How to get out from my MMR bracket

TShanif666
post Sep 15 2017, 05:19 PM, updated 9y ago

38 posts

Hi. I'm a lower 3k player. Been playing since Dota 1 in 2007. Mostly play offlane. Fav hero includes BB, Weaver, Necro & DK. Problem is, I can't seem to get past 3.2K. I can have 10 straight wins going from 2.9 to 3.1++ after which I'll be paired with retarded teammates and lose back all. I can maintain a GPM around 480-500 in every game and at least a 3.0 KDA ratio. So I'm now only hanging around 2.9 to 3.1 How do I overcome this?
thomasyke
post Sep 15 2017, 05:23 PM

409 posts

QUOTE(hanif666 @ Sep 15 2017, 05:19 PM)
Hi. I'm a lower 3k player. Been playing since Dota 1 in 2007. Mostly play offlane. Fav hero includes BB, Weaver, Necro & DK. Problem is, I can't seem to get past 3.2K. I can have 10 straight wins going from 2.9 to 3.1++ after which I'll be paired with retarded teammates and lose back all. I can maintain a GPM around 480-500 in every game and at least a 3.0 KDA ratio. So I'm now only hanging around 2.9 to 3.1 How do I overcome this?
one thing i learned when climbing from 2.8 to 3.9 before dropping back down to 3.4 nowadays, is your role must be flexible, can't keep playing same role.
However, on the other hand, i noticed that if you too extreme in one role (in my case support) when you meet a team that is all the same role, you're pretty much fcked.
There were countless times when i reach the MMR ceiling only to meet a team of support players 5 supporters looking at our stats (last 20 matches) nobody could farm effectively, nobody could use tank effectively.
Then we all suffered from -25.
pspslim007
post Sep 15 2017, 05:24 PM

701 posts

i wanna parking here, cause i am facing red days lately wuuuhuuuuu!!!
SUSTheHitman47
post Sep 15 2017, 05:26 PM

Nuke
1,053 posts

only 1 way, git good
Blues89
post Sep 16 2017, 11:09 AM

☆*:.。. o(≧▽≦)o .。.:*☆
4,892 posts

if pro enough,get mid hero that can really change the game,tinker,storm,invoker all can easily settle the game alone
Chobits
post Sep 18 2017, 02:50 PM

Cutest piece of technology on the planet
721 posts

u can keep playing the heroes u specialize in to climb better.
if u are good in BB, then keep spam BB, there is no match where BB is not a threat. its an universal tank and lane control hero.
but do keep these points in mind.

1) keep warding
2) keep TP to help to TP to save core and carry
3) keep your eyes on minimap, exploit hero gaps
4) if u are mid, always make sure rune is taken by u or by support
5) if u are tank, make sure all is going to push, then go and play by objective, get twr then retreat
6) never give away a free kill, even if u are winning the game

QUOTE(thomasyke @ Sep 15 2017, 05:23 PM)
one thing i learned when climbing from 2.8 to 3.9 before dropping back down to 3.4 nowadays, is your role must be flexible, can't keep playing same role.
However, on the other hand, i noticed that if you too extreme in one role (in my case support) when you meet a team that is all the same role, you're pretty much fcked.
There were countless times when i reach the MMR ceiling only to meet a team of support players 5 supporters looking at our stats (last 20 matches) nobody could farm effectively, nobody could use tank effectively.
Then we all suffered from -25.
hehe, same here. yesterday, 4 support 1 core. gg no carry.

thomasyke
post Sep 18 2017, 05:18 PM

409 posts

QUOTE(Chobits @ Sep 18 2017, 02:50 PM)
u can keep playing the heroes u specialize in to climb better.
if u are good in BB, then keep spam BB, there is no match where BB is not a threat. its an universal tank and lane control hero.
but do keep these points in mind.

1) keep warding
2) keep TP to help to TP to save core and carry
3) keep your eyes on minimap, exploit hero gaps
4) if u are mid, always make sure rune is taken by u or by support
5) if u are tank, make sure all is going to push, then go and play by objective, get twr then retreat
6) never give away a free kill, even if u are winning the game
hehe, same here. yesterday, 4 support 1 core. gg no carry.
highlight point above, always get a TP, but know when to use it, do you need to go there immediately or can you walk out, it's like when you died and nobody is pushing your lanes, is it necessary to TP? maybe that TP out immediately after someone needs help and you can't TP over cause 70sec cd.
Dotabuff always give useful tips register yourself if you haven't already.
Kiorin
post Sep 21 2017, 01:01 AM

"which I'll be paired with retarded teammates and lose back all" maybe u should try to give and take.. try different role or dun always take offlane..

from what i notice.. a game without flaming and blaming own team usually won! icon_idea.gif

