Buying Advice Canon Lenses, What/Where to buy???

TSTeraPox
post Apr 15 2007, 11:45 PM, updated 19y ago

961 posts

I just a big Noob for dSLR. got my 400D 2 days ago...
I love to take indoor potrait... but maybe because of my shaky hands... the photos looks dark...and blur...

do I need a bigger f lens? does it really help?

is f1.8 enough? how much is the cheapest one?

or should i get an IS lens?

how much is the cheapest IS lens?

please help... notworthy.gif
datajack
post Apr 15 2007, 11:58 PM

Dark = insufficient light hitting your sensor.ISO, aperture,shutter speed or in combination
Blur = shake means needing a tripod.
Indoor photography most often requires additional lighting.
Your stock standard lenses should be enough.
And try this site http://www.photoshopsupport.com/digital-ca...-tutorials.html
Hope that helps.

cheers

macg
post Apr 16 2007, 08:58 AM

20 posts

One of the cheap and not bad beginners lens for potrait photos is Canon EF50mm f/1.8 II. Its around RM280 to RM300. This is a fixed focus prime lens most beginners would get for a start. smile.gif

Photos too dark can be a lot of reasons and a tripod is useful for most situation.
g88
post Apr 16 2007, 11:01 AM

1,631 posts

If want more powerful. 17-40L biggrin.gif Rm2100 brows.gif thumbup.gif
TSTeraPox
post Apr 16 2007, 11:58 AM

961 posts

QUOTE(g88 @ Apr 16 2007, 11:01 AM)
If want more powerful. 17-40L biggrin.gif Rm2100  brows.gif  thumbup.gif
walao eh~ L lens? 2100 somemore... hmm.gif
i'm noob la...
goldfries
post Apr 16 2007, 01:00 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

then you must learn to specify

1. what purpose for the lens
2. budget

you don't specify then you're wasting people's time also.
alchemisT
post Apr 16 2007, 11:22 PM

478 posts

Anyway, something related to this topic;

Will the price of lenses will drop like the cameras?

and

Which shop do you guys get your lenses?...in terms of choice and price.

TSTeraPox
post Apr 17 2007, 03:41 AM

961 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Apr 16 2007, 01:00 PM)
then you must learn to specify

1. what purpose for the lens
2. budget

you don't specify then you're wasting people's time also.
dear Mod...

apa lah ... doh.gif
read my first post, second line...
"I love to take indoor potrait... "
and I did mention twice about "cheapest" means i dun have much budget lor... whistling.gif
g88
post Apr 17 2007, 08:12 AM

1,631 posts

i think maintain kitlens would do...
R a D ! c 4 L
post Apr 17 2007, 09:15 AM

Linc | Nox
4,744 posts

then go for the Canon EF50mm f/1.8 II. And get an additional flash, and a light meter if u want.

use the flash to bounce of the ceilings and walls, might help give a more natural color rendering off skin tones. provided that the ceiling and wall is white
nairud
post Apr 17 2007, 10:02 AM

One Leg Kick Ultra
7,529 posts

You asked for this
QUOTE(TeraPox @ Apr 15 2007, 11:45 PM)
I just a big Noob for dSLR. got my 400D 2 days ago...
I love to take indoor potrait... but maybe because of my shaky hands... the photos looks dark...and blur...

do I need a bigger f lens? does it really help?

is f1.8 enough? how much is the cheapest one?

or should i get an IS lens?

how much is the cheapest IS lens?

please help... notworthy.gif
ppl gave you replies, even i did in Canon thread i think:
QUOTE(macg @ Apr 16 2007, 08:58 AM)
One of the cheap and not bad beginners lens for potrait photos is Canon EF50mm f/1.8 II. Its around RM280 to RM300. This is a fixed focus prime lens most beginners would get for a start.  smile.gif

Photos too dark can be a lot of reasons and a tripod is useful for most situation.
QUOTE(R a D ! c 4 L @ Apr 17 2007, 09:15 AM)
then go for the Canon EF50mm f/1.8 II. And get an additional flash, and a light meter if u want.

use the flash to bounce of the ceilings and walls, might help give a more natural color rendering off skin tones. provided that the ceiling and wall is white
and then now you tell goldfries that he didnt read your post properly? 50mm is the cheapest portrait lens around. even the price is mentioned to you already.

