[Home Appliances] Rice Cooker, uni or multi-functional types

TShalcyon27
post Jan 20 2018, 10:38 AM

2,140 posts

QUOTE(lowlowc @ Jan 20 2018, 09:25 AM)
Inner lid can, but there's one more part inside ventilation hole. It can be removed but more hassle to remove.  Let me try to find a video of it.

The ventilation hole must be detached and clean to squeky clean, if no insect will go in there (especially roaches). blink.gif Even if the ventilation hole is clean but if you have not used it for a few days, better to clean it again before using.

Since my mother in law complaining about her rice cooker having tiny roaches in the ventilation hole, I had switched to cooking using stainless steel pot over stove. She had changed to using the old-fashioned type.
QUOTE(fireballs @ Jan 20 2018, 10:29 AM)

its the fastest rice cooker i can find in the market
The pic reminds me of one Hitachi model but it's not found here but in HK many years back. It's like the above without a steam vent. They call it vapor or steam cut..quite ex when I saw it years ago in Fortress (a chain like Harvey Norman over there except they don't sell furniture). Here's the link from Hitachi Thailand.

This post has been edited by halcyon27: Jan 20 2018, 10:39 AM
OverweightCrab
post Jan 20 2018, 06:43 PM

21 posts

QUOTE(halcyon27 @ Jan 20 2018, 08:47 AM)
We've used it but not 5m but 2m. Generally as long as the load doesn't exceed 13Ax230V, it should be ok.
Thanks.. Though i don't really know am i exceeding that or not.. It means.. If i plug only rice cooker is fine? Not sharing with other appliances
lowlowc
post Jan 20 2018, 09:43 PM

918 posts

QUOTE(halcyon27 @ Jan 20 2018, 09:52 AM)
That means she's boiling or steaming rice over the stove?
My MIL now changed to use traditional rice cooker. Something like this:

Me? I use Zebra stainless steel pot, to cook rice. Not steaming, just put the rice+water directly over fire. Close the lid when the water almost dried up and wait for the crackling sound to turn the stove off.

This post has been edited by lowlowc: Jan 20 2018, 09:44 PM
TShalcyon27
post Jan 20 2018, 11:04 PM

2,140 posts

QUOTE(lowlowc @ Jan 20 2018, 09:43 PM)
My MIL now changed to use traditional rice cooker. Something like this:
Me? I use Zebra stainless steel pot, to cook rice. Not steaming, just put the rice+water directly over fire. Close the lid when the water almost dried up and wait for the crackling sound to turn the stove off.
You can consider steaming rice. Try parboiled grains which has lower GI. My wife has been steaming them as we never owned a rice cooker since we got married. Even till now after owning a Toshiba, most times we steam rice in a steamer.

This post has been edited by halcyon27: Jan 20 2018, 11:13 PM
kyle_kl
post Jan 22 2018, 09:50 AM

1,057 posts

QUOTE(halcyon27 @ Jan 15 2018, 05:03 PM)
Panasonic model has scalloped wall pattern which helps speeds up bubbling effect with boiling water this improving cooking time. This is something adopted from large industrial boilers know how perhaps. Tefal is crafted similarly but perhaps Panasonic improved this.

Toshiba model around for a few years. Try online. It has a stainless steel core which lends to heat storage thus shorterning cooking time and longer keep warm time. This is proven technology as employed in multi ply metal cookware that has aluminium and stainless steel cores. Electrical consumption could be lower with this kind of pot.
Finally i bought the Panasonic SR-ZG105 model instead, after knowing 1L is more than enough for my family size.
So far everything is good, except when choosing the brown rice, it requires 2 hours to cook blink.gif
At the end, i just use normal white rice mode to cook the brown rice, the taste got not much different also laugh.gif
TShalcyon27
post Jan 22 2018, 10:03 AM

2,140 posts

QUOTE(kyle_kl @ Jan 22 2018, 09:50 AM)
Finally i bought the Panasonic SR-ZG105 model instead, after knowing 1L is more than enough for my family size.
So far everything is good, except when choosing the brown rice, it requires 2 hours to cook  blink.gif 
At the end, i just use normal white rice mode to cook the brown rice, the taste got not much different also laugh.gif
Good to know...there must be a reason why brown rice mode takes that long. How's the rice texture when cooked, does it stick to the pot and will break when scooped with a spatula or firm yet soft when bitten?
dayalan86
post Jan 22 2018, 02:47 PM

