almostthere
post Apr 27 2007, 03:14 PM

Kepala abah ko
3,773 posts

QUOTE(sup3rfly @ Apr 27 2007, 02:53 PM)
hey E6600 3.2ghz shdnt be any problem la... dun worry.... i will give it a 3.2ghz @ 1.4v prime stable... good luck  biggrin.gif
wah you're doing 1.4v 3.2Ghz ka? Mine my E6400 can do 3.2Ghz but with 1.42VCORe and increased VTT and VNB
almostthere
post Apr 27 2007, 08:14 PM

Kepala abah ko
3,773 posts

QUOTE(sup3rfly @ Apr 27 2007, 04:27 PM)
nononono dun misunderstand... thats just a guess la...i m using E6700.... doin 3.2 @ 1.325 i think smile.gif
eh sifu still cant find the pic of where to measure the vcore ar?? if u know where to measure just take a pic and point it out lo ;P
we can find one..
Haven't lo...sad leh. Nevermind, when I'm back in KL, I'll get someone good at this to test and take pictures of it.
almostthere
post Apr 28 2007, 11:55 AM

Kepala abah ko
3,773 posts

QUOTE(coolice @ Apr 27 2007, 10:54 PM)
1066 strap,unlike asus and gigabyte they using 1600 strap IIRC to help in reaching higher fsb like 500,but 1600 bandwidth slower than 1066 strap

correct me if im wrong biggrin.gif
to be precise, here's a good article about NB straps. I linked this last time but seems the topic has sunk down somehwre already

http://thetechrepository.com/showthread.php?t=30

In other words, ths straps adjusts automatically for these boards and between ranges:

267 - 332Mhz = 1066Mhz

333 - 399Mhz = 1333Mhz

400 and above = 1600 Mhz

The only difference one sees between the 965 and 975 (which is the overclocking limiter for 975) is that a 1600Mhz strap exists. However, how the DFi works is yet to be known but I have a feeling chipset latency's have been relaxed somewhat at 1067Mhz strap so that it is able to OC higher without compromising too much the bandwidth

This post has been edited by almostthere: Apr 28 2007, 12:04 PM
almostthere
post Apr 28 2007, 12:06 PM

Kepala abah ko
3,773 posts

QUOTE(gmail @ Apr 28 2007, 11:56 AM)
my friend is coming back from the state next week, i ask him 2 bring back 1 pair of ram 4 me to use with this board.

currently i hav 2 choice in my mind:
2x1GB Gskill F2-6400PHU2-2GBHZ (DDR2-800)
2x1GB OCZ XTC Platinum Rev2 (DDR2-800)

the gskill 1 can clock quite well, in the review from vr-zone, not sure about the ocz, cant find any review in google.

so which set did u guys prefer?
I'd rather have the GSkill because at least it's been known to do upto 533Mhz FSB over at XS. The XTC Platinum rev. 2 seems a bit harder to clock since they bin those RAM's ngam-ngam nia
almostthere
post Apr 28 2007, 01:43 PM

Kepala abah ko
3,773 posts

QUOTE(irenic @ Apr 28 2007, 12:12 PM)
ocz ddr2 ram  is not so overclockable these days.. unlike those old days during ocz rev2 plat samsung tccd chip.. biggrin.gif
Or even the EL Gold PC3200, BH5 UTT goodness biggrin.gif
almostthere
post Apr 28 2007, 03:55 PM

Kepala abah ko
3,773 posts

Unless you can confirm the chip's the OCZ uses, I can't say much. For the time being, my pick would be Crucial's Ballitix's as at least they're Microns (Yeah Crucial is Micron's marketting arm)

This post has been edited by almostthere: Apr 28 2007, 03:55 PM
almostthere
post Apr 28 2007, 07:00 PM

Kepala abah ko
3,773 posts

QUOTE(Sanko @ Apr 28 2007, 04:16 PM)
there has been much talk going on in XS concerning with the balistix 8000/8500. 1st because of it's price 2nd it's on of the best DDR2 oc ram out there.

