Apple TV is out in KL!

TSASAP
post Apr 8 2007, 09:32 PM, updated 19y ago

1,645 posts

Hi all,

Just to inform that the Apple TV is out in KL! The price is RM1299. Bought one today and sync with my macbook and Airport Extreme N.
r1fq
post Apr 8 2007, 09:47 PM

167 posts

hei, what is the use of apple tv anyway?
Gurdian
post Apr 8 2007, 09:49 PM

1,648 posts

lol

it wouldn't kill you to do a little reading
76radius
post Apr 8 2007, 10:30 PM

232 posts

QUOTE(ASAP @ Apr 8 2007, 10:32 PM)
Hi all,

Just to inform that the Apple TV is out in KL! The price is RM1299. Bought one today and sync with my macbook and Airport Extreme N.
Is the Airport Extreme N Router already out?
r1fq
post Apr 8 2007, 10:40 PM

167 posts

QUOTE(Gurdian @ Apr 8 2007, 09:49 PM)
lol

it wouldn't kill you to do a little reading
What I mean is, is such item really necessary?
its just to stream iTunes content to a TV rite?

what's wrong with using PC monitor?
SUSMike3300
post Apr 8 2007, 10:42 PM

6,866 posts

Can use as a modem/router

Can use to sync your PC/Mac content to Apple TV then it will sync to your big screen HDTV.

Basically you must have a HDTV for everything. That's what I know, correct me if I'm wrong.
allvin
post Apr 8 2007, 10:44 PM

4,506 posts

QUOTE(r1fq @ Apr 8 2007, 11:40 PM)

PC monitor too small, dude. whistling.gif especially view HD video
76radius
post Apr 8 2007, 10:45 PM

232 posts

QUOTE(r1fq @ Apr 8 2007, 11:40 PM)

Oh, may be that guy has HiDefinition TV for better viewing.
youngkies
post Apr 8 2007, 11:20 PM

Monday <--> Friday
9,511 posts

more abt it here:

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/435463

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/430514

and it can be hacked to mac nano too tongue.gif
civic98
post Apr 8 2007, 11:22 PM

1,255 posts

At this point of time, its not really worth getting a HDTV. Maybe in a year or two??

Actually the Apple TV doesn't do much, I would rather spend the money in getting a better LCD monitor. The Apple TV is still first batch anyway, no hurries.
styx
post Apr 9 2007, 12:14 AM

57 posts

its officially out in malaysia?
its basically an ipod for the tv...
SUSMinority116
post Apr 9 2007, 06:12 AM

145 posts

get it hack to play divx/xvid
MacDaNife
post Apr 9 2007, 07:34 AM

Adrenalina Italiana
1,737 posts

QUOTE(civic98 @ Apr 8 2007, 11:22 PM)
At this point of time, its not really worth getting a HDTV. Maybe in a year or two??

Actually the Apple TV doesn't do much, I would rather spend the money in getting a better LCD monitor. The Apple TV is still first batch anyway, no hurries.
The AppleTV fulfills the role of a box that syncs between your computer and your flatscreen TV. To correct Mike; it is also NOT a broadband modem/router.

If you do NOT have a TV that is capable of 1280p then don't bother.

If you do NOT buy content off iTunes then don't bother.

You COULD of course, hack the hardware/software to force the poor thing to play DIVX and boot OSX but to what point? You might as well buy a Mac Mini if that is the case.

Or do as I do and hook a HTPC (In my case a ShuttleXPC running a lowly Pentium4) and network it to your home network. I use this to play downloaded TV on my Bravia. It works very well.

The AppleTV is slicker, works without having to manually transfer files from your computer to the set-top box and is VERY nice. However, until I'm in the US and am able to buy more credit for my iTunes Store account: it's not very useful.

Nice purchase ASAP. Will be joining you once I get back from New York in May.... cool2.gif
wei
post Apr 9 2007, 09:11 AM

Get your Macs done right!
6,496 posts

In one simpler words, "know what you want & buy what you need."
Don't think you can go far with 1Ghz & 256MB of RAM. It works but dont hope too much.

I just build an ATX G4 as my HTPC. I do not have a HDTV at the moment. I'll pass.
ryan_chandl
post Apr 9 2007, 12:54 PM

59 posts

Useless! I rather buy Xbox360 or Media Center PC which is about the same price and can do a lot of things. Movies from Itunes are designed for Ipod, imagine u watch them in high defination TV, the quality must be horrible.
slumberus
post Apr 9 2007, 01:57 PM

130 posts

erm an AppleTV is cheaper than a Mac Mini. Hence the lure. And there's no 1280p btw. Max is 1080p.
MacDaNife
post Apr 9 2007, 03:37 PM

Adrenalina Italiana
1,737 posts

QUOTE(slumberus @ Apr 9 2007, 01:57 PM)
And there's no 1280p btw. Max is 1080p.
blush.gif

Sorry, but you DO get what I mean... Without a LCD/plasma widescreen, AppleTV does not really make sense...
miniacs
post Apr 9 2007, 03:43 PM

386 posts

but can apple tv support 1080p? i thought it only supports 1080i, which mean any HD TV ready that can be purchase below RM3500 depending on the size of screen is sufficient.

but i could be wrong, but the product is still cool gadget to buy if you have extra cash laying around and you are hard core mac fan.

This post has been edited by miniacs: Apr 9 2007, 03:44 PM
macnpalm
post Apr 9 2007, 04:09 PM

24 posts

QUOTE(ryan_chandl @ Apr 9 2007, 12:54 PM)
Useless! I rather buy Xbox360 or Media Center PC which is about the same price and can do a lot of things. Movies from Itunes are designed for Ipod, imagine u watch them in high defination TV, the quality must be horrible.
if i'm not mistaken... Apple will be releasing HighDef shows in the future... they surely will not think of these high-def machines if it will not be supported by iTunes store, right? that will be a very bad judgment and strategy...
John89
post Apr 9 2007, 04:54 PM

473 posts

Apple TV so fast out......how about iPhone?

0.0186sec    1.48    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 01:00 PM