QUOTE(thomasyke @ Sep 18 2017, 05:18 PM)
highlight point above, always get a TP, but know when to use it, do you need to go there immediately or can you walk out, it's like when you died and nobody is pushing your lanes, is it necessary to TP? maybe that TP out immediately after someone needs help and you can't TP over cause 70sec cd.
Dotabuff always give useful tips register yourself if you haven't already.
arent it boring when u keep using same hero sweat.gif
e_X
post Sep 21 2017, 01:08 AM

584 posts

Try play mid hero is the answer. Mid or feed.
Chobits
post Sep 21 2017, 12:19 PM

Cutest piece of technology on the planet
721 posts

QUOTE(Kiorin @ Sep 21 2017, 01:01 AM)
"which I'll be paired with retarded teammates and lose back all" maybe u should try to give and take.. try different role or dun always take offlane..

from what i notice.. a game without flaming and blaming own team usually won!  icon_idea.gif
arent it boring when u keep using same hero  sweat.gif
peaceful games, most are won.
then chii ask u, what hero do frequently use, got more than 50 times?
did u master the these following things:
1) hero movement speed & turn rate
2) hero spell cast range
3) hero armor & hit animation
4) hero compatibility with other hero
5) unique play styles to counter each enemy hero
6) item builds to accommodate carries and cores

and many other factors, if these are not mastered, the hero u are using is lacking in control and will definitely screw up critical moments.
yes, maybe boring but even after playing 600 games of CM, chii still see and learn new things with some heroes.

thomasyke
post Sep 22 2017, 09:06 PM

409 posts

QUOTE(Kiorin @ Sep 21 2017, 01:01 AM)

from what i notice.. a game without flaming and blaming own team usually won!  icon_idea.gif
arent it boring when u keep using same hero  sweat.gif
If you like variety and you suck at critical time during MMR ceiling, the only way is down, so better to concentrate on your good heroes and make sure you reach that ceiling. I've seen some really good players throw games because they got bored of using their good hero. They think that they already know it all, and chose to 'random'.
I'm not against variety, but not during MMR, spoils the game for others trying to climb expecting the full teamwork of all their teammates only to have someone on their team go random and then say, sorry guys i can't use this hero anybody wanna swap? or worse, just think they can and feed.
nizamz
post Sep 23 2017, 04:35 PM

56 posts

Hard bro. Solo queue
funnyTONE
post Sep 24 2017, 11:20 PM

certified /k/ oldfag
2,949 posts

positive mental attitude
SpringBiscuit
post Sep 29 2017, 07:44 PM

706 posts

from my experience of grinding 3.2k till 4k, there are few criteria you need to pay attention :

1) Spam toxic hero from the current patch you are in
2) Do not flame your teammates too much, they tend to throw
3) Ask nicely who to lane during hero picking range, if the highest MMR player is picking carry/core, you can pick pos 4 or 5 to support him
4) If you are good in pos 1, spam it
5) Pick counter hero
6) Focus on picking a few heroes that you are extremely good at.
benkorrie
post Oct 21 2017, 05:58 AM

We all agree that sometimes (maybe most of the time if we played dota 2 too much) we get cancerous players, who do not want to listen, noobies that can't really play that hero (solo mmr) . I always get the same problems, so i take charge of filling up the missing role in team, try to be nice even it is hard to do with shitty teammates, occasionally tell them what to do (do not go into dark map, soloing without seeing map, rambo'ing every time he meet 5 enemies at once, play safe etc), occasionally because if you tell them too much, they will started to get irritated with you.

If it is still not working, just pray to god you win.
eligible
post Oct 21 2017, 11:02 AM

858 posts

parking. everyweek drop 100 mmr. tired. from 4k end up currently 3.3k sad.gif
NightHeart
post Oct 22 2017, 04:21 PM

3,991 posts

The regional match making rosak or dysfunctional already? Lately got match up with a lot of pinoy farmers that can't hunt or kill.
Imagination *-*
post Oct 23 2017, 12:41 PM

56 posts

u need to play a reliable support that is useful from start to end. be the support. Wards, smokes & map awareness wins games. Also always cary tp.
Zelgadus
post Oct 23 2017, 03:51 PM

QUOTE(SpringBiscuit @ Sep 29 2017, 07:44 PM)
from my experience of grinding 3.2k till 4k, there are few criteria you need to pay attention :

1) Spam toxic hero from the current patch you are in
2) Do not flame your teammates too much, they tend to throw
3) Ask nicely who to lane during hero picking range, if the highest MMR player is picking carry/core, you can pick pos 4 or 5 to support him
4) If you are good in pos 1, spam it
5) Pick counter hero
6) Focus on picking a few heroes that you are extremely good at.
I second all these above ^

That is what exactly I did back then.
Now meta changed so much I don't even follow shit anymore.

But tbh, I would recommend a team of friends to chase your MMR goals together.
Less toxic, more focus on the game.

My shitty profile:
Chrono-Trigger
post Oct 24 2017, 08:36 PM

BY SELF ONE IS DEFILED AND PURIFIED
4,307 posts

Easy. Just quit

0.0188sec    0.26    5 queries    GZIP Disabled