Not really, the best is the Cellschocks but OMFG, the price rclxub.gif sweat.gif
almostthere
post Apr 29 2007, 02:50 PM

Kepala abah ko
3,773 posts

Any reasonable explanation why? Due to plugging in the floppy molex or your house AC outlets stabilized already?
almostthere
post Apr 30 2007, 12:01 AM

Kepala abah ko
3,773 posts

If I were you guys, I'd wait for FCG to update his MBM5 plugin as that's quite reliable and accurate for general purpose. The only problem why I can't recommend one to use it now is because the core temp driver seems to cause the CPU usage to shoot up quite high

This post has been edited by almostthere: Apr 30 2007, 12:01 AM
almostthere
post Apr 30 2007, 03:18 AM

Kepala abah ko
3,773 posts

QUOTE(sup3rfly @ Apr 30 2007, 12:39 AM)
coolice just found this 965-S Voltage measurement points

enjoy smile.gif
LOL thanks alot...saved me alot of work looking for it. Think we should get TS to include all this in 1st page
almostthere
post Apr 30 2007, 04:47 PM

Kepala abah ko
3,773 posts

QUOTE(Eoma @ Apr 30 2007, 03:25 AM)
Just got my system up and running today.  biggrin.gif
Will tweak tommorow!

Update:

Currently running it at 320x9 = 2883Mhz @ stock vcore, DDR2 @ 802Mhz @ 1.9V
Running hot @ ~60 degrees. Man, i need a better cooler. System temp is way high too.

Well, here are some pics:

I also tried running the RAM (shawty's Super Talent bulk) @ 960Mhz @ 1.95v (hope i'm not killing the RAM).

[attachmentid=225102]

And a Smart Guardian pic, i too get the srange voltage readings from my ST56F
[attachmentid=225103]

I haven't meddled with the DRAM timings yet. Any suggestions ?
Also any HSF/cooler suggestions. Panas la.

Update: Seems my case air flow sucks big time. It runs much cooler with the side panel off. Hmmmmm. more work there.
The RAM is D9 should be able to tahan upto 2.5v VDIMM, so now worries. BTW, the FAN set 100% or auto still? Mine stock cooler temps ok wat. And what strange voltages you mean?

almostthere
post Apr 30 2007, 07:12 PM

Kepala abah ko
3,773 posts

QUOTE(Eoma @ Apr 30 2007, 05:03 PM)
Oh ok cool. Will bump it back to 960Mhz then. smile.gif

How to set the FAN to 100% ar ? I disabled PPM and C1e in the stock BIOS (didn't flash to the latest yet, should I ?)

After taking the sidepanel off, it's around 49-50+. Much better.

Strange voltages ? Like sprinta's readings. Or are those considered normal ?
The fan: Under the PC HEalth settings, set CPU fan 100%, not Auto.
PPM/C1e: Better to enable those two if you want the PC not to be so hot when idling like I did for mine.
BIOS: DEpends, if your is currently stable, stick to it. Mine I'm sticking to my 411
Volates: Thsoe are because the boards layout and PWM sensor work differently compared to what is known. Stick to the Smart Guardian provided until FCG finalises his update Core Temp plugin for MBM5

QUOTE(sup3rfly @ Apr 30 2007, 06:38 PM)
i dunno if u guys notice this....when OCCT or blend priming the mobo will have some weird sound one... plz try and see....i notice mine has the sound....
Mine didn't both in ORTHOS Blend and Everest's own stress test all except HDD stress test enabled

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Apr 30 2007, 06:50 PM)
You mean update in windows? blink.gif
Winflash is used to flash the bios in windows? blink.gif
Teach me please. icon_question.gif

Sorry, this is my first time using DFI motherboard, so i'm kinda scared and really don't know how to flash the motherboard. laugh.gif
Download this: http://www.dfi.com.tw/Upload/BIOS/Winflash184.ZIP

Unzip it

Then download and unzip your BIOS file image

Run winflash.exe, select update all on the left and also CLear CMOS option

Load BIOS image file, then click file/update

And wait for it to flash

Once flash complete reboot, enter BIOS, set default/optimised settings, rebbot and make sure ESCD updated before messing with settings
almostthere
post Apr 30 2007, 09:31 PM

Kepala abah ko
3,773 posts

QUOTE(sup3rfly @ Apr 30 2007, 07:38 PM)
the sound is dam small one...u have to put ur ear near to the system then oni can hear..... sad.gif
now i dunno if my mobo has problem or wat sad.gif
stress proc only no problem
if bled got sound...
think it's the PWM trying to maintain as low as possible the vdroop since it may trying to compensate actually
almostthere
post Apr 30 2007, 11:57 PM

Kepala abah ko
3,773 posts

QUOTE(gengstapo @ Apr 30 2007, 11:53 PM)
err actually, how to change the RAM:CPU ratio from 1:1 to 2:3 or 3:4??
very dont understand ehh

ps: its aint similar to amd system ait?
under DRAM speed lo....1:1 is 266, 4:5 is 333, 2:3 is 800

This post has been edited by almostthere: May 1 2007, 01:35 AM
almostthere
post May 2 2007, 03:18 AM

Kepala abah ko
3,773 posts

QUOTE(Eoma @ May 2 2007, 02:16 AM)
Almost and the other sifus: Even after selecting CPU Fan 100% in the BIOS, the CPU fan still stays dynamic , starting at ~1.5krpm and goes higher as needed. Something wrong ar ?

