[Home Appliances] Rice Cooker, uni or multi-functional types

TShalcyon27
post Sep 30 2017, 10:40 PM, updated 8y ago

2,140 posts

This thread is dedicated to the venerable home appliance that most if not all Asian cannot live without: the electric rice cooker. Granted with an induction, cooking rice has gone retro with (induction treated base) ceramic pot. But we'll stick to electric rice/ multi functional (not only rice) cookers.

From this type
Most of us born before 1985 are familiar with the round pot. Bragging rights belong to Toshiba who introduced the first commercially successful model in 1955 but in terms of prominence and market share in Malaysia, most likely goes to National (Matsushita). Ironically, Toshiba's first model was the indirect boiling (double boiling) type which gave way to dry chamber direct boiling, the form which we all grew up with and know today. Another player in Taiwan who partnered with Toshiba initially in order to sell more steel, eventually capitalised this method very effectively. Early model only cook and have no keep warm thus the rice has to be moved to an insulated container. In 1960s, Zojirushi introduced the first one with a keep warm function in Japan with other manufacturers soon following suit thereafter. As many forumers have confirmed, the old National appliances are rock solid and you could swear that they still could be working today if not for scarcity of spare parts. As seen here. Another interesting factoid: this method of cooking is called direct heating wherein the outer chamber that encloses the rice pot is dry. Earlier Japanese models were also manufactured as indirect heating aka double boiling but the direct heating models (dry outer chamber) that we are familiar with gained prominence. More on indirect heating method after the next one below this.

to this type...
Popular in the early 80s, non stick surface within an aluminium core, non detachable cover. Keep warm function by this time becomes mandatory but good for a certain number of hours after which the rice eventually dries out. The pot was constructed to deal with the difficulty of washing the burnt rice off and to evenly distribute heat during cooking. But this is not entirely fool proof as organic substances within the rice also adhere to the surface and forms a difficult to remove layer. Certain manufacturers introduced certain preprogrammed logic in varying the temperature and duration calling models equipped with it as "Fuzzy Logic".

to this type...
Stainless steel round pot (due to aluminium health scare). The con is not easy to wash but that is overcome with soaking or using the dishwasher. Buffalo sells replacement pots for olden models. Visit their shop or website with the model number of your old round pot rice cooker and they could have a replacement inner pot made of stainless steel.

The other notable appliance company is Tatung who are known for making CRT monitors for those who used to own 80286-80486 PCs. They are the little known innovators from Taiwan and have been known to cook many things with this pot making it known as the "little rice cooker that can". Although this form was the one that Toshiba introduced as the first commercially successful rice cooker back in 1955, Tatung capitalised it to its full potential. Only two functions: cook & keep warm but it packs a hefty multifunctional accessories for steaming and includes a well thought lid holder clasp on the left handle. A unique feature about the Tatung which was innovated by Toshiba besides employing stainless steel is that the method of cooking: water is added to the containing outer chamber which surrounds the inner pot (also has it's own lid) that holds that rice to be cooked. In the US, it's known as indirect boiling but we call this method double boiling. This mode of rice cooking is featured in the Balmuda's Gohan 3Go seen in post #7 below. In Taiwan, electrical supply is 120V. They're sold by Lazada in the Philippines but beware although they're rated at 220V, the phase is 60Hz vs 50Hz in MY/HK/SG/AU/UK. In other words if you buy them, you'll need a transformer to convert the phase to 50Hz. Only appliances rated 110-240V at 50Hz/60Hz are compatible anywhere in the world.

True to their spirit of innovation, they combined the bamboo basket steaming experience that many are familiar with in a rice cooker albeit those accessory being in stainless steel form as shown below.Attached Image

to this type...
Microcomputer (micom) controlled. Many models are equipped with timer delay that allows the starting of rice cooking to complete by a number of hours later so that it's ready when you come home from work. Advances in safer material increased confidence of non stick coating. The keep warm function in later iterations eventually allows keeping it overnight without the rice drying out. Early generations used heating element costing 650-850W. Manufacturers like Zojirushi incorporated induction much like how an induction cooker operates thus halving the electricity consumption. Reviews and anecdotes abound about better tasting rice due to the precise temperature control and the type of material used in the cooking pot e.g. platinum. Pressurised induction models combines pressure cooking principle with an induction base element to speed up cooking time and convert the starch to an easy to digest state. Fuzzy Logic improvements with advances in AI and neural network algorithms added into the micom expanded the repertoire of the type of rice it can cook. It is called by a variety of names e.g.Neuro Fuzzy. More on that topic here.

