has even started a Multi-million dollar company CANNOT finish an MBA? Someone with a Diploma or even SPM? Do you even know your facts or are you just shooting off from your mouth without an inch of research to back your statement? This is pure bollocks! I can even tell you of people who skip Masters to do their PHD!

So anyway - the Education Framework works this way - the higher you go in Tertiary Education, the more focus your area is. That's why PHD programmes are so narrow into one particular research field. Let me illustrate it for you:

Imagine a circle that contains all of human knowledge. By the time you finish your secondary school and diploma you are a small dot in the middle of the circle. With a Degree you gain a speciality. A master's degree helps to deepen that speciality. Reading research papers takes you to the edge of human knowledge and after many years, you manage you make a dent on the outer circle - that is PHD. (hence the red tip touching the entire circle). So yeah the response where MBA just a paper cover very wide area but not deep is entirely WRONG!

Look here - http://matt.might.net/articles/phd-school-in-pictures/

The MBA is considered in many circles as a terminal professional degree which covers mostly the scientific approaches to management - or in most cases a specialised area of management.
thank you for your information and guidance..
But can i know, if let's say i owned my business for 2 years now
and currently i'm only 20 years old. Turning 21 next year .
can i still do my degree? i have a friend who work as a counselor in uni/college but i'm not sure whether he is a good guidance or not

all i hope is i dont want to continue my degree because it will take awhile 3 years in my life. I can do so much more with those time.
On top of that, I can still have MBA cert to back me up just incase my business die within this few years.

At least i can come out cari makan ? what do you think? thanks
TSacepilot12
post Nov 7 2017, 08:07 PM

623 posts

QUOTE(lamode @ Nov 6 2017, 07:55 PM)
Me and my course mate got Master of Science from Greenwich UK via Segi about 2 years back, and he entered the course without degree.
From what I was told is 3 - 5 years of working exp in relevant field is needed.
good info,

what if i want to continue my MBA

and my experience is from my own business..

not sure if this works?
danielmckey
post Nov 7 2017, 08:10 PM

1,053 posts

MBA more harder to find work than a degree.
anggaPra
post Nov 7 2017, 08:12 PM

[nothing to put here]
990 posts

lol no need to have 20 years experience to take MBA without degree. You just need to have work experience 6 years and above, although it depends on the uni, some require less than 6 years. They will also take into consideration what job experience you had.
joe_toye
post Nov 9 2017, 11:53 AM

1,249 posts

QUOTE(acepilot12 @ Nov 7 2017, 08:04 PM)
thank you for your information and guidance..
But can i know, if let's say i owned my business for 2 years now
and currently i'm only 20 years old. Turning 21 next year .
can i still do my degree? i have a friend who work as a counselor in uni/college but i'm not sure whether he is a good guidance or not

all i hope is i dont want to continue my degree because it will take awhile 3 years in my life. I can do so much more with those time.
On top of that, I can still have MBA cert to back me up just incase my business die within this few years.

At least i can come out cari makan ? what do you think? thanks
In short - no!

You don't actually have enough experience in the field to skip to a MBA.

The reality is that some university will say yes that you can because all they want is your money. The sad part of tertiary education n Malaysia is that most institutions run education as a business. And they do NOT follow the strict guidelines given by both the Malaysian Qualifications Agency and the Ministry of Higher Education. Owning a business does NOT qualify as work experience actually unless the business is large enough to be considered. There is a size consideration as well of around >10 personnel and revenue.

My advice? Focus on building your business. If your business dies - then worry about that when you come to that. If i was a company, i won't hire you based on your MBA alone btw. I'll see your experience and attitude.
joe_toye
post Nov 9 2017, 11:54 AM

1,249 posts

QUOTE(anggaPra @ Nov 7 2017, 08:12 PM)
lol no need to have 20 years experience to take MBA without degree. You just need to have work experience 6 years and above, although it depends on the uni, some require less than 6 years. They will also take into consideration what job experience you had.
Actually as a rule of thumb - it's around 5-10 years depending on the sector and position.