[attachmentid=225688]

p/s: What are the latest changes in the 424 BIOS ?  blush.gif
at Smart Guardian select Options set all the fan control option to Software Control and set Fan Speed Control to full. That would sort it out

This post has been edited by almostthere: May 2 2007, 03:19 AM
almostthere
post May 3 2007, 01:11 AM

Kepala abah ko
3,773 posts

QUOTE(Eoma @ May 2 2007, 03:05 PM)
I'm using a standard stock cooler, cleaned off the thermal paste with nail polish cleaner and then applied artic ceramique. I've also attached a 4.5k rpm P3 fan to teh NB, and closed my casing. Getting CPU temp 52 deg, NB temps of 41 deg, and system 64 deg (???!!!)

really meh ?
gawd EOMA, how many times do I have to tell everyone NOT to use nail varnish? It leaves residue thanks to the acetone. Have you ever felt nail polish remover drying in your fingers? Sticky abit right? That's why use something else like tape head cleaner alcohol or Zippo fluid. Here's mine at stock cooling VCore 1.42v and VNB 1.5v

And yes I got rid of the gunky crap the NB was using as TIM and use AS5 instead. And PPM+C1e enabled

This post has been edited by almostthere: May 3 2007, 01:13 AM
almostthere
post May 4 2007, 07:03 PM

Kepala abah ko
3,773 posts

Offtopic again...please use the casing section to ask instead. Focus to issues about this motherboard here
almostthere
post May 6 2007, 05:11 PM

Kepala abah ko
3,773 posts

QUOTE(jslut @ May 6 2007, 05:00 PM)
ok i got weird stability probs here.

i have super talent rams (SUPER TALENT DDR2 PC2-5300 667MHz 2GB KIT (2x 1GB) 4-4-4-12) and i had problems running it from the start. installing windows with both sticks i couldn't get it running. only got through only by putting one of the sticks

memtest each of the individual sticks would be ok, dual channel is ok as well. only when in windows would it get cranky. u guys have any ideas??
erghhh tricky this one. Have you set optimised settings before doing anything? If yes, after that did you set Enhanced Data Transmitting & Enhanced Addressing
as Fast?
almostthere
post May 7 2007, 04:22 PM

Kepala abah ko
3,773 posts

QUOTE(jslut @ May 7 2007, 07:47 AM)
hmm didn't see that setting in bios, i'll try setting that first smile.gif but y should default settings would affect already system stability?? not everyone would know sweat.gif

AceCombat : do u mean run single channel?? i'll try that too.

sorry for the late replies, major prob at workplace... some more got on tv sweat.gif
I installed my XP and Vista in dual channel mode and slightly overclocked speeds too. My guess is your Team RAM's may have a few quirky subtimings. Try either to run it at Default or Optimised settings to see how. Shouldn't be an issue unless SPD info is out of spec (Reminds me of GSkill and Geil)
almostthere
post May 10 2007, 01:07 PM

Kepala abah ko
3,773 posts

QUOTE(LExus65 @ May 9 2007, 09:46 AM)
i tot 4gb only will be shown on a 64bit OS............even a 32bit Vista also useless
QUOTE(sHawTY @ May 10 2007, 08:26 AM)
Yes, that is 100% true.
Only windows with 64Bit platform can show true 4GB of ram. smile.gif
wrong, tha maximum physical memory addressing limit for a 32 bit OS IS 4Gb as seen here http://support.microsoft.com/kb/929580/en-us for Vista

Why it doesn't detect properly is because for XP SP2, they physically set an addressing limit of about 3.5Gb due to some security vulnerabillity. Want full 4Gb detection? Install XP SP1a instead. Or you could try adding a /pae argument into your boot.ini file

http://www.microsoft.com/whdc/system/platf...PAE/PAEdrv.mspx

However a theoretical limit still applies whereby total physical memory addressable for 32bit OS with PAE enabled is 2^36

This post has been edited by almostthere: May 10 2007, 01:26 PM

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0342sec    0.88    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 12:38 AM