LYN F1 V15 Season, Continuation from V14 2017

andrekua2
post Apr 18 2021, 10:41 PM

13,472 posts

Max almost lost it during the restart... His lucky day.

Lewis wouldn't be too sad honestly... After seeing what happened to Valterri.
andrekua2
post Apr 18 2021, 11:34 PM

13,472 posts

QUOTE(voscar @ Apr 18 2021, 11:14 PM)
In a way VB sacrificed himself at right timing after Hamilton's gravel trap, safety car then race red flagged which helped Hamilton, without VB & GR accident I think best Hamilton could get is 4th?
I doubt it... He's a lap down despite being 9th... Probably 7th
andrekua2
post Apr 20 2021, 05:14 PM

13,472 posts

QUOTE(DukeHyou @ Apr 20 2021, 09:26 AM)
the new honda engine is really showing the dominance little by little
I dont think it is all about the engine. More like Mercedes and Pink Mercedes using low rake problem.
andrekua2
post May 2 2021, 11:54 PM

13,472 posts

To those who said Honda is powerful, lol...

Now Mercedes trying to stop their engine man from leaving for RBR early.
andrekua2
post May 7 2021, 08:19 AM

13,472 posts

QUOTE(sp6068 @ May 6 2021, 11:02 PM)
I think they destroyed another overtaking chances for the Spanish GP. Plus that last turn chicane is just shit. Should remove the goddamn chicane and use the motogp track!

It wont make a difference imo.

I think the revised may work out better when coupled with DRS. This year car can follow more closely compared to last year. I think it contributed greatly to Lewis effort to overtake both Max and Valterri last weekend.
andrekua2
post May 9 2021, 10:28 PM

13,472 posts

Reminds me of Schummi in France... Box box box... We need 20 qualifying laps...

I think Lewis drove brilliantly today
andrekua2
post May 9 2021, 10:37 PM

13,472 posts

QUOTE(6UE5T @ May 9 2021, 10:35 PM)
RB should have pitted MV earlier to soft whil he was in the window to catch back LH.
Impossible... The soft won't last.
andrekua2
post May 9 2021, 11:50 PM

13,472 posts

QUOTE(8sg9ft @ May 9 2021, 10:42 PM)
RB should have just covered LH’s pitstop on the next lap. Would have been more of a fight. This one like sitting duck. But hats off to LH. That was a great drive to make a 22sec gap gone in under 20 laps
I don't think Max would win even if they matched Mercedes. It is very apparent Mercedes is still much better on medium. Lewis tyres were only 4 laps younger but he's so much faster on them compared to Max. Even Max is telling his engineer that is crazy how much grip the Mercedes is generating when Lewis reels Max in after the first stop.

QUOTE(6UE5T @ May 9 2021, 11:12 PM)
Maybe when LH was still around 10 secs behind if they pitted MV for softs he would be around 10-15secs behind and catching with another 10-15 laps to go? MV would still need to pass VB but should not be difficult, at least give him an alternative chance rather than knowing they won't win anyway with the 1 stopper.
Yes exactly, if SP was in the top 4 behind VB, LH would not be able to under cut so easily because SP would be in front of him and can do the 1 stopper or a late stopper to hamper LH. This race is a classic example of 2 vs 1.
The soft wouldn't last even for RB. That isn't so hard to understand. Haven't you felt this since last year? Soft only for early part of the race. Mediums and Hards for later.

andrekua2
post May 9 2021, 11:52 PM

13,472 posts

QUOTE(yhtan @ May 9 2021, 11:39 PM)
This race proved that RB still need a better driver rather than let MV fighting alone at front 3, Mercedes strategy exploit RB weakness and nullified their early stage overtake

Mazepin never fail to amaze us laugh.gif
I think when the car is designed around one driver, the other has to adapt. That's why I feel Botta performance is not consistent.
andrekua2
post May 10 2021, 12:58 AM