You can check out the MQA APEL thing as a general guide.

http://www2.mqa.gov.my/APEL/
Drian
post Nov 11 2017, 09:24 PM

4,999 posts

No wonder mba is no longer prestigious, any tom dick and harry can get a mba.
Buyalotforgaming
post Nov 12 2017, 02:05 PM

503 posts

QUOTE(Drian @ Nov 11 2017, 09:24 PM)
No wonder mba is no longer prestigious, any tom dick and harry can get a mba.
You're like saying any Tom Dick and Harry can afford to own a car. But how many can own a car, say a Ferrari, costing millions? It's the same with an MBA. A lot of people can get it, but a first class MBA and a no-named one will be very, very different.
Buyalotforgaming
post Nov 12 2017, 02:12 PM

503 posts

What do you think?
If you feel your business has plenty of potential, and you believe you have the necessary know-how and expertise to run it, you don't need any sort of paper qualifications.

Having said that, even if you have an MBA, with no working experience in a field that you may apply to in the future, it will be difficult to get hired. Having a degree however, will be better in this scenario.
heavenly91
post Nov 12 2017, 02:14 PM

Follow One Course Until Successful.
1,717 posts

QUOTE(acepilot12 @ Nov 7 2017, 08:07 PM)
good info,

what if i want to continue my MBA

and my experience is from my own business..

not sure if this works?
Need evidence/proof that you had the said working experience
Protoculture
post Nov 21 2017, 10:33 PM

903 posts

What do you think?
Let's cut to the chase. If you're 30 years of age and above, with relevant work experience AND minimum academic qualification such as recognised Diploma OR STPM with 2 Principles OR A-Levels OR STAM (maqbul - passed) OR Matriculation with 2.0 CGPA, then you're eligible to enroll to Masters' degree through APEL Admission as set by MQA.

Generally APEL Centers as appointed by MQA are any Open University Malaysia OR Wawasan Open University learning centers all over Malaysia.

APEL admission will required your to pass Aptitude Tests and also Porfolio requirement. Refer MQA for further details.
joe_toye
post Nov 22 2017, 02:17 PM

1,249 posts

QUOTE(Protoculture @ Nov 21 2017, 10:33 PM)
Let's cut to the chase. If you're 30 years of age and above, with relevant work experience AND minimum academic qualification such as recognised Diploma OR STPM with 2 Principles OR A-Levels OR STAM (maqbul - passed) OR Matriculation with 2.0 CGPA, then you're eligible to enroll to Masters' degree through APEL Admission as set by MQA.

Generally APEL Centers as appointed by MQA are any Open University Malaysia OR Wawasan Open University learning centers all over Malaysia.

APEL admission will required your to pass Aptitude Tests and also Porfolio requirement. Refer MQA for further details.
Sorry to correct you. APEL allows the students entry to ANY university. It's just an approval/validation letter from MQA that allows the university to accept the applicant.

OUM, Wawasan, AEU and all are the few Higher Educational Institutions that are allowed by MOHE/MQA to offer open and distance-learning modes in Malaysia.
Protoculture
post Nov 22 2017, 07:06 PM

903 posts

QUOTE(joe_toye @ Nov 22 2017, 02:17 PM)
Sorry to correct you. APEL allows the students entry to ANY university. It's just an approval/validation letter from MQA that allows the university to accept the applicant.

OUM, Wawasan, AEU and all are the few Higher Educational Institutions that are allowed by MOHE/MQA to offer open and distance-learning modes in Malaysia.
You're mistaken .... Never did in my previous statement ever referred APEL is strictly for WOU and OUM. I only stated that,

We're talking about APEL Centers whereby APEL applicants must take their APEL Admission Test and submitted their APEL Portfolio. OUM / WOU Learning Centers are appointed by MQA to be APEL Centers.

This post has been edited by Protoculture: Nov 22 2017, 07:06 PM
joe_toye
post Nov 23 2017, 10:14 AM

1,249 posts

QUOTE(Protoculture @ Nov 22 2017, 07:06 PM)
You're mistaken .... Never did in my previous statement ever referred APEL is strictly for WOU and OUM. I only stated that,
We're talking about APEL Centers whereby APEL applicants must take their APEL Admission Test and submitted their APEL Portfolio. OUM / WOU Learning Centers are appointed by MQA to be APEL Centers.
Ah. Sorry - I still am confused of the difference between APEL and APEL©. The pilot centres are like you mentioned OUM and WOU but also included UiTM and INTI.

