PFA Player of The Year, Who should win it and why

air_mood
post Apr 17 2007, 05:28 PM

Randy Marsh, Guitar Queer-O
4,150 posts

QUOTE(Duke Red @ Apr 17 2007, 03:09 PM)
My vote is for Christiano Ronaldo and I think it's really obvious why. He has matured so much as a player and has single handedly won games for Man Utd. Your strikers have not been prolific this season and Ronaldo has picked up the slack. I also think that Paul Scholes deserves a mention after returning from injury. He's looked his old self again though I think his tackling has gotten even worse tongue.gif
Damn it, good words for 2 Man United players by Duke Read. You must really hate yourself now ehh??? Hahaha.

Ronaldo for me as well. For obvious reasons. No one has been close to the class he has oozed this season. To the point that people has even stopped booing him and instead are now fearing him.
ellimist
post Apr 17 2007, 05:32 PM

Still a Yui-tard
6,106 posts

QUOTE(Ken @ Apr 17 2007, 03:47 PM)
fabregas, he scored the winning goal against bolton that could secured the 4th spot
We're looking for player of the year,not player of the match blush.gif
bearbear
post Apr 17 2007, 05:44 PM

You'll Never Walk Alone!~!~
10,061 posts

I'll be suprised if Ronaldo didn't win it smile.gif
waynelyp90
post Apr 17 2007, 05:44 PM

Nonsense Hater
1,141 posts

QUOTE(ellimist @ Apr 17 2007, 05:32 PM)
We're looking for player of the year,not player of the match  blush.gif
Maybe for Arsenal, the person saving them for the fourth place is precious enough to be the player of the season... laugh.gif
(No intention of flaming, take it easy, Gunners, alwayz love your style of play more than Chelsea's)

I saw Liverpool fans voting for Ronaldo. He is quick he is skillful and he is like from the other planet....
Any Chelsea fans can be as humble as Terry to say Ronaldo is the best in the world? Any? biggrin.gif
TSbefitozi
post Apr 17 2007, 05:48 PM

1,468 posts

QUOTE(MADReaLJL @ Apr 17 2007, 04:42 PM)
no one mention wayne rooney? laugh.gif

this season definitely c.ronaldo
well , rooney nominated for PFA Young Player of the Year

If ronaldo wins this , im pretty sure fabregas will get the young player award ...

unless they conspire to make ronaldo win the young player to let drogba take player award ahahahah

even if fabregas didnt score that winner to secure ... he is by far arsenal's best player this season
Vinci777
post Apr 17 2007, 05:51 PM

No Title
1,616 posts

100% C.Ronaldo for me... He have been stronger since the world cup. Can play so well even after the Rooney case. It jus didnt haunt him. It seems to make him stronger. Last year SAF keep saying Ronaldo dribble too much and lose ball often therefore stopping him to do so. I guess now SAF advise CR to do anything he love ard ^^

2nd will be Drogba. He's been so influential for Chelsea this season comparing to last season where he canot even dribble pass defenders much. But now he can do anything he want and score magic goals. At start the limelight shud be on Sheva but he stole it and kept it till now...

so.. CR or Drogba..undecided for me ^^
jdreamer
post Apr 17 2007, 05:56 PM

Screw ITP!
11,092 posts

I'll like Drogba to win it. Mainly because I'm Blues fan. laugh.gif

But anyway, I hate to say that I've just voted for C.Ronaldo too. sweat.gif
zickey
post Apr 17 2007, 06:02 PM

VAPENESTJELUTONG
2,125 posts

as usual they didn't notice about King Carra..
waynelyp90
post Apr 17 2007, 06:05 PM

Nonsense Hater
1,141 posts

QUOTE(jdreamer @ Apr 17 2007, 05:56 PM)
I'll like Drogba to win it. Mainly because I'm Blues fan. laugh.gif

But anyway, I hate to say that I've just voted for C.Ronaldo too. sweat.gif
You're the first and I think you have the humble characteristics of your captain, John Terry, proud of yourself.... rclxms.gif
Drogba no doubt helped Chelsea a lot this season but I think mostly are mesmerise by CR's skills and pace... Even if he didn't score, he helped to score... rclxm9.gif
yogurt7
post Apr 17 2007, 06:20 PM

Why So Serious
1,042 posts

even though i am arsenal fan, i still vote for C.Ronaldo...he just on fire this season, just hope if Ronaldo win PFA player of the year award, the young player goes to fabregas.. tongue.gif
jam_lennon
post Apr 17 2007, 06:20 PM

4,156 posts

c.ron for me. improve alot, challenge golden boot contender as a winger, consistency for entire season, at least 90% of the season.
hokuan
post Apr 17 2007, 06:24 PM

1,336 posts

Ronaldo for sure,his performance is outstanding,scored many goals,played great football..
eltan
post Apr 17 2007, 07:17 PM

403 posts

if ronaldo nvr win this..i duno wat to say d luu....
not best in PFA only..but the WORLD..... RONALDO WORLD!~~
TSbefitozi
post Apr 17 2007, 09:13 PM

1,468 posts

QUOTE(zickey @ Apr 17 2007, 06:02 PM)
as usual they didn't notice about King Carra..
I dont think Carragher made enough impact compare to the other nominees.