Your cheapest might be 1k, 2k, 3k or even 4k. my cheapest 50mm would be the f1.4
VincC454
post Apr 17 2007, 10:06 AM

...i'm a dreamer
4,077 posts

lol..ask noob question still got time to scold people..
lao eh..

like many people here always said..doesnt mean you are a noob..you can go ask those silly noobies question around..do your homework..go search around the internet..use uncle goole..everywhere also got the answer..
TSTeraPox
post Apr 17 2007, 02:13 PM

961 posts

sorry ah..all tai ko s....

so, i should go for a 50mm f1.8(or 1.4 ah?)

for a noobie start?
goldfries
post Apr 17 2007, 03:09 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(TeraPox @ Apr 17 2007, 03:41 AM)
dear Mod...

apa lah ... doh.gif
read my first post, second line...
"I love to take indoor potrait... "
and I did mention twice about "cheapest" means i dun have much budget lor... whistling.gif

chill guys. wink.gif

TeraPox, i never said that you didn't specify your purpose.

i said you must learn to. smile.gif meaning, you can do better.

and always state your budget.

QUOTE(TeraPox @ Apr 17 2007, 02:13 PM)
sorry ah..all tai ko s....

so, i should go for a 50mm f1.8(or 1.4 ah?)

for a noobie start?
how about just buying 1 to give it a try. don't like then sell off la. biggrin.gif

either that or you could browse around and see if anyone has shot portraits with this lens type.

you can join PhotoMalaysia also, if you're not there yet.

This post has been edited by goldfries: Apr 17 2007, 03:11 PM
TSTeraPox
post Apr 17 2007, 03:48 PM

961 posts

I can be able to know which photo is taken by EF50mm f/1.8 II....
can anyone help and show me some?

Market price for it is 280? how come I saw from saisinki EF50mm f/1.2 is asking for 5k? only 0.6 different only wah~ so much different meh?
shinchan^^
post Apr 17 2007, 04:02 PM

K66
21,256 posts

QUOTE(TeraPox @ Apr 17 2007, 03:48 PM)
I can be able to know which photo is taken by EF50mm f/1.8 II....
can anyone help and show me some?

Market price for it is 280? how come I saw from saisinki EF50mm f/1.2 is asking for 5k? only 0.6 different only wah~ so much different meh?
see it for yourself the f/1.8 lubang and f/1.2 lubang
goldfries
post Apr 17 2007, 04:20 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(TeraPox @ Apr 17 2007, 03:48 PM)
only 0.6 different only wah~ so much different meh?

do you know what's the impact of that 0.6 difference?

EDITED : eh dude, you ask so much and you want Canon lens only then you might as well go to http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/400957 and ask.

This post has been edited by goldfries: Apr 17 2007, 04:22 PM
TSTeraPox
post Apr 17 2007, 04:24 PM

961 posts

I really dun know mah... tell me ma.. pls la...

noob need advice from pro, and pro need to teach noob bah~ that's why i join forum lo...
nairud
post Apr 17 2007, 04:51 PM

One Leg Kick Ultra
7,529 posts

see the difference? with a bigger aperture size, it allows more light into the sensor thus you can get faster shutter speed and shallower Depth of Field which results in a picture's bokehness.

Such amount of light does translate into the amount of moolah you pay for it. $ f1.4 > $ f1.8
scotty
post Apr 17 2007, 04:56 PM

THX Certified Conman
4,380 posts

QUOTE(nairud @ Apr 17 2007, 04:51 PM)

see the difference? with a bigger aperture size, it allows more light into the sensor thus you can get faster shutter speed and shallower Depth of Field which results in a picture's bokehness.

