> [WTA] New ceiling fan a bit woobly. Normal?

SUSMatrix
post Aug 30 2017, 10:11 AM, updated 9y ago

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

I have just installed a new ceiling fan, but it looks a bit woobly to me when its on. I remember the old fan also not wobble like this.

The new fan is a 5 blade KDK fan. Is it normal? Or the jalat eletrician done a lousy job???

Thinking to call the electrician, but i think he will give me standard answer "Biasa bang, memang macam tu, PotongKDK mah"

Pls advice.

Thk you.

This post has been edited by Matrix: Aug 30 2017, 10:13 AM
silent_stalker
post Aug 30 2017, 10:12 AM

852 posts

Call back the tech who installed the fan. He didnt properly do balancing for the fan
SUSfuzzy
post Aug 30 2017, 10:12 AM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

Not normal, claim warranty.
DarkNite
post Aug 30 2017, 10:13 AM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Aug 30 2017, 10:11 AM)
I have just installed a new ceiling fan, but it looks a bit woobly to me when its on. I remember the old fan also not wobble like this.

The new fan is a 5 blade KDK fan. Is it normal? Or the jalat eletrician done a lousy job???

Pls advice.

Thk you.
Maybe you pay him peanuts?
amxpayne67
post Aug 30 2017, 10:14 AM

The Coon
718 posts

do test the wobblyness of your fan blade by slowly raise your head closer to the fan while it is spining
river.sand
post Aug 30 2017, 10:16 AM

3,816 posts

The fan may fall off the ceiling and injure someone.
Replace with table or standing fan.
karyeowl

309 posts

For KDK fan, please call the warranty center and they will send in a technician to balance the fan.
Rusty Nail

Why am I still here?
4,883 posts

Ceiling fans are designed to be balanced. Probably the guy did a poor job installing it.

I've installed 3 fans on my own. None wobble.
United Rulez
post Aug 30 2017, 10:18 AM

668 posts

Cukurlah, my ceiling fan sound like washing machine. Can you imgaine trying to sleep?
SweetPuff
post Aug 30 2017, 10:23 AM

2,021 posts

They need to properly balance the fan.
geelim77
post Aug 30 2017, 10:26 AM

181 posts

installation tak betul, please reinstall
loui
post Aug 30 2017, 10:29 AM

795 posts

grab a random construction site worker from nearby construction site to fix for you

it is an easy job for them + much cheaper
sevendogz
post Aug 30 2017, 10:31 AM

1,276 posts

re attach the 2nd and 4th blade, and probably it will balance out, if lazy, just tape a 10cent coin to one of the blade randomly
Boom Mortar
post Aug 30 2017, 10:33 AM

227 posts

download more ram will do
MonsterPips
post Aug 30 2017, 10:36 AM

332 posts

Send to tire shop yo do balancing amd allignment
westley0214
post Aug 30 2017, 10:39 AM

860 posts

Is it this Sensa 5 model?

Mine also the same. It's normal to be slightly wobbling. The thing that wobbles is not the blade, but the casing covering the shaft.

teehk_tee
post Aug 30 2017, 10:40 AM

ไม่เป็นไร
5,363 posts

This kinda stuff u sendiri DIY fix also can
SUSMatrix
post Aug 30 2017, 10:41 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(sevendogz @ Aug 30 2017, 10:31 AM)
re attach the 2nd and 4th blade, and probably it will balance out, if lazy, just tape a 10cent coin to one of the blade randomly
Later coin flies off become Ninja Star how?

But seriously, why 2nd and 4th blade?

This post has been edited by Matrix: Aug 30 2017, 10:41 AM
SUSMatrix
post Aug 30 2017, 10:42 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(westley0214 @ Aug 30 2017, 10:39 AM)
Is it this Sensa 5 model?

Mine also the same. It's normal to be slightly wobbling. The thing that wobbles is not the blade, but the casing covering the shaft.
No, not this model.

But i believe it's not the casing wooble. Can see the middle thing holding the blades wobble.
SUSMatrix
post Aug 30 2017, 10:44 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(Rusty Nail @ Aug 30 2017, 10:16 AM)
Ceiling fans are designed to be balanced. Probably the guy did a poor job installing it.

