Setting up Apple TV

TSkevler
post Mar 22 2007, 10:54 AM, updated 19y ago

trading in the zone
2,939 posts

http://gizmodo.com/gadgets/apple-tv/first-...e-tv-246124.php

hope this could give us some idea on how to set up the Apple TV ( even we still waiting the advent of this device) laugh.gif
tishaban
post Mar 22 2007, 11:05 AM

3,615 posts

QUOTE(kevler @ Mar 22 2007, 10:54 AM)
http://gizmodo.com/gadgets/apple-tv/first-...e-tv-246124.php

hope this could give us some idea on how to set up the Apple TV ( even we still waiting the advent of this device)  laugh.gif
I'm getting more tempted with this device. It's certainly easier than hooking up a Mac Mini as a HTPC but it's half the price of a Mini!

xaw5126
post Mar 22 2007, 11:45 AM

3,488 posts

guys... its coming into Malaysia as entertainment device... going to be RM2999 sad.gif
andyz
post Mar 22 2007, 11:52 AM

503 posts

i was a fan to of this apple tv until i found out it does not play divx

better off by buying the sarotech 570hd or the mivx MX-760HD

http://www.mvixusa.com/

http://www.sarotech.com/english/cgi/pd.cgi?cmd=view&rno=19

both selling already.. i personally using the sarotech unit and loving it ....
tishaban
post Mar 22 2007, 12:13 PM

3,615 posts

True but I guess it would be cheaper for me to get an RGB to component video cable for my Mac Mini. It already plays Divx without problems, comes with a remote, wifi, etc.

But thanks for the info. I was looking at the Netgear and it's expensive!

wei
post Mar 22 2007, 03:15 PM

Get your Macs done right!
6,496 posts

QUOTE(xaw5126 @ Mar 22 2007, 11:45 AM)
guys... its coming into Malaysia as entertainment device... going to be RM2999 sad.gif
RM2999? u gonna be kidding, i rather get a MacMini!!! mad.gif
tishaban
post Mar 22 2007, 03:53 PM

3,615 posts

I don't understand the tax laws involved here. The iPods are taxed as entertainment devices as well if I recall, so the most expensive iPod is ~RM1499 for a US$350 product.

So what's up with the RM2999 price?

xaw5126
post Mar 22 2007, 03:58 PM

3,488 posts

its an estimate smile.gif no one has an official price.

dudes, come off it ler, until Apple Malaysia announces a price, just chill out...
you'll live longer...
CHiQ
post Mar 22 2007, 04:07 PM

64 posts

guys, please pm me if you see stock anywhere. I need to buy 2 units. No joke.
xaw5126
post Mar 22 2007, 04:31 PM

3,488 posts

heheheh... the RM2999 price is just an estimate...

conversion from SG price + 45% tax also is less than RM2000.
CHiQ
post Mar 22 2007, 05:23 PM

64 posts

simply simply put estimate price only... say lar RM10k next time tongue.gif
MacDaNife
post Mar 22 2007, 05:43 PM

Adrenalina Italiana
1,737 posts

The only reason I'd want to get one of these is to watch TV/Movies bought off the iTunes Store on my Bravia V40". However since the downloaded content I primarily seem to watch now consist of .avi sourced from torrents, the AppleTV is not going to be very useful.

Especially since I have a ShuttleXPC running WindowsXP and connected to the home network connected to the Bravia.

That much said, I'm going to be in New York/Washington in early May and will certainly get a top-up of my iTunes account whilst I'm there. Might make sense to pick up a AppleTV box too....
TSkevler
post Mar 22 2007, 05:46 PM

trading in the zone
2,939 posts

QUOTE(MacDaNife @ Mar 22 2007, 05:43 PM)
The only reason I'd want to get one of these is to watch TV/Movies bought off the iTunes Store on my Bravia V40". However since the downloaded content I primarily seem to watch now consist of .avi sourced from torrents, the AppleTV is not going to be very useful.

Especially since I have a ShuttleXPC running WindowsXP and connected to the home network connected to the Bravia.

That much said, I'm going to be in New York/Washington in early May and will certainly get a top-up of my iTunes account whilst I'm there. Might make sense to pick up a AppleTV box too....
haha...ok aa tuh ...open bulk order la bro ..

get those set top box
tishaban
post Mar 22 2007, 06:38 PM

3,615 posts

QUOTE(MacDaNife @ Mar 22 2007, 05:43 PM)
Weird dude, do I know you from somewhere before? biggrin.gif I'll be in NYC in early May too. Hm...

MacDaNife
post Mar 22 2007, 07:18 PM

Adrenalina Italiana
1,737 posts

QUOTE(tishaban @ Mar 22 2007, 06:38 PM)
Weird dude, do I know you from somewhere before? biggrin.gif I'll be in NYC in early May too. Hm...
Doubt it but.... you never know.

Am attending a work-related meeting in Washington. Will be flying KL-Stokhom-NewYork-Washington. Will probably take a day in New York to do the usual tourist thing.
tishaban
post Mar 22 2007, 08:15 PM

3,615 posts

Hm... ok I'm doing a work related thing in New York. Enjoy your stay in New York. Don't forget the 5th Ave Apple Store, J&R, B&H (if you're into photography), the good sushi places (again if you're into it), the Ferrari store with the gorgeous sales ladies, the DaimlerChrysler showroom next to it with the SLR...

Lots to see, a day is not enough biggrin.gif

TSkevler
post Mar 22 2007, 10:57 PM

trading in the zone
2,939 posts

QUOTE(tishaban @ Mar 22 2007, 08:15 PM)
Hm... ok I'm doing a work related thing in New York. Enjoy your stay in New York. Don't forget the 5th Ave Apple Store, J&R, B&H (if you're into photography), the good sushi places (again if you're into it), the Ferrari store with the gorgeous sales ladies, the DaimlerChrysler showroom next to it with the SLR...

Lots to see, a day is not enough biggrin.gif
*offtopic*

huhu...jealous laa ...haha

need visa to go US , thus need more time to wait for visa ..damned
emofags
post Mar 23 2007, 04:12 PM

26 posts

Apple TV unboxed + geek porn. lol

http://www.anandtech.com/mac/showdoc.aspx?i=2951