SUS2feidei
post Jan 1 2018, 11:02 PM

Ayam tatau, ayam virgin (c)
3,158 posts

QUOTE(ikanair @ Jan 1 2018, 10:27 PM)
Countdown already started
5 years max, no more human drivers

find alternatives before too late
I want to buy that type of car also, if not too expensive.....imagine, just hope into it, tell the car the destination biggrin.gif
SUS2feidei
post Jan 1 2018, 11:07 PM

3,158 posts

QUOTE(Utopia Angel @ Jan 1 2018, 11:05 PM)
There is actually a 3rd type of rider.
Those that doesn't need a ride, but requested a ride because it's free or less than rm3.
The 2 types you have mentioned actually needs a ride to go somewhere.
laugh.gif that we called tempang rider laugh.gif

Uber still giving free ride promo like crazy?
SUS2feidei
post Jan 2 2018, 09:04 PM

3,158 posts

QUOTE(yhtan @ Jan 2 2018, 09:37 AM)
Uber giving lesser now. Grab habuk pun tarak laugh.gif

But the promo code should be serve as discount instead of create tempang rider. What they should do is enjoy RM3 off for RM10 ride above, like this only reasonable.
Grab got what....they give u points, which then can convert into grab code for ride.... biggrin.gif So, far, if I am on biz travel, I will use whichever is available, preference to Grab, due to this. If personal, cheapskate, open 2 apps, find which one is lower fare laugh.gif

QUOTE(KennyKB @ Jan 2 2018, 12:16 PM)
It's not whether Uber can survive with the low fares, it's whether drivers find driving for Uber worth it or not. Of course Uber can survive no matter how low the fares as they only maintain the app but without drivers they have to 'bungkus'.
There always people willing to drive for Uber, for some unknown reason laugh.gif or they don't know yet is rugi.....it is only realised rugi when u need to pump petrol, realised why so often need to pump petrol, when u need to pay car maintenance, etc.....when u received cash or bank in from Uber, u won't realised one.....u thought u got extra money to spend laugh.gif then, end of month, why don't feel got extra cash in pocket or money in bank money not enough one, or even lesser than before driving laugh.gif

How often people diligently keep records of all spending vs money collected?
SUS2feidei
post Jan 2 2018, 10:37 PM

3,158 posts

QUOTE(Utopia Angel @ Jan 2 2018, 10:17 PM)
===> ME

Last year when I started driving for Uber, my Uber bank account (separate account) kept increasing.
This year it hit me hard when I sent my car for maintenance, I had to withdraw >50% savings from my Uber bank account.
So I started to calculate all the "hidden costs" and wasted time (long pickups), and then realised that the earning is too shitty.

That is why in the previous Uber thread, I complained so hard.
But still there are ppl supporting Uber, I also cannot figure out why - maybe they drive an Axia.

Now I don't know if the hike in fare is worth it to drive or not, but for sure not as bad as 2017.
Ok lah, still got 50% balance after minus off the car maintenance. Petrol include or not? laugh.gif

What car u drive ah? So jimat one?

Last time when I drive, when the petrol still below RM2/liter, everyday I keep tap on it, got seperate account, how much fare I got, how much I spend for petrol, spend for maintainance, average out over 1 year period, return only 20% max cry.gif And, the hours, usually 12 hours min, but, I drive whenever I sukak lah, I don't follow time (last time, got dunno what peak hour bonus lah, etc), I usually drive off-peak hour, less traffic, less stress.

Demand still there, then, more and more tempang and demanding riders, it ain't fun driving around already.....and the one broke the camel back, the introduce fixed fare bye.gif Uber.....

For that experience, yeah, fun.....still remember my first drive, pick up one part time DJ work for RTM (which I don't recognised him, coz I don't listen to RTM laugh.gif , immediately I try to tune my radio into RTM channel to show support, konon wanna give 5* service while pretend calm, actually dammed nervous). He spotted it, asked me "New driver?" I sheepish reply, u r my first rider blush.gif ...then, he very nice, keep talking to me, ask me to treat as friend tumpang my car, and promise give me 5* rating.

The subsequent few were also pleasant, maybe that time Uber just accept card payment, so, rider well behave, worry they kena banned, their records Uber all have. The fare is quite ok too, about 20% lesser than taxi, but, customer no complain, only praise, good pleasant driver, nice car, safe. Some customer also feel very weird, why no need pay me end of ride one, keep asking me, sure no need pay u anything? Sure u get paid? Need to assure them, no worry, Uber will charge your credit card, and then they will pay me. Don't worry.... biggrin.gif Of course, rider also lesser lah. one day usually 6-8 request, but, still can hit RM100-RM120 per day. In between, I drop off, then, go home.