to this type...
Microcomputer (micom) controlled with unglazed clay pot (better heat retention). China is traditionally the innovator in this field with a proliferation of China made slow cooker made of red or purple clay making head way into the market early too mid 2000s. Most prominent of all is Zisha (purple clay) aka Yixing clay from southern China which is rich in iron oxide. In that US, Vitaclay is one of the many product manufacturer. Locally, Pensonic are among those who produce this. [Update: Elba makes purple clay slow cookers which can stew and make porridge but not purple clay rice cookers.]BMS organics also carries one product.

Surely this device has evolved from uni functional to multi functional of today but that doesn't mean the uni functional type is only used for cooking rice alone.

There are many anecdotes of tricks done with this device esp the good old round small pot. One that's perhaps familiar with some is as a home made sauna for those mothers who just gave birth as used by the traditional confinement masseuse. They will wrap the mothers in sarong as they sit over a stool with the rice cooker boiling water into steam beneath the chair and the mother being wrapped in a bigger cloth to keep the steam in. etc.

Looking forward to hear everyone's sharing experience.

Below are based on Milux micom unglazed ceramic pot multi function rice cooker.

This post has been edited by halcyon27: Oct 3 2017, 08:59 PM
Xaser_3
post Oct 1 2017, 02:56 PM

Because I Fly, I envy no man on earth...
10,536 posts

Parking for future reference
TShalcyon27
post Oct 1 2017, 10:16 PM

2,140 posts

Lifehacker: 15 things you can do with a rice cooker. The versatile humble workhorse's hidden talents.

Others sites on Google yield many similar just like it. The late movie critic celebrity Roger Ebert even wrote a book about it.

A little historical light reading from 2011 with the in top of the line models of its time here.

Update...there's now a combo of a traditional first gen round pot rice cooker with a round steamer tray attachment.

In the UK, Canada and Australia is brand called Crock-pot. They're sold here locally also but by other brands such as iSonic rice cooker with steamer plate (aluminium inner pot) or a Panasonic 12 Cup (Uncooked) Automatic Rice Cooker/Steamer non stick inner pot, OYAMA Stainless 16-Cup (Cooked) (8-Cup UNCOOKED) Rice Cooker, Stainless Steel Inner Pot, Stainless Steamer Tray (CNS-A15U) (120V!) seen here,
Tayama RC-8 Rice Cooker with 8 Cup Steam Tray but voltage unknown.

This post has been edited by halcyon27: Oct 3 2017, 02:13 PM
enriquelee
post Oct 2 2017, 01:51 PM

Don't ask for more, ask for COKE
10,510 posts

I am looking for a rice cooker now too.
Any good 1 to introduce?
TShalcyon27
post Oct 2 2017, 02:32 PM

2,140 posts

QUOTE(enriquelee @ Oct 2 2017, 01:51 PM)
Any good 1 to introduce?
Who is the primary cook at home? Wife, parent or you? Many choices even the latest one by Milux in the video above which uses ceramic pot. A couple of friends swear by Toshiba 1.8l multi function cooker. Others just use the simple first and second gen type. Others use the Takada or Lifewell unglazed clay pot multi function cooker handling more than just cooking rice.

SS2 has a whole row of electrical shops to browse with a new one called l opened across the street from D'Legend last Saturday. [Update sorry that's a mobile shop]

This post has been edited by halcyon27: Oct 2 2017, 02:42 PM
TShalcyon27
post Oct 2 2017, 06:37 PM

2,140 posts

Rice cooker with steamer tray integrated similar to the Tatung except that the latter employs water in the outer chamber surrounding the rice pot which has its own lid.

Chicken and rice cooked in an Aroma rice cooker with steam tray by a guy who lives in a recreational vehicle (RV)

Hainanese chicken rice in a rice cooker

Briyani chicken in a rice cooker

Fried rice in a rice cooker

Vegan meals

Cooking meals with the versatile Tatung rice cooker

This post has been edited by halcyon27: Oct 3 2017, 06:12 PM
TShalcyon27
post Oct 2 2017, 07:44 PM

2,140 posts

Models, some with demo. Some models not sold here but it's to give an idea of the versatility of this appliance.