Such amount of light does translate into the amount of moolah you pay for it. $ f1.4 > $ f1.8
nairud. u should use the f1.2 as comparison biggrin.gif
TSTeraPox
post Apr 17 2007, 04:56 PM

961 posts

dun want to invest too much now... is f1.8 enough now? can show me some sample pic? anyone
nairud
post Apr 17 2007, 04:57 PM

One Leg Kick Ultra
7,529 posts

QUOTE(scotty @ Apr 17 2007, 04:56 PM)
nairud. u should use the f1.2 as comparison biggrin.gif
I can only get a f1.4 as an example... iinm, f1.2 is 1.5inch in diameter.
TSTeraPox
post Apr 17 2007, 05:00 PM

961 posts

i think no much different too. can pls show me 1.4 example?
goldfries
post Apr 17 2007, 05:05 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

it really depends on what you want out of your shots. smile.gif

to you it may be little difference, but to people who have specific requirements to meet in their shots that little difference could mean a lot.
TSTeraPox
post Apr 17 2007, 05:07 PM

961 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Apr 17 2007, 05:05 PM)
it really depends on what you want out of your shots. smile.gif

to you it may be little difference, but to people who have specific requirements to meet in their shots that little difference could mean a lot.
if it is like minor difference... i have dun think i can see the difference lor~
earthkid
post Apr 17 2007, 05:08 PM

muggs rocks
970 posts

i think 1.8 is enough for a newbie...anyways...the price difference between 1.4 and 1.8 is almost 1k difference...not to even mention 1.2, 1.8 is pretty affordable now, i think on FTZ...u can probably get it around 250 to 300...
TSTeraPox
post Apr 17 2007, 05:15 PM

961 posts

QUOTE(earthkid @ Apr 17 2007, 05:08 PM)
i think 1.8 is enough for a newbie...anyways...the price difference between 1.4 and 1.8 is almost 1k difference...not to even mention 1.2, 1.8 is pretty affordable now, i think on FTZ...u can probably get it around 250 to 300...
oh~ 1.8 can take sharp portrait indoor? i will be much better than my kit lens?
nairud
post Apr 17 2007, 05:18 PM

One Leg Kick Ultra
7,529 posts

That's what everyone has been telling you. you want a cheap portrait lens, 50mmf1.8 is your best bet. sweat.gif
TSTeraPox
post Apr 17 2007, 05:33 PM

961 posts

Thanks to all ....!!!

one more question before i took off to grab it...

what is the fair price ? 280-300? anything more than that means the shop owner try to con me?

2nd, this lens is main for "front clear back blur" purpose hia? taking human potraits?

3rd, CAN ANYONE PLEASE SHOW ME A SAMPLE PHOTOs!!! notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by TeraPox: Apr 17 2007, 05:33 PM
nairud
post Apr 17 2007, 05:35 PM

One Leg Kick Ultra
7,529 posts

Sample pics
goldfries
post Apr 17 2007, 11:48 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(TeraPox @ Apr 17 2007, 05:33 PM)
Thanks to all ....!!!

one more question before i took off to grab it...

what is the fair price ? 280-300? anything more than that means the shop owner try to con me?

2nd, this lens is main for "front clear back blur" purpose hia? taking human potraits?

3rd, CAN ANYONE PLEASE SHOW ME A SAMPLE PHOTOs!!! notworthy.gif
eh. 1 more question but end up so many question. smile.gif

and you're a funny dude, asking around for price and all and even almost deciding to grab it THEN only ask for sample pics? sweat.gif

normally you should be looking around for various lens available in your budget range for your purpose, after identifying it you should browse around for sample shots. smile.gif

either that or browse around for sample shots first, then find out what lens they use and see the price and quite often this way you will come by more lens beyond your budget. biggrin.gif

man, why don't you play around with your kit-lens more first.

eh fren, just because people charge higher that doesn't mean they're attempting to CON you.

diff shops have diff operating cost and they can decide how they want to price it. it's FAIR.

ok wait. so now you're asking the purpose of the lens again?

anyway look at my shots
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/442027

object clear, background blur. what lens? 70-300mm zoom lens.

i can show you that effect from my Prosumer and my DSLR on 18-55mm kit lens as well. smile.gif

so yeah, it's up to you on how to use your lens to achieve that effect.

