Skip Degree, straight To MBA, good or bad?

good or bad?

As per your plan, yes go ahead [ 19 ] ** [54.29%]
As per your plan, no this is not the way [ 16 ] ** [45.71%]
Total Votes: 35
Guests cannot vote 

Buyalotforgaming
post Nov 12 2017, 02:05 PM

503 posts

QUOTE(Drian @ Nov 11 2017, 09:24 PM)
No wonder mba is no longer prestigious, any tom dick and harry can get a mba.
You're like saying any Tom Dick and Harry can afford to own a car. But how many can own a car, say a Ferrari, costing millions? It's the same with an MBA. A lot of people can get it, but a first class MBA and a no-named one will be very, very different.
Buyalotforgaming
post Nov 12 2017, 02:12 PM

503 posts

QUOTE(acepilot12 @ Nov 6 2017, 01:54 PM)
I'm planning to skip my degree and continue with MBA

because i felt that degree is wasting my time.

I want to continue in business but with my current tourism course i can't do credit transfer which will then take me 3 years to finish my degree. 3 years is freaking a lot to me.

I have my own business and it continue to grow from time to time, with parent's expectation i will definitely need to continue my studies but i don't feel like giving my 3 years time to college because with 3 years i can grow my business internationally, at least and minimum in M'sia.
So I want to take a part time MBA in m'sia at least it's a master and parents also wont bising and at least i have a backup plan if my business fail in future, i'm still holding MBA.. at least boleh cari makan wont die

What do you think?
I really don't want to give up my 3 years full time as a student and I want to continue my business as an entrepreneur, I spent 5 years + to make things happen.. i won't give up my idea and my business no matter what
If you feel your business has plenty of potential, and you believe you have the necessary know-how and expertise to run it, you don't need any sort of paper qualifications.

Having said that, even if you have an MBA, with no working experience in a field that you may apply to in the future, it will be difficult to get hired. Having a degree however, will be better in this scenario.
Buyalotforgaming
post Dec 7 2017, 10:52 PM

503 posts

QUOTE(Leon|| @ Dec 6 2017, 12:10 PM)
I been having 8 years of working experience which relate to specialist technology skillset in the market with holding diploma, currently staying in MNC company with professional title.

In order to climb the corporate ladder, I plan to pursue my degree in open university and found this interesting thread.

In my current situation, it's advise to go with degree or straight to MBA? Hope to get some feedback here especially from HR perspective.  smile.gif
Do you have people working under you? Some MBA programs that require this.

Having said that I would suggest doing the MBA since you already have 8 years of specialized knowledge. Not sure how much a Bachelor's would benefit you.
Buyalotforgaming
post Dec 8 2017, 03:24 PM

503 posts

QUOTE(Leon|| @ Dec 8 2017, 11:18 AM)
It seems the requirements without a degree you must be age 30 and above, I might consider to process with degree if that's the case
What kind of schools are you looking at?
Buyalotforgaming
post Dec 9 2017, 02:19 AM

503 posts

QUOTE(Leon|| @ Dec 8 2017, 03:29 PM)
It will be online or minimal class, eyeing WOU for degree actually
With 8 years of working experience I would think your age would be somewhere close to 30? I am unsure of how far the degree will really bring you. The MBA would be a lot more useful.
Buyalotforgaming
post Dec 9 2017, 10:45 AM

503 posts

QUOTE(Leon|| @ Dec 9 2017, 02:32 AM)
3 more yrs to 30, started my career in very early stage with part time diploma
Are there any programs that would be based on number of years of work experience instead of age? Strange....but I am really not sure about this too.

0.0462sec    0.44    8 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 07:09 AM