6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Home Theatre Your Home Theater pics - Show us !, Inspire and motivate, let's share.

jchong
post May 25 2009, 01:18 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(gocitygo @ May 25 2009, 12:41 PM)
Sifu, how do you guys reduce/eliminate the echo sound in your precious HT room?  I can hear the high frequency echo sound when clapping my hands at the middle of the room.

I DIY some triangle and rectangle trap using Roxul MPS400 and putting around the 4 corners and still no success to avoid the echo.  On the floor, I have put on the carpet.  The missing part is on the ceiling.  Somehow I got difficulty to put something on the plaster ceiling, first the ceiling cannot withstand heave weight item and second got ceiling fan at the middle  rclxub.gif
Maybe you need more traps. Don't just place at 4 corners, try also putting some in the middle of the wall maybe.
jchong
post May 25 2009, 04:57 PM

5,989 posts

ycs,

nice room you have and kudos for your acoustic efforts. So your panels are rockwool wrapped in black fabric right?
jchong
post May 26 2009, 09:09 AM

5,989 posts

Excellent DIY work there!
jchong
post May 30 2009, 07:52 PM

5,989 posts

Nice and clean setup kiatsing.
jchong
post Jun 1 2009, 11:43 AM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(megatron007 @ May 31 2009, 11:20 PM)
why need masking tape... if watching in a total pitch dark room?? make any difference??

btw..wat is velvet masking tape
The mask is to hide the letterbox bars on the screen. This will increase the apparent contrast of the image.

In a pitch dark room you will notice the letterbox bars (perhaps even more so). And even the best projectors won't project a totally black bar, so to really eliminate the bars you need the mask and velvet is probably the best material for it.
jchong
post Jun 6 2009, 10:39 AM

5,989 posts

That's an interesting way to add diffusers behind the screen. Good idea.

What speakers are u using?
jchong
post Jun 6 2009, 07:47 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(kiam @ Jun 6 2009, 06:02 PM)
wink.gif btw, the shootout was magnificent. pure "pressure" sensation.
So give more details about your opinions on the subs tested.
jchong
post Jun 7 2009, 06:25 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Jun 7 2009, 02:34 PM)
Updated :

Wow, that SVS sure makes it presence known! U plugged all 3 holes?
jchong
post Jun 8 2009, 10:05 AM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(pierreye @ Jun 8 2009, 09:55 AM)
As for cylinder bass trap, why not buy solid cylinder fiberglass. Even easier just need wrapping only.
http://www.polyglass.com.my/frmOurProductD...px?ItemID=18336
Interesting. It seems they are quite rigid/hard... would that be a good characteristic for a bass trap?
jchong
post Jun 8 2009, 10:18 AM

5,989 posts

Hmm... must explore further then.
jchong
post Jun 11 2009, 11:38 PM

5,989 posts

Heh, I like how you used the rubber door stop to angle up your FCC2.
jchong
post Jun 12 2009, 10:16 AM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(elmer @ Jun 12 2009, 09:45 AM)
Question: Will an SVS PB12-NSD be better than the Velodyne 12q?
I expect so.
jchong
post Jun 12 2009, 03:52 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Jun 12 2009, 03:40 PM)
Tomorrow, I will have new toys too  tongue.gif
You too?!? Wah, more and more poison here... sweat.gif biggrin.gif
jchong
post Jun 13 2009, 11:22 AM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(lightning69 @ Jun 13 2009, 10:15 AM)
Very pleasing look. However, with such a dedicated room I wonder why the owner didn't go for big projector screen setup? hmm.gif

Also from a performance viewpoint, perhaps the room colours are too light.
jchong
post Jun 13 2009, 03:09 PM

5,989 posts

I feel your pain bro. I know what it's like to eagerly await something then find out got delay... <geram>
jchong
post Jun 14 2009, 08:59 AM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(s6xs9x @ Jun 14 2009, 02:36 AM)
I see Klipschs Ref IV fronts and center ..
mpyw that's the center you wanted to get eh!

Btw, what are you guys bulking? all seem to wait for Monday geh?
I think mpyw is getting something else now and he's waiting for it on Monday whistling.gif

Added on June 14, 2009, 9:15 am
QUOTE(lightning69 @ Jun 13 2009, 08:00 PM)
He got some nice equipment there, but I think the furniture looks really bad.  The whole thing just don't look that cool or smooth to the eye.  I hope I don't offend him, but that is just my view.  When I look at the picture, i see "patches" (rectangular blocks) all over.  I personally prefer minimalist style.

I believe those patches are part of the acoustic treatment.

I too prefer a minimalist style, but unfortunately if you want proper acoustic treatment those absorbers/diffusers/traps will start to intrude into the minimalism. I guess we can ameliorate that by color matching, like in this picture you showed earlier (the acoustic panels are color blended with the room):

This post has been edited by jchong: Jun 14 2009, 09:15 AM
jchong
post Jun 15 2009, 11:15 AM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(mpyw @ Jun 15 2009, 11:09 AM)
no EL lar....just go home and received the packages.....then back to work sad.gif
tonight only self poison tongue.gif
will take the pic of the boxes for u all 1st lar brows.gif

Total 76kgs!  sweat.gif
I can foresee you're going to be staying up late tonight! smile.gif

Wah, 76 kgs... for 3 boxes right?
jchong
post Jun 15 2009, 02:53 PM

5,989 posts

Congrats on the new arrival!

What did you get for the main, M60?
jchong
post Jun 15 2009, 03:14 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(Paca @ Jun 15 2009, 12:30 PM)
can i ask u what is the most value for money speaker system?
concertino?
U mean the Sonus Faber Concertino? Hmm... I'm not sure I would describe that as the "most value for money speaker".
jchong
post Jun 15 2009, 05:17 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Jun 15 2009, 04:35 PM)
Yes, I must admit that it is indeed a very good speaker but out of my range. If I have the money, my Hi-Fi setup would definitely consists of Sonus Faber speakers.
For music indeed the SF are very good. But how about for HT?

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0497sec    0.34    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 05:52 AM