But APEL© are test centres to enter directly into the degree programmes which are being offered by those 4 institutes, right? If an applicant wants to use his prior experience to join another institution besides the four listed, he has to apply directly to MQA and MQA assesses him? I have seen the APEL process but it never went through the external institutions. Sorry - would like to know more about this. The MQA officer i deal with didn't actually explain much about APEL ©
Protoculture
post Nov 23 2017, 10:40 AM

903 posts

QUOTE(joe_toye @ Nov 23 2017, 10:14 AM)
Ah. Sorry - I still am confused of the difference between APEL and APEL©. The pilot centres are like you mentioned OUM and WOU but also included UiTM and INTI.

But APEL© are test centres to enter directly into the degree programmes which are being offered by those 4 institutes, right? If an applicant wants to use his prior experience to join another institution besides the four listed, he has to apply directly to MQA and MQA assesses him? I have seen the APEL process but it never went through the external institutions. Sorry - would like to know more about this. The MQA officer i deal with didn't actually explain much about APEL ©
Actually APEL Test Centers appointed by MQA are OUM and WOU. UiTM is only for specific courses. Please refer:

http://www2.mqa.gov.my/APEL/CheckDaftar.cfm
eligible
post Nov 25 2017, 02:08 PM

858 posts

there's no shortcut in life my friend. whatever you do, do it step by step. That's all I can say.
zstan
post Nov 27 2017, 08:11 AM

15,856 posts

You think MBA is easier than degree? How sure are you that you can pass the MBA without even graduating from a degree. Unless you go those degree mills then i no comment.
Protoculture
post Dec 6 2017, 12:47 AM

903 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Nov 27 2017, 08:11 AM)
You think MBA is easier than degree? How sure are you that you can pass the MBA without even graduating from a degree. Unless you go those degree mills then i no comment.
Those enrolling under APEL assessment do find taking Masters much harder as compared to those with basic degree background.

But never underestimated the street smarts.

They will strived two times more as compared to those with degrees, and likelier to be able to finish and achieve better grades as well.
Leon||
post Dec 6 2017, 12:10 PM

347 posts

I been having 8 years of working experience which relate to specialist technology skillset in the market with holding diploma, currently staying in MNC company with professional title.

In order to climb the corporate ladder, I plan to pursue my degree in open university and found this interesting thread.

In my current situation, it's advise to go with degree or straight to MBA? Hope to get some feedback here especially from HR perspective. smile.gif

This post has been edited by Leon||: Dec 6 2017, 12:13 PM
Buyalotforgaming
post Dec 7 2017, 10:52 PM

503 posts

QUOTE(Leon|| @ Dec 6 2017, 12:10 PM)
I been having 8 years of working experience which relate to specialist technology skillset in the market with holding diploma, currently staying in MNC company with professional title.

In order to climb the corporate ladder, I plan to pursue my degree in open university and found this interesting thread.

In my current situation, it's advise to go with degree or straight to MBA? Hope to get some feedback here especially from HR perspective.  smile.gif
Do you have people working under you? Some MBA programs that require this.

Having said that I would suggest doing the MBA since you already have 8 years of specialized knowledge. Not sure how much a Bachelor's would benefit you.
Leon||
post Dec 7 2017, 11:01 PM

347 posts

QUOTE(Buyalotforgaming @ Dec 7 2017, 10:52 PM)
Do you have people working under you? Some MBA programs that require this.

Having said that I would suggest doing the MBA since you already have 8 years of specialized knowledge. Not sure how much a Bachelor's would benefit you.
I do have people work under me.

Earlier this week I was planning to do degree in WOU, hope it would help in progress my career as well my paycheck in future.

Going to check and consider the MBA option as well.
Leon||
post Dec 8 2017, 11:18 AM

347 posts

It seems the requirements without a degree you must be age 30 and above, I might consider to process with degree if that's the case
Buyalotforgaming
post Dec 8 2017, 03:24 PM

503 posts

QUOTE(Leon|| @ Dec 8 2017, 11:18 AM)
It seems the requirements without a degree you must be age 30 and above, I might consider to process with degree if that's the case
What kind of schools are you looking at?
Leon||
post Dec 8 2017, 03:29 PM

347 posts

QUOTE(Buyalotforgaming @ Dec 8 2017, 03:24 PM)
What kind of schools are you looking at?
It will be online or minimal class, eyeing WOU for degree actually
Buyalotforgaming
post Dec 9 2017, 02:19 AM