This post has been edited by goldfries: Apr 17 2007, 11:50 PM
TSTeraPox
post Apr 18 2007, 02:45 AM

961 posts

laugh.gif finally, buy liao~EF 50mm f1.8... RM 290

hey, guys, it really helps for indoor potrait la.. love it so much!!!! icon_rolleyes.gif

my sample picture
goldfries
post Apr 18 2007, 02:58 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

and how does that picture related to PORTRAIT?
TSTeraPox
post Apr 18 2007, 03:00 AM

961 posts

well, imaging that that mahjong tiles(90 thousand) is a human lor

This post has been edited by TeraPox: Apr 18 2007, 03:00 AM
goldfries
post Apr 18 2007, 03:09 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

smile.gif will wait for your portrait shots in the gallery. have fun.
nairud
post Apr 18 2007, 10:28 AM

One Leg Kick Ultra
7,529 posts

Found your samples of f1.4 and f1.8 pics?
goldfries
post Apr 18 2007, 10:32 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

i thought he just wanted samples from the EF 50mm f1.8.
nairud
post Apr 18 2007, 11:07 AM

One Leg Kick Ultra
7,529 posts

QUOTE(TeraPox @ Apr 17 2007, 05:00 PM)
i think no much different too. can pls show me 1.4 example?
QUOTE(goldfries @ Apr 18 2007, 10:32 AM)
i thought he just wanted samples from the EF 50mm f1.8.
lookie above smile.gif
goldfries
post Apr 18 2007, 12:25 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

i just refer to post #29. tongue.gif the rest is confusion to me. haha. nmind.

to what i understood so far he only wanted pics for 50mm f1.8 and now he got it already.

nmind i'm a confused soul today.
earthkid
post Apr 18 2007, 12:30 PM

muggs rocks
970 posts

no need sample, the lens doesn't cost much..buy and use it...if don't like..sell it...
nairud
post Apr 18 2007, 04:36 PM

One Leg Kick Ultra
7,529 posts

He bought it already. It's just that it irates me when one expect to be spoon-fed all the time
milky
post Apr 20 2007, 11:27 PM

- King -
4,743 posts

jus 1 question ah..
the one TS bought kenot zoom one rite?

& Goldfries 70-300mm= is it call 4.2x optical zoom?
less than 35mm called wide angle rite? hehe now picking up abit info..
goldfries
post Apr 20 2007, 11:46 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

i donno how many x optical zoom la.
TSTeraPox
post Apr 21 2007, 04:09 PM

961 posts

QUOTE(milky @ Apr 20 2007, 11:27 PM)
jus 1 question ah..
the one TS bought kenot zoom one rite?

& Goldfries 70-300mm= is it call 4.2x optical zoom?
less than 35mm called wide angle rite? hehe now picking up abit info..
dear milky...
if i'm not wrong... 35mm is normal wide angle for normal P&S camera. where alot of "so-called" Hi-End P&S offer 28mm... but dSLR default offer 18 mm... something like that la... anyone, correct me if i'm wrong..

nairud
post Apr 21 2007, 10:21 PM

One Leg Kick Ultra
7,529 posts

PnS wide angle is 28mm.
miraged
post Apr 22 2007, 12:09 AM

405 posts

erm... i used to think wide angle is the lower value mm. meaning, the lower the value from 35mm the wider the angle will be. however, my friend told me a 28mm lens and a 28 WIDEANGLE lens are two different things. he asked me to go check nikon.com myslef .

so i guess there's a difference in the kind lens they use.

0.0185sec    0.32    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 06:21 PM