981 posts

QUOTE(kyle_kl @ Jan 22 2018, 09:50 AM)
So far everything is good, except when choosing the brown rice, it requires 2 hours to cook  blink.gif 
Brown rice mode, I think it allows for the soak time as well and different brands of brown rice require different soaking time as well. In essence, the white rice mode is sufficient. Old school rice cookers don't have this function but can still cook brown rice perfectly.
dayalan86
post Jan 22 2018, 04:10 PM

981 posts

QUOTE(ukoria @ Oct 4 2017, 05:33 PM)
why not go for noxxa pressure cooker ? is multifunction, my mom always use this cook rice
How do you cook rice in the Noxxa? we use it to cook curry. Got it FOC, but wouldn't be paying the price Amway is asking for it though
ukoria
post Jan 22 2018, 05:48 PM

99 posts

QUOTE(dayalan86 @ Jan 22 2018, 04:10 PM)
How do you cook rice in the Noxxa? we use it to cook curry. Got it FOC, but wouldn't be paying the price Amway is asking for it though
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=G4RQ8VY7h9k
SUSadvocado
post Jan 23 2018, 08:09 AM

2,948 posts

recommend rice cooker that can set timer and most important won't bubble up so you have to leave the cover half open or else whole table a mess.

and can you steam rice using rice cooker?

This post has been edited by advocado: Jan 23 2018, 08:09 AM
Find The Way
post Oct 16 2020, 10:48 AM

724 posts

Am looking for a small rice cooker around 1L, able to cook/steam vegetables (i.e. broccoli, carrot, potato, corn etc), instant noodles, porridge/congee. Even better if able to cook simple soup.

Besides those expensive ones with many recipe buttons, I wonder will other types of rice cooker with much simpler look able to do the job? I'm considering Elba ERC-E1031WH, but its description mentions only cook rice and keep warm.
http://www.elba.com.my/product/erc-e1031wh/

Thanks for advice smile.gif
mini orchard
post Oct 16 2020, 01:10 PM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(Find The Way @ Oct 16 2020, 10:48 AM)
Am looking for a small rice cooker around 1L, able to cook/steam vegetables (i.e. broccoli, carrot, potato, corn etc), instant noodles, porridge/congee. Even better if able to cook simple soup.

Besides those expensive ones with many recipe buttons, I wonder will other types of rice cooker with much simpler look able to do the job? I'm considering Elba ERC-E1031WH, but its description mentions only cook rice and keep warm.
http://www.elba.com.my/product/erc-e1031wh/

Thanks for advice smile.gif
Most basic rice cooker can do that.
Find The Way
post Oct 16 2020, 01:30 PM

724 posts

QUOTE(mini orchard @ Oct 16 2020, 01:10 PM)
Most basic rice cooker can do that.
So... basically any types of rice cooker will do, right? I was worrying that could there be any type that is strictly for cooking rice, or will spoilt otherwise sweat.gif
mini orchard
post Oct 16 2020, 02:03 PM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(Find The Way @ Oct 16 2020, 01:30 PM)
So... basically any types of rice cooker will do, right? I was worrying that could there be any type that is strictly for cooking rice, or will spoilt otherwise sweat.gif
Similar to any cooking pot, do not cook till is burnt.
Find The Way
post Oct 16 2020, 04:42 PM

724 posts

QUOTE(mini orchard @ Oct 16 2020, 02:03 PM)
Similar to any cooking pot, do not cook till is burnt.
Noted. Thank you for the tip smile.gif
thelifechangingme
post Oct 20 2020, 12:38 PM

42 posts

Hello all sifus, anyone tried Xiaomi rice cooker? I am looking to buy because it looks very minimalistic in white. Looks super convincing, any feedback??

The rice cooker: http://www.xiaomimy.com/index.php?route=pr...&product_id=549

3 Pages < 1 2 3Top

0.0380sec    1.67    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 03:28 AM