Auction properties

Harry_Bobinski
post May 2 2019, 12:07 PM

King of Truth
960 posts

Are you guys actually talking about apartments? For landed, I have yet to see any that has dropped in price for the past 4 years. Stagnant, yes but definitely not reduced in price. I could be wrong on this.

New Klang I thought your BBB mode is landed in Semenyih area
Harry_Bobinski
post May 2 2019, 12:20 PM

King of Truth
960 posts

QUOTE(BeastB @ May 2 2019, 12:10 PM)
Yep, for me landed is only for own stay. Will never buy for investment since rental is crap and difficult to manage....if I have the liquid cash sitting I rather put it into American stock markets for both dividends and appreciation.
^

QUOTE(icemanfx @ May 2 2019, 12:12 PM)
Most if not all bought with bank loan, price rise below loan interest incurred is financial losses. If price stagnant for 4 years mean loss could equivalent to about 15% of house value.
15% seem like a very inflated estimation right? Are you using the same comparison for the financial losses between a landed and an apartment? From your points, I deduce that ALL properties have dropped in value with landed not being as bad as apartment?
Harry_Bobinski
post May 3 2019, 08:50 AM

King of Truth
960 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ May 2 2019, 02:13 PM)
How much accumulated loan interest one would typically incurred over a 4 years period?
Ah okay now I see your point. Good thing I have yet to buy properties for flip interest
Harry_Bobinski
post May 3 2019, 08:53 AM

King of Truth
960 posts

QUOTE(New Klang @ May 3 2019, 08:31 AM)
How many investors actually look at at least 20 properties in the vicinity, survey on current market prices, rental rates, resale value, the duration of resale, study the owner and tenant profiles etc before deciding to buy?
I think these investors that you mention, usually are own stayers. Mainly for the fact that they are going to buy it for own stay for the next 10 years or so. Most who buy for investment purpose speculate for the next few years. I stand corrected on this.

Edit: I am going to use one of the locations as an example, Setia Alam. A decade ago, most do not see the prospect to this, except for the people from KL who "was thinking of living away from the city and move to slight outskirts", without a mindset of flipping the properties. At least that is what I think from the people whom I know bought Setia Alam location when "it was middle of nowhere"

This post has been edited by Harry_Bobinski: May 3 2019, 08:55 AM
Harry_Bobinski
post May 3 2019, 09:01 AM

King of Truth
960 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ May 3 2019, 08:55 AM)
Many failed to realize loan interest incurred is cost, and leverage amplify profits as well as losses.
With your calculation, this is what I have deduced. Say that we are loaning 650k for our property. To simplify the calculation, by the end of 35 years, in order to leverage this loan interest cost incurred, the house has to be about 650k + price of when you buy the house?
Harry_Bobinski
post May 3 2019, 10:44 AM

King of Truth
960 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ May 3 2019, 10:28 AM)
How much down payment (non loan) you put down?
QUOTE(BEANCOUNTER @ May 3 2019, 10:42 AM)
is your bank loan LTV100 or LTV70 or lower?

to fully furnished the apartments, the value of cash output no financial cost?????

its a false economics, syiok sendiri to look at figures to suit what you want to see.
Totally get both sifus point. I think my rental can cover my loan installments also if I put a downpayment of 400k for a 550k apartment
Harry_Bobinski
post May 4 2019, 12:49 PM

King of Truth
960 posts

QUOTE(Bjorn1688 @ May 4 2019, 03:22 AM)
Landed freehold ones rarely ever drop in price. Even bank valuations for them keep going up year on year. However their prices have been stagnant or risen below inflation for the last couple of years especially at the more "atas" areas.

Leasehold ones will drop due to bank valuation, banks will start taking into account the land it sits on isn't worth as much any longer. Starts right around the 15 year mark or so.

In future most proper KL, PJ and Subang landed properties would only go up in price as no new ones are being built.

I won't touch any of them though, cost too much to buy, too much to renovate and too much to hold as difficult for rental to cover even a 50%LTV mortgage.
5-6% on a 90%LTV
Why some investors make it? Groundwork and homework.

No shortcuts when it comes to property investments.
QUOTE(icemanfx @ May 4 2019, 09:40 AM)
At 4% p.a loan interest rate and 30 years tenure?
The thing is this though, for leasehold, if you do renew your lease to 99 years, I’m unsure if the value would be the same, or at least higher than when you purchase them since developers don’t renew the lease for you upon VP
Harry_Bobinski
post May 4 2019, 07:24 PM

King of Truth
960 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ May 4 2019, 05:20 PM)
Not for the courts.
Been offered Rm10-20k before.
Yup side deals do happen and I agree for the agents bidding on the restricted price despite no contest. That’s why it’s preferable to appoint a trusted lawyer to bid on your behalf if you can’t make it, or as Tupai mentioned, online bidding
Harry_Bobinski
post May 4 2019, 07:29 PM

King of Truth
960 posts

QUOTE(Bjorn1688 @ May 4 2019, 04:53 PM)
I don't believe any local authority or stat is allowing you to renew 99 years.