503 posts

QUOTE(Leon|| @ Dec 8 2017, 03:29 PM)
It will be online or minimal class, eyeing WOU for degree actually
With 8 years of working experience I would think your age would be somewhere close to 30? I am unsure of how far the degree will really bring you. The MBA would be a lot more useful.
Leon||
post Dec 9 2017, 02:32 AM

347 posts

QUOTE(Buyalotforgaming @ Dec 9 2017, 02:19 AM)
With 8 years of working experience I would think your age would be somewhere close to 30? I am unsure of how far the degree will really bring you. The MBA would be a lot more useful.
3 more yrs to 30, started my career in very early stage with part time diploma

This post has been edited by Leon||: Dec 9 2017, 02:33 AM
matrix88
post Dec 9 2017, 02:33 AM

2,236 posts

TS only 20 years old and thinking to skip degree but straight to MBA, no foundation of education you will not be able to understand anything you study in MBA and will not be able to do your thesis and your projects.

Come on, don't dream and try to be smart by cutting corners! if this can be done, no one will need to continue with diploma or degree. and dont be a lazy bum for skipping your studies. You will be a good for nothing in future!
AnimeSinceForever
post Dec 9 2017, 03:24 AM

1,060 posts

Aren't many tycoons and business leaders in Malaysia without proper qualifications though?
Then they will say "Experience is more important than education"
and
"I didn't even finish secondary school, and I hire university graduates".

A Chinaman company boss I know ... is the CEO of a software development company ... and has never written a single line of code in his life ... and likes to brag "I write in DBase" (durr ... dbase is a database creation programme, not a programming language!)

QUOTE(matrix88 @ Dec 9 2017, 02:33 AM)
TS only 20 years old and thinking to skip degree but straight to MBA, no foundation of education you will not be able to understand anything you study in MBA and will not be able to do your thesis and your projects.

Come on, don't dream and try to be smart by cutting corners! if this can be done, no one will need to continue with diploma or degree. and dont be a lazy bum for skipping your studies. You will be a good for nothing in future!
Buyalotforgaming
post Dec 9 2017, 10:45 AM

503 posts

QUOTE(Leon|| @ Dec 9 2017, 02:32 AM)
3 more yrs to 30, started my career in very early stage with part time diploma
Are there any programs that would be based on number of years of work experience instead of age? Strange....but I am really not sure about this too.
matrix88
post Dec 10 2017, 01:08 PM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(AnimeSinceForever @ Dec 9 2017, 03:24 AM)
Aren't many tycoons and business leaders in Malaysia without proper qualifications though?
Then they will say "Experience is more important than education"
and
"I didn't even finish secondary school, and I hire university graduates".

A Chinaman company boss I know ... is the CEO of a software development company ... and has never written a single line of code in his life ... and likes to brag "I write in DBase" (durr ... dbase is a database creation programme, not a programming language!)
those were the days when education is not available, they made it the difficult way. TS only 20 years old thinking of cutting corners, I am sure this type of mentality is wrong and will not succeed!
TSacepilot12
post Dec 11 2017, 01:09 AM

623 posts

QUOTE(matrix88 @ Dec 10 2017, 01:08 PM)
those were the days when education is not available, they made it the difficult way. TS only 20 years old thinking of cutting corners, I am sure this type of mentality is wrong and will not succeed!
Thanks. I've been waiting for people like you to step on me and to be very sure that I will not succeed in future.

This post has been edited by acepilot12: Dec 11 2017, 01:11 AM
veron208
post Dec 11 2017, 05:15 PM

702 posts

Give TS a break .... only he can decides which is best for him.
Maybe the 3 years spent on growing his business outweighs his degree. If the opportunity is there, just go for it.

You can take a part time degree that is much more flexible if you want.
Orzie
post Dec 11 2017, 05:27 PM

335 posts

TS can consider taking part time degree.
I am in fact taking one from INTI KL, will finish my study by end of 2018.(Actually it is called full time evening degree course, 3 years)

You just need to spare around 2 to 3 hours per subject per day.
Sometimes in the weekend you will also need some time for your group assignment / tutorial / test etc.

Reason why I chose to attend actual degree course instead of online degree course is because you can do networking while studying with your classmates. biggrin.gif

0.0672sec    0.67    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 03:24 AM