I've installed 3 fans on my own. None wobble.
How to fix bro??? cry.gif

I farking hate DIY. Install PC i know lah,...install lain i dunno.
CcL
post Aug 30 2017, 10:45 AM

i cheated... hah
791 posts

Listen to the guy who says call kdk. They will send someone to balance it FOC if within warranty.

Panasonic and KDK both did that for me.
shinkawa
post Aug 30 2017, 10:45 AM

parttime otaku
855 posts

kasi screw semua ketat ketat
Pete the great
post Aug 30 2017, 10:46 AM

519 posts

QUOTE(loui @ Aug 30 2017, 10:29 AM)
grab a random construction site worker from nearby construction site to fix for you

it is an easy job for them + much cheaper
that one also need, fix fan is most simplest job. All you need is the ceiling hook, a ladder and a screw driver.
SUSMatrix
post Aug 30 2017, 10:46 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(karyeowl @ Aug 30 2017, 10:16 AM)
For KDK fan, please call the warranty center and they will send in a technician to balance the fan.
Really? Not they install wor. Got charge??

QUOTE(CcL @ Aug 30 2017, 10:45 AM)
Listen to the guy who says call kdk. They will send someone to balance it FOC if within warranty.

Panasonic and KDK both did that for me.
Ok bro...will try. Thks.

This post has been edited by Matrix: Aug 30 2017, 10:47 AM
K.I.T.T
post Aug 30 2017, 10:47 AM

672 posts

Thinking to call the electrician, but i think he will give me standard answer "Biasa bang, memang macam tu, PotongKDK mah"

Pls advice.

Thk you.
Ko cuba tgk installation wiring kipas tu ada tak satu dawai dia skru jugak?
Kalau takde bende tu ko kena cheat
SUSMatrix
post Aug 30 2017, 10:49 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(K.I.T.T @ Aug 30 2017, 10:47 AM)
Ko cuba tgk installation wiring kipas tu ada tak satu dawai dia skru jugak?
Kalau takde bende tu ko kena cheat
Dun understand. What wiring kipas? You mean wiring at the ceiling there???
sevendogz
post Aug 30 2017, 10:53 AM

1,276 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Aug 30 2017, 10:41 AM)
Later coin flies off become Ninja Star how?

But seriously, why 2nd and 4th blade?
2nd and 4th same with 1st and 3rd or 1st and 4th, it is to make sure that the weight distribution re adjust
there is another thing that may cause wobbly, simply go up and check all the screws were tighten CORRECTLY so to avoid wrong alignment
tape a coin with the tape wrapping over the front blade is safe
leinnz

oldfags
755 posts

the nut too tight. the technician shouldn't tighten it as it will not have any free space and it will wobble. normally just screw it until pass the hole and insert a secure clip as to not let the screw being screwed out in the long run. many unexperience technician will screw it tight and did not put a safety clip/pin which comes together with the fan. there is also another safety wire which can hold the fan in case if it drops down. touch wood will not happen
MR_alien

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,582 posts

not the fan's fault
the technician did a lousy job installing it
K.I.T.T
post Aug 30 2017, 10:55 AM

672 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Aug 30 2017, 10:49 AM)
Dun understand. What wiring kipas? You mean wiring at the ceiling there???
U take tangga and panjat turunkan cover kipas yang atas tu. Yang bulat tu. Dia boleh slide down. Bila turunkan akan nampak wqyar sedikit neutral earth live. Ada satu dawai sepatutnya di skru. It must be screw.
AyamBlend
post Aug 30 2017, 10:56 AM

27 posts

Bring to foreman there do alignment and balancing

Buka the case and see what's going on
K.I.T.T

672 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Aug 30 2017, 10:44 AM)
How to fix bro??? cry.gif

I farking hate DIY. Install PC i know lah,...install lain i dunno.
When u hold screw driver u know what u want to do. Trust me.
SUSMatrix