Then, they slash fare, they accept cash, do more promotion, encourage tempang rider, and, the rider quality start deteriorate, but, still acceptable lah......

Then, as more and more popular, plus government acknowledge them (still remember government silent on that, once a while kena harrassed by taxi drivers, go pick up riders at klcc or pavillion, feel like going to war or gallow laugh.gif worst when pickup tourist, they don't have local phone number, they don't know Malaysia taxi gangster, wait at taxi stand and wave like crazy to tell whole world u r Uber sweat.gif ) or worry where SPAD have operation (still remember one time SPAD had operation at Sunway, Uber send sms to all drivers, ask to avoid Sunway Pyramid, reason, heavy traffic jam, but, the old thread news spread like crazy, dunno how many car kena impounded, actually wayang only, for reporter to see, tomorrow call to release back the car)

Oh well, those were the old days.....feel very old already, only oldfag Uber driver can relates all above....... tongue.gif
SUS2feidei
post Jan 11 2018, 07:24 PM

3,158 posts

What is SD ah?
SUS2feidei
post Jan 11 2018, 07:30 PM

3,158 posts

QUOTE(jusbella @ Jan 11 2018, 07:28 PM)
Set destination
laugh.gif too long didn't drive, forgot all Uber acronym
SUS2feidei
post Feb 1 2018, 08:49 PM

3,158 posts

QUOTE(tanyuethan @ Feb 1 2018, 08:46 PM)
Uber ping rate getting slower and slower. Grab has won.
Coz, even nowadays I myself also lazy to request Uber, most of time Grab jer.....

Grab got points, less chance driver call "u mana mau pigi"...Grab, want accept my request, accept lor, don't want, don't accept lor....widely available, price also most of time cheaper than Uber
SUS2feidei
post Feb 17 2018, 12:26 PM

3,158 posts

Soon no more Uber in South East Asia

Uber is preparing to sell Southeast Asia unit to Grab in exchange for stake in company: Sources
SUS2feidei
post Feb 18 2018, 11:41 AM

3,158 posts

QUOTE(skylinelover @ Feb 17 2018, 09:59 PM)
Brace yourself jobless drivers laugh.gif doh.gif
Aiyo...not within 1-2 years...maybe looking at horizon of 5-10 years from now, that was also ambitious view. Need to get approval from authority
SUS2feidei
post Feb 19 2018, 12:10 AM

3,158 posts

QUOTE(ikanair @ Feb 18 2018, 08:09 PM)
few years back, those taxi drivers was thinking the same

who wanna take private car?
surely the SPAD cannot approve
where got license
the gomen depend on our vote
we provide essential service

where are they now?

the march of technology spares no one, embrace it or get obsolete

https://www.bloomberg.com/amp/news/articles...hailing-service

Level-5, full autonomous, it is ready, how fast to reach our shores? just ask those taxi drivers  tongue.gif
question will be how many countries already approved self-driving car on the road? All I read is all still in testing mode, non really approved on public road yet.

Once government approved, then, I would say very soon. But, before that, another hurdle, get pass Proton and Perodua protectionism policy first biggrin.gif
SUS2feidei
post Feb 19 2018, 09:53 PM

3,158 posts

QUOTE(ikanair @ Feb 19 2018, 06:10 PM)
Already approved in US. China won't be far behind, rest of the world will just follow, as they always do

Proton? non issue, already sold to Geely

It also depends how tech company roll out the model

The fastest would be to license it, Waymo, provide software, the rest of players go whack it out among themselves

note: the chinese are trying to catch up on autonomous driving, the government just given the green light for open road testing, you can only assured of 1 thing,  "China Speed"

http://www.scmp.com/tech/start-ups/article...rs-bid-catch-us
Interesting.....wonder if those self driving car is additional add-on to those existing car brand in market or totally new car company hmm.gif
SUS2feidei
post Mar 29 2018, 09:07 PM

3,158 posts

QUOTE(Utopia Angel @ Mar 29 2018, 03:24 PM)
Thread will close when Uber is officially closed.
Thread will also close earlier if Grab discussions continue here.

Kindly be informed, thank you.

It been honour to be allowed to bullshit here...thank you TS notworthy.gif

4 Pages « < 2 3 4Top

0.0676sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 05:32 PM