Cuisinart CRC-400 & CRC-800 models

Zojirushi NS-LGC05

Korin Product show: Episode 8 Zojirushi rice cookers
Heating plate, microcomputer (micom), induction, induction pressurised

Aroma micom rice cooker with saute then simmer function

See a variety of all in one Chinese cuisine cooked with one recipe using the sautee then simmer function here.

Balmuda, The Gohan 3Go (3 cups), 2017 red dot design winner Two pot indirect boiling/heating (double boiling) but below boiling temperature to cook rice. Not sure if this is healthy but they used what looks like cast iron pots or similarly looking non stick pots. A kiwi review found here. This is their first iteration and it only cook from 0.5-3cups of white rice and is without a keep warm function. 120V only.

Tatung Indirect Heating (Double boiling) Rice Cooker

Taiwan appliance company maintained this method whilst most Japanese company moved to direct heating (dry outer chamber) early on, the method which we are familiar today. 120V only. In Philippines it's 220V/60Hz which still requires a transformer if used in MY (240V/50Hz).

Another video showcasing the Tatung's versatility. Those who've lived in Taiwan or the USA but relied on Chinatown for marketing and buying a rice cooker could possibly attest and feedback. This one is gaining prominence under my radar. Dont mind the video's corny-ness midway tongue.gif

This post has been edited by halcyon27: Oct 3 2017, 05:55 PM
enriquelee
post Oct 3 2017, 09:16 AM

10,510 posts

QUOTE(halcyon27 @ Oct 2 2017, 02:32 PM)
Who is the primary cook at home? Wife, parent or you? Many choices even the latest one by Milux in the video above which uses ceramic pot. A couple of friends swear by Toshiba 1.8l multi function cooker. Others just use the simple first and second gen type. Others use the Takada or Lifewell unglazed clay pot multi function cooker handling more than just cooking rice.

SS2 has a whole row of electrical shops to browse with a new one called l opened across the street from D'Legend last Saturday. [Update sorry that's a mobile shop]
The Milux cooker look so modern.
So the options that we have are
1) ceramic pot
2) unglazed clay pot
3) 1st and 2nd gen pot (I presume steel with coating)

What is the hype about Toshiba multi function cooker?

QUOTE(halcyon27 @ Oct 2 2017, 07:44 PM)
Models, some with demo. Some models not sold here but it's to give an idea of the versatility of this appliance.

Very informative, thanks
TShalcyon27
post Oct 3 2017, 09:54 AM

2,140 posts

QUOTE(enriquelee @ Oct 3 2017, 09:16 AM)
The Milux cooker look so modern.
So the options that we have are
1) ceramic pot
2) unglazed clay pot
3) 1st and 2nd gen pot (I presume steel with coating)

What is the hype about Toshiba multi function cooker?
Very informative, thanks
Go with either anything non Teflon coated, stainless steel or ceramic or unglazed clay. The latter can be prone to cracking as I have experienced this with purple clay slow cookers albeit small capacity and possibly thinner walls.

I've updated the first post and will update more as I dig into the history.

Toshiba had bragging rights as they were the first to introduce a commercially successful home rice cooker. There's nothing fanciful about the Toshiba micom cooker except that the pot itself is quite neat in material and construction for even heat distribution. Also check out the Tefal which has a unique scalloped bottom pot which evenly distributes the heat.

The all time favourite in Japan and the US is Zojirushi (baby elephant brand) who also makes thermos, slow cooker, and bread making appliances. But these are mostly 120V models.

Apart from that instead of a heating element, induction heating with a made for induction pot (namely iron or steel core) halves the electrical consumption during cooking. Korean brands also are making a headway but they are 220V/60Hz which may need a transformer here as our country employs 240V/50Hz.
jetwash
post Oct 3 2017, 10:14 AM

On high-altitude training
623 posts

QUOTE(halcyon27 @ Oct 3 2017, 09:54 AM)
Go with either anything non Teflon coated, stainless steel or ceramic or unglazed clay. The latter can be prone to cracking as I have experienced this with purple clay slow cookers albeit small capacity and possibly thinner walls.

Toshiba had bragging rights as they were the first to introduce a commercially successful home rice cooker. There's nothing fanciful about the Toshiba micom cooker except that the pot itself is quite neat in material and construction for even heat distribution. Also check out the Tefal which has a unique scalloped bottom pot which evenly distributes the heat.

