QUOTE(mafioso @ Jan 19 2018, 01:15 PM)
Maybe mine came preinstalled with custom ROM. Got double Pro mode some more lol, must be bug I think.Samsung Samsung Note 8 Discussion Thread v5
Samsung Samsung Note 8 Discussion Thread v5
Jan 19 2018, 01:21 PM
1,799 posts Joined: Mar 2012 |
Jan 19 2018, 05:06 PM
QUOTE(aaron80 @ Jan 19 2018, 02:22 PM) QUOTE(mafioso @ Jan 19 2018, 02:27 PM) Ya, as stated by mafioso, came preinstalled with the custom rom, I guess. |
Jan 19 2018, 05:33 PM
QUOTE(mafioso @ Jan 19 2018, 05:08 PM) maybe u can share the apk here since u got root access.. ahaha I could only find the dual camera APK and one other panorama3d? (not sure what panorama3d does though). Those are located in /data/app. Can't seem to find any in /system/apps. Any ideas where I can find others? we could try to install as a normal apk |
Jan 19 2018, 06:09 PM
QUOTE(edan1979 @ Jan 19 2018, 05:33 PM) Thanks, you're a life saver. QUOTE(mafioso @ Jan 19 2018, 05:59 PM) edan1979 got the download link. |
Jan 24 2018, 09:56 AM
Jan 24 2018, 10:13 AM
QUOTE(mafioso @ Jan 24 2018, 09:59 AM) no bro depends on region True. with oem unlock jail, u can still flash back to stock with odin straightaway, just have to wait for 168 hours for the oem unlock toggle to appear again. But I was talking about root. Last year's LG V20 took quite a while to get root due to locked bootloader issue. With exynos just toggle oem unlock then u can root straightaway, except the jail problem that has been causing a lot of issues lately, especially csc xme. Luckily my csc is skt, haha, haven't get caught into jail so far.some will have the OEM jail bug malaysia XME CSC unit/sim card definitely has this bug where OEM unlock only appears after 7 days but then after you flash a custom recovery like TWRP, the OEM locks back itself and forces you into bootloop where you have no choice but to format again i just reformat my phone again ytd (cuz i wanted to start fresh again as first week i installed way too many apps.. wanted a clean start.. didnt root) now my OEM unlock is no more again (although i have no plans to root) This post has been edited by mfa682: Jan 24 2018, 10:16 AM |
Jan 24 2018, 10:24 AM
QUOTE(mafioso @ Jan 24 2018, 10:16 AM) lucky you exactly. but spay is not the reason I root though, even my last Samsung phone with working spay, I root it on the first day I bought without a second thought rofl.understand your purpose of rooting since you dont get to enjoy spay here but on XDA i seen the OEM jail thread everyone who posts there feels frustrated like if no root they can die a bit wasted to pay 4k for a phone then root it. lol although its a choice |
Jan 24 2018, 11:02 AM
QUOTE(Xaser_3 @ Jan 24 2018, 10:19 AM) Wow! I didn't know the scenario for rooting the Note 8 has changed so drastically now. Before with my S7 Edge, was so easy with rooting, changing firmware and also CSC. Didn't experience so called jail time or time penalties. Sticking to stock firmware for my Note 8. s7e was quite a decent phone, lots of love from devs. QUOTE(mafioso @ Jan 24 2018, 10:29 AM) wait what do you mean by clear out after continous use? Wish I could move on like you, I just can't leave chromepie from xposed module perhaps its just me. haha suddenly lost interest to root my note 5 i rooted it the very next day i got the phone. lol |
Jan 26 2018, 10:01 AM
QUOTE(mafioso @ Jan 26 2018, 09:56 AM) so far 2 weeks in sensitivity still top notch any casing can be used with clear coat? (screen only)but i hope it'll last if screen crack i may consider to go with clear coat @ sunway pyramid there lazy to think too much on tempered glass since it can be replaced for RM10 at any time (the clear coat) |
Jan 26 2018, 12:28 PM
Jan 29 2018, 08:23 AM
Jan 29 2018, 08:48 AM
Jan 31 2018, 09:10 AM
QUOTE(cynical66 @ Jan 31 2018, 06:18 AM) QUOTE(Xaser_3 @ Jan 31 2018, 07:19 AM) That is great but it is foreign Snapdragon version and not the local SME Exynoss version. Samsung pay would not work locally. QUOTE(Savor_Savvy @ Jan 31 2018, 07:55 AM) Samsung Galaxy Note 8 SM-N950U 64GB Smartphone (Original Imported) There's issue regarding not able to recharge the phone after complete drain with snapdragon unit. So yeah, I think its not worth the risk at all.1 Month Local Supplier Warranty Not worth it. Top up a few hundreds more for Local Set. |
Feb 4 2018, 02:27 PM
QUOTE(melrockstar9 @ Feb 4 2018, 02:24 PM) I never used AOD. So i went samsung and they just format for me then asked to use normally for 2 days. Hopefully can get better....as for Samsung dex its apparently a system app if you check the apps list. Oh well....just hope battery better or get replacement lol. Thanks for your answers. Will update. I believe what you said is true. I'm getting dex drain both on my note8 and s6e+. What else can it be if not android system? |
Feb 4 2018, 11:04 PM
QUOTE(chongkiatz @ Feb 4 2018, 07:26 PM) Always on display consume alot battery or not actually? I like this alot as i no need trigger the home/power button to see the time Mine overnight 8 hours battery drains around 9 percent with aod on, while when aod off around 3 percent. So I would say aod drains about 1 percent hourly at lowest brightness.edit: everything else is on, WiFi, GPS, mobile data, Bluetooth to my smartwatch, with one sim card running and a micro sd card. This post has been edited by mfa682: Feb 4 2018, 11:06 PM |
Feb 6 2018, 09:17 PM
Feb 9 2018, 09:13 AM
Feb 9 2018, 10:03 AM
QUOTE(mafioso @ Feb 9 2018, 09:22 AM) im using HODA Ya I meant HODA cause i keep seeing convincing feedback from you lol.4 more days to 1 month so far so good with just 1-2 lines of micro scratch since TSP is not gorilla glass sensitivity is still fine...! so far lah you meant HAO 5d? haha QUOTE(eddmecha @ Feb 9 2018, 09:26 AM) Well if u r the type of person that is careful with ur stuff then should he no problem but ut all depends on individual i would say Exactly. I have more faith in Samsung screen than any other phones. Minor scratches on my 1 year old v20 are way more obvious than my 2 year old naked s6e+.This post has been edited by mfa682: Feb 9 2018, 10:05 AM |
Feb 9 2018, 10:21 AM
QUOTE(mafioso @ Feb 9 2018, 10:09 AM) so far 1 month soon its ok Glad the sp is working well but need to wait at least after 3 months since someone here posted his HAO 5d cracked after 3 months although not sure of his usage, as i use my note 8 very gently lol different people may have different definition when it comes to using it with care i guess.. but for me so far so good with 1 month coming up soon and still scratch-free (if u ignore the tiny micro scratches |
Feb 9 2018, 10:30 AM
QUOTE(mafioso @ Feb 9 2018, 10:24 AM) haha as long as you keep only the phone in one pocket Indeed, with current technology there's no way to avoid micro scratches. But the naked feeling is just too good me to let go hahahahayou should be free from scratches only thing you need to be careful now are the micro scratches i think it happens sometimes when we use our clothes to wipe off excessive fingerprint on our phones clothes might have some dust or micro tiny stones trapped on our clothes considering we are always outside |
| Change to: | 0.1834sec
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 11:29 AM |