Also I don't think there are any states that are renewing leases until it is at the end of the lease, therefore if you are 40 years into a 99 year lease it will still be a while away before you could even discuss the matter.

Oh yeah and it isn't going to be cheap plus must have cash to do so.
Depends on the local authority or state.

Private strata leasehold buildings, oldest are around 50 years, still a while to go to reach that 99 years.

Many of those individual homes if renewed they will only renew it if you are the original owner or children of the original owner.
This actually I’m curious. I wonder about the lease renewal thing that happened in PJ, I think a couple years back? I’m not sure if they actually renewed their lease to 99 years or not. And yeah I’m kinda aware of the premium to be paid for lease renewal. But say that the premium to be paid is RM100k for a 30 years renewal, would the 69 years lease remaining be at least RM100k+ different than the house next door which has 99 years lease remaining? This is the thing I’m actually curious about.
Harry_Bobinski
post May 4 2019, 07:54 PM

King of Truth
960 posts

QUOTE(edyek @ May 4 2019, 07:40 PM)
Siu dai comment abit on this issue. This is real cases for EM yah. Usually state government renew back the original lease for you. If 99 years, they will renew it to 99 years. If 60 years, they will renew it to 60 years. Usually that is the case. Unless there are some government policy change or that area has become urban area, then 99 years they will chop to be renewed at 60 years. And 60 years to be 30 years. More income from premium for the future.

Usually can start to apply for renewal when the lease is less than 10-20 years. So far many if not all 99 years belum lagi expire lah. Those 60 years have been renewed to 60 years.
Ahhh this makes perfect sense. Considering that EM is strata title, I assume that the whole EM itself has already been renewed to the original lease. I’m curious if in the case of leasehold individual titled locations like Bukit Jalil, you have 2 houses with different lease remaining like one with 99 years and the other with 60 years. I wonder when selling, if the validated price would be different by 40 years premium price or above.
Harry_Bobinski
post Jun 12 2019, 05:29 PM

King of Truth
960 posts

QUOTE(AskarPerang @ May 29 2019, 10:25 PM)
They bought at 850k the house 15 years ago. Sold at 1.44M in lelong. 1st auction at 2.4M.
Well at this property segment, it is completely normal. Yes, make sense this lelong transacted price + owner still staying unit.
After paying for 15 years, loan amount left 800k? Sold at 1.44M. Deduct all cost 100k maybe? They still got surplus money out of this auction. Take and find another house back at kampung to settle down.

Actually 9 out of 10 owner with house kena lelong will give the same reason that they did not know it. Bank did not inform. Salah rumah. Salah bank. Is the usual reason given.
Bank is not "along" unregistered company. Bank cannot simply lelong or komplot with the buyer. Got legal process bank need to follow, obtain court order, etc. Yes part of the process is informing via snail mail.
1st auction will be at bank valuation (or just slightly below), done by the bank appointed valuer. Every time no taker, the price will drop 10% and re-auction at next round. For this unit, of course already dropped price many rounds.

Okay found the house: https://www.lelongtips.com.my/property/5518...r-for-RM1440000

Previous Auction(s) for this property
Auction Date  Price
9. 2018-08-13  RM1,440,000.00 - finally got ppl willing to buy! congrats!
8. 2018-05-02  RM1,440,000.00 - no bidder. price maintain. bank decided not to drop price.
7. 2017-12-18  RM1,600,000.00 - still no bidder.
6. 2017-11-13  RM1,600,000.00 - no bidder. bank decided not to drop price.
5. 2017-08-09  RM1,749,600.00
4. 2017-05-09  RM1,944,000.00
1st auction at 2.4M in 2016.

After 9 rounds of auction since 2016. Takkan still dont know or not aware of house kena lelong. Even the bank decided to maintain price at 1.6M for 2 rounds and 1.44M for 2 rounds.
Once they missed their payment. The effective interest rate wont remain the same anymore. From 4% can go up to 10+%.
I disagree that they do not know that their house is being lelong. Agents will sure flock to their houses when they know auction date is in a month. Secondly, they will be asked to defend, as Tupai mentioned via snail mail, if they can make arrangement for financing options with the auctioning bank. Absolutely impossible that they are unaware of this.
Harry_Bobinski
post Jun 21 2019, 09:42 AM

King of Truth
960 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Jun 21 2019, 05:42 AM)
Whether bank will drop 10% on next round is depending on priority; whether the speed or value of recovery is more important.
For landed, almost always the bank will drop 10%, even if there were interested parties. It could take up to 6 months until the next auction.

0.0808sec    0.37    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 10:40 AM