The all time favourite in Japan and the US is Zojirushi (baby elephant brand) who also makes thermos, slow cooker, and bread making appliances. But these are mostly 120V models.

Apart from that instead of a heating element, induction heating with a made for induction pot (namely iron or steel core) halves the electrical consumption during cooking. Korean brands also are making a headway but they are 220V/60Hz which may need a transformer here as our country employs 240V/50Hz.
Yeah, used a Daewoo (I think) rice cooker while airbnbing in Seoul a few weeks ago. Could only work out two of the functions from Google translate. Was particularly impressed with its smart keep warm function.
idoblu
post Oct 3 2017, 10:24 AM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(enriquelee @ Oct 2 2017, 01:51 PM)
Any good 1 to introduce?
im happy with my hitachi rice cooker
TShalcyon27
post Oct 3 2017, 10:56 AM

2,140 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Oct 3 2017, 10:24 AM)
I was eyeing one before we eventually settled on the a Toshiba. I liked the pot construction better after my wife commented the rice smelt and tasted better than how we previously cooked ours (in a 3 tray food steamer). This was at our friend's place where we had dinner one night and that led us to discover the Toshiba rice cooker.

I've added the Gohan at #7. If they make 240V model and a keep warm function, it might suit small families like retired couples but it's pricy.

This post has been edited by halcyon27: Oct 3 2017, 11:19 AM
idoblu
post Oct 3 2017, 11:21 AM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(halcyon27 @ Oct 3 2017, 10:56 AM)
I was eyeing one before we eventually settled on the a Toshiba. I liked the pot construction better after my wife commented the rice smelt and tasted better than how we previously cooked ours (in a 3 tray food steamer). This was at our friend's place where we had dinner one night and that led us to discover the Toshiba rice cooker.

I've added the Gohan at #7. If they make 240V model and a keep warm function, it might suit small families like retired couples but it's pricy.
yeah i was looking at the toshiba pot. its much heavier and looks more solid. supposed to tahan scratches etc
enriquelee
post Oct 3 2017, 01:30 PM

10,510 posts

QUOTE(halcyon27 @ Oct 3 2017, 09:54 AM)

Thanks for the 1st post info.
My wife is actually eyeing Tefal, reason being she has a discount coupon for this brand. haha

QUOTE(idoblu @ Oct 3 2017, 10:24 AM)
Mind to do a mini review?
idoblu
post Oct 3 2017, 02:00 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(enriquelee @ Oct 3 2017, 01:30 PM)
Thanks for the 1st post info.
My wife is actually eyeing Tefal, reason being she has a discount coupon for this brand. haha
Mind to do a mini review?
It cooks rice 😋
aeiou228
post Oct 3 2017, 02:11 PM

5,871 posts

My 3 years+ Tefal rice cooker (the type with fancy digital display and ceramic inner pot) retired prematurely due to board failure. Cost of board replacement and service charge is around RM120.
TShalcyon27
post Oct 3 2017, 03:32 PM

2,140 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Oct 3 2017, 02:11 PM)
My 3 years+ Tefal rice cooker (the type with fancy digital display and ceramic inner pot) retired prematurely due to board failure. Cost of board replacement and service charge is around RM120.
How did it perform compared to what you have used before this? Any other cooking besides rice was attempted, etc?
schnoopzmq
post Oct 3 2017, 03:41 PM

Very happy with my Toshiba rice cooker RC-18NMFIM. Been using it for 3 years and not a single stratch on the inner pot. The pot itself is heavy and solid.
enriquelee
post Oct 3 2017, 05:24 PM

10,510 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Oct 3 2017, 02:00 PM)
It cooks rice 😋
No good then, can not multi task. rclxs0.gif
Thanks for the review. tongue.gif
aeiou228
post Oct 3 2017, 05:57 PM

5,871 posts

QUOTE(halcyon27 @ Oct 3 2017, 03:32 PM)
How did it perform compared to what you have used before this? Any other cooking besides rice was attempted, etc?
I've never try other multi function other than cooking white rice, brown rice and congee. I think it cook rice better than my previous Panasonic (also a multifunctional rice cooker albeit older model). My Panasonic rice cooker still working fine during the temporary relieve of duty vacated by Tefal. I bought Tefal simply because of safer ceramic inner pot and the pot is still in good condition but the control board is not durable.

0.0285sec    0.77    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 11:43 PM