D-Link Malaysia Official Thread

mastafreak
post Jan 12 2019, 02:11 PM

43 posts

Hello Sifus,

Just got my DIR-885L today. Set it up accordingly and got the internet connected. However, I am only getting 80-95Mbps DL speed compared to 800+ with TM DIR-850L. Is there any setting I am missing? Your advice is greatly appreciated. I also notice under Wireless I do not have the option to set 2.4 & 5Ghz in DIR-885L compared to DIR-850L.

885L Firmware: 1.20
Cable: CAT 5 cable that came with the box and also tried using back the same cable provided with DIR-850L.

When I switch back to 850L, I am able to get the speed back to 800Mbps.

Reset on 885L is done as well, same issue.

This post has been edited by mastafreak: Jan 12 2019, 02:31 PM
mastafreak
post Jan 12 2019, 06:00 PM

43 posts

QUOTE(SilentVampire @ Jan 12 2019, 02:56 PM)
You need Cat 5e and above cable, ideally Cat 6. Check to see if there is a setting somewhere to manually set the LAN ports to 1000Mbps. D-Link products does not have a good product page, so can't see settings for you.
Hey bro,

Yup, tried with Cat 5E cable. Don't have a Cat 6 cable. The same cable when I attach it back with DIR-850L then it works fine. Under Settings > Network > Advanced settings, I found WAN Port Speed and selected 1000Mbps but it did not make any difference. bangwall.gif
mastafreak
post Jan 15 2019, 01:45 PM

43 posts

QUOTE(SilentVampire @ Jan 12 2019, 10:04 PM)
That's weird. Contact D-Link support.
Auto-detect should be fine.
Till date no response from D-Link Support. Submitted a report via their website. Only received the automatic response. Tried live chat twice, no luck. PM them in FB also, no response. Next, probably need to call them but they only available during office hours.
mastafreak
post Jan 15 2019, 04:53 PM

43 posts

QUOTE(SilentVampire @ Jan 15 2019, 03:27 PM)
That's sad to hear, man. I use to like their products but they seem to be regressing rather than progressing. TP-Link and Tenda have eaten their market share as a result of that.
Yeah, kinda regret buying it now. Spoke to Advancenet Technology, the D-Link distributor. They are unsure of the issue as well, requesting me to bring the modem over to them. Sigh. mega_shok.gif

0.0153sec    0.67    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 01:48 AM