D-Link Malaysia Official Thread

greyshadow
post Oct 4 2018, 10:50 AM

I bleed it out, Diggin' deeper just to throw it away!
1,844 posts

QUOTE(yakumo @ Sep 30 2018, 05:27 PM)
Hi, in have a dlink dir842 that was given by tm for unifi replacing my tplink ac1300.
Here is my question is their a way to flash the original Tm firmware with the original non tm firmware?
Its kinda blocking sites even I changed my DNS server.
My old dlink works fine
beside changing the usual IPv4 DNS
make sure you change IPv6 DNS server as well
2001:4860:4860::8888 and/or 2001:4860:4860::8844.

after that mine kinda works, sometime but not all the time hmm.gif

now looking for a way to disable the IPv6, it's making some of my smartdns services not working
greyshadow
post Oct 4 2018, 12:24 PM

1,844 posts

Anyway, my DIR842 given by telekom also got some issues, after setting up the router, setting my own password, I won't be able to login again after once or 2 times login, stating wrong password.
reset again, using back the stock password also facing same issue
I only can access the router after I perform a hardware reset using the pin hmm.gif

Anyone else facing the similar issue?
greyshadow
post Oct 4 2018, 04:22 PM

1,844 posts

QUOTE(SilentVampire @ Oct 4 2018, 03:25 PM)
No surprises there. That is why it is better to buy your own router, as you can do whatever you want with it.
yeah, planning to replace it

beside hardcoded the @unifi into your wifi ID doh.gif
it's just too dumb! lots of features supposed to be there one but wasn't available.

change one simple setting at it took a minute or so to update doh.gif doh.gif

and lastly, did I mention it gets tremendously hot when I stack it on top of my Unifi modem? till the point both hanged?

greyshadow
post Oct 5 2018, 08:15 AM

1,844 posts

QUOTE(SilentVampire @ Oct 4 2018, 05:02 PM)
Just change your router to something else. Refer to the link in my signature and choose a decent router for your speed.

By the way, you should not stack it on top of your modem. That will cause both unit to overheat, which you can see happened when you do that.
never encountered any heat issues with my previous streamyx modem and mi router when I stacked them together, so I thought this 2 should be OK also, manatau that's not the case
thinking to change to Tenda AC18, anyone use it before? how's the stability?
greyshadow
post Oct 10 2018, 10:58 AM

1,844 posts

QUOTE(Scissorshand @ Oct 8 2018, 09:37 PM)
Sifus, and calling out soonwai andblacktubi

Trying to setup vpn on DIR-842 router and encounter this issue (WRITTEN IN RED), what do i do? totally noob here bangwall.gif

Firmware is HW:C2 FW:3.01TM
I think you setup the VPN at wrong setting area
greyshadow
post Oct 10 2018, 11:00 AM

1,844 posts

QUOTE(yakumo @ Oct 10 2018, 09:34 AM)
the sometimes not all the time actually is when the tm proxy is down
well, I managed to disabled the IPv6, and disabled the DNS relay, and have set the manual DNS in the setting, seems working now
but I still get the TM DNS as 3rd & 4th DNS hmm.gif
probably it's from the modem or setting within TM's VLAN
greyshadow
post Oct 11 2018, 10:08 AM

1,844 posts

QUOTE(yakumo @ Oct 11 2018, 09:32 AM)
how did you manage to disable the DNS relay? ohmy.gif
look into the settings, it's there

0.0307sec    0.44    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 11:43 PM