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(sevendogz @ Aug 30 2017, 10:53 AM)
2nd and 4th same with 1st and 3rd or 1st and 4th, it is to make sure that the weight distribution re adjust
there is another thing that may cause wobbly, simply go up and check all the screws were tighten CORRECTLY so to avoid wrong alignment
tape a coin with the tape wrapping over the front blade is safe
But mine is 5 blade....not 4 blades...
Revamperz
post Aug 30 2017, 10:58 AM

im freaking IN! ™
5,164 posts

classic stuff when exchanging old kipas to new one

they malas to change the mounting n use the old , harden rubbers which no longer "gives" to new rotating hence wobbly

crayzee
post Aug 30 2017, 10:59 AM

901 posts

The blades are easy to detach using screw drivers. Just swap one with the opposite side until u find a good balance.
ctrl_alt_del
post Aug 30 2017, 10:59 AM

607 posts

Do balancing by adding a little weight on the one that u suspect underweight.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yuBI10xTRxA

Adjust the location of the weight to balance it, ( nearer to the center or further away)

This post has been edited by ctrl_alt_del: Aug 30 2017, 11:03 AM
leinnz
post Aug 30 2017, 11:00 AM

oldfags
755 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Aug 30 2017, 10:56 AM)
But mine is 5 blade....not 4 blades...
do not tighten the nuts which hold the U on the ceiling. it is meant to be loose and it has a safety clip\pin to prevent the loose not from coming out.
when you tighten it, the fan will get wobbly as what you are experiencing now
Zot
post Aug 30 2017, 11:03 AM

7,938 posts

Pls advice.

Thk you.
Many ceiling fans come with balancer to be fix on blade but normally not needed. I would say the installation was poorly done. I installed all fans on my own. It is not that hard.
teelim
post Aug 30 2017, 11:04 AM

588 posts

Call KDK office. They'll send someone to come and make the necessary adjustments. FOC
SUSMatrix
post Aug 30 2017, 11:13 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(Revamperz @ Aug 30 2017, 10:58 AM)
classic stuff when exchanging old kipas to new one

they malas to change the mounting n use the old , harden rubbers which no longer "gives" to new rotating hence wobbly
I think i saw he replace the black thing in the U near the ceiling there...is that what you meant?
Revamperz
post Aug 30 2017, 11:16 AM

im freaking IN! ™
5,164 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Aug 30 2017, 11:13 AM)
I think i saw he replace the black thing in the U near the  ceiling there...is that what you meant?
yea. did he make any cuts on it?

i was hoping it just mounting issues if its not its something more serious then

SUSMatrix
post Aug 30 2017, 11:18 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(Revamperz @ Aug 30 2017, 11:16 AM)
yea. did he make any cuts on it?

i was hoping it just mounting issues if its not its something more serious then
Cuts?? Dunno wor...sweat.gif

Anyway, i think i will call KDK support to come...
karyeowl
post Aug 30 2017, 11:14 PM

309 posts

I have 3 KDK fans (2 4 blades and 1 5 blades) 6 years ago. After installation, the fans wobble... call KDK for balancing (FOC) and the fans have been functioning without any wobble until now

SUSMatrix
post Aug 31 2017, 11:53 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(karyeowl @ Aug 30 2017, 11:14 PM)
I have 3 KDK fans (2 4 blades and 1 5 blades) 6 years ago. After installation, the fans wobble... call KDK for balancing (FOC) and the fans have been functioning without any wobble until now
Thanks bro. Will call log a support service at their website. thumbup.gif Will probably be after the long holidays. biggrin.gif
budi1413
post Aug 31 2017, 12:00 PM

1,607 posts

Remove the fan install aircond instead. Guaranteed no wobling. biggrin.gif
SUSMatrix
post Aug 31 2017, 02:08 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(budi1413 @ Aug 31 2017, 12:00 PM)
Remove the fan install aircond instead. Guaranteed no wobling. biggrin.gif
Duh. Already got aircond. Everyone knows that adding a fan makes the room temp much better distributed and maybe save you some electric bills.
urnicksux2
post Aug 31 2017, 02:19 PM

78 posts

ur house need some balancing adjustment
netmatrix
post Aug 31 2017, 02:42 PM

The machine... it sees everything.
6,733 posts

If metal blades, you can bend the blade up or down to balance it out. If the motor hub is not balanced, then need to return.
kamfoo
post Aug 31 2017, 02:51 PM

847 posts

ghost month

0.0270sec    0.93    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 01:34 AM