Mac Nano aka AppleTV, Only RM 1299 ....Wow...

TSprasys
post Apr 1 2007, 05:28 PM, updated 19y ago

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

Hello All,

As we all do know , Apple has launched the most innovative product ever - The AppleTV . I think you should know already this by now. Anyway here are the specs. I call it mac nano [Apple/?TV]. Its certainly worth it , I mean its far better then ASTROMAX.

CPU : Intel Pentium M 1.00Ghz [SSE3 emulation via the Kernel. Kudos to the OSX86 Developers] with L2 Cache [400Mhz System Bus]

Memory [Built-In] : 256MB 400Mhz DDR2 SDRAM [should be enough for most of us..]

Hard Disk : 40GB ATA Drive [Again , you can always upgrade the HDD]

Graphics card : NVIDIA GeForce 7300 Go with 64MB DDR PCIe [Kicks Intel GMA Butt.....and many other lame graphics card out there in the market...]

Network : Airport Extreme 802.11n [w00t] , Standard Ethernet

Comes with a USB port [you can always buy a hub to upgrade it]

So again , you need a LCD Monitor or a TV to use AppleTV or mac nano. Plus , you can have OSX with you. Full blown MacOS X with WiFi , etc and its cheaper then mac mini/ASTROMax. Oh , if you want PVR , just get a USB TV Tuner and voila , you can record your shows. Plus , once they find a way on how to 'boot' Windows XP/Media Centre , you can have Windows in it as well. Now who says , its just a piece of useless crap

xordMeztGeR
post Apr 1 2007, 07:06 PM

satu bintang 5 ringgit!! murah murah!
1,051 posts

* [xoRd] slaps prasys around a bit with a large trout
you making me in despair. mac mini, mac nano or imac? damn
ed0gawa
post Apr 1 2007, 07:09 PM

coconut
4,398 posts

Hmm...... mind to share out how to "boot" OSX with that?
Total n00b here.... saw the video that u posted earlier. I guess some "hack" are required right?

RM1299, thats way way cheaper than my MB and it has a much much better VGA.

Is upgrading the processor and ram possible?
cRazYee
post Apr 2 2007, 07:54 PM

2,642 posts

Not a good idea
cuz we never seen processor upgrade for a Mac system

Apple tv is for entertaining, not a good idea to run Mac OS X

evilhomura89
post Apr 2 2007, 08:11 PM

5,886 posts

not enough ram to run mac osx too......
TSprasys
post Apr 2 2007, 08:28 PM

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

QUOTE(cRazYee @ Apr 2 2007, 07:54 PM)
Not a good idea
cuz we never seen processor upgrade for a Mac system

Apple tv is for entertaining, not a good idea to run Mac OS X
Again....There are processor upgrades...its for G4/G3 era systems. But then you can buy Core 2 Duo processor and put it on a mac mini. It will still work (once people figure it out how to replace it- if thats possible)

www.everymac.com/upgrade_cards/

www.sonnettech.com

QUOTE(evilhomura89 @ Apr 2 2007, 08:11 PM)
not enough ram to run mac osx too......
Again , OSX needs minimum of 256MB of RAM. That should be enough for web surfing , torrenting and listening to music. As long you're not into photoshop or other serious task. It will be a thin client or light desktop

http://www.apple.com/macosx/upgrade/requirements.html

Mac OS X Version 10.4 requires a Macintosh with:

PowerPC G3, G4, or G5 processor
Built-in FireWire
At least 256MB of physical RAM
A built-in display or a display connected to an Apple-supplied video card supported by your computer
At least 3.0 GB of available space on your hard drive; 4GB of disk space if you install XCode 2 developer tools
DVD drive for installation (get CD media for $9.95)

This post has been edited by prasys: Apr 2 2007, 08:33 PM
wei
post Apr 2 2007, 09:58 PM

Get your Macs done right!
6,496 posts

who said 256MB not enough to run OSX?
I'm a walking proof of it. Booting my modded powermac with merely 128MB RAM with no problem at all.

This is only the 2nd week of the progress. Still long way to go. Kudos to all the developers.
CHiQ
post Apr 2 2007, 10:55 PM

64 posts

Yay! we just got our first Apple TV, I work for the best people ever!!! and i'm gonna try messing around with it biggrin.gif
ed0gawa
post Apr 2 2007, 11:35 PM

coconut
4,398 posts

where do you work?

Any vacant? biggrin.gif
fisherman909
post Apr 3 2007, 12:05 AM

27 posts

I'm assuming all of you claiming that "this little baby can't run OSX" have seen the videos and what not readily speaking to the contrary....?

Here's a reference from Gizmodo: OS X on AppleTV

This post has been edited by fisherman909: Apr 3 2007, 12:09 AM
youngkies
post Apr 3 2007, 12:18 AM

Monday <--> Friday
9,511 posts

i love the name aTV a.k.a. Mac Nano laugh.gif
SUSMinority116
post Apr 3 2007, 04:25 AM

145 posts

look at the comments about atv running OSX at gizmodo..what a bunch of f***tard reply.. can't they see, it is hell fun doing a hack in atv

http://gizmodo.com/gadgets/gadgets/full-ma...e-tv-248712.php

This post has been edited by Minority116: Apr 3 2007, 04:25 AM

0.0162sec    0.64    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 10:55 PM