13,472 posts

QUOTE(6UE5T @ May 10 2021, 12:30 AM)
MV 1st pit on the soft was lap 25 so if he used the softs on the last 20-25 laps he might have an outside chance to catch back rather than resorting to losing which was already obvious. RB used to be very good at using an alternative strategy on the spot but now they got beaten on strategy. But yeah probably they would have calculated that too and still won't make it, maybe also worry what Mercs would do with VB to counter it. What's for sure is they lost this because SP was not right up there to help.
You're expecting sub 1:19 for 15+ laps... In the race, there's really less difference between the tyres. There's more difference between fresh and used, less between compound IMO.
andrekua2
post May 11 2021, 09:56 AM

13,472 posts

QUOTE(6UE5T @ May 10 2021, 09:31 AM)
That won't work because LH already undercut MV and with only 1-2 laps tire age difference,  won't be enough to have significant pace advantage for MV. I think their only outside chance was to pit MV again around 20 laps before the end with new softs si he could have about 1sec per lap tire advantage to catch back.
It wont happen la. Soft wouldnt do for Barcelona. You probably get 10 decent laps before falling off a cliff. I dont think it would change anything the moment Mercedes under cut RB.

I think the term tyres could last for xx laps is defintely a very loose arguments in F1. The current trend in F1 is performance degradation. How much the tyre performance would degrade over time is more important than how long the tyre would last. The soft last for 25laps for Max, 3 laps were under SC, and what are the lap times? It was 1:22:xx... you want to compare tyres lasting 22 laps going around 1:22:xx to the same tyre going around 1:18:xx for 20 laps? There was some slight blister with rear right of Lewis medium tyre and he was only going 1:20:xx. I guess you probably want to argue about fuel load... every 10KG of fuel would cost 0.1sec only.

This post has been edited by andrekua2: May 11 2021, 09:57 AM
andrekua2
post May 11 2021, 10:42 AM

13,472 posts

QUOTE(6UE5T @ May 11 2021, 10:38 AM)
As I said it's a gamble rather than resorting to losing,  so be the hunter instead of the hunted. Most probably RB worried that VB will be sold problem if they took this gamble, and they were still hoping MV can sustain more with the medium which obviously he couldn't.
If you are talking about gamble then MAX should have drove flat out without conserving his tyres. Why? He would probably make his tyres wear faster, but he would not be as much as 2sec slower a lap and could possibly put on soft and drove flat out for 10 laps to maximise his chances. The moment he backed off to preserved his tyres, all is lost.
andrekua2
post May 15 2021, 03:03 AM

13,472 posts

Wow... Solidnya redbull
andrekua2
post May 15 2021, 12:56 PM

13,472 posts

QUOTE(4WD_er @ May 15 2021, 08:33 AM)
Wow, so RBR indeed has bendy rear wing. After this is clamped down they are likely to lose some straight lines speed.
I dont think it is straight line speed. I think it helps with cornering.
andrekua2
post May 15 2021, 02:37 PM

13,472 posts

QUOTE(6UE5T @ May 15 2021, 01:51 PM)
Yeah I doubt LH spotted that from 2-3 car lengths behind during the race. He either got it from onboard footages or Mercs engineers spotted it.
I think news reporter it on Friday/Saturday and they were paying extra attention to it later on.

But the flex is really too much. I think you could probably even see it when following behind under drs. It was apparent how much it was flexing when first picking up speed and later under braking.
andrekua2
post May 24 2021, 12:07 PM

13,472 posts

Boring race but great result to close the standings... hopefully we can stop coming to street race like Monaco. Back then they are still able to follow closely and overtake at the exit of the tunnel, but now habuk pun tarak. They need to choose wisely if they intend to keep the fans interested.
andrekua2
post Jun 6 2021, 09:32 PM

13,472 posts

Commentator baru cakap Max is solid, then crashed
andrekua2
post Jun 6 2021, 09:34 PM

13,472 posts

QUOTE(kopitiam @ Jun 6 2021, 09:33 PM)
Kena jinx
Funny thing is commentator also added I don't want to jinx it but Max is solid, so is Perez, then it happened.
andrekua2
post Jun 6 2021, 09:36 PM

13,472 posts

Race stopped... wtf

Just end la...
andrekua2
post Jun 6 2021, 09:57 PM

13,472 posts

FIA and RB doing something stupid. 2 laps left after 1 lap SC. Not even enough for DRS to activate.

54 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top

0.0443sec    0.33    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 01:04 PM