How to get out from my MMR bracket

Chobits
post Sep 18 2017, 02:50 PM

Cutest piece of technology on the planet
721 posts

QUOTE(hanif666 @ Sep 15 2017, 05:19 PM)
Hi. I'm a lower 3k player. Been playing since Dota 1 in 2007. Mostly play offlane. Fav hero includes BB, Weaver, Necro & DK. Problem is, I can't seem to get past 3.2K. I can have 10 straight wins going from 2.9 to 3.1++ after which I'll be paired with retarded teammates and lose back all. I can maintain a GPM around 480-500 in every game and at least a 3.0 KDA ratio. So I'm now only hanging around 2.9 to 3.1 How do I overcome this?
u can keep playing the heroes u specialize in to climb better.
if u are good in BB, then keep spam BB, there is no match where BB is not a threat. its an universal tank and lane control hero.
but do keep these points in mind.

1) keep warding
2) keep TP to help to TP to save core and carry
3) keep your eyes on minimap, exploit hero gaps
4) if u are mid, always make sure rune is taken by u or by support
5) if u are tank, make sure all is going to push, then go and play by objective, get twr then retreat
6) never give away a free kill, even if u are winning the game

QUOTE(thomasyke @ Sep 15 2017, 05:23 PM)
one thing i learned when climbing from 2.8 to 3.9 before dropping back down to 3.4 nowadays, is your role must be flexible, can't keep playing same role.
However, on the other hand, i noticed that if you too extreme in one role (in my case support) when you meet a team that is all the same role, you're pretty much fcked.
There were countless times when i reach the MMR ceiling only to meet a team of support players 5 supporters looking at our stats (last 20 matches) nobody could farm effectively, nobody could use tank effectively.
Then we all suffered from -25.
hehe, same here. yesterday, 4 support 1 core. gg no carry.

Chobits
post Sep 21 2017, 12:19 PM

721 posts

QUOTE(Kiorin @ Sep 21 2017, 01:01 AM)
"which I'll be paired with retarded teammates and lose back all" maybe u should try to give and take.. try different role or dun always take offlane..

from what i notice.. a game without flaming and blaming own team usually won!  icon_idea.gif
arent it boring when u keep using same hero  sweat.gif
peaceful games, most are won.
then chii ask u, what hero do frequently use, got more than 50 times?
did u master the these following things:
1) hero movement speed & turn rate
2) hero spell cast range
3) hero armor & hit animation
4) hero compatibility with other hero
5) unique play styles to counter each enemy hero
6) item builds to accommodate carries and cores

and many other factors, if these are not mastered, the hero u are using is lacking in control and will definitely screw up critical moments.
yes, maybe boring but even after playing 600 games of CM, chii still see and learn new things with some heroes.

Chobits
post Oct 25 2017, 09:55 AM

721 posts

QUOTE(xHj09 @ Oct 24 2017, 11:27 PM)
you better stay retired haha!

i told myself the same thing, reached 5k wanted to retire, then try and play play reach 5.2k

????

4.1k now  laugh.gif  laugh.gif
why drop so much??
Chobits
post Oct 25 2017, 01:51 PM

721 posts

QUOTE(xHj09 @ Oct 25 2017, 12:26 PM)
coz that fire only wanna up till 5k, not young anymore  cry.gif

only playing once in awhile ba now, lose then lose, don really care anymore  sweat.gif
well if u just play normal pub will be better. don't drag down mmr games.
pub game also uses current mmr to find games, so u will still be playing good competitive games.

sometimes funny to see mid playing like support role and the support playing like carry style.
all parts and parcel of pub

0.0155sec    0.43    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 07:49 PM