Carragher may be consistent ... but not outstanding enough. If Carragher's criteria is 'the' important one .. then Denis Irwin should have won from 1999 to 2001 as he is the master of consistency
beck_ken
post Apr 17 2007, 09:22 PM

4,716 posts

my vote goes to C.Ron
lilredridinghood
post Apr 17 2007, 09:36 PM

Not so google expert
2,111 posts

QUOTE(befitozi @ Apr 17 2007, 09:13 PM)
I dont think Carragher made enough impact compare to the other nominees.

Carragher may be consistent ... but not outstanding enough. If Carragher's criteria is 'the' important one .. then Denis Irwin should have won from 1999 to 2001 as he is the master of consistency
Then how'd you define outstanding? From my knowledge, without Carra, would Liverpool be at where they are right now? Without Nemanja Vidic, Rio Ferdinand, would Man Utd be this winning this much? Can Cristiano Ronaldo and Wayne Rooney attack without worrying much about their defensive duties?

By the way, as a Liverpool fan, has Stevie G done enough this season to be nominated? Reputation plays a big role. And to compare youngsters, I don't think Agger has not done enough to be nominated among the young player of the year, in fact, I thought he was consistent and one of the brightest young stars in the making. How about Lita from Reading? Micah Richards was mentioned because he was a Chelsea's target signing although he came out from Man City
TSbefitozi
post Apr 17 2007, 10:11 PM

1,468 posts

Outstanding as in match winning performance.

ManUtd won Roma without 3 first choice defenders . Carrick is playing an extremely important role for ManUtds shape , but he is not doing stuffs outstanding unlike Scholes. hence he is not nominated

Besides that , this kind of awards usualy dun go to defenders because its usualy the strikers and midfielders doing the 'outstanding' performances, the match winning performances.

Thats why its cited as a rarity when Cannavaro won Player of the Year. And that to , is because his performance is outstanding enough.
SpectacularButter
post Apr 17 2007, 10:48 PM

229 posts

i am a chelsea supporter but Cristiano Ronaldo should win the award for his contributions this season. Last season he was a nobody but this season, he has really strike fear into opponents...but his diving skills still cannot compare to robben.
Maxolution
post Apr 17 2007, 11:13 PM

156 posts

my vote to Portugal wizard...he is simply the best this season..
lilredridinghood
post Apr 17 2007, 11:44 PM

Not so google expert
2,111 posts

QUOTE(befitozi @ Apr 17 2007, 10:11 PM)
Outstanding as in match winning performance.

ManUtd won Roma without 3 first choice defenders . Carrick is playing an extremely important role for ManUtds shape , but he is not doing stuffs outstanding unlike Scholes. hence he is not nominated
Besides that , this kind of awards usualy dun go to defenders because its usualy the strikers and midfielders doing the 'outstanding' performances, the match winning performances.

Thats why its cited as a rarity when Cannavaro won Player of the Year. And that to , is because his performance is outstanding enough.
now that is ironic, when you're saying that strikers and midfielders do all the match winning performances, how can they do it when defenders aren't doing their job? A very good example, Roma...how they got thrashed 7-1? Their defenders were just focusing on how to score goals.

What other things did Cannavaro do besides defending well and scoring from headers? Assisting? Scoring for every matches? The irony is there about your definition of the word outstanding. ManUtd won Roma without 3 first choice defenders, but there are still good defenders in their squad. Don't come and tell me that Brown and Heinze aren't good enough.

See how Chelsea suffer when they had so many injuries, Terry was the significant one.

Just because Carra is in Liverpool, not Chelsea, not Man Utd...He's not in the England squad. Many may argue that this is just an assumption, but for many years now he's proved that he's a great defender and even before people knew about John Terry. GH didn't notice his contribution, I guess that's why people didn't notice him and furthermore, back then Liverpool was just another average team like Tottenham now to you guys. Rafa Benitez noticed his contribution and had given him more credits than usual. Sissoko did well too last season and he wasn't even among the nominee for the Young Player of the Year.

Dont get me wrong here as I've voted for the Portugal winger and I truly think that he deserves it. It's just that I felt bad for Carra and fellow good defenders for not being nominated.

This post has been edited by lilredridinghood: Apr 17 2007, 11:53 PM

7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0485sec    0